0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Samson S-direct plus Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Fayetteville, NC March 8, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Tech Minister and Live Sound Engineer

    A solid box for the money

    I needed a way to output 4 signals from a Roland TD12 to our soundboard...I used two of these and have zero issues! No crosstalk at all. Great value for very little money compared to other DI boxes! I would definitely recommend these to everyone

  • from Central Iowa December 3, 2010Music Background:
    Live Sound Tech

    Double duty.

    I now have 3 of these boxes because they're just so versatile when I'm doing live sound. Since I run my largest sound system in stereo, I like to pan instruments like digital drums and keyboards. This box eliminates the need for using 2 single-channel DI boxes. Because it takes up less space on stage, I also use it for 2 mono signals, such as two guitars. I tried other boxes before settling on Samson but experienced too many failures. This box has the reliability and features I require, and at a great price too.

  • from Charleston, SC June 8, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Worship Leader, Recording Engeineer

    Great DI

    This thing is cheap, bullet proof and most importantly, it sounds really, really good. I generally spend a lot more on gear, but this little DI sounds great.

    Even if you don't need one for acoustic guitar, try it. Because of the impedance of many mixers, I have experienced a HUGE sound quality improvement simply running this in the signal chain.

    It's powered by the phantom power bus or a battery.

  • from canon city, CO September 26, 2007Music Background:
    worship Bass guitarist, recording engineer in training, live sound engineeer,

    This Thing is awesome

    we use this for worship and it does exactly what we want it to this this totally rocks my socks off

  • from Blacksburg, VA June 19, 2007Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Works for me

    I bought this for my home studio to boost signals from onboard electronics in acoustic guitars. It is built well and does just what it is designed to do. I'd buy it again if I needed another one.

  • from Osceola, NE USA April 14, 2011Music Background:
    Active Guitarist, Sound Reinforcement

    Budget Item That Works

    Forty bucks for an active DI of this quality is a bargain. I initially needed one to connect my drum machine into my digital mixer, and it works perfectly for this. It works well for numerous other purposes around the home studio and for live sound reinforcement, too. I'll have to pick up a couple more of these, as Samson got this one right.

    Metal enclosure with some weight to it, solid connectors and switches, ground lift. This is not a cheesy, plastic product.

    My one complaint is the lack of a DC input jack. 48V isn't always available on line level mixer inputs, and batteries aren't always practical.

  • from April 3, 2010

    Great sound quality, but lacking in headroom

    I picked up a pair of these when I was running sound for a night of DJs. The sound quality is great, and you won't get noise from these. They don't seem to color the sound. I only had one problem all night where one DJ thought it'd be cool to crank his DJ mixer up way to hot. I got a ton of distortion from the DI box... it just couldn't handle it. Not that it should have to though! This is a fine and very affordable box.

    On another note, there is only one pad level for guitar. You cannot select any others. If you plan on using this for guitars, you are probably fine for 90% of the guitars you plug in, but I'd imagine you'll run into trouble with a couple out there.

  • from Atlanta, GA May 24, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    S-direct plus

    I expected better from an active filter. My guitarist is still noisy. This does not have a switch when your cable is not plugged-in so if there is a battery inside, it will be drained completely if you don't switch battery/phantom switch.

  • from Geneva, NY, USA December 21, 2014Music Background:
    HOW A/V Director

    Works, but know its limitations

    The sound quality is good, but it is not for a semi-installed situation where volunteers must use it. If your mixer does not offer phantom power, you need to use the battery; If you forget to turn the battery power off, the battery will drain very quickly, even with the system turned off. We use this in a church where several volunteers use it throughout the week. The battery power is frequently left on so the battery goes dead. We go through about three batteries a week, and the battery is NOT easy to change in this box. This box does deliver, but an external power supply option would make it a whole lot more user friendly.

Questions about the Samson S-direct plus?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close