0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Seymour Duncan Hot Rodded Humbucker Set - SH-4 and SH-2n Reviews

5.0 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Seymour Duncan Hot Rodded Humbucker Set - SH-4 and SH-2n?

Questions about the Seymour Duncan Hot Rodded Humbucker Set - SH-4 and SH-2n?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Louisiana April 15, 2017

    Great sound

    I just put them in a washburn hb35 hollow body and the sound is great. I can't get enough of this guitar now. Great blurs and rock sounds.

  • from Sacramento December 14, 2016Music Background:
    30 + years (recording and gigging)

    Great set of pickups!!!

    My other set of SD pickups are the SH-6 Meyham, which are in my Les Paul, which I love the way they sound, but I wanted something a little different that can really bring my covers of the 70s, 80s, and 90s alive, and yet can also voice today's metal sound with ease. So I took a chance and placed an order on this set....and I tell you, YouTube demos just don't do it justice. The pickups really shine as the SH-4 really brings out the fat sound out of my S Series Ibanez, which the thin body typically doesn't project well. Compared to my SH-6, the SH-4 is slightly less aggressive...or perhaps I should say, it is not as harsh sounding when in overdrive. While the SH-6 is slightly mid-scooped sounding the SH-4 is warmer in the mids. While my SH-6 is loser in the bottom end, the SH-4 is tighter. But both are great for different purposes. I noticed that when playing songs like, Crazy Train, Bark At The Moon, or other tunes along Dream Theater, VH, White Snake, Journey, Aerosmith, or Iron Maiden, the SH-4 sounds better in that it offers a slightly tighter rhythm with a little more mid, which allows it to mimic the sound of the 70s, 80s, 90s, and 2000s a lot better. But of course, for drop-D playing or 7 strings metal, my SH-6's slightly scooped mid and harsher upper makes it a better metal ax without a doubt. Both can do anything really....and they both do sound great no matter what style of music you play. AND the SH-2 (neck pickup), WOW, it's just amazing sounding. Though it's a humbucker, man, it really makes my Ibanez (when switched to the neck PU) sound a lot like a single coil pickup. My ax was sounding like I was using a Fender strat. Overall, this is a super nice set to add to my collection of sound - ranging from my 498 and 490T (in my LP), Classic 57 PUs (in my other LP), and to my SH-6 Meyhams (in another one of my LP)....now with this set, all my sounds are covered. Thanks SD and many thanks to Sweetwater for sending this out to me super quick.

  • from September 22, 2016

    Hot rods

    My PRS SE 245 already sounded good but this made a great playing guitar sound fantastic! Great combination. The jazz neck is warm but not muddy at all and the JB bridge is a low down nasty *** kicker!
    Patrick Weaver was great to work with. Call him on ext 1333

  • from September 13, 2016Music Background:
    Working musician

    WOW!!!

    Very clear sound. It will make your PRS sing.

  • from Moseka Studio July 15, 2016Music Background:
    50 year guitar player

    Hot Rodded

    Installed pickups in Epiphone Dot. Sound is hot and large with lots of tone, might be hotter than EMG's.
    Love the pickups might be best I've owned. Some settings in processor need reset due to input power.
    If your looking for a humbucker replacement with power this is it.

  • from July 12, 2016

    Awesome

    These pickups kick***!

  • from February 23, 2016Music Background:
    Hard rock, jazz, blues.

    Wow!!

    Great set of pickups!! I have mine in a Kramer with a 250k tone pot to keep the brightness down.

  • from Sarasota FL January 31, 2016

    Hot Rod

    Nothing really needs to be said about this set it is the tried and true Hot Rod set i installed in a PRS SE and they really sing.

  • from January 25, 2016

    A great pair!

    A great pair of pickups!!!

  • from North Carolina October 4, 2015

    DR. Seymour is the Fix!

    I had a problem. A Beautiful PRS SE Custom 24 30th Anniversary that just didn't sound as good as it could. I knew after I got the guitar that I would be replacing the pickups down the road. I went with a set that I knew would breath the awesome sound that I knew that this guitar was capable of. I removed the G&B stock pickups. They just wasn't as clear and sounded muddy to me. I installed a set of tried and true Zebra Duncan SH-4 JB in the bridge and a SH-2 Jazz in the neck. I decided to not wire in the coil split option due to the fact that I just don't use it and not crazy about single coils except P-90's. WOW...It turned this PRS into a Fire Breathing Dragon. I have a couple of Gibson's and I do know that know matter how good the guitar is and how well it's made, pickups, can make or break. I have used this set in the past and knew that I would be happy with the results. You cant go wrong with these pickups. The JB is screaming and ballsy and the Jazz is warm and clear. I compare these to the 498T and 490R or a 57 Classics and Classic Plus set from Gibson. A great combination from Seymour Duncan. Thanks again to Patrick and the guys at Sweetwater!! close

  • from United States May 12, 2015

    Great set up

    The perfect combination for just about any style of music

  • from falls city oregon February 22, 2015Music Background:
    just a player

    great sounds

    i added this pickup to my Ibanez gio and wow what a diffrence it made the sounds are warm and crunchy. I run it thru a fender frontman and it produces great sound.

  • from olive hill ky. January 4, 2015Music Background:
    long time musician

    great pickups

    Really like this set....tone will cover anything between the two pickups.

  • from Zion,CA. November 30, 2012Music Background:
    Song Writer, Christian Rocker.

    Just What The Doctor Ordered!!!

    Man oh man, I just dropped these in my Eppy Les Paul Standard....what an upgrade! I super-love the versatility of this set! The original stock pick-ups on my guitar were kinda muddy, and only suited for metal, rock, and maybe a little blues.
    These new Duncan pick ups sound fantastic clean, very nice for jazz or blues and heavy/classic rock also.
    The tone is clear, and well defined, and pairs very well with my Les Paul's mahogany body.
    I am very pleased with these pick-ups and recommend them highly! Thank You Seymour Duncan!!!

  • from Florence, Ms November 23, 2012Music Background:
    SongWriter Musician

    HotRodded G5120

    I put these in a Korean Gretsch which sounded anemic with its original Asian GretschBuckers wired with 3 volumes and 1 tone control.

    I installed new American made electronics and connected it all in Les Paul fashion.

    FYI
    With some modification I was able to use the original plastic spacer rings that came with the guitar as risers. (I had to trim them out to clear the humbucker adjustment tabs) If you don't use risers the pickups will sit too low in the pocket.

    I was going to sale this guitar because I hated the way it sounded, but it is just a beautiful guitar and everyone seems to love them so I thought I'd give this a shot.

    I could not be more pleased with the sound. I have never had a guitar that is as versatile. I can get it as clean as I want or I can get down and dirty. These pickups have made all the difference in the world.

  • from April 2, 2012

    amazing!

    amazing. these pickups are great. I put them in a flying V guitar and they are perfect for rock/metal that we play. they are crisp and clear even with the heaviest of distortion. every note is clear and audible not muffled and or drowned out like some other pickups I've used.

  • from Union, West Virginia November 15, 2011Music Background:
    Rock / Prog / Classical

    Seymour Duncan Hot Rodded Humbucker Set

    The first "correct" thing I did, was to ask a friend who is an expert with soldiering to assist me with the installation. It was also very helpful that Seymour Duncan has the most professional looking shematics of "all" the pickup makers, (Dimarzio Schematics are "useless"). From the moment the installation was complete, these pickups were "very" quiet with absolutely no buzzing. The next thing I did was check for sustain from both a straight and bending note perspective. To be perfectly honest, I was so impressed, I blasted pentatonic scales for nearly 10 minutes. After my 10 minute solo, I checked for chording warmth. I am part of my church's worship team, so warmth is the #1 factor I'm looking for, and these pickups did not nor have not disappointed. I installed them in a Gibson Flying V due to the fact the stock pickups sounded flat as well as having very poor tone. I'll be purchasing two more sets of these pickups in the very near future to replace stock pickups. It may a word to the wise for many guitar companies to speak to Seymour Duncan to arrange a deal to become their pickup supplier.

  • from Missouri May 16, 2017

    Best Pickups Ever Played

    These pickups are my latest upgrade to a PRS SE Zach Myers singlecut. After changing out the tuning machines and hardware I wanted to really go "all-in" on the pickups. I'd tried several sets from china/korea "budget" brand pickups but none gave me "that sound" I was looking for. After literally, 6 sets I decided to go with a USA brand and started my research process. These came highly recommended and with nothing but great reviews online. I was hoping for a chrome covered set but SW only had the black bobbin sets available as a pair. Along with Emerson CTS pots and Orange drop capacitors these pickups have everything I could want from pickups. The Neck pickup was the most surprising and satisfying. Not to take anything away from the bridge pickup, it's just that the neck pickup is sweet, smooth, dynamic, and clear. Makes my import guitar sound like my American made equivalents.

  • from Georgia March 16, 2017

    Seymour Duncan Hot Rodded Humbucker Set

    Easy mounting instructions to go by, Installed in my SG. Sounds great playing in clean, crunch, overdrive

  • from Mid Missouri January 23, 2016Music Background:
    Years of local gigging

    Great tone

    I had been using an EMG 81/85 set in my Les Paul classic, which was great for really high gain work, but in my current blues/rock band, I couldn't dial the gain down enough to get that sweet, slightly overdriven sing. This Duncan set did the trick. The highs and lows are nicely balanced, and I can really hear the guitar's voice. These sit very nicely in the band mix, and are almost as quiet as the EMGs at high gain settings. Then only reason I gave 4.5 instead of 5 stars is that the set came with slotted screws (really?) - very other part on my LP uses Phillips.

  • from Connecticut November 6, 2015

    Sound Great

    I have limited experience with pickups but what a difference . Its a night and day difference from probuckers. Remember to adjust them up and down to taste.

  • from Sicklerville, NJ June 11, 2015Music Background:
    gigging musician

    Really Nice set

    How on Earth can I review how they "sound" to anyone other than myself? We all like different things, and the tone will be completely different from your guitar than from mine. But I can tell you this: They seem to being out the best in what I'm looking to get - tone wise. Clean, crisp, yet under distortion remain crisp and clean. I'm definitely glad I bought them, and of all the SD's I've bought, I like these the best.

  • from TN. usa November 30, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Go For It

    A great set for upgrading your sound

Questions about the Seymour Duncan Hot Rodded Humbucker Set - SH-4 and SH-2n?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway