rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Guild Starfire II Bass - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Guild Starfire II Bass - Natural?

Questions about the Guild Starfire II Bass - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Kalamazoo, MI June 19, 2017Music Background:
    Worship Team Bassist

    Very Nice Bass!

    The pictures of this bass don't do it justice. I bought mine sight unseen and had never played a semi-hollow bass before, but I was looking for that fat and rich tone that I have read about this classic bass type. The craftsmanship of this bass stunning and I love the different sounds you can dial in using the independent volume and tone controls for each single coil pickup.

    Thanks to my great sales engineer Mark Magdich for keeping me informed on the delivery and getting this great bass to me as quickly as possible. I got to play it for a gig this weekend and I am very happy with it!

  • from auburn, NY July 15, 2016

    Exactly What I Wanted

    Insanely comfortable. Very warm tone. Looks sharp. I love my new bass. A bit of neck dive was to be expected but it honestly isn't as bad as I thought. Thank you Sweetwater and thank you Joe James!

  • from Nashville, TN July 2, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Touring Musician

    Great quality and solid bass!

    This thing is gorgeous first of all. Great finish and all the hardware is very high quality. The neck plays very nice and has a nice finish as well. The tone and volume controls for each pickup are a really cool feature and helps get any kind of tone you would need. Only issue is there is a tad bit of neck dive, but then again it's a semi-hollow bass so it's to be expected.

  • from Sterling Heights MI April 27, 2016Music Background:
    Bass Guitar Player

    Buy this bass NOW!

    Love the tone! Love the feel! Love the playability!
    This bass has a good balance and is just fun to play.
    It has everything in a "double cut away", "semi-hollow" bass that I was looking for.
    Each pick up having its own volume and tone controls coupled with the master volume make this a tone monster!

    The case is a sturdy hard shell case that looks good and does a good job of holding the bass during transit and storage.

    I'm so glad I got the Starfire II Bass and a BIG Thank You to Mac Hatton (sales rep) and the whole Sweetwater gang!!

  • from Mobile, AL October 25, 2015

    The godfather of the semi hollow bass re-born

    Chances are, if your looking at this you know the history of Guild Starfire basses. I've owned several from vintage to 90's re-issues. I gotta tell you Guild/Córdoba got it right!
    The neck is a thing of beauty. Slim and a joy to play.
    The body is correct (unlike the recent FMIC version that was a couple K more and looked like an EB-2)
    The glowing, glossy clear finish brings out amazing depth in the ribbon mahogany. You could literally lose hrs staring into it.
    The pickups are great! Makes me wonder if Fred Hammon was involved.

    If I had to complain, it would be hard. Maybe the change to the bridge elevation screw location? But that really is being picky as the bridge on these re-issues offers a wider more stable base than the vintage version.
    Big thanks to Guild Guitars for brining the Starfire II bass back! And a huge THANK YOU to Sweetwater and my sales tech Ryan Clapper for helping me get this bass asap.

  • from Lucerne, California September 4, 2015Music Background:
    Former rock band guitarist, now private studio cat.

    MAGNIFICENT MAHOGANY

    First of all, I'd like to thank Sandra Jimenez-Warren of Cordoba/Guild Guitars, and my incomparable sales engineer, Andy Miller, for helping me obtain the first reissued specimen of this great classic bass!

    I had been seeking a double cutaway semi hollow body bass for some time, but none I looked at were quite "the one", until I saw the Guild Starfire Bass II featured in Sweetwater's NAMM 2015 report.

    Everything about this bass is right on: impeccable fit and finish, gorgeous Mahogany that glows and shimmers, big punchy pickups that deliver that 60's bass sound like no other "modern" bass I've heard, fast comfortable neck, low action, and the indispensable master volume knob that lets you crank it up for that solo under the spotlights.

    Whatever your musical style may be - Blues, R&B, Jazz, Country, Reggae, Classic Rock&Roll, etc., this bass does it all with elegance, presence, and style. If you like classic basses, you'll love this one. I sure do, and I've been playing for over fifty years now, so I'm very finicky about the quality of my instruments. The Guild Starfire Bass II delivers in every way!

    Just a note on scale length: although Guild states that it's a short scale at 30.75", it's actually a medium scale, and requires at least a 32" winding length if you should wish to restring it.

  • from Wichita, KS June 18, 2017

    Best Semi Hollow Bass on the market!

    Blown away!! This is a great bass! Plenty of tones for any player. This bass has a very natural woody tone that gives it that 60s styled sound. The price speaks for itself. Having a bridge pickup is a big selling point for me. The only complaint is that intonation is a little winky towards the upper part of neck, but that's a problem with all semi hollow basses. The guild bridge helps dramatically with that problem.

  • from Alexandria, Louisiana May 12, 2017Music Background:
    Bass Player, 15+ years of playing music, funk, blues, alternative, jam, jazz

    Guild Starfire II

    First off, thanks to Alden for helping me out on this one. I'd like to start first by saying I am always very critical of rating instruments. I've owned many bass guitars over the years. I'll start with the cons then we can move onto everything I love about this bass.
    Make sure that if you use larger gauge strings that you carve the rosewood sattles down just a hair! I switched to 105-50 right before an outdoor gig. I hit an open E hard..and... THWACKK... the string popped out of the saddle. I would play close attention to this when first setting it up. Especially because I play so much harder live. Also, be sure to buy medium scale strings.
    The pickups are extremely responsive to whatever type of string you put on. The Bi-sonics will give you a large variety of fundamental tone(s). I would suggest the D'addario nylon tape wounds as these give you a lot of tone control with your hands (or pick) and a large variety at that.
    The finish on the body is flawless and the electronics are very solid.
    I'm able to get a very low action when I perform my own preferred setup. I wish the bridge had a little more space for intonating the instrument as the saddles only slide forward so much. I've never been a fan of floating bridges but it's still a solid bridge.
    Sometimes short-scales tend to feel really small but this bass doesn't really feel that way when you're playing it. I have larger hands and the string spacing still feels right for me.
    My overall feeling about this bass is that it's probably the best made foreign bass for this price range. Like I stated earlier, your tone is really based on what kind of strings you use via the Bi-Sonics. (And obviously your touch) The bass has a great fundamental tone and can even get those Jazz Bass(y) tones.

  • from Hershey Pa October 16, 2015Music Background:
    Retired semi pro musician

    Guild Starfire II Bass

    First I would like to thank Adam Chesi and his staff at Sweetwater for putting this Bass on hold for me so I would receive the first one that came in stock. I see it is now out of stock and it`s only been a few weeks.

    This Bass is very comfortable to play. The neck feels like an Alembic Stanley Clark Bass. I have been playing for just about 40 years and have had a lot of Basses and I can tell you the fit and finish on this bass is excellent for a Korean made Bass Guild really has there quality control down. It feels and play as good as a U.S.A. made Bass. The Rosewood fretboard is top notch tight grain wood not just some dark stained second rate wood you see on a lot of oversea`s made instruments. The pickups are strong and powerful and whisper quiet and great sounding. All controls are responsive and smooth. The setup when it came was great. Playing this Bass is a dream the sound is warm and thunderous yet you can still get a nice modern day sound out of it. This Bass has made me start to think about selling 4 out of 7 of my current Basses and getting another Alembic bass that`s how impressed I am with the feel and play-ability of this Bass. Worth every penny. Thank you Guild.

Questions about the Guild Starfire II Bass - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway