0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Gibson SG Standard - Classic White Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Huntsville, AL December 3, 2013

    Awesome Guitar!

    I love the sound of this guitar. Always been a fan of the SG's.

  • from Arizona April 12, 2013Music Background:
    Recording live musician

    I love it

    I am 65 years old been playing on and off for years .My cousin had a 57 back in the 50s allways love that sound ,He played in a Rock n Roll band .I play a little bit of everything but i perfer the blues,to me theres no other guitar that gives you that powerful fat full smooth sound like a gibson humbuckers make all the difference .the light body is great when your giging all nite that makes a difference,the sustaine is great ,all around sound for all types of music is good ,the neck is great for my hand i have long fingers it is easy to play to me its all about feel ,try it ,if it feels good keep it, the neck that is. Its so good looking it even makes you look good,with someone as ugly as me you need all the help you can get. What can i say takes me back to the day I love it

  • from Albuquerque, NM January 13, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Classic Gibson Workmanship, Stellar Customer Service!

    Ever since this guitar was announced, I knew I had to have it. It was obviously a favorite as it was hard to keep in stock. Although it was in stock with other retailers, I wouldn't have bought it from anyone other than Sweetwater. Robert Johnson is the best sales engineer I've worked with and he let me know as soon as one was available. The shipping was fast and I couldn't be happier with my SG.

    The guitar is amazing! Great sounds, great playability. Love the slim neck and the half pickguard. The finish is incredible! The workmanship in the 2013 model is awesome! So glad that Gibson is building guitars with rosewood fretboards again. Good work, Gibson! Thanks again, Robert! I look forward to doing business with you again in the near future!

  • from New Orleans, LA December 27, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great guitar, unbelievable price - The 2013 SG Standard

    I was prepared to be forgiving when I ordered this guitar. Having been an owner of an original SG in the early sixties I was hoping that there would be a little of the vintage vibe in a standard, production line, utilitarian incarnation of the guitars of old. Well, having played a few Custom Shop SG's I was amazed at how this instrument compared. It actually surpassed a couple of the CS versions I've played in the past. Cosmetics were perfect, not a flaw to be found anywhere. The inlays were great, the hardware was perfect (especially the longer travel bridge saddles, better then vintage correct), the action was incredible and the '57 Classic pickups sounded just like I remembered old SG's sounded.

    In recent years I've been underwhelmed with the Gibson guitars in this price range. But this is obviously a whole new era for Gibson. This guitar is as good as any Gibson I've ever owned or played in over 40 years. I'm sure there are differences from guitar to guitar, but this guitar is a stellar deal. It is now a permanent addition to my inventory of tools.

  • from mid-ohio December 13, 2012Music Background:
    noise maker

    flawless

    This thing rocks ! A real beauty . The service was great . The rep went out of his way to help me out . Small pickgaurd and 57's , small neck tenon , just like the old days . Vintage looks for modern thunder ! She's a keeper .

  • from Colorado December 7, 2012

    2012 Gibson SG

    Gibson got it right with this recreation of the '61 SG for 2013. I own several LPs and SGs. This one is an amazing value for the price. The neck is perfect in radius and feel. The 57's are both rude and smooth. String definition is amazing. Quality is also outstanding. Only minor intonation adjustments were needed on delivery. Highly recommend if you're in the market for an SG.

  • from United States November 28, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent Guitar!!!

    I have been looking for an SG that has the same looks and feel of the 61 SG I had years ago. I tried a few of the 2008-2010 SG Standard models, but they just didn't feel or sound the same. I was considering the 61 Reissue model, but I wanted it in white and had no luck. I was searching the internet and found this one. I was unsure about ordering on line without being able to see it in person, but gave it a shot and I am very happy with my purchase and with Sweetwater. I will be buying more guitars and accessories from them in the future.

  • from Detroit August 22, 2013Music Background:
    loner, rebel

    Easiest player I've ever owned

    I bought the 2013 SG Standard, classic white, primarily for clean tones, (jazz, chord based rhythms), and ease of playability, (weight, neck, body contour). It does not disappoint.
    Most comfortable, easy to play guitar I have ever had. Thick, rich, neck position tone. It just rings in the center position clean. Nice bite on the bridge. Classic white looks fantastic. Somebody told me these things rock, too :)

  • from Raleigh, NC February 25, 2013Music Background:
    Long time hobbyist

    Happy with my new SG

    I am very happy with my Gibson SG Standard. The build quality is great, the set-neck is superb and very easy to play. The string action is very low and the finish is top notch as expected from this range of guitar. The SG is my new favorite go-to practice guitar mainly because of the balance of body to neck. I can sit the guitar on my lap in a chair and it does not tend to fall backwards like the Les Paul or Fender shaped guitars. This is my first hard tail and I love it. No more Floyd Rose tuning nightmares! I love the wide thin neck, almost like a Jackson, just smaller frets. It is very easy to play this guitar in the higher registers.The SG is great for soloing, Satriani, Gilbert or Vai type playing. Be careful of the Nitro finish. The rubber on my old guitar stand left marks in the guitar only weeks after getting it. Otherwise excellent guitar.

Questions about the Gibson SG Standard - Classic White?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway