rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Tech 21 SansAmp Character Series Liverpool V2 Overdrive Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Tech 21 SansAmp Character Series Liverpool V2 Overdrive Pedal?

Questions about the Tech 21 SansAmp Character Series Liverpool V2 Overdrive Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Providence, UT August 11, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fantastic

    I own a lot of pedals. I've heard a lot of good stuff. But in hearing a lot of good stuff, I am rarely ever BLOWN away any more.

    I didn't even realize I was blown away by this thing until I some how lost 3 hours without realizing it :) The pedal abducted me and returned me 3 hours later, simply amazed at what I was hearing.

    I picked up the Wampler Ace Thirty previous, and it completely disappointed me. It was weak on overdrive and didn't do much to my clean signal. I was a bit wary of another "Vox in a Box", but this had good reviews and I took a chance.

    Boy did it pay off. This is EXACTLY what I was looking for. This is the best AMP IN A BOX pedal I've ever played. For all intents and purposes it is an amplifier. The dynamics are awesome, it does clean, it does crunch, it does lead, it does organic. It has chime, jangle, it has everything.

    All I can say is go get one, go get two. Go buy the entire series, because these character series pedals are going to be coveted when Tech 21 stops making them.

  • from San Diego,CA U.S.A July 19, 2016

    Believe the hype! highly recommend it!

    first of thank you Scott Bennett(X1738) for being an awesome sweetwater SE! now about the liverpool.

    Pro: Not a modeling,its PURE ANALOG and response well to guitar volume rolls/swells. As a former AC 30 Owner,it really does come very scary close to the real deal. Its sounds fantastic through my home studio JBL monitors as well as FOH application for live. Very versatile,ten times less the price of a real one and ten times less the weight! and I don't have to re-tube every 6 month. Yeah! I'm not gonna argue that the real AC 30 is superior! but my back doesn't care nor the audience. Looks like I might end up slowly buying the rest of the character series cause I also own the Blonde and I have great results both for live and recordings and takes overdrive/distortion pedals in front of it when set to a fender-ish clean.

    Cons:NONE

  • from March 19, 2016

    Awesome pedal

    I bought this pedal because I wanted to build a pedal board after being tired of multi-effects pedals. The problem was I couldn't mic an amp at my church without affecting our overall sound. So I bought this because I like vox amps, and it works really well. Now I can run my board, and just throw this at the end of the chain and it sounds just like I'm running through my amp at home. Really good pedal/amp modeler.

  • from Atlanta, GA December 31, 2015Music Background:
    Praise & Worship Leader, Songwriter

    Perfect Vox Pedal!

    I'm mostly an acoustic player, so for electric guitar, I've been trying different amp emulators pedals through my acoustic amp. I've been struggling to find the sound I want though. I found the sound I was looking for through a Vox AC15 in store, but didn't want to have to two amps in addition to two guitars to gigs.

    I bought the Liverpool, plugged it into my PRS SE Zach Myers semi-hollow and my Fishman Loudbox. It was exactly the sound I was looking for! Both the cleans and the crunch are perfect, recreating the chimey tones of the AC15. If you are looking for the Vox sound, but can't get the amp whether because of price, weight, or loudness, get this pedal. You won't regret it!

  • from Satellite Beach FL August 15, 2015

    Vox In A Box

    Great pedal. When i don't want to carry my 47 lb AC-15 , this pedal goes direct into the PA and has the sound. Sometimes i like it better than the real thing; has better sustain, and cleans up just like the Harrison jangle when needed. Petty crunch is nice. Happy with this pedal and would recommend.

  • from Arkansasas April 20, 2015Music Background:
    worship musician

    Great Pedal

    I keep this pedal on my board in case my amp dies. I play a mesa transatlantic and this pedal comes very close to sounding as good as my amp. I recently bought a mesa cabclone to use with my amp live at church, but it is honestly no comparison to the liverpool. I will be selling the cabclone. This is the pedal to get as a back up for any type of vox style amp.

  • from April 29, 2013

    Great Pedal

    This is a great pedal. If you cannot afford the AC30x2 this pedal really delivers.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN March 21, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Bands

    AMAZING!!!

    Last August I walked into my home church and set up my VOX AC30 amp, plugged in my pedal board, and plugged in my guitar. Now, Iíve had this setup for a few years now, and Iíve never wavered from it. but Iíve also never encountered a situation where I need to silence my source of tone either. The church had requested, as Iím sure several of you reading this have encountered, for me to change my rig and run a silent stage. the stage volume had gotten way out of hand. Of course upon hearing this, I am all smiles!!! I love loud! Of course, I told the church that I will do what I can. In comes the Liverpool, A close friend who works here at Sweetwater brought me the pedal that changed my whole view on how to attain ďthat toneĒ. I was blown away, when dialed correctly for the sound, I couldnít believe my ears!!! My tone, coming out of that little box!!! Ladies and Gentleman, if youíre like me, and need tone, but canít have stage volume, this is the pedal for you!!! pick one up today!

  • from St Charles. IL December 28, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    AMAZING!

    I actually owned a VOX AC30CC2 for a while and loved the amp, however the volume, weight and side of it was simply too much for me after cutting down drastically on playing live. My main job is teaching guitar lessons and doing professional recording sessions from my studio and was looking for something that I could use direct to capture *that* VOX chime. After spending hours and money on digital modeling from hardware units to plug in's I finally decided to give this pedal a try and let me tell you this pedal is a VOX AC30 in a box and is amazing. Every tone from Tom Petty to Brian May to The Edge is in here. The controls are extremely sensitive and you can get 100's of amazingly usable sounds from it. I use this in conduction with the OXFORD model on recordings and the combination of the two is incredible on both Rhythm & Lead tracks. You'd swear there were tubes in this thing but there are not. It's sounds that warm! Do not look elsewhere. If you are looking into doing professional recordings using direct recording the character series is the way to go. I am going to pick up the other pedals from this series as soon as I can!

  • from Kalamazoo, MI August 25, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Amazing Pedal

    I love the character pedal series from Tech 21, and the Liverpool is
    of the best they have to offer. While the pedals may not be 100%
    accurate recreations of the amps, they do an amazingly good job
    for being a stomp box. The range of tonal options is perhaps better
    than on the actual amps. The analog signal processing is much more
    responsive than digital models and makes for a much more satisfying
    playing experience. Good build quality, great tone, great value.

  • from Satellite Beach, FL July 27, 2015

    Awesome pedal

    Great pedal. Very impressed. Run it direct into BOSE system. Eliminates the need to carry my AC-15 around for SOLO gig. If you like the VOX sound you like this pedal, and you can get the sound without blowing the doors off. Actually you can tweek a sustain sound that is better than the VOX, in my opinion. Haven't tried it yet into an amp, only going direct to PA for now. Expecting it will work nicely into amp as well. Would recommend this pedal.

  • from United States April 13, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    This is a great pedal for real AC tones

    I love this pedal, I use it constantly use it for rhythm, it's sweet and vintage sounding. It's one of my faves.

  • from Cincinnati, OH February 28, 2012Music Background:
    Play live and record regularly.

    Tech 21 Liverpool V2

    I'm using this with a Tech 21 Power Engine with an upgraded speaker. I've used tube amps excusively for the past 15 years, so this is a new experience for me. Early results are very positive. I set it for a clean tone and don't change anything throughout the night. It's probably easier to dial in a balanced tone than it is on a typical tube amp. You wont get quite the 'feel' you get with a good tube amp, but surprisingly satisfying.

  • from Oklahoma City, OK June 9, 2017Music Background:
    Space Monkey

    Not my taste

    I just didn't particularly care for the type of sound I Was getting out of this pedal. I found more overdrive through a my really good compressor (which also is a boost) and a tube screamer. Also I have my amp into overdrive after it breaks up around 6.5 - 7.0. In short, just b/c it gets great ratings doesn't necessarily mean its perfect for you.

Questions about the Tech 21 SansAmp Character Series Liverpool V2 Overdrive Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway