0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Gibson SGJ14 - Cherry Satin Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • from United States October 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, enthusiast

    Sweet guitar at an even sweeter price!

    I've always been a Fender person, I own a few strats and teles. I've been wanting an SG for some time and couldn't pass up this deal to own one. I couldn't be happier that I took the plunge! I'm not a great guitar player by any means, but I'm better on this SG than any of my Fenders, and it makes me realize what I've been missing all these years. It plays like butter! The tone of this thing is indescribable, the '61 humbuckers have that ballsy crunch! I like to play a lot of Sabbath, ZZ Top, you can nail that tone down so easily with this thing. If you're thinking about picking one up, don't hesitate. The cherry satin finish is beautiful, and at this price, don't pass on it!

  • from Berkeley, CA October 13, 2014Music Background:
    Playing for many years, hobbyist and always a student.

    Don't Miss this one!

    Let me open by saying I just spent a couple thousand dollars on 2014 Les Paul Classic Custom. It's a sweet guitar! When I play this guitar, I am not getting 25% of the experiencem that's for sure! The frets are not very polished, which you feel when bending, and to be expected at this price point... but it's one of the corners cut to get this thing to a great price.

    Set-up from Sweetwater seemed good, better than what you'd get from, say, Guitar Center. The Guitar looked better in person (I got a vintage sunburst but leaving the review here) and despite 1-2 very minor things, it's perfect.

    The sound... oh the sound. These new pick ups sound GREAT! Instant classic rock- The Who, ACDC... I have a modded DSL40c Marshall being over driven on the clean channel with a JHS Soul Food and I wanted to play All Night Long! =)

    Buying experience was awesome, and I am VERY HAPPY! Will I take this to my luthier for a set-up? Yes, but I'm in no hurry...

  • from Portland, OR October 4, 2014Music Background:
    Music lover and radio DJ

    USA All The Way

    This is so much guitar for the money, I have many rare high end guitars and this one can hang with all off them. Buy it today before you can't the old school tuners, 2015 they are all going to auto-tuning system and these axes will double in price then,

  • from PA July 28, 2014Music Background:
    Profesional Musician

    What a guitar!

    Seriously, this is a fantastic guitar and in my opinion is worth its weight in gold. Of the many Gibsons I've played, this is my current favorite, maybe its the glorious tone these new pickups deliver, maybe the super comfortable neck, maybe the light weight, maybe the satin finish, etc. I could keep going. Don't let the low price fool you - this is a professional instrument all the way. Some may prefer an expensive gloss finish, but satin looks and feels pretty nice to me. The slim taper 50s neck profile is very comfortable, enough to get your hand around but not too much to slow you down. Did I mention the tone? These are my favorite Gibson pickups by far. All I can say is I've been using this baby on tour since I got it, and I'm not about to put it down. Do yourself a favor and go for it. You won't be disappointed.

  • from Lynden, Washington May 1, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician for 50 years

    Gibson SGJ14 Cherry Satin

    I had not bought a new guitar for awhile then saw this new Gibson listed on Sweetwater. I read the reviews, the great price and decided to purchase. It was shipped quickly and packaged well, The Gibson gig bag was great quality and the guitar beautiful...no damage or scratches.
    I love this guitar. Best quality for the price. It plays excellent, really nice sound and feels like a favorite friend already.
    Thanks Sweetwater for the great follow up as well. Bernie :)

  • from Jacksonville Beach, FL April 16, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Blues Man

    I love this Gibson Guitar

    I've always wanted a Gibson and they finally came out with one that I could afford. I was a bit skeptical because of the negative reviews of the earlier models of SGs and SGJs, but the SGJ14 120th Anniversary Model erased all my fears. The Pups are amazing and it's so light weight! I replaced the factory 9-42s with 1047 Ernie Ball slinkys,
    It was advertised as 'set-up' but I had to move the tail-piece higher, off the body, adjust the truss-rod and readjust the Pup height. I adjusted the bridge, but had to leave the bass side higher than I wanted, in order to get rid of the E&A-string fret buzz, but I play the blues (which requires a slightly higher action for bending, anyway) so that was no big deal. Once it was ready, I found that this short scale, 24 fret guitar plays and sounds better than ANY of the numerous guitars that I've owned in the past, hands down!
    Also, the service from Sweetwater was above and beyond, as well. They have now gained a lifetime customer!

  • from Northeast March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Amature - Pro

    Gibson SGJ

    I ordered my 1st SGJ in sunburst and it arrived already setup perfectly. The new 61 pups sound awesome. Although the neck p/up had some scratches and gouge on it. (Sweetwater arranged to have the problem fixed ). I figured that Gibson would realize that these are such a bargain at the $499 they would up the price soon, so I bought a second one Just before they went up on the price. The second arrived nicer than the first. It actually almost naturally looks naturally quilted on the burst finish top.No scratches on the pups. No flaws already setup perfectly. I think would look even better with cream rings and toggle cover which I will do in time...Don't hesitate these axes are the best deal Gibson has ever offered!!!! Oh Sweetwater is the place to buy. You get to pick the one you want, They send you pics before they ship, The candy in the box a nice touch + you will get a personal call re: your order. The C.S. is second to none

  • from North Charleston, SC January 31, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Gibson SGJ14 - 2014, Cherry Satin

    Received my guitar almost a month ago now and have been playing and testing it regularly. WOW! This is one of the best playing and sounding Gibson's that I have ever played! These pickups are awesome! I have always preferred a Burstbucker 1 in the neck and Bustbucker 3 in the bridge. But these pickups are way better! The neck is great and so is the finish. It was nice to see Gibson put new larger strap buttons on too. That was the first thing I always changed. I never liked their smooth speed knobs and they have changed them too by adding notches. I cannot believe Gibson can sell a guitar of this quality, at this price. Say good-bye to the imports if Gibson keeps this up. Fender and Carvin wake up! For $500.00 bucks, this is the best investment I have ever made...

  • from Locust, North Carolina October 10, 2014Music Background:
    Playing since 1970

    Very nice SG

    I own several newer Gibson Les Paul Studios and this SGJ is a well made guitar! I love the satin finish feel. Fret work is excellent. Zebra pickups sound great through my Marshall JVM 205h. I honestly believe you will never be able to get a Gibson guitar for less than $500 after 2015. Get one before they're gone!

  • from Madison, WI October 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing

    This guitar is amazing. Played well right out of the box after a quick tuning, I did not have to touch a thing set-up wise. Sounds great, plays great. I did replace the speed knobs with a more vintage look, but other than that this is a great guitar. I did take off a half point because there is one area around one of the horns that could have been sanded a little better. It is too bad that Gibson is discontinuing these for 2015 - great American made guitar at a reasonable price.

    Very impressed with Sweetwater, placed my order on Thursday evening. I had my guitar Friday afternoon.

  • from KIMBERLING CITY MISSOURI February 26, 2014Music Background:
    HOBBY SINCE 1983.

    GREAT GUITAR

    GOOD GUITAR.
    NEVERTHLESS ARRIVED WITH A TWO INCH FINISH IMPERFECTION ON THE RIGHT SIDE BETWEEN CURVE AREA.
    .
    SWEETWATER SAID THAT HAPPENS SOMETIMES. I ACCEPTED THEIR ANSWER AND HAVE MADE IT MINE.

    NEVER THE LESS I EXPECTED BETTER QUALITY FROM GIBSON.
    MY MARTIN IS EXCELLANT AND IT WAS MADE IN CHINA???????????

Questions about the Gibson SGJ14 - Cherry Satin?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway