0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Tech 21 SansAmp Character Series VT Bass V2 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Tech 21 SansAmp Character Series VT Bass V2?

Questions about the Tech 21 SansAmp Character Series VT Bass V2?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Dillsburg, PA January 5, 2017

    Oh Man, Do I Flipping Love This

    Geez, what can I say except that if you play bass you need to get this pedal. I'd bought a GK MB115 combo amp and it is lovely-- clean and so very growly, with lots of push, but I wanted MOAR. The Character Series pedal covers a huge range of bass sound-- from 50s boompy surf to Geddy Lee shred and more.

    Cool thing is that you can use it directly in your recording equipment-- instead of having to fiddle with the synthetic amp sounds in the recording software, just jack this right into your audio interface for authentic live performance bass sound.

    Paul Allen is a wonderful sales engineer who always gets back to me in a timely fashion about all of my million questions. Thanks Sweetwater for being the best in the business!

  • from Buffalo Grove, IL November 30, 2016

    Tech 21 VT Bass V2

    Exactly what I was looking for! My Stingray 5 and Fender deluxe Precision Roar through this thing! Finding great OD/Distortion for bass has been a difficult challenge so this turned out to be a God Send! I go direct with a DarkGlass Vintage Pre pedal with this in front of it and my options are amazing! I don't use the speaker emulation, it's too bright for me-I boost the bass, use the character at about the 10 o'clock and the drive straight up. The thunder and drive suit my tastes perfectly!
    Highly recommend this pedal!

  • from Norhtern Indiana/Chicago area April 3, 2016Music Background:
    Rock,Metal,Blues,Jazz,

    vVT bass V2

    When I first plugged this baby into my practice amp,I thought I was going to blow it up.
    As advertised,the sensitivity of the controls was truly amazing.I quickly learner to get the desired sound that I require.Last night I did a show with another band,where we used their backline.The bassist
    (a friend of mine) had an Ampeg SVT 4 Pro with a Marshall 4x12 bass cab.He played first and sounded really good with his Washburn bass plugged straight in.When I got up there I left the setting on the amp as he had it dialed in,,using the pedal as a controlling device.The Big rig punch, clarity and depth coming out made everyone come up to investigate.Needless to say this little wonder is going to turn heads as well as ears.Very nice to practice with too.just enough volume right into the headphones to be happy..
    The desired sound out of basically anything you plug it into is something I have been looking for.
    Now I have found it.Go the extra $10.00 and get the tech 21 power supply.Good investment.

  • from Chicago, IL March 18, 2016Music Background:
    Bassist, multi-instrumentalist, audio engineer

    Great Pedal for Bass Tone!

    My taste in bass leans toward darker, vintage tone. I play passive Fender-style basses with either flatwounds or darker roundwounds. I use the VT Bass pedal to help me get a nice vintage tone.

    I use it as an always-on effect at the very beginning of my signal chain (right after my tuner and before any other pedals). I almost always have the Character knob at 12:00 (B-15 mode), but I also like how it sounds at 7:00 (SVT mode), especially in rock contexts. I haven't really explored the right-hand side of the knob very much, it seems to be too bright for my taste. The EQ is really useful -- I use it to attenuate the highs and mids in my sound.

    Does it sound like a real B-15 or a real SVT? Heck if I know! I don't have any real experience with those amps. But I do know that it adds a really pleasing tonal coloration to my bass sound. To use a cliche phrase, it really warms the sound up.

    I recently spent a lot of time practicing on the go with headphones through my iPad, without having access to my pedalboard. Boy did I miss the sound of this pedal! My basses sounded a bit sterile and harsh compared to what I'm used to. I hadn't realized how integral this pedal has become to my tone.

    The VT Bass DI seems like a great product as well (and a great value). I was considering it but decided in favor of the regular VT Bass and a standalone DI so I could run my signal through some other pedals before sending it to a DI.

  • from Bismarck, ND May 18, 2015

    Must Own This Product!

    I have owned the original SansAmp Programmable Bass Driver Deluxe the past few years and have received numerous comments on my bass tone. I've always been a fan of having the bass signal slightly overdriven because it gives your sound just enough growl and sustain to cut through the mix and add to the overall quality of the band's sound. I'm the type of bass player who is constantly needing to set up on the fly, and most of the time I am going direct into the house PA instead of having an amp on stage. I had been researching Tech 21's new VT Bass pedals and decided to drive to Sweetwater in Fort Wayne, IN to compare the models. I am very impressed by the sound produced with all the VT Bass pedals (they are all essentially the same, the difference just lies on whether you need an XLR out or need to save your settings). Since I use this pedal as a constant "on" without needing to change any settings, I went with this basic model to add to my pedal board, which only consists of a Korg Pitch Black tuner and a JoeMeek FloorQ compression pedal. I used this pedal for the first time in a house PA the other day, and I felt like I didn't even need to use my compression pedal any more. The highs were loud and crystal clear with excellent sustain. I play with the Character knob set to 9:00 and drive set to 1:00 which gives it more of a late 1960s Ampeg sound. I highly recommend this pedal to anyone hoping to achieve a vintage sound that will cut through any mix.

  • from Merritt Island, Fl USA September 15, 2014Music Background:
    House of worship: Music Pastor

    every stage needs one

    we love it, it even give us more bass depth in our in ear monitors than before!

  • from GA April 23, 2013Music Background:
    Musician (Guitar & Bass mainly)

    True tube tone in a pedal!!

    Pretty cool little pedal here...bought it sight unseen, so i thought i'd write a review since that's how i shop...you can get any sound you want from this pedal, from old 70's type stuff to newer grunge/rock type stuff...works very well with a bass rig...since i have a di on my bass head, i wasn't really looking for a preamp with a di pedal (plus this one will save you a few bucks)...great product, great service (Brent Leulthold, ext 1661) was excellent as well!

  • from wheeling wv March 3, 2013Music Background:
    foolin rounder

    awesome tones

    its great for some drive and creates a fat sound! can pretty much sound like an ampeg tube just from a pedal

  • from jamestown, NC January 10, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Pro Session Musician 20+ yrs exp.

    Killer tones, Great price

    Been using the original Bass DI at the local studio I work at for years, but when It became time to add a TECH21 to my home project studio line up
    I gave this one a try. Sonically I was blown away! This thing slams my Presonus interface with warm fat tone! Love this brand & am very pleased with this pedal. Only knocked of a half-o-star for the lack of XLR jack, but low and behold TECH21 listens to their customers because they just came out with a unit that mashes the original Bass DI with this one for just a few more coin. Overall for what I paid? I couldn't be happier!
    Once again I have to thank Kurt Martin for his outstanding customer service & support . YOU DA MAN KURT!

  • from Earth July 28, 2012Music Background:
    Self taught guitar and audio.

    Tech 21 SansAmp Character Series VT Bass V2

    Third and last try. Lets see if it takes this time.

    Cool pedal. Needs a XLR DI out. But other than that it's great.

Questions about the Tech 21 SansAmp Character Series VT Bass V2?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close