rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Gibson SG Standard - Natural Burst Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • from Hudson, MA December 3, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    This IS the tone I've been hunting for...

    This guitar is everything I've ever wanted in a guitar. Period. The setup was top notch. No buzzing frets anywhere on the neck. Action was perfect right out of the box. The Natural Burst finish is absolutely stunning! Not a flaw on this guitar. The weight feels good (mine was 7.5 lb), not too heavy but not too light. Now the pickups... pure gold! The sound I heard when I first plugged it in reminded me of why I wanted to play guitar in the first place. Beautiful clarity in the highs, great definition in the lows. If i was stuck on an island and could only have one guitar, this would be it. Sweetwater was excellent during my purchase. Probably the best customer service experience I've had in my life. Don't miss out on this guitar! You'll regret it.

  • from Paden City, WV December 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Gibson Sound!

    This guitar has plays like a dream. The 60's neck is the most comfortable I have ever picked up. The 57 classic pickups are sweet and noise free. I am not a big Gibson fan and never was but this is a killer guitar. This is number 14 in my collection and one of my new favorites now. It is light weight and easy to play. The finish on mine was flawless and very pleased with the setup from Sweetwater.

  • from Arlington, Wa. October 14, 2013Music Background:
    little guitar, pro tools 101

    Rosie

    She is light and powerful !

  • from St.Louis,MO April 16, 2013Music Background:
    Classical player, slide

    Balls Deluxe !

    Sooooooo easy to play! Get it with Min Etune and you will not believe it...you're friends will freak out!

  • from March 14, 2013

    Pure Bliss

    I've been putting this off for too long now. After 24 years of playing acoustic, I finally broke down and bought a new 2012 les Paul traditional from the "superstore." After 2 months of buzzing strings & one replacement I consededed defeat, took my loss and sold it off. You'd thought I'd learned my lesson, but there I was again not only looking at the "superstore" but buying through the online one. I knew I wanted the natural burst SG but I'd have to wait over I month to hold it. The thought of even ordering a guitar online seemed absurd.
    I started looking around online for this guitar & kept reading about Sweetwater & the positive reviews. I took a chance & decided to give them a call. Not only did they have the guitar I wanted, but Brandon gave me all the reasons to trust Sweetwater, and leave the driving to them. Needles to say, the guitar arrived at lightning speed and almost glowed out of the case. I could go on & on about how awesome this guitar is, but most have already said it. It really does play, feel, & sound as good as it looks. In a world of crappy quality & service, Sweetwater stands head & shoulders above the rest. Thanks again Sweetwater & Brandon, I'll never buy another guitar from anyone else.

  • from CT February 15, 2013Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Awesome!!

    Totall blown away! Great feel! Great sound! Classic tones beyond what I imagined!
    I went with the Natural Burst and it looks even better in person than the pictures.
    I own a few decent guitars. Had been playing a USA PRS Cu24 as of late. This SG is right up there quality wise. And tone wise even better in my opinion.
    Really like the 60's slim neck, It really makes it effortless to fly all over the fretboard.
    Gibson did a great job with the 2013 standard.

    And I have got to give Sweetwater a lot of credit. It cool having your own rep to help you out (Thanks John!)The guitar was perfectly set up and shipped FAST! I will definately be back here for all my gear, Blows away the competition!

  • from san diego,CA,USA February 6, 2013Music Background:
    recording engineer, producer, audiophile, guitarist.

    perfection!

    it just doesnt get any better than this! not a flaw on this guitar whatsoever and it just looks absolutley beautiful and more importantly it sounds amazing! I play mostly blues and southern rock and a huge Duane Allman fan being he is my favorite guitarist of all time. the 57 classic pickups are very very close to the sound of genuine pafs from the late 50's. I'll take this SG over my Les Paul and USA made paul reed smith custom 24-10 top because its that awesome. you really get a ton for your money here so dont hesitate and get it from sweetwater with there knlogeable staff who actually cares unlike other compaines. you cant beat this guitar and you cant beat sweetwater.

  • from Albuquerque, NM January 13, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Classic Gibson Workmanship, Stellar Customer Service!

    Ever since this guitar was announced, I knew I had to have it. It was obviously a favorite as it was hard to keep in stock. Although it was in stock with other retailers, I wouldn't have bought it from anyone other than Sweetwater. Robert Johnson is the best sales engineer I've worked with and he let me know as soon as one was available. The shipping was fast and I couldn't be happier with my SG.

    The guitar is amazing! Great sounds, great playability. Love the slim neck and the half pickguard. The finish is incredible! The workmanship in the 2013 model is awesome! So glad that Gibson is building guitars with rosewood fretboards again. Good work, Gibson! Thanks again, Robert! I look forward to doing business with you again in the near future!

  • from New Orleans, LA December 27, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great guitar, unbelievable price - The 2013 SG Standard

    I was prepared to be forgiving when I ordered this guitar. Having been an owner of an original SG in the early sixties I was hoping that there would be a little of the vintage vibe in a standard, production line, utilitarian incarnation of the guitars of old. Well, having played a few Custom Shop SG's I was amazed at how this instrument compared. It actually surpassed a couple of the CS versions I've played in the past. Cosmetics were perfect, not a flaw to be found anywhere. The inlays were great, the hardware was perfect (especially the longer travel bridge saddles, better then vintage correct), the action was incredible and the '57 Classic pickups sounded just like I remembered old SG's sounded.

    In recent years I've been underwhelmed with the Gibson guitars in this price range. But this is obviously a whole new era for Gibson. This guitar is as good as any Gibson I've ever owned or played in over 40 years. I'm sure there are differences from guitar to guitar, but this guitar is a stellar deal. It is now a permanent addition to my inventory of tools.

  • from mid-ohio December 13, 2012Music Background:
    noise maker

    flawless

    This thing rocks ! A real beauty . The service was great . The rep went out of his way to help me out . Small pickgaurd and 57's , small neck tenon , just like the old days . Vintage looks for modern thunder ! She's a keeper .

  • from Raleigh, NC February 25, 2013Music Background:
    Long time hobbyist

    Happy with my new SG

    I am very happy with my Gibson SG Standard. The build quality is great, the set-neck is superb and very easy to play. The string action is very low and the finish is top notch as expected from this range of guitar. The SG is my new favorite go-to practice guitar mainly because of the balance of body to neck. I can sit the guitar on my lap in a chair and it does not tend to fall backwards like the Les Paul or Fender shaped guitars. This is my first hard tail and I love it. No more Floyd Rose tuning nightmares! I love the wide thin neck, almost like a Jackson, just smaller frets. It is very easy to play this guitar in the higher registers.The SG is great for soloing, Satriani, Gilbert or Vai type playing. Be careful of the Nitro finish. The rubber on my old guitar stand left marks in the guitar only weeks after getting it. Otherwise excellent guitar.

Questions about the Gibson SG Standard - Natural Burst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway