rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Seymour Duncan SH-2 Jazz Model Humbucker Pickup - Black Neck Reviews

5.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Seymour Duncan SH-2 Jazz Model Humbucker Pickup - Black Neck?

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SH-2 Jazz Model Humbucker Pickup - Black Neck?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 19, 2016

    THE gold standard for neck pickups

    Clear, defined, and balanced - this is the gold standard by which all neck pickups should be measured against. I've installed them in all my guitars neck position at this point.

  • from North Carolina September 1, 2016Music Background:
    I'm just a classic rock/blues rhythm guitar player.

    Replaced Dimarizo on my Les Paul Ace Frehley Budakon

    On my Gibson Les Paul Custom triple pickup Ace Frehley Budakon model;.

    I replaced the DiMarzio Super Distortion with this Seymour Duncan SH-2 Jazz Model Pickup in neck position.

    I'm in love with the guitar, I play classic rock & didn't like the Dimarzio pickup sounds..

    They just are too hot for my style. This was a great decision from the Sam Ash Guitar Tech in Charlotte NC.

    Playing guitar for 30 +years I was never one to "change out" stock pickups, I didn't believe that changing pickups would make that much of a noticeable difference.
    .
    Boy was I wrong! I can't believe how rich & lush this pickup has played through my Fender Dyna Touch III 650 Amp. Now I will be playing my favorite jams much more!

    My genre is classic rock i.e., Bad Company, BB King, Joe Walsh, Doobie Brothers, Hall & Oates, Crosby Stills and Nash, Neil Young, Atlanta Rhythm Section, Lynyrd Skynyrd. WOW,

    Iím pulling out my Fake Books again!

  • from Philly, PA Area March 31, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Jazz / Rock Guitarist and Composer

    Unbelievable Sound for my Neck Pickup

    This took my black Ibanez SAS32EX to sound as good as any Les Paul I have owned. I rewied as split coil with no tone and the results exceeding all of my expectations.

  • from Mooresville, NC July 17, 2014Music Background:
    Student, Guitar/Piano Hobbyist, and Gear Enthusiast

    The Best Neck Pickup on the Market

    No, I really mean that. The clean tones out of this thing are UNREAL. Absolutely perfect for just about anything... If you close your eyes, you might mistake the axe you're playing for an acoustic! Add a little bit of gain and you're in an absolutely fantastic bluesy wonderland. Gotta love that!

    Sweetwater's service is the best around to.

  • from Florida July 17, 2014Music Background:
    Jazz, Classical and anything else

    Seymour Duncan Hotrodded set

    I use the Seymour Duncan Hotrodded set in my Klein. Playing both fingerstyle Jazz with walking bass lines, the neck position Jazz is clean and crisp. When playing Jazz fusion, the JB does the job.

  • from St. Louis, MO, USA June 2, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro classical guitarist who also enjoys playing Blues, Jazz, Rock and Pop.

    Excellent and highly recommended!

    Just replaced the stock neck pickup on my PRS SE semi-hollow guitar with this. I initially thought the stock pickup was decent and was really not sure if this pickup swap was going to be worth the time and effort. But the SD Jazz pickup breathed new life into my guitar! It sounds so much better now. The tone now has much more focus, clarity and a musical responsiveness that is way beyond what the stock pickup offered. The 4-conductor wiring also allowed me to install a coil-tap option that I did not previously have. Highly recommended pickup!

  • from Herman, NE November 1, 2012Music Background:
    Better than a beginner but no where near where I want to be YET!

    Probably THE best neck p/u

    This pickup has some sweet tones and harmonics. I put it in with a Dimebucker at the bridge and wow, clean to nasty and everything in between. Try it, you'll like it....

  • from Lancaster, PA September 7, 2012Music Background:
    Recreational

    Great warm Sound

    I took this and a Seymour Duncan JB for the bridge (Apparently Mr. Seymour loves the combo.) The great warm sound makes any genre thaw out and wake you up. The JB is a grat balance for a bit more bite.

  • from Longview, WA December 25, 2011Music Background:
    beginning musician

    great neck pickup

    Excellent for about any guitar or musical style.

  • from North Carolina June 15, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging Musician/Hobbyist

    My neck pickup of choice

    In every twin humbucker guitar I own, this is the pickup that sits in the neck position. In the bridge position, I use a pick-up that suits the guitar (JB, Pearly Gates, Invader, etc).

    But this works well in the neck of all of them. Great bottom end with very clearly articulated highs. Great, great, clean pickup.

  • from Portland, ME January 20, 2010

    Very Versatile

    I installed this pickup in the neck position of my epiphone les paul and a gibson les paul pickup in the bridge. For clean tone, this thing is unbeatable. I love the sound of it. Great for chill space rock, jazz, bluesy stuff, and thick rock distortion. I use this pickup more than my bridge pickup.

  • from United Kingdom December 31, 2008Music Background:
    Musician / luthier

    Seymour Duncan SH-2

    After much thought and research I installed the SH-2(n)pickup at the neck of my new custom built guitar. This instrument has a mahogany neck and body, and walnut fingerboard. It has independent volume and tone controls for each of the(2)pickups. The circuit is similar to the Les Paul, but with the pickup / selector wires reversed to give fully independent control of each pickup. The resulting sound is stunningly good with full, darkish, pin sharp tone from the SH-2. The pickup has proved to be amazingly versatile: handles bluesy stuff and rock really well, but copes with just about eaverything else too. In my opinion this is a truly wonderful pickup and testifies to Seymour Duncan's design and manufacturing experience!

  • from Auckland, New Zealand November 15, 2008Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Oh Yeah!

    This pickup rules! It has a full, sweet, balanced tone that works for Blues (B.B. King style) yet also has the punch to rock out some Kyuss (metal) style riffs through a big muff. It's called a "jazz" model, but it'll handle anything.It is very versitile.
    It's a great buy.

  • from Austin January 10, 2017

    Very solid neck PU

    Had this installed on a PRS SE with a Dimarzio Gravity Storm bridge. It worked well...my only complaint is that sometimes it seemed a bit more trebley than something with "Jazz" in the name should. I also found that while it's a great pup, it lacked in character a little bit...but that's not a huge concern. Very solid neck PU...from someone who hates most neck pups. haha

  • from Sicklerville, NJ April 2, 2015Music Background:
    gigging musician

    SD SH-2 Jazz Humbucker

    I used this to replace the stock INF1 pickup in my Ibanez S670QM, since they were a little muddy to my ear. The Seymour Duncan SH-2 is a nice, clean, warm pickup. Just what you might want from a neck position. Now, how hard is it to describe to other how it sounds ? Next to impossible, so I'll just say that to me, it works for what I want it to do. I'm not 100% happy with it, because it can be a little too trebly at times, but rolling off the tone know does the trick. Would I recommend it ? Over the stock pickups in most guitars - sure. It's crisp and clean, and has a nice sound. Worth the money at the very least.

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SH-2 Jazz Model Humbucker Pickup - Black Neck?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway