0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Gibson SG '61 Reissue - Heritage Cherry Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • from Flagler Beach, Florida November 30, 2015

    Very Happy!

    Received my Gibson SG 61 Reissue today. First SG I have owned. First of all the fit and finish is outstanding. After playing Les Pauls and Teles it is so light and comfortable to play. Sounds outstanding!
    I am more than happy with it.

  • from Lewiston, ID USA April 7, 2014Music Background:
    studio musician.

    better than the standard

    Let's just say I bought the 2014 SG standard and I was very upset with the overall quality of the entire instrument. The neck was angle was off and had a twist so you couldn't set your action correctly. I returned it to the seller and replaced it for the '61 reissue after a few frustrating nights trying to figure out that crap min-eTune.
    Wow this '61 is way better in quality but also in tone. Not a single flaw, just outstanding!!! I don't think you will be able to find the reissue still but if you have the cash I would just go to a Gibson certified dealer and try one out for yourself, peace.

  • from California November 9, 2012Music Background:
    Non-Professional Musician

    I had no idea!!!

    Well, the first surprise was when these went on sale, I was stunned, HUGE decrease in price from the usual $1999, nevertheless, I knew that it was the time to buy. I've always loved SG's, I have owned two SG Standards in the past, which, for $1200. are AMAZINGLY solid guitars... but I was always curious about the 61's because I've never played one. Actually, I always assumed that you just payed a lot more money because it was a "Reissue", and as Gibson players, we know how that can be an easy assumption... Well, play one of these and you'll know where that extra money went.

    My other Gibson is a Les Paul Traditional, which is "my baby", and I thought it had one of the best necks I've ever felt, which is semi-60's profile, not quite as thick as an SG Standard, which to me feel comfortable too, but playing this guitar, there is just some magic going on with the 61' neck, it's got to be one of the fastest and smoothest Gibson puts out. String bends are effortless and perfectly balanced, you almost have to try to produce a sour note.

    Another thing, the weight. My LP weighs 9lbs 3oz... my SG, a whole 3lbs lighter, it feels like a feather, and yet produces tones just as thick as the LP... which brings me to another purchasing point for me, both guitars have the 57' Classic pickups, which sound just amazing!

    And, let's not forget the fact that these just may be the COOLEST looking guitars ever made, that and I'm a huge AC/DC as well as Black Sabbath fan (aren't we all?), and Angus and Tony can't be wrong...

    Bottom line...

    These really are what they were intended to be, basically a Les Paul Lite. All of the tone and playability of a Les Paul Standard but with more speed and less weight. And at the price I purchased it for, I am a very happy camper. I finally have to Gibsons that I will own for life.

    I couldn't recommend this guitar more, a million stars!!!

  • from Luzerne, PA USA January 29, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Terrific Guitar

    I purchased this guitar from Sweetwater in May 2011. The guitar is excellent. It is a real looker, plays like butter and neck is extremely comfortable. The Sweetwater guys adjusted the action to my liking and it arrived double boxed and perfectly in tune! I only wished Gibson made this guitar in the old Oxblood color with an ebony fingerboard. Anyone who buys this guiar from Sweetwater, will have a guitar that they will be satisfied with for many years to come.

  • from NYC January 23, 2012Music Background:
    Pro/Am musician

    Why did I wait so long!

    I've been playing electric guitar for over 30 years and confess to having one of everything - except I never owned an SG. Then, one of my cousins who plays in a known, touring metal band lent me his SG 61 Reissue. I ordered one from Sweetwater the next day. The 57's are great and it is the most flexible guitar I've ever touched. Then, as I thought about the history of this axe, well, I realized that everybody played one as either their principle guitar or frequently used one. It all made sense after playing the SG '61 Reissue. The build quality is clean and top notch. I have played classical guitar in my younger day and have no problem with large necks, almost preferring them. Well this neck as width and is the easiest guitar of my lot to play. Now I"m thinking about getting one with the P90s. Everyone should own an SG 61 Reissue, even if its just to have around its so damn flexible and player friendly.

  • from Jacksonville, FL. May 6, 2011Music Background:
    X Roadie....

    Guitar with balls

    What more can I say, this guitar has balls. It's an icon. If your looking for that classic rock sound, look no further. I've always loved the styling and sound of an SG. Plug in to a Marshall, or an Orange, and rock out.....

  • from Cayo Loco July 6, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician/aspiring recording engineer/blueberry muffin eater

    Absolute classic

    I finally got my hands on one of these for an unbelievable price, and I am completely satisfied. Before I picked this up, I was playing with an American Deluxe strat for everything but metal, which I used my Jackson Kelly for. That strat could pull out any tone imaginable, except that Gibson "honk" that comes from that solid, Mahogany body and Gibson pickups. I've always wanted a Les Paul, but didn't want to pay the ridiculous price for one, not too mention the chiropractor bills after a night on stage due to the LPs weight.

    I decided to try an SG and fell completely in love with them. The '61 reissue covers that classic rock n roll sound perfectly. The pickups are, surprisingly, not muddy. The neck pickups has tons of clarity and brightness, unlike the often dark and undefined tones of most Les Pauls on the neck pickups. When playing both pickups, this guitar's "wood" sound stands out as a nice contrast to both pickups on their own, especially as you adjust volume on one of the pickups to pull one out in front of the other. The warmness of the 57 Classics is instantly noticeable. The double cutaway allows for immediate access to the upper registers. The guitar's intonation was also spot on, and the strings weren't sticking in the nut, surprisingly.

    I would highly recommend this for anyone wanting a classic instrument that will be a lifelong companion and investment. Beats any Les Paul, in my opinion, and gives you more bang for the buck.

  • from Bogota, Colombia, South America January 8, 2009Music Background:
    Serious Hobbyist

    Best rock guitar ever

    This is the top Rock guitar ever, that could make "move the ground" by itself, the '57 Classic Humbuckers actually doesn't need pedals at all, just plug the guitar to a nice Amp and you will "the Nation Rock".
    Also achieve an outstanding performance for Metal, Punk or any "solid or noise" sound music.
    The only thing is that you will need to put "gain & distortion" amp in "1" in order to achieve a little bit "clear classic" sound, so if you are more country or soft rock/rock ballad player this Gibson is not for you.

  • from the cruel streets of Buechel October 19, 2008Music Background:
    etc

    Melts in Your Amp, Not in Your Hands!!!

    Just adding my five star's worth on behalf of one of the greatest feats of woodworking & electronics on earth. This axe compares MOST favorably to the original SGs of the early 60s when my beard wasn't white & my head had (a few feet of) hair! Absolutely INSANE action with near ZERO relief & period correct pups.

  • from VA September 19, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A great versatile guitar

    In my opinion, Gibson's SG '61 re-issue stands side by side with the Les Paul as one of the most versatile guitars Gibson has ever made. I play everything from Jazz to Metal and the tone created by the Mahogany body, neck, Rosewood fretboard, and Gibson's famous '57 classic pickups gives this guitar the ability to handle it all without fail. the slim neck and body makes for a lightweight guitar that is so easy to play it's almost effortless. If you are looking for a versatile guitar that has function, looks, and tone to spare, then look no further.

Questions about the Gibson SG '61 Reissue - Heritage Cherry?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway