0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound - 2 days left

Samson SE50 - Beige Reviews

4.0 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Samson SE50 - Beige?

Questions about the Samson SE50 - Beige?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Jim Crotts
    from Kernersville NC December 17, 2016Music Background:
    ROC SOUND-Master Sound Design

    sampson se 50 earset microphones

    Sampson SE50 headset is a great microphone for the price; but the factory cable is really poor quality. The problem is with the universal ADAPTERS WHICH MAKES THE CONNECTION WAY TO HIGH ON THE BODY PACK FOR ACTIVE MOVEMENT RESULTING IN CABLE FAILURE (we use them in theater work and often movement on stage is very stressing) There is a great fix for this problem-you can purchase a GALAXIE AUDIO CABLE that will fit the Sampson Earset perfect and is much more durable. (We have cables that have lasted over 50 shows with no cable failure ! Original Sampson cables would not last over 3 shows at most. Make sure you order Galaxie cable with the termination connector for your body pack.

  • Customer
    from November 7, 2016Music Background:
    Singer, performer, motivational speaker.

    Motivational Speaker

    This headworn omnidirectional mini condenser microphone has exceeded my expectations. I used in combination with a Shure wireless set. Very versatile and non intrusive, I forgot I was wearing it after a while. Ready to use.

  • Andrew
    from Wisconsin August 8, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Like there's nothing there!

    We bought this on Thursday, it arrived on Saturday and we used it on Sunday. Prior to this mic we had tried several other single ear headsets and either had to tape them down or the Pastor would constantly adjust it during the sermon. When I asked the Pastor what he thought of the mic he said he actually forgot that he was wearing it! The sound quality is exceptional and fit is unmatched. I tried it on and shook my head as hard as possible and the mic did not move whatsoever. The overwhelming positive response that I got not only from the Pastor but also from the congregation was astounding. They noticed that he was not playing with his mic anymore!
    The only thing that I am no fond of is the size of the connector to the wireless pack. Because this system is universal, you have to plug into a connector and then plug into your wireless pack and that makes it get a little large. But, for all of the benefits of this mic, that small detail is not worth a star reduction. Fantastic mic, we will be purchasing another in the very near future.

  • paul odenwelder
    from Indiana July 20, 2016

    It does the job I need it to do

    The mic is being used for a very specific purpose, which requires a water resistant headworn mic...
    The mic sounds OK - a bit mid range heavy, but usable... I do have mor feedback issues with it than some of the other water proof mics I've used though, but I can buy 3 of these for what I paid for those mics!

  • Stanley
    from Rhode Island April 27, 2016Music Background:
    Retired EE doing sound part time for 20 years.

    The best

    I have used sevearl types of headset mikes. The Samson SE50 sound is clear and natural. I expect that in a headset in this price range. The outstanding feature of this headset is wearability. (I use it for stage shows with amateur performers who are not used to micophones.) This headset slips on easily and the users tell me that it is very comfortable. Some say they can't even tell they are wearing it. As the audio guy I like that it doesn't move - no more re-adjusting the mike level to correct for a slipping mike.

    For best sound you need to bend the pickup rod slightly so that it runs close by the wearers cheek with the mike fairly close to the user's mouth. This tiny rod is stiff so bend it carefully to get a nice smooth curve. Do not let an amateur attempt to bend this!

  • Customer
    from Denver, CO July 4, 2014Music Background:
    Theatrical Sound Designer & Audio Engineer

    Too Hot for A-T

    This is a really great mic for the money. I love that the wire is replaceable (as that's the part that seems to get damaged most often) and that there are included connectors for most wireless systems. I'll get straight to the point, however, and say that I bought four of these to replace old mics being used with Audio-Technica wireless systems. I found that the A-T bodypacks do not have a low enough sensitivity setting for these mics in singing situations. You should be alright with speaking applications, but if you're considering these for theatre use (or any singing for that matter), know that sensitivity probably needs to be set to -10dB or lower. -6dB (the lowest setting on A-T systems) was still too high and they clipped so frequently that I had to return them after not even getting through an entire rehearsal.

  • Paul Lorenzen
    from Espanola, NM, USA April 15, 2014Music Background:
    I've been running or installing PA's since I was 10 years old.

    Old Madonna headphones

    My original microphone was to large a clunky. This one has good tone quality and almost disappears on my wife's face.

  • Patrick Walton
    from Alta Loma California December 13, 2013Music Background:
    Sound guy, Musician, and Vocalist.

    Samson SE50 Headworn Mic

    As the new Sound guy at a small Church. I inherited a problem with the Pastors Lapel Mic. Sometimes he would put it on wrong causing it to end up under his shirt collar, or to far up under his chin causing a very muffled sound. When he would look down at his notes or up to an overhead screen, his voice would become softer (sounding very distant) or very loud.When he left the stage area (which he does frequently) there was the ever present danger of feedback from the speakers overhead. since switching to the Headworn Mic., problems solved.

  • ken g
    from Ector Tx June 24, 2013Music Background:
    singer,play guitar and like to sound and record

    great mic

    fits and wears great,and got it at a great price,love the recording
    quatity that it produces.came from a lapel to this one.

  • Don Ragland
    from Calvary Baptist Church, Brownfield, Texas June 17, 2013Music Background:
    16 year Music Minister

    Lovin' the SE50T

    The SE50T is the best wireless device I've had. The band that keeps it on the ear is remarkable for keeping totally in place. The attachment to adapt to all transmitters is wonderful. you can take it on the road and use what ever transmitter that is available.

  • Scott Ford
    from Maceo, KY May 15, 2013Music Background:
    Pastor

    Samson se50

    very happy with our SE50. Love the way it fits on your ear without having to attach to the other side.. Great sound.

  • John C. Baker
    from Princeton, NJ April 19, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer/producer

    A Great Solution At Low Cost

    As a classical recording engineer, I had never before received a request for an over-ear mic, but two months ago a world premiere performance required this type of mic for a vocalist with a symphonic wind ensemble. The vocalist was required to move around the stage, hence the need for a wireless, and specifically NOT a handheld. My Sweetwater rep stated this is the mic they use for over-ear application at Sweetwater's headquarters, and with that recommendation I ordered it. It worked exactly as needed, sounded wonderful, and met the composer's demands flawlessly for both looks and sound. The fact that it has every adapter imagineable for virtually all brands of wireless body-packs has already led to another use for the mic in the last two weeks.

  • Michael Jeremiah
    from Clanton, Al USA December 18, 2012Music Background:
    25 year live sound tech. Southern Gospel Quartet Bass Singer.

    Great Head Mic

    Great head mic from Samson. Love that it fits on just one ear. It is light and comfortable. I wasn't sure how stable it would be on just one ear but it works great. I use this mic with shure and sennheiser packs so I love the adapters that come with this mic. I ran six of these mics in our children's CHRISTmas play and they were great. This mic fits my 9 year old daughter as well as my pastor. Sounds Great. It is sensitive so watch your EQ's.

  • Ron M
    from Sydney, Australia July 15, 2012Music Background:
    Over 40 years as a Sound Supervisor/Audio Director, mostly live and on location.

    Wonderfully Forgettable

    The wearers forget they're wearing them, ...the audience forgets that there are microphones involved ...and you'll soon forget what they cost.

    Although all the other head-worn omni's I've used over the years have been significantly more expensive, NONE have survived equivalent usages as unscarred as the eight Samson SE-50's I've been using since they arrived from Sweetwater over six months ago...

    Which would be irrelevant if they didn't sound any good. They do.

    I've found them to sound nothing short of superb and would unhesitatingly recommend them for any SPOKEN WORD application.

    In my experience, spending from a third more to twice as much will indeed get you a head-worn omni that will also handle the very loudest of percussive and/or sung bass transients without distortion, whereas the SE50's diaphragms won't.

    (That's why I've deducted half a star.)

    However, parting with that extra cash will also get you some headworn omni's that

    a) Are nowhere near as comfortable,

    b) Don't fit and stay in place nearly as well,

    c) Won't as readily shrug off moisture and

    d) Don't arrive "ready to plug into" nearly all belt-pack transmitters.

    The Samson SE50 is also unique in that its "bowstring-style" behind one ear D-mount can both be stretched and moved around its armature to accommodate all shapes, sizes and acrobatics, with total freedom from the comfort and styling issues that attend other headworn systems.

    In addition, the mic's boom will survive repeated bending and straightening, ...even to the extent of an "S-bend" shortening for youngsters.

    One little "tip": ...A very carefully applied drop or two of clear silicone sealant (from the end of a toothpick or similar) onto the side of the miniature mic's capsule is a very effective way of retaining the tiny foam windgag.

    That silicone "goo" is easy to scrape off and re-apply when replacement is eventually needed.

    Although Samson (again, uniquely) includes spares and replacements are fairly cheap, I routinely do this to avoid the accidental mid-show loss of a "popper-stopper".

    Once again, set and forget.

    Which leaves but one quandary...

    Can a mic (or anything else) be memorably forgettable?

  • Customer
    from Los Angeles, Ca May 23, 2012Music Background:
    Pro producer, DJ, vocalist

    Not quite as good sounding as Countryman but...

    Great for dictation while maybe not the best choice for singers. Still, if you can't afford the Countryman, this is a good second choice. The ear piece is designed for adults so if you want to put these on children (like for school plays) you had best have some surgical tape handy to tape the mic down to the cheek. For public speaking or aerobics instuctors, this is a great mic choice.

  • Tim Walsh
    from United States March 5, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Great Value

    I am amazed that Samson can make this product that is not only comparable in quality with other mics starting at $100 more, but is so versatile that it will last through any and all of my wireless base unit upgrades. My pastor loves that the mic stays put once he has put it on. Also, it sounds great with or without the wind screen if you position it right to keep it out of the wearer's line of breath. Good job, Samson, I'm impressed.

  • Jack
    from Newark DE December 13, 2011

    Samson SE 50

    The Samson SE50 headset microphone has made a tremendous impact on our church services. Crisp, clear sound has amazed people. We have had hard of hearing people telling us that it is the first time in years that they have been able to follow the whole mass! Wonderful product....

  • Dow Wilson
    from Poteau, OK November 8, 2011Music Background:
    Full Time Worship Pastor

    Can't beat for the money!

    This is a contender for the far more expensive countryman. Our pastor prefer's it over the countryman and we have both. We have had more issues with cableing for the countryman than we have had with the Samson.

  • Dow
    from OK, USA October 10, 2011Music Background:
    Career Musician

    Great Product

    We have been through three countryman to one Samson. The sound is awesome and they are a more sturdy than the countryman. I am the Worship Pastor for our church and highly recommend this product.

  • Shelle
    from Panama City, FL September 13, 2011Music Background:
    Fitness Instructor

    Love it!

    Great piece of equipment and great service/sales department.
    This headset let's me move as much as I need.

  • Jess A.
    from Bellingham, Wa August 2, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Great Deal

    Great clarity, very hot mic. A very snug fit and very easy to use on guest speakers. Great for drama departments where there is lots of movement.

  • Bob Haney
    from Salem IL June 10, 2011Music Background:
    Praise and Worship Leader and southern gospel music singer.

    A Shure thing this Sampson.

    This microphone was recomended to me by salesman Matt Adams, who has always done a great job of taking care of me. I have always be a big fan of Shure microphones. They, mainly SM 58s and their cordless versions, have always done the job so why stray away?. I wanted the best bang for the buck so to speak. I am a praise and worship leader who works the same as lots of others in my shoes...on a shoestring budget. Never figured that out. Anyway, that was what I asked for and what I got in the form of the Samson SE50 condenser mic for allowing me to be mobile and versatile at the keyboards. The sound is absolutely marvelous. I am being heard like never before. In fact, last week, I whispered something to a guitar player and everyone on stage heard what we said. I have nothing to say that is negative about this microphone.

Questions about the Samson SE50 - Beige?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway