0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Gibson SG Standard - Heritage Cherry Reviews

5.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • from Leavenworth Ks November 6, 2013

    Snarling Dog

    This guitar is amazing! Straight out of the box, set up perfectly with a nice low action that is fast and clean, thanks tech guy or girl as the case may be. The finish is great! I chose it from the pictures on the website because it was heavy and had a small knot in the wood like a spot, which is great because the sound is like a snarling dog on a heavy chain with a worn collar...it's gonna get loose...great service thanks to Ian and "the other guy" that corrected my email address fated I had entered it wrong...Doh! , email was sent,confirmed delivery and WOW!!! Beware Of Dog ! Get em Spot !

  • from Jasper GA September 19, 2013Music Background:
    Playing for 35 years

    Love this guitar

    The 57 Classic Humbucker Have so much substance They make playing with a slide sound so good. Love this guitar what else can i say. Give Brent a call an get one. You will love it to.

  • from Lake Charles, LA USA May 22, 2013Music Background:
    Over forty years and still rocking!

    Great Buy!

    I have been wanting an SG for several years. I'm typically a Les Paul guy and don't get me wrong....still have and love them. But being a HUGE AC/DC fan....when I saw this SG and was able to actually see the one I would be buying....I had to pull the trigger. The neck was flawless along with fit and finish. Beautiful instrument.....and can play all types of music. Clean to down right dirty! If you've been waiting to pull the trigger like myself, do yourself a favor and get one now. A best value for the quality you get!

  • from Massachusetts April 29, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist/ gigging musician

    2013 SG Standard

    Very impressed with this guitar. The 57 classics are great in this instrument and the overall tone is excellent. 60's neck is very comfortable. Overall a good buy.

  • from Austin, Texas April 29, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Artist

    Gibson SG Standard(Heritage Cherry) 2013

    Having been playing Reverend, PRS and Fender, we were looking for a new 'sound profile'. We knew we wanted a Gibson(I've had several in the past;long story), but not one that that was so expensive/precious it would never leave the home studio(my kitchen table actually...) or weighed 9-10 lbs.

    Solution? This exact one.

    After hearing about quality control from Gibson, we were concerned. Not with this one.

    ...Leave it to Sweetwater!

    They had all their stock displayed in multiple angle HD pix, with their weights! Ordered on Thursday morning(4/25), got a follow up call from Aaron to confirm the order and the guitar was delivered to me Saturday(4/27) afternoon. Free Shipping! No Internet Sales Tax! 24 Months Interest Free! 55-point check: Setup and Gig Ready to play right out of the case!(hat tip to M.V.) Low action, fast neck, flawless frets and humbuckers: what's not to love?

    It's the New Classic Rock Monster~!

    Double Thumbs Up~!!!

  • from March 30, 2013Music Background:
    Old-school rocker

    2013 SG Standard

    Finish is excellent! Took it to a set-up guy and he adjusted the stop-bar a little and that was it! Intonation is spot on, and action was great right out of the case. The Kluson tuners are good, but I may get locking tuners down the road. Pickups give a wide range and I especially like the warm sound of the rhythm by itself. Well worth the money and the sound, playability, and appearance are as good as I could have hoped for.

  • from KC January 15, 2013Music Background:
    35 years on the AXE

    2013 SG Standard

    Alright….let me lay this down for you:
    Ordered the 2013 SG Standard (HERITAGE is the only SG-way to go) from Sweetwater (the best guys in the internet sales biz) late November. I have been really digging D. Trucks and the ABB lately; used that as the excuse to grab this pseudo-’61 reissue at a FAR better price. The 57s, slim neck profile, 22-fret neck joint and small pickguard grabbed me like NOW…..had to have it.
    I’m moving away everyday from a ’58 R8 Paul in tobacco; thick neck and MONSTER PAF-tone (And she is HEAVY). Hearing and handling that every day left some big, sonic shoes to fill….know therefore Brothers what I say is true.

    The 60-day SKINNY:
    I’m playing the SG through a Supersonic 22 (BLONDE of course) on 7-8 gain w/cut mids (2-3). I was sort of expecting a straight up Trucks-type tone…..nope. Instead I got the most incredible early-70s Alice Cooper tone (ala Love it to Death)….with a little bit of B.T.O. thrown in. Bright& edgy on Bridge; SWAMPY (goddamn I gotta have it) on the Neck ’57. Together the P/U combo is DANGEROUS….like that one girl that who’d love ya one minute and stab you with a steak knife the next. The tone is definitely unique to the axe; different than 57s on a Paul.
    Playability….oh hellyeah. I have medium size hands and I ******* FLY on this neck compared to the ’58 R8. Balance in relation to your body is certainly a factor; I have to lay it out on my hip and run this dog at basically a 90-degree angle (versus the Page-L. Paul rockstar pose). Comfortable? YES. Say it with me:
    “Main AXE…”
    Fit and finish is what you would expect from Gibson. Mine was literally flawless. Mirror-like, deep finish with remarkable grain. The case with the white interior is certainly high quality and PLUSH.
    CON: Only one. I seriously want to smash the living **** out of something every time I strap the axe on. Go Figure…..

  • from Albuquerque, NM January 13, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Classic Gibson Workmanship, Stellar Customer Service!

    Ever since this guitar was announced, I knew I had to have it. It was obviously a favorite as it was hard to keep in stock. Although it was in stock with other retailers, I wouldn't have bought it from anyone other than Sweetwater. Robert Johnson is the best sales engineer I've worked with and he let me know as soon as one was available. The shipping was fast and I couldn't be happier with my SG.

    The guitar is amazing! Great sounds, great playability. Love the slim neck and the half pickguard. The finish is incredible! The workmanship in the 2013 model is awesome! So glad that Gibson is building guitars with rosewood fretboards again. Good work, Gibson! Thanks again, Robert! I look forward to doing business with you again in the near future!

  • from New Orleans, LA December 27, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great guitar, unbelievable price - The 2013 SG Standard

    I was prepared to be forgiving when I ordered this guitar. Having been an owner of an original SG in the early sixties I was hoping that there would be a little of the vintage vibe in a standard, production line, utilitarian incarnation of the guitars of old. Well, having played a few Custom Shop SG's I was amazed at how this instrument compared. It actually surpassed a couple of the CS versions I've played in the past. Cosmetics were perfect, not a flaw to be found anywhere. The inlays were great, the hardware was perfect (especially the longer travel bridge saddles, better then vintage correct), the action was incredible and the '57 Classic pickups sounded just like I remembered old SG's sounded.

    In recent years I've been underwhelmed with the Gibson guitars in this price range. But this is obviously a whole new era for Gibson. This guitar is as good as any Gibson I've ever owned or played in over 40 years. I'm sure there are differences from guitar to guitar, but this guitar is a stellar deal. It is now a permanent addition to my inventory of tools.

  • from mid-ohio December 13, 2012Music Background:
    noise maker

    flawless

    This thing rocks ! A real beauty . The service was great . The rep went out of his way to help me out . Small pickgaurd and 57's , small neck tenon , just like the old days . Vintage looks for modern thunder ! She's a keeper .

  • from Santa Clara, CA September 20, 2013Music Background:
    Rock guitarist since I was 18 (many years ago!).

    Gibson SG Standard... A beautiful instrument!

    Like any guitar, the SG has pros and cons but, in this case, many more pros than cons! Things I love about this guitar are the gorgeous cherry red finish (this guitar turns heads!), the light weight, beautiful tone from the humbuckers, incredible access to the highest frets and the fast, slim neck. The guitar has fabulous sustain everywhere except, strangely, on the G string above the 14th fret and the guitar is also headstock heavy, so much so that I needed to buy a suede guitar strap to prevent the headstock from diving to the ground when you let go.
    I own several Gibson guitars and a few Fenders but I have always wanted an SG. I can already tell this guitar is going to be one of my favorites, primarily because of the gorgeous, legendary, bell-like tone that SG's are known for! I have tweaked the action to my particular preferences and the guitar is now a dream to play... I can highly recommend it!

  • from Raleigh, NC February 25, 2013Music Background:
    Long time hobbyist

    Happy with my new SG

    I am very happy with my Gibson SG Standard. The build quality is great, the set-neck is superb and very easy to play. The string action is very low and the finish is top notch as expected from this range of guitar. The SG is my new favorite go-to practice guitar mainly because of the balance of body to neck. I can sit the guitar on my lap in a chair and it does not tend to fall backwards like the Les Paul or Fender shaped guitars. This is my first hard tail and I love it. No more Floyd Rose tuning nightmares! I love the wide thin neck, almost like a Jackson, just smaller frets. It is very easy to play this guitar in the higher registers.The SG is great for soloing, Satriani, Gilbert or Vai type playing. Be careful of the Nitro finish. The rubber on my old guitar stand left marks in the guitar only weeks after getting it. Otherwise excellent guitar.

Questions about the Gibson SG Standard - Heritage Cherry?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway