0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

PRS SE Mark Tremonti - Vintage Cherry with Birds Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from baltimore, md December 12, 2013Music Background:
    amateur player

    great guitar, great service

    Guitar is set to play very nicely, quality workmanship. Service before and after purchase us a joy. Sweetwater has customer service that hits the wow factor.

  • from Baytown, TX USA November 19, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Video Gamer.

    Best ever!

    I have never bought a guitar online, and I am not even a good player. I've always played Strats, and I thought I'd like to try an LP body with humbuckers for a change, and I didn't know I was in for this kind of surprise. Initially I ordered an Epiphone Les Paul Standard, but due to some technical difficulties in their production department, I never got the guitar after placing the order for almost 2 months, so I decided to cancel that and order this one instead, by paying almost 54% more. Sweetwater did all the great things to their customers, great price, super quick delivery. I got the guitar right before my birthday, and this has to be one of the best birthday presents for myself ever.
    The guitar is made in Korea, and in my opinion, that beats the Chinese made Epiphones in terms of quality. The sustain of this beast is amazing. I am using it to play Rocksmith on my PS3, and even the game is registering all the sustain it could put out. Electronics, knobs, and the tuners are solid. The wood grain on body and the headstock are something you can't stop admiring. Built quality is excellent despite one minor cosmetic issue on the binding on the neck to the body as I found a hairline crack about an inch long.
    Other than that, I am absolutely pleased with the guitar. It looks great, plays really well, sounds amazing, and you definitely can't go wrong with the bird inlays.
    I am looking for a semi-hollow body guitar for my next one, unfortunately I can't afford a PRS semi-hollow, but the new Clint Lowery SE looks extremely tempting as well. One can only hope that they are priced closer to the Tremonti SE for the masses.

  • from Elm Grove, La November 12, 2012Music Background:
    Beginner

    Surprising personal service

    Don't do a lot of online buying. The folks at Sweetwater were great. Got a call from them to ensure everything was good with my order. My new PRS Tremonti arrived on schedule and very well packaged
    Sweetwater is going to get all my musical purchases.

  • from Tennessee October 21, 2012Music Background:
    Wanna be professional blues player

    worth every penny

    For the money, this is the best guitar out there in my opinion. It is very light in weight, has a super comfortable neck and action, and of course the bird inlays. I did change the pickups to the Duncan Hot Rodded Humbucker set but trust me, the stock pickups are very good.I have 16 years of playing under my belt and have developed a little more of an ear to sound quality and I needed a little more clarity. I put push pull pots in it and play through a marshall MG15. My pedals are a boss metal core, boss power stack, and an ibanez tube screamer and with six months of figuring in all out, I can hit any tone I want. The only complaints I have with this guitar are the nut which is very sharp and needed to be filed down, and a little string buzz when tuned down which needed to be addressed by raising the action a little. This guitar is better than any epiphone out there and I own two of those. If you are looking for a good all around guitar for less than a grand, buy it. If you you prefer more guitar to hold on to with a little bit thicker tone, get the PRS SE 245

  • from Virginia September 20, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Guitar! Great Deal! Love Sweetwater!

    I already own a black DOT Tremonti SE that is probably 4+ years old. It's a great guitar. I've had this new Tremonti for about a total of 4 hours and it's a whole step above the old version. It just plays itself (cliche I know, but it's true)The pickups are pretty good for what they are. Like I did with my black Tremonti SE, I will replace with EMGs, install locking tuners, strap locks and a new nut. Other than that, this is now my main Axe.

    Sweetwater was great to deal with. I LOVE the guitar gallery. Will be buying a Santana SE from Sweetwater ASAP.

  • from Denver March 24, 2011Music Background:
    Semi Pro local band.

    Beautiful Guitar

    I own a Black DOT Tremonti SE and have for years and it plays great. So, I needed a back up guitar and ended up buying the Cherry with Birds and it is a beautiful guitar. Very well crafted being it's made in Korea. The bird inlays are perfect and look beautiful. The birds make it look like your playing one of PRS's $2K guitar. Anyway, it plays a little better than my black version so now the Cherry is my main guitar. The stock pickups are pretty good. I am keeping them for now but I always change the pickups. I have Dimarzio's in all my guitars so it's only a matter of time.
    It was set up beautifully and I know Sweetwater did their 55 point inspection. Excellent customer service. I have never been called by any online company asking if everything is OK before, during and after they sent the guitar.
    I own or have owned Ibanez's, Jackson's and Les Paul's and I would recommend this guitar (Black or Cherry ) to any guitarist that wants to play a great guitar for the money. I want a Black with Birds now.

  • from SW Ohio July 18, 2015Music Background:
    Former gigging musician, now a hobbyist

    Very nice guitar

    I received this guitar as a gift. I'm reviewing it on Sweetwater's site because my last 4 guitars came from them.I'll start off with the appearance. It is a stunner! I have the vintage cherry with the bird inlays. It is made from a nice looking piece of mahogany and finished in a beautiful dark cherry gloss with full body and neck binding. It is light and very comfortable to play. Build Quality: Although this SE model is manufactured in Korea, the build quality is exemplary! The finish is flawless, the hardware,ie the tuners, switches, pots, and bridge/tailpiece unit seems to be high quality.This guitar has nice large strap buttons, and i don't feel you would need straplocks installed on it. I've played some USA PRS guitars before, namely a Santana model, and the hardware appears up to the USA standards. The frets are nicely finished, no jagged edges or high or low frets. The Sound: The pickups are Good sounding humbuckers. They are reminiscent of Gibson Burstbuckers.They are sensitive and can get dirty when you want them to. I am pleased with the sound and have no plans on changing them. I play this guitar through a Marshall DSL 40C and it sounds fantastic! The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that it's not American made! If you are in the market for a single cut, Les Paul type of guitar, I highly recommend this instrument. You won't be disappointed!

  • from Cleveland,Ohio February 19, 2015Music Background:
    Musician for 40+ years

    Loving the guitar

    This is the second SE that I've purchased from Sweetwater,and I'm thinking of buying another one. You just won't find another guitar out there that plays as nice,or has a finish that looks this good,anywhere near this price.Please don't be put off by the price,these guitars play and look like they should cost a lot more! The pickups sound every bit as good as the ones that come on the 3000 dollar models.! The only part that I would consider changing are the tuners.I happen to prefer locking tuners,and they don't come installed on this model,only the S2's and up.They come with a way better than average gig bag also.Do yourself a favor and check them out,you will be impressed!

  • from Baltimore, MD October 25, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great guitar

    What a great guitar. Pickups have a very nice and clean sound. They also can handle overdrive well. Great and fast chunky neck with very cool looking bird inlays. The vintage cherry finish is beautiful. For the price you can't buy a nicer quality guitar.

Questions about the PRS SE Mark Tremonti - Vintage Cherry with Birds?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway