rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Seymour Duncan SH-4 JB Model Humbucker Pickup - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Seymour Duncan SH-4 JB Model Humbucker Pickup - Black?

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SH-4 JB Model Humbucker Pickup - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Chris McCown

    Is it any wonder why this is Seymour Duncan's best selling pickup, and has been for many years? This pickup has just the right amount of mids poking through the signal, nice highs without the "icepick in the ear" effect (with the right potentiometers), and nice tight bass. The JB is Duncan's best selling pickup because it sounds good whether you're doing hard rock, funk, chicken pickin', or blues!

  • from Texas June 2, 2017

    Just What My Flying V Needed

    I purchased an Epiphone Flying V Custom this past year and have tried several pickup variations, in addition to the stock Epiphone pups that were provided.I eventually settled on an SH-4 JB in the bridge and the stock pup in the neck. Those two together, when combined using the middle setting of the 3-way toggle switch, provides a balance that no other pickup variation did.The output of the JB is middle-to-high gain output,with just the right amount of treble to work well with the neck pup. No mud, and serious good tone from the Seymour Duncan,all by itself. Amazing clarity across all 6 strings when used through a clean amp setting, and the added growl it adds in a bluesy-to-hard rock gain set-up is the tone that can't be duplicated. The SH-4 JB gives your axe that pro,on-the-radio sound. One of my favorite pickups of all time. The standard pup which all other pickups are to be measured and compared to.

  • from OHIO February 3, 2017Music Background:
    Blues Artist

    Great Upgrade

    Installed this pickup in an Epiphone Les Paul Custo. Blew the stock pickup away.

  • from Philly, PA Area March 31, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician / Composer

    Outstanding Bridge Pickup

    This took my black Ibanez SAS32EX to bridge sound as good as any Les Paul I have owned. I rewired as split coil with no tone and the results exceeding all of my expectations.

  • from United States February 19, 2015Music Background:
    hobbiest w/ 13 years guitar tech experience and live musician work

    fantastic tone

    I had high hopes for this pick up. I've been a fan of Duncan's pups for years and this is no exception. Overall it handles all styles you can throw its way very well ie: metal, jazz, funk, blues, fusion, pop, etc. I thought they all sounded great. This went into a blacktop strat in the bridge position and with the 5 way switch the first 2 positions are for lack of a better term are split and full humbucker. Again I was every impressed with this pick up and if you're looking for something to cover several styles and do it smoothly this would be the pup for you.

  • from Mooresville, NC July 17, 2014Music Background:
    Student, Guitar/Piano Hobbyist, and Gear Enthusiast

    Sweetwater Goes Above and Beyond

    I'm going to give you a simple math equation:
    JB Trembucker + Little '59 Mini PAF + SH-2 Jazz Neck Humbucker = A killer combination for my Ibanez 350RG!

    The JB here is one of the most popular pickups on the market, and for good reason. The sonic hums you get out of this thing are unreal, and the tone is indescribably awesome. Definitely a higher-output pickup, but it's also a jack of all trades - Does rock, metal, blues, jazz, and even pop very well! This thing is incapable of making a bad sound.

    Keep in mind that the model sold here is Gibson spaced, so the poles will not fit a guitar with a Floyd Rose or Floyd Rose variant properly. For that you need a Duncan TB-4, or Trembucker, which Sweetwater doesn't normally stock. HOWEVER...

    +1000 to Sweetwater's service for this one! Like I mentioned they don't normally stock the TB-4, but my awesome Sales Engineer, Brandon Eden, special ordered one just for me at no extra cost straight from Seymour Duncan. Now THAT is exceptional customer service!

  • from Lancaster, PA September 7, 2012Music Background:
    Recreational

    Whoa, what a difference.

    I stuck this along with a Seymour Duncan Jazz Neck in my Epiphone Les Paul. Output is a bit higher than the Jazz but easily handled by the pots. The JB has just enough heat, and is easily adjustable.

  • from at home February 24, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Teacher

    great pickup

    Had one installed in my Ibanez and it is great. Even the coil tap sounds good like a real single coil. The pickup is crunchy and cleans up during solos.

  • from United States July 18, 2014

    great pickup

    this is a great pickup for a great price, my guitar, which i bought used and came with very poor stock pickups, sounds infinitely better. my squire stratocaster that i installed the pickup on sounds a lot more crisp and well toned, especially when i turn on the distortion. if youre looking to noticeably improve the sound of your guitar for a reasonable price, this is the pickup for you

  • from Auckland, New Zealand November 30, 2008Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Awesome Upgrade

    I installed this into an Epiphone Dot and my guitar just came alive.It makes the old pickups sound incredibly dull, like they were covered with pillows! It's got a full tone that is clear and harmonically rich. Great for rock or blues with attitude. It loves overdrives, fuzzes and distortions. It can also clean up well. It is a pretty versatile pickup. A great place to start with your hot-rodding antics!

  • from Austin January 10, 2017

    Really picky about the guitar it's in...

    I've tried this pup in 4 different guitars...a cheap basswood Ibanez, a PRS SE Custom 24 a PRS SE245,, and an Ibanez Prestige RG Mahogany. I thought it was horrendous in all but the cheap basswood Ibanez. In that guitar, it was a huge improvement and sound very large and powerful. In the other guitars, it lacked bite and clarity and seemed to be wanting for low end. Compared to the SH-5 Custom that SD offers, this isn't even in the same league. I've yet to hear a guitar that the Custom sounded bad in.

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SH-4 JB Model Humbucker Pickup - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway