0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

PRS SE Mike Mushok Baritone - Silver Burst Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Zach Neels

    In the pantheon of tools that have accumulated in this world, I can easily say the PRS SE Mike Mushok Model is similar to a club! Huge tone, crushing lows, smooth highs and mids, this guitar is at home whether tuned down to A or at standard E. And even with the size of my giant hands, it still feels perfect whether I'm power chording or doing intricate runs up the neck!

  • from Dallas TX August 2, 2012Music Background:
    Pro singer/guitarist

    Best guitar I've owned

    So gritty and nasty the way it sounds! I have a few other PRS guitars and I don't even play them because this guitar is right up my ally! I actually just ordered another one in brown!!

  • from Longview, WA December 23, 2011Music Background:
    beginner musician

    Best baritone in production!

    Great baritone at an excellent price. It is very much intended for low- tuned tunings with baritone strings; although you can set it up for standard tuning (not recommended though). Ideal for loud high-gain amps. After you receive it from S.W. take it to a tech and have the truss rod adjusted and a setup (this is a must! As w/any guitar). Set-up for a low tuning; this is the best baritone on the market currently, and you would be hard pressed to find a better baritone ever!

  • from Lakeland, Florida May 31, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Much better than I expected!

    Purchased for low-tuned songs, but I've been using it for just about everything! I currently have mine tuned to A standard (ADGCEA) and use a capo for other standard tunings, i.e. B standard = capo at 2nd fret, E standard = capo at 7th fret, or alternately at 2nd fret & playing on the 5th string. The particular one I received is a bit heavier (weight) than some of the one's I checked out last year locally which I like, though another pound wouldn't hurt.

    I'm not a big fan of the plain / unmarked fretboard, but it does give me a project to do in the future...

    Tone wise, I love it, the pickups are hot, but not as hot as some of the early models I played when this guitar was first released, or maybe this one's just setup better... Clean tones, especially with the neck pickup & volume knob around 80% are clean, full, & very warm, switch to bridge & get a nice bright, but not overly bright tone. Crank the volume knob to 100% & you get a very mildly overdriven tone. On the early models I tried previously, I would have called it a dirty tone, but on the one I received from Sweetwater, I would say's it's more clean with dirty overtones & that's when playing with a Brazilian Agate (stone) pick & a heavy hand...

    I could do without the silverburst paint, but it does look much better in person.

    As far as playability goes, well, some people might have trouble due to the long scale and wide fret spacing that goes along with the long scale. But I love it, I have big hands with fat fingers, and the scale and spacing just feel like they were made for my hands. I've been playing with .70ga strings on my 25.5" scale guitar, so there's no change as far as the feel of the strings go, but when playing something in A, A#, or B tuning, it sounds so much cleaner on the baritone, than the muddy sound of tuning down that low on a 25.5" scale, even with the extra heavy strings.

    I would definitely recommend this baritone to anyone who likes playing highly down-tuned songs, even over a 7 string guitar due to the added scale length which helps to keep the strings tight on those low tunings.

  • from los angeles, ca December 16, 2010Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Crushes all others

    Un-f-ing-real. I bought this to play my drop-tuned rhythms in drop A#, drop B, etc. This guitar is made for low tunings, and stays tight, in-tune, and clear at low tunings that regular 6strings turn to mush at. This guitar is really light, and although it's a beast in your hands, it still feels great with my small hands; riffing is no problem. I researched ALOT of guitars, even the new Ibanez quasi-baritone, and ESPs, etc. This BLOWS them away, in price, quality, everything. Guaranteed to skyrocket in value, as I heard they may not make too many more. A+

  • from March 6, 2010Music Background:
    Student, hopefully become musician

    Love It!!!

    I got to play one of these at a local store and its just incredible. There is plenty of room way up top at the higher frets which is perfect for those with bigger hands. The strings are huge (low B = A on a bass) but its perfect as the scale makes it about 3" longer than my Les Paul, so it can hold those low tunings (standard tuning is B-b, 14-68 gauge). It is also extremely light for how big it is. Given that you can tell its an SE model, its still an amazing guitar, it has to be if Mike Mushok uses it along with several other of my favorite bands. Can't wait to buy one someday ;)

  • from Midwest USA July 7, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbiest

    Not for Use as Instructed

    First off, let me make one thing perfectly clear: I love this instrument... just not as a baritone. You see, I'm a fingerstylist with two of the biggest hands and ten of the thickest fingers God ever saw fit to make. That's why Fender-style fretboards are too narrow for me, and Gibson-style fretboards are too short. So, the 1-11/16"-wide nut and the 27"-scale neck of this guitar made it instantly appealing. The tone, however, just didn't cut it.

    At first, I thought having a baritone would be cool; that I could use it to get the haunting mellow tone, like on those old records by The Cure. Man, I was wrong. You might like the way this guitar sounds right off the shelf, if you happen to be into metal... which, ostensibly, you are, if you're buying anything with Mike Mushok's name on it. I'm not and so I didn't. To my ears, the stock pickups were painfully dark, turning everything I played into mud. Not my cup of tea at all.

    So, I restrung my Mushok E-to-E with .010-.052 light Elixirs, to see if that would do the trick. I'm far from an experience guitar tech, but adjusting the truss rod and intonation to match the lighter strings took only a few minutes. After that, my now 27"-scale regular electric guitar played like a dream, but the same pickups that made mush out of baritone strings produced a flabby, muffled tone with the new gauge. They simply had to go.

    I decided to go with a pair of Seymour Duncans. I tossed a JB Model SH-4 in the bridge (why mess with perfection?) and a Jazz Model SH-2 in the neck, to match my fingerstyle technique. Installation was fairly easy, my lack of experience replacing pickups offset by years of soldering chops. I did have to clean up a couple of cold solder joints in the original installation. Hey, even Babe Ruth didn't hit them out of the park every time. Anyway, the end result is TOTALLY AMAZING! So if you're a fingerstylist sasquatch like me and you're looking for a fantastic electric guitar, this baby is absolutely worth modding.

  • from Long Island, NY USA September 29, 2010Music Background:
    pro musician, engineer and producer

    Great Baritone

    I've owned this guitar over three months,great fit and finish plays like butta. I replaced the pickups but that was personal taste( I like Duncans). I plan on keeping mine for a long time!!!
    Overall a great guitar - dont hesitate - just buy it.

  • from April 14, 2010

    Mushok SE

    Great guitar. Hands down the best baritone you can buy. I use this guitar for B tunings but it can go down further. I was shocked when I opened the gig bag and saw the silver part on the guitar actually has a metallic shine to it. Nice touch! My only complaint is there isn't more colors to choose from. PRS does say they have a new color coming out soon but i couldn't wait. I was also suprised that the pickups are good. They pick up harmonics great!

Questions about the PRS SE Mike Mushok Baritone - Silver Burst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway