0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

Seymour Duncan SA-35C Woody HC Acoustic Soundhole Pickup - Natural Hum-Canceling Reviews

4.5 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Seymour Duncan SA-35C Woody HC Acoustic Soundhole Pickup - Natural Hum-Canceling?

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SA-35C Woody HC Acoustic Soundhole Pickup - Natural Hum-Canceling?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Texas December 30, 2016

    Don't forget about acoustic bass

    Unhappy with the onboard pre-amp of my Dean EAB acoustic bass, I bought this along with some other recording options and realized I should have started with this pickup! Its totally worth the sound I've cheaply added to my project studio. I also have an 80's model Alvarez jumbo it sounds great on too! Do it!

  • from Ohio April 5, 2016

    Sweetwater guitar, has my AAA rating

    I ordered a behringer practice amp, and a sa-35c seymour ducan pickup for my fender del Mar acoustic guitar. Sweetwater and their employees have been exceptional in helping me select my amp and pickup and their service has been above and beyond.This pickup is great in my opinion!

  • from Huntington, IN April 4, 2016

    Very good sound

    I bought the to put in an inexpensive Epiphone DR-100. It was crystal clear so it is well worth the price.

  • from Walnut February 23, 2016

    Seymour Duncan AS-35C Woody HC Pickup

    Talked with Ryan Holquist (thanks a million!) before purchasing. Much more than I expected. Excellent pick-up for the price! No hum; just super impressed.

  • from North Alabama January 22, 2015Music Background:
    Engineer

    Eveyone Luvs the woody

    What a pickup, it has beautiful tone and does wonders when piped through a Shure wireless

  • from Orange County Ca September 27, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar collector , hobbyist .

    Great pickup

    The Woody HC is super quiet and a great way to amplify my Seagull SWS. The packing on this shipment was fantastic! Bullit proof. My sales engineer Andy Plank is great, always follows up on my orders to make sure I recieved my order and that I'm satisfied with the product. Sweetwater is the best.

  • from August 20, 2014

    Seymour Duncan WOODY HC

    This pick up is everything I was hoping for. I didn't lose that warm rice tone my guitar has. Very happy with it.

  • from March 7, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Wow!

    This pick up is every nice! It has a warm tone to it and doesn't hum. I would recommend it.

  • from Grayson, GA USA February 27, 2014Music Background:
    Non-pro praise & worship band; Healthcare Professional

    Very Impressed!!

    I bought my 2nd acoustic guitar last July 2013 - the Epiphone AJ-220S which I love very much. It sounds really nice, articulate and full-bodied. Which I felt needed to be heard more at church. So I bought the Dean Markley 3010 ProMag. I was not happy with that one as it did a lot of feedback and hum. Then for some reason, it died after 1 use. Luckily Dave, my helpful sales engineer let me return it. Then, I tried this one. One strum and that's all I needed to hear. It does not even go through an acoustic guitar amplifier. I just use a Line 6 modeling amp - the Spider IV 75. I remember playing until 3 in the morning. And each time I use it at church, I get compliments on how nice my guitar sounds. The pick-up itself looks good on my Epiphone AJ-220 Natural. The cable is much more 'studio-like' than the Dave Markley. Its US$15 more but its all worth the extra money. Very highly recommended!!

  • from Middleburg, FL June 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Perfect for me.

    I bought thi p'up to use in my Epi EJ-200 Artist & it fit perfect.
    I initially wanted an Acoustic/Electric but didn't want to dish out $300+. I saw Soundhole p'up options for considerably less $$ but didn't want to permanently alter my EJ.
    Saw this soundhole p'up for $50, & that it didn't require altering my guitar, I was sold. Before I bought it, I went on youtube & watched some demos of it & was blown away. SOLD!
    I love bein' able to run my EJ through my Fender Mustang amp w/ this li'l beauty, but also can easily remove it when I want a pure acoustic sound.
    This thing is a steal @ $50!

  • from Kansas January 5, 2013Music Background:
    Active musician

    Great acoustic pickup

    I purchased this for an Epiphone DR 212 guitar. I really did not want to invest a lot of money or do a lot of modifications to this instrument. I believe I have made a wise choice because it fits perfectly in the sound hole and it really does a Great job going through my Fishman Loudbox Artist amp. It has a long cable that really does not get in the way while you are playing, I usually feed it down the front of the guitar and back and under my guitar strap as the way I always do with all my solid body guitars. It is a good looking unit and very easy to install or remove as needed. I have not needed to use a preamp because there is enough output from the pickup to more than amplify the guitar adequately. No batteries,drilling, or any modifications to the guitar are needed and for a really decent price, takes about 5 min. to install and you are playing. With a name of Seymour Duncan on it you know that it is a good quality pickup.

  • from Boston September 27, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, weekend warrior

    Nice!

    Works perfectly! Great clean sound and I actually ran through some light distortion a recorded both. Got a great sound for a low-end low price pickup. My band mate has a similar pickup as well as s SUPER high end version from a different manufacturer and there is no difference that we could hear.

  • from San Francisco December 12, 2016Music Background:
    Long time amateur guitarist

    Seymour Duncan SA-35C Woody HC Acoustic Soundhole Pickup

    Bought the Seymour Duncan SA-35C Woody Acoustic Soundhole Pickup for my Martin D-15 and used it for the first time performing for my niece's backyard wedding. I played through a Fishman Loudbox Mini 60 watt Acoustic amp and it sounded great; no feedback issues at all. Easy attachment and removal, and accurate sound. Very nice.

  • from Pennsylvania July 22, 2015Music Background:
    Keyboard player, vocalist ,songwriter

    Woody arrived today! (sounds like he is gonna' stay)

    This gizmo actually deserves 6 stars.. I mounted it on my one and only acoustic guitar..a low end Chinese Yamaha that I rescued from the Sun's rays a few years back at an outdoor flea market. I am an old keyboardist who pined for a "folky" for several decades., but could never justify the cost, so the 35 bucks that I paid was a sweet deal. Having that guitar close at hand for the last few years next to my easy chair, I have became a fair guitarist, especially after developing a style based on open D tuning. I never intended to play gigs with it, but did putter around recording on the D.A.W.. The results were encouraging, however, using a vocal mic AND a live guitar mic. proved cumbersome for home recording. I decided to take a chance on a modern sound-hole pickup to eliminate the SM57 on the guitar. I became curious about the SA-Woody after reading reviews on the Sweetwater website. I honestly didn't expect any great result from a pickup costing fifty bucks. Now, to cut to the chase, I ordered one a few days ago , received it today, plugged it into my little Marshal, and was truly amazed! All the positive things the other reviewers said about the Woody proved to be true. Minimum feedback, low noise, wonderful warm tone, quality construction..all true. I was concerned about the problem one reviewer had with the cord interfering with the high E string, but I seems fine on my guitar. The only reason that I did not award the Woody with five stars is because it was not all that easy to install (at least on my guitar) The reason being that my cheapy Yamaha has a small sound hole. I am a fairly competent woodworker and I still required an hour of sawing, filing and sanding until the little bugger would fit into the hole of the guitar. Take note that this should not be a problem for anyone playing an upscale professional guitar with a sound hole with a diameter of 3.8 inches or greater. In my case, the pickup, that normally should be easy to pop in and out, is now a permanent part of my guitar, and with that fourteen foot cord attached, it looks more like band equipment then a pretty little part of living room decor. ..but still .... it's totally worth it! As usual, ordering from Sweetwater was easy, the sales folks are always great, and the candy was delicious!!

  • from Pueblo West CO USA August 31, 2011Music Background:
    Amateur; have played guitar 2 years

    Perfect for Beginners/Amateurs

    My sales engineer helped me select this product. He first checked the size of the sound hole on my Seagull acoustic guitar to make sure it would fit. Because I didnt' want to modify my guitar, this pickup with long cable was just right for me. It was easy to install and uninstall. I use it with my Fender G-DEC Junior amplifer and am experimenting to find the right settings for the sounds I like. This is a good value for someone who is interestied in amplifying their acoustic guitar but doesn't want to make a large investment in a pickup.

  • from August 9, 2016

    But for the cord...

    Sound is fine and it is really easy to install and take off. The cord isn't unmanageable but it's a challenge. And it certainly wasn't unanticipated. I'm quite happy with it overall.

  • from Maine April 23, 2015Music Background:
    Long time player.

    Great Tone!

    My Tech suggested the Woody pick up because of its "Warm Tone" so I ordered one. Brought it to a jam session and plugged it in. One strum and everyone in the room stopped talking and stared at the speakers!. We could not believe the full rich sound that my 12 string was putting out. I have been using the Dean Markley pick up and have been quite pleased with it but this is a step above. Sounds so good I'm having it permanently installed into my 12 string guitar. I will say that when I placed it into my 6 string Fender acoustic the high end was a bit much. I think that the Pro model with adjustable pick ups will be better for that guitar.

  • from Washington State March 12, 2015Music Background:
    Singer, beginner Guitarist (5+ years), Electronic tech

    Nice sound but cable can get in the way

    I got this pickup for a friend at church that plays an acoustic with no internal pickup. The Woody sounds really natural when we run it straight thru the mixer but a preamp might be a good plan as we really had to crank up the sensitivity which increased the white noise. The pickup fit in the sound hole fine (Yamaha acoustic guitar) but does fit fairly close to the strings and the cord can get in the way if you don't secure it somehow. However, not having to modify the guitar out weighed dealing with the cable for us. As for Sweetwater, they shipped fast and I had the pickup the same week I ordered it and in time for Sunday service.

  • from Kansas City, MO July 29, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Does the job nicely

    I got this pickup to amplify my 12 string acoustic. I live in an urban setting with lots of street noise, and using an open mike while recording is a little dicey at best.....anyway, this pickup does not reproduce the clarity of strings like a good microphone, but with a little EQ tweaking, it's good enough for me, as I am not a perfectionist. It also does not act like a radio receiver, as some of my stuff does.I'm glad I got it.

  • from Michigan February 7, 2013Music Background:
    2 year rookie

    Great pickup

    An inexpensive way to upgrade your acoustic to an acoustic-electric. My thanks, as always, to Mark Chapman for the excellent service.

  • from January 23, 2016

    Great pup but noisy with bad power

    Got this for my acoustic when I needed to plug in at church. It sounded great down in El paso at the church and home. Perfect and quiet. I needed it again recently for a church gig here in Pennsylvania and it is so noisy. I have played it through three amps, multiple outlets, and it buzzes like a bad ground everywhere. I even returned one I ordered off ebay, got my old one back, and both buzz. Tried a different humbucker for acoustic and it is silent. All I can figure out is the power out here is different and this pup doesn't like it. Sounds amazing when it isn't buzzing. 2 stars.

  • from Cincinnati, OH March 11, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Player

    Good Sounding Pickup

    The issue is that the cord attached to the pickup is constantly muting the high E string. I've tried using a clip, etc. but no luck. I would go with a mounted pickup in the futer.

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SA-35C Woody HC Acoustic Soundhole Pickup - Natural Hum-Canceling?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway