rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Seymour Duncan SA-1 Acoustic Tube Passive Magnetic Soundhole Pickup Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Seymour Duncan SA-1 Acoustic Tube Passive Magnetic Soundhole Pickup?

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SA-1 Acoustic Tube Passive Magnetic Soundhole Pickup?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Southern Illinois June 15, 2017Music Background:
    Shopaholic

    Great product!

    I installed this in my Alvarez permanently, as I was tired of the cord. I drilled a hole south of the strapbutton using masking tape. I cut the jack off, the silver ground wire to the pin closest to the middle, and the copper wire to the outer pin. It's best to use a soldering gun and electrical solder. It's tricky, and I couldn't reach the hole I drilled, so I thought about it and remembered a telescoping tool my brother gave me long ago and tried that. After multiple tries I was able to reach it with the magnetic end. I used a nail file on the outer threads of the jack to keep it from falling back into the hole as I tightened the nut. One last thing, I recommend turning the volume down on the pickup and the amplifier louder to achieve the best sound. Works great!

  • from Tennessee June 27, 2015Music Background:
    25 years Bass & Guitar in Country bands and Sunday mornings

    Last with Age

    I have been using this same pick- up for over twenty years now. still works great.
    and I paid over $100 twenty years ago! It is adjustable in hole size and also can adjust height to strings.
    Most conveinient feature that no other had 20 years ago was the volume control right there at pickup.
    can be moved from one guitar to another but I did make more permanent install using a strap button 1/4 Jack. I have purchased a total of five for mine and my friends other guitars. I have used a couple less expensive but always return to the SA-1. that volume control is worth every penny.

  • from Shreveport, LA USA February 16, 2015Music Background:
    Have been in two bands and occasionaly do solo performances.

    Really great!

    This product is fantastic. I put it on my Fender 12-string and it sounds absolutely wonderful. The volume control on the pickup is great for performances. I highely recommend.

  • from July 25, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Great authentic sound

    This pick up delivers great sound. When I first plugged it in I wasn't certain it was working - I was sitting next to the amp (fishman loudbox mini) and the volume wasn't cranked - the sound from the pickup/amp was pretty much identical to the sound I was getting from the body of the guitar.
    That is what I want from an acoustic pick up!
    Depending on where in the sound hole you place it you can get a different sound.
    I'm not crazy about having cable running outside the guitar and having something across the soundhole took a bit to get used to. it fits snug so it can be a bit tricky to install but I can't take away stars for any of that because that is all part of being a removeable pickup.

    I use it in my Travel-air (awesome guitar!) and that makes it a breeze to install and remove - I will also use it in my 1967 Martin when I need to plug that in. I just had the pickup replaced in my Taylor ( for $$$) and honestly think that the sound of this little gem might be better.

  • from Binghamton, NY USA May 17, 2014Music Background:
    Self-taught guitarist. Sound engineering student this fall.

    The Best Soundhole Pickup Under $100

    This is hands down the best soundhole pickup under $100. Sure, there are better ones for maybe $160 (the LR Baggs M1 for example), but to my knowledge there isn't another pickup better than this that isn't a permanent install or involves modifying the guitar. This is the best temporary soundhole pickup on the market right now. Period.

    When I was looking for a replacement for my Dean Markley Pro Mag (which hummed way too much despite being humbucking) what sold me on the SA1 was the volume control and the female jack. When I got it, I wasn't too sure how good it was since I didn't have an acoustic amp or an amp that did anything spectacular with acoustic guitar. Now I have the Vypyr VIP 2 which I got specifically because it can be used with acoustic and I know just how amazing both of these pieces of gear are.

    I use this pickup to amplify my acoustic in church and the SA1 absolutely gives you acoustic tone. Not only that, it gives you good tone. It doesn't give you that typical piezo tone where you hear all string noises but it doesn't sound like an actual acoustic guitar, instead it gives you a tone that actually sounds like a guitar, not a bunch of strings. Last night at practice I finally had some time to myself to really mess with tones and flipped it onto the Trace channel on the VIP. I was floored. It sounded like my guitar. Not a lot of acoustic amplification methods, especially temporary ones, can do that. The SA1 gives great tone, and paired with a good acoustic amp like a Fishman Loudbox, I can only imagine how great it sounds. As mentioned, the two main features that make this pickup different, the volume control and female jack, are huge. The female jack means it should have a much longer life than something with a male jack, and it's a lot easier to pack up and put in a case since there isn't 20 feet of cable to wrap up. The volume control is also fantastic. You can simply and easily turn down your guitar or mute it without having to touch your amp at all.

    If you have an acoustic guitar with no electronics and you need to plug in without modifying your guitar, definitely buy this pickup. It's not even $100 but it's by far the best temporary soundhole pickup there is right now. It's a little tricky to install the first time, but after the first three times it's effortless. You can't go wrong with this pickup.

    While I use an amp, it should sound alright through a PA, although a tad thin in my experience. It's nothing a little EQ can't solve. It still sounds better than most piezo systems I've heard direct to PA. (Excluding Taylor's systems.)

    TIP: There's a small loop in the cable near the jack. If you push the tape holding it there up a little, it will be big enough to put around your endpin and then it won't hang down while you're playing. You may also want to tape the cable behind the guitar so it stays back there.

  • from Pellston, Michigan October 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Live Sound Engineer

    WOW! OUTSTANDING PICKUP!

    I received today and installed and tested out the Seymour Duncan SA-1 Acoustic Tube...one word...OUTSTANDING!!!!!!

    I installed in my very old Oscar Schmidt Washburn Acoustic guitar. I didn't want to drill or modify my guitar as it's in Excellent condition. With this pickup there's no mods needed. Out of the package I was up and playing within 30 seconds!
    The pickup does an outstanding job maintaining the acoustical tone, even with the volume wheel turned all the way up. And when I played "finger style" it has a very sweet warm/soft tone but the volume is still there. Something I didn't see in the description is there's a height adjustment so you can either move closer or away from the strings or adjust one end but not the other. This is in the instruction booklet that's included. Also if you play more bass notes you can move the pickup closer to your E string and the reverse for playing the high E string.

    Whether you play with a pic or classic finger style, the Seymour Duncan SA-1 Acoustic Tube WILL deliver that pure acoustic tone with plenty of volume! (My wife said that she could hear it over the high pitch of the vacuum cleaner even!)

    I highly recommend this pickup for the Acoustic guitar player!

  • from Garden Grove, CA April 25, 2012Music Background:
    Self taught on accordion, guitar, piano, keyboard.

    Seymore Duncan SA-1 Acoustic Tube pickup

    Works great. I'm using it in a pretty old acoustic guitar (Aria). This guitar still has a very good neck and now can be heard easily when playing with the band.

  • from Chicago July 28, 2011Music Background:
    Recording engineer, live sound engineer, producer, violinist, and forever student.

    Quite the surprise

    I'm not a fan of pickups on acoustic guitars. They tend to make a nice acoustic sound much too electric. But I tried this in a tough. live session, put it on a Martin, and was quite amazed at how naturally acoustic the sound. The level was low, and there was some buzz from the overhead flourescents, so, those had to be extinguished, and with a touch of added top end, I got a quite natural, and quite detailed sound of the auditiorium body Martin, without that sharp, electric component heard with piezos.

    It was a tight fit in the sound hole. Took some doing to get it in there, but it went quite effortlessly into a dreadnought later in the session.

    Not quite as tasty as a good mic track, but the SA-1 solved more problems than it created. I can't wait to get it into a live show.

  • from Wyoming October 3, 2014

    Sent it back!

    Noisy right out of the box. Sent it back for Fishman upgrade

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SA-1 Acoustic Tube Passive Magnetic Soundhole Pickup?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway