0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Seymour Duncan SH-5 Duncan Custom Humbucker Pickup - Black Reviews

5.0 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the Seymour Duncan SH-5 Duncan Custom Humbucker Pickup - Black?

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SH-5 Duncan Custom Humbucker Pickup - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Austin January 10, 2017

    A monster of a pickup.

    I've been a Dimarzio guy for awhile(I still like and use some of their pickups), but when I first tried out SD, I went with the JB and Jazz setup. I liked the Jazz, but the JB was horrendous in my opinion. Bad clarity and a rather undefined sound. I couldn't get rid of it fast enough. After that, I went back to Dimarzio until recently I traded my PRS SE with upraded Marzio pups for an Ibanez Prestige with a SH5 Custom and 59' neck combination. Man, this pickup has balls! It's super aggressive and very clear. It's about as rock and roll as it gets. I'm now sold on SD again and will give some more of their products a chance.

  • from los angeles CA June 25, 2013Music Background:
    I have been playing guitar for over 20 years, banging it out in the clubs and some festivals and tours here and there.

    SH 5 Duncan Custom Pickup

    I like this pickup so much it has gone in all my Gibsons. tighter bass, nice highs and hot output. never sounds mushy and cuts thru the band and aggressive tone. good for rock, punk and metal.

  • from PA April 28, 2013Music Background:
    Pub, club and studio rocker. Many years. MORE GUITAR!

    It'll KNOCK YOU OUT and clean up nice for something pretty.

    Some people will tell you that pickup changes don't make a difference. That is incredibly incorrect!
    Depending on your amp, what style you play and what volume you play at, the sound and response will be either affected or greatly affected by changing pickups.

    I bought one of these from Sweetwater ... maybe a year ago. I switched from the SH12 Screaming Demon in my Gibson LP standard to this. I used the SH12 for well over a decade and while it was lush and harmonically rich and easier to play the fast stuff because of its thinner sound, I was ready to go back to higher output, fatter, teeth rattling capabilities of the hotter (and warmer) options like the SH 5. I read a lot of reviews because as we all know, we can't drive to our local music store to try out a pick up.

    The first of several clearly obvious surprises that I found after installing the SH5 was that the chunk factor from the Marshall increased GREATLY! I was missing that with the SH12. The 2nd surprise was how much hotter the output was. I didn't need to keep the pick up as close to the strings as I did with the SH12. When double tracking heavy rythm guitar parts, I found it necessary to drop the pick up lower to get better doubled sounds and I raised it back up a bit for the lead parts. I used to do this back in the tape days. Still works! I used higher output pickups then too. The 3rd surprise is the increase in warm tone that this pickup gave me.

    It took a little while to learn to pick some song parts a little differently because of the hotter way that this pickup rings out, but the sound is great. It cleans up nicely and sounds totally clean and lovely on my clean amp channels.

    With the SH12, I sometimes wanted my guitar knob to have an 11 on it. I don't need the 11 now! I'd like to try the SH5's alnico twin (SH11?) and see what that's like. I do prefer the Alnico sound, but I love the tone, chunk and output of the SH5.

  • from Woodbridge, VA February 23, 2012Music Background:
    Church Musician

    Seymour Duncan SH-5 Duncan Custom (Black)

    I installed this pickup in the bridge position in my 1988 Charvel Model 4 with a Jackson / Floyd Rose licensed Tremolo Bridge. String alignment over the pole-peices is excellent. The guitar has a basswood body and a mid-boost circuit. The guitar always sounded midrange heavy with the stock Jackson bridge pickup even with the mid boost turned all the way down. Other model 4s that I have heard did not have this issue. The SH-5 pickup sounds awesome. The mid boost circuit is useful now! The guitar has just a little grit on clean settings (not that I mind) but that can be remedied by rolling the volume down a tiny bit. I run this guitar through a BOSS GT-8 straight into the sound board at my church and can replicate just about any tone from Chris Tomlin to Lincoln Brewster and Third Day. On my off time I can get that "Brown Sound" with this guitar and my MXR Phasor and MXR Flanger as well as AC/DC and Metallica tones. Overall, this is a very versatile pickup. I have had to improve my technique using higher levels of gain since the pickup is very responsive. Pinch harmonics are easy to achieve. I would recommend this pickup to anyone who plays classic rock, alternative or contemporary praise and worship music.

  • from Hawaii March 7, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Adds needed grit to a Strat

    Was looking for a humbucker sound for my Fender Strat and found it! Single coils just don't have that fullness without lots of additional treatment, which means I am constantly adjusting everything as I switch guitars between single & double coil setups. Being lazy, I decided to install a humbucker to cut down on the on-the-fly tweaking and see if I could get additional sounds from my strat's setup, rather than reaching over to the amp all the time. After much shopping around and comparisons online, I settled on the SH-5 as the compromise between classic rock style and more modern heavy gain (I play both). I was not disappointed...in fact, I was pleasantly surprised at the versatility and power of this classic design, and it was an easy install. Only knock on Seymour Duncan was that I had to go search online for wiring diagrams--enclosed instructions were only for Les Paul-type double humbucker setups, nothing for adapting a single-coil slot to a 4-wire humbucker pickup. Oh well, it wasn't hard to figure out.

  • from Cape Cod, MA November 14, 2014Music Background:
    38 years of playing

    Perfect for Les Paul

    I put this in the bridge of a Les Paul "hot rod" project, powerful yet smooth and fat. Great for heavy blues, rock and metal. Matches well with a Duncan 59. I am very pleased with the result. Not really a "traditional" Les Paul pickup sound because it is high output, but if you are looking for a boost in your bridge, this is it! Not just power, but great tone as well.

  • from Auckland, New Zealand November 15, 2008Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Super Hot Pickup

    This is a 'hot' pickup that loves hard rock and metal. You can get Zakk Wylde harmonics leaping out of the guitar with this. It's a great alternative if you don't want to mess with active pickups and batteries in your guitar.
    It has great sustain that seems to go forever! It won't get muddy with a lot of gain. I paired it with a Seymour Duncan Jazz in the neck position in my epiphone explorer. This combination gives you good versitility. You can go from mellow to face-melting riffs.
    They make my Epiphone sound like a guitar worth twice the price. It'd easily rival a Gibson on tone now. Great pickup.

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SH-5 Duncan Custom Humbucker Pickup - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway