0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Gibson SG Standard 2016 T - Heritage Cherry Reviews

4.5 stars based on 24 customer reviews
  • from September 17, 2016

    Home again

    If you want a classic Gibson SG feel, the 2016 SG Standard T is the real deal. I own a 1999 SG, which I love, but in that era the neck is joined further into the body and thus doesn't give the extreme upper register access as most SG's. So I wanted another SG. I bought the 2015, but didn't like it, many of the innovations on the 2015 (very flat neck, compound radius fretboard, gizmo tuners) were not for me, so I sold it, and now I found a what I was looking for. The 2016 SG Standard T is the real deal; it's a Gibson through and through I had considered a used early 2000's SG, but I feel better buying new, and the 2016 is as good as the early 2000's SG's in my opinion.

  • from Spencer, NY September 3, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur Guitar Enthusiast

    SG is a Fine Instrument

    I've had this guitar for about 6 months now, and for the money, this is a very good instrument. This isn't the most beautiful guitar in my collection, but the finish was very nice and the craftsmanship was very solid. The action is absolutely fabulous and the intonation in perfect across the entire fretboard. The guitar is extremely playable with great access to all the frets and this is probably the single most positive aspect of this guitar - it just plays great! Only my Les Paul has better action, but this is a close second, and on a par with my Fender Strat, and it is not as susceptible to accidental bends as the Les Paul. The pickups are responsive and the sound is very crisp. The guitar as shipped from the factory needed no adjustments for me as I was comfortable with it right out of the box. The guitar, as expected, is a bit neck heavy but a simple suede strap cures the neck dives easily. The guitar does need to be retuned in between sessions, and sometimes within an extended session, but that is a minor issue. I own other guitars that are more expensive and are better all-around guitars, but this guitar is hard to beat for the money. If you want to rock and roll, this guitar can fit the bill for a very reasonable price.

    For a note on Sweetwater, I have bought four guitars from them (Fender Strat, PRS CE 24, Gretsch White Falcon, this SG) and I have been completely satisfied with each instrument. Each guitar has arrived in perfect condition and my salesperson has always been very helpful and responsive. I will continue to purchase from Sweetwater.

  • from California August 12, 2016

    Simply Amazing?

    I purchased a new SG in 1972. It was my first serious guitar. Unfortnately, I had to sell it just a few years later. I have the memories of that Gibson etched deeply in my memory. Buying a new 2016 Gibson SG has revived all of the feelings an emotions associated with the purchase of my first SG so many years ago. Sweetwater has made this possible with their unsupassed service. The guitar is beyound outstanding, but what I will remember is the incredible service provided by my sales engineer, Delvin Wolf and the expert setup and service of Guitar Techician, Adam Vaughn. Thank you both so much.

    Sweetwater is clearly the best and only place to buy your gear.

  • from Western KY May 20, 2016Music Background:
    Amatuer musician- 18 years playing.

    Best guitar I've owned so far.

    I ordered this Gibson SG in Cherry Red back in March and I haven't put it down since. Every legendary rock/early metal tone is there- from Gusty Chicago Electric Blues a la the 3 Kings and Mike Bloomfield to Cream/Clapton to The Beatles on The White Album to The Doors to The Who Live At Leeds to AC/DC's entire career to 80s Arena Rock raunch...it's all there. I highly recommend this guitar as well as Sweetwater for their outstanding service.

    My guitar came nice, clean, free of any dings and scratches, setup and ready to play out of the box. SW definitely takes care of their customers, the service excellent and the guitar was obviously packed up as if it were the crown jewels of England before it was shipped from the warehouse.

    Buy this guitar, plug it in to a good tube amp and Basque in it's rock majesty.

  • from Louisiana May 12, 2016Music Background:
    Blues/Rock

    I am in awe!

    I received my new SG yesterday, just in time for a gig last night. I have to say that I was, at first, a little hesitant to gig with a guitar that I hadn't gotten to know, but this one felt so good out of the box. It was perfectly set up and only slightly out of tune. I was really impressed with the tonal quality and the feel of the neck. Though I had thought that I'd only use it for a song or two, I wound up playing about half of the two-hour set with it. I really couldn't believe how great it was! Gibson and Sweetwater are a winning combination!

  • from Palm Harbor, Florida May 9, 2016

    Gibson SG Standard 2016

    I used to play a Cherry SG in the 70's. This guitar is just like home for me. I took it our of the box, it was perfectly tuned and I am still playing it. Rock on Sweetwater!

  • from March 22, 2016Music Background:
    Playing guitar for 40 yrs

    Gibson SG Standard

    GRRREAT!!!

  • from Fairbanks, Alaska February 26, 2016Music Background:
    old self taught punk songwriter :)

    my new SG!

    Sweetwater rules! Customer concern was obvious. My guitar showed up before I expected it, in tune, carefully packaged and ready to play! My SG sounds fantastic, I'm so glad I was sent your way. Thank you.

  • from Seattle, Washington February 20, 2016Music Background:
    Hermit shredder

    It's an SG, so everything's going to be OK

    I purchased one of these in the Heritage Cherry finish from Sweetwater in December 2015. I was trading up from a PRS SE Custom 24 that I had bought from Sweetwater a couple of weeks previous. The PRS was flawlessly made -- a very impressive guitar -- but it just didn't feel like it was for me. So Joe James made it easy for me to do an exchange, including picking up the return shipping charge on the PRS. Well done, Joe.
    As for the SG, it's great. A simple, solid, really good-looking guitar that sounds like you'd want it to sound: rich and woody and classic. It's got that fast neck they always attribute to the SG, though I don't know exactly what makes that so. The frets are pretty tall and the neck is wide, at least to me-- I've been playing a worn-in 1976 Japanese Epiphone for many years and a new guitar is pretty exotic to me.
    This guitar just feels like the real deal. I'm a firm believer that the Gibson SG is the king of electric guitars.
    I will not attempt to back that up, as I believe it to be the unassailable truth.
    Anyway, what a guitar. The gig bag they include is an insult to the instrument. I spent $110 on a Gator case, the brown one with the pink lining. It's a perfect fit, and I recommend it.

  • from Harrisburg NC February 11, 2016Music Background:
    Lead guitar player in worship band

    Awesome service.....Awesome guitar

    1st let me say that purchasing a guitar from SW.is a worry free experience . My sales rep is Josh Estock and his willingness to provide u with the instrument ur looking for is unmatched, and I've already bought a 2014 LP traditional with a wide flame top in tobacco burst that rivals most Gibson historic r8, r9 Les Paul's thanks to him.
    So I bought a 2016 sg H cherry, having seen a few that sold by one of ur competitors with unique wood grain patterns I ask josh if he could find me something similar and he did, he held it emailed me photos and much to my surprise the guitar exceeded all the ones I had seen. 2days later the guitar arrives and now it's several months later. Now we all know that an SG is a rock machine but I got to say when played clean this guitar has one of the best mids sound I've ever heard, and I have a collection the ranges from Duesenbrrg,PRS,CS fenders,historic les Paul's,...etc
    So the guitar u want, the sound u expect, the service u hope for and better... Come on....!!! how do u beat that....!!!!
    Josh rules... Sweatwater is my music store of choice......!!
    Thanks....!
    Josh

  • from Saint John In January 1, 2016

    Awesome Gibson

    First off I want to say that Sweetwater is unbeatable in price and customer service! Now for the SG. Unboxed this beauty and was very pleased. Beautiful and setup just how I wanted it. Thanks to Justin and the guys who set it up. Sat down with it and played it acoustically and was blown away. It sings all by its self. Played it for a couple of hours this way and it is a joy. Plugged it into my half stack(Marshall of course) and That's when the fun really began.I love everything about this SG. Playability,tone and it is a beauty. Love how comfortable this guitar feels. You have to play one for yourself to really appreciate what a great job Gibson has done with the 2016 model...One wasn't enough for me I had to order the ebony too....Peace

  • from Ohio December 14, 2015

    Another great guitar from Sweetwater

    I bought this one so I can keep my original 1965 SG tucked safely away. This 2016 SG Standard is an awesome guitar. Neck is very fast and Pickups give that classic rock tone we are all familiar with. Fit and finish is great. I highly recommend this guitar....add it to your collection or get it to put to work in your live gigging and recording....you won't be disappointed!! Thanks again to my sales professional, Zach Garrison.

  • from December 5, 2015Music Background:
    Play lead guitar in great band

    Great guitar ll and fire it really rocks

    A great guitar for rock blues player through Marshall amplifier go blow your mind

  • from Laguna Beach December 3, 2015Music Background:
    Extensive

    Perfect. Everything it should be

    This is the 6th guitar I've purchased from Sweetwater. It is everything it should be. Gibson has not been sloppy on this one. Even the strings it came with are decent and I still haven't changed them.

    It sounds great and plays well. Definitely has that "sound" and great sustain. The fret-board is perfectly matched for my big hands. The workmanship on the fret-board and binding is excellent. No complaints.

  • from RIVER FALLS, WI November 12, 2015

    Gibson SG

    This is my first electric guitar purchase from Sweetwater and I couldn't be happier. Totally satisfied. It rocks! I've been playing acoustic guitar for about 4yrs as a hobby and I decided to jump to electric. I also bought the SKB case for SG's and it fits like a glove. Thanks Gibson and Sweetwater!

  • from Pennsylvania October 21, 2015Music Background:
    Long-time guitar player

    KING OF THE HOT, SIZZLING TREBLE, ETC.!

    This is an incredibly BEAUTIFUL guitar, with its classic SG shape, rich color, smooth and glossy finish, &
    its newer-style pickguard! As for playability, I LOVE the very fast & comfortable neck, as well as the low
    action! Sound-wise, get ready for the ultimate SIZZLING CRUNCH from the bridge pickup! I'd suggest
    that you warn anyone within a few yards of your amp to take cover---it's THAT HOT! In addition, when you combine both pickups, you get very clear & pleasant-sounding chords! Fortunately, for this 2016 model, Gibson wisely decided to do away with those annoying blunders contained in the 2015 edition!
    Also, as I've stated repeatedly in my reviews, my Sales Engineer, Mike Soper, is the ABSOLUTE BEST to assist you in getting your guitar! His vast knowledge of the products, along with his patience, friendliness, & overall professionalism, are second to none! To reach Mike by phone, he is at Ext.1342.

  • from Atlanta July 29, 2016Music Background:
    Singer/Guitarist

    A Return to Form for Gibson

    This guitar is an awesome deal, and Gibson is genius to bring it back down to its original price-point. The pickups sound great, the finish is beautiful, neck is super-fast, and its the closest you're gonna get to Les Paul tone without spending the $2000. I'm taking off a half a star because it comes in a gig bag instead of a hardshell case, but you can always get one aftermarket for it. I should also add that I ordered from Sweetwater and it arrived two days later in perfect condition with a pretty good setup. Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from Natrona Heights, PA January 31, 2016Music Background:
    20 yrs

    SG Standard

    Purchased a Sweetwater Demo model. Overall I was satisfied with their description of the guitar, as it was in better condition than described. And ya it showed up 2 days after the purchase.

    Setup was good, neck plays like a dream, lively sounding piece of wood. The 490r/498t are 4 conductor pickups. Can be modified for push pull configuration with some modification.

    Great guitar, would of gave it a 5 if the frets were absolutely perfect, and the rear access plate didn't make a static like sound when rubbed.

  • from leesburg, alabama January 18, 2016

    Gibson SG Standard

    I love it I change the strings on it to 08s and it sounds great

  • from Denison December 10, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist / Semi Pro

    Pure Awesomeness

    My First new guitar in years and I must say I was pleasantly surprised at the way it turned out, Plays really well right out of the box. The PLEK'd frets make a world of difference as to how it's going to play and feel, and the service I received from my Sales Engineer Joe Shaffer was top notch, as one might expect from Sweetwater Music! If you have the coin and can afford one of these then go for it, I do not think you will be disappointed in the Guitar at all or the great service Sweetwater provides, just ask for Joe Shaffer, he is one heck of a nice guy who really knows his stuff and went far and beyond to ensure my satisfaction. The reason for 4.5 rating was because of some minor nitpicking cosmetically things that were of a personal nature to me but otherwise just a wonderful playing, great sounding guitar and very nice to hold and look at too! A great addition to my guitar collection and music gear, I love it and really appreciate Joe Shaffer's 110% effort in making it come together very easy and flawless. Thank you Sweetwater and Joe Shaffer for a job well done, Guitar bliss once again!

  • from OKC, OK November 13, 2015Music Background:
    guitar and trumpet music player hobbist

    Just Correct

    This 2016 SG is great. The finish and construction seem perfect. Gibson brought back the larger pick guard (which I greatly appreciate) and the brought back the fret wire end binding which is a must for me. All in all considered I highly recommend the guitar and a hard shell case in stead of the standard gig bag. Also the price attracted me as well.

  • from CA June 17, 2016

    Mighty Fine Guitar

    Received mine about a month and a half ago and can say that this is a fine guitar to own. The neck feels fantastic and no issues with static that earlier reviews mentioned (guess Gibson fixed the issue by now?). The only complaint I have is the nibs on this axe are very large; much larger than on say a Gibson 335. I don't know why that is.

  • from April 29, 2016

    Problems

    I really like the guitar. It plays great. Sounds good. The intonation is good but...
    The horrible static popping from the plate in the back of the guitar makes it unusable.
    I read that others were having this same problem so I played 2 of them in my local guitar shop. They had no problems whatsoever. It seems that this popping is a known issue that Gibson is ignoring. If I can figure-out some inexpensive way to fix it, I'll keep it. If not, I'll have to return it. Sadly, I love the guitar except for this one huge flaw.

  • from Akron, OH December 7, 2015Music Background:
    30 year hobbyist

    Terrible static issue

    I love this guitar. The craftsmanship and playability are just beautiful. However, there is an issue with static being generated by the nitro finish and is being sent through the electronics via the plastic back cover plate. The static popping and cracking through the speakers whenever my body touches the plate makes the guitar virtually unplayable. I was sent 3 of these guitars all with the same issue.
    Gibson is aware of this issue and is sending me a cover plate from a different vendor which is supposed to solve the problem. In the meantime, I removed the plate altogether and replaced it with a piece of cardboard. The static noise is completely gone now.
    This is really a 5 star guitar to me, otherwise I would have given up on it by now. However, this static issue needs to be taken seriously by Gibson and addressed accordingly. Sweetwater has been very accommodating in helping to get this worked out.

Questions about the Gibson SG Standard 2016 T - Heritage Cherry?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close