0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

PreSonus Studio One Professional 2.6 - Upgrade from Studio One Artist v2 (download) Reviews

5.0 stars based on 30 customer reviews
  • from Laconia, IN March 18, 2015Music Background:
    New to the scene...

    Highly recommended...

    I am new to the DAW world, and did a lot of research on which one would be best for my needs. Studio One Pro 2.6 is great for beginners, and still has the ability to fulfill the needs of those with a lot of experience.

    I caught the time right when they were having sales on all of the different packages, so I bought Artist, and then upgraded to the Pro version... GREAT buy, and the service was great!

  • from Tuscaloosa, AL March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer,Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    PreSonus Studio One Professional 2.6 - Upgrade from Studio One Artist v2 (download)

    I am very impressed with Studio One Professional 2.6. As a previous owner and user of the Artist version, it's hard to imagine this DAW getting better and better, but that's exactly what happens! I am also a Reason 8.1 user, and now have the ability to run both DAWs together at the same time using Propellerhead's ""REWIRE" program. Reason runs as a "slave" to Studio One 2
    I can seriously recommend this upgrade to anyone interested in a professional system for recording, and producing music.

  • from Atlanta GA USA October 17, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Guitar Player, Vocalist, Recording Engineer, Lunatic

    Are you kidding me? Here's why Studio One Rocks

    "Are you kidding me?" was my reaction when I received the email from Sweetwater to write this review. My DWA history is simple - I used ProTools 7X and I didn't like the fact that I could control my window layout, and overall I didn't like some of the conventions it used in terms of managing intermediate tracks. And for me - though I love ProTools, the visual workflow wasn't perfect - it was good, but it didn't grab me.

    Cut to using Sony ACID Pro through version 7.X. And the *only* reason I used that DAW was for the user interface and workflow. I had used Vegas, so it was an easy swap.

    But then this last year, I decide that it was time to revert to ProTools - the primary impetus for this decision was simply...to get to 64-Bit floating point operations. Then I heard that PreSonus was also 64-Bit.

    So, I tried the demo, and I was instantly hooked. I took a song setup in ACID and I did a comparison - I set it up in ProTools 11 and in PreSonus. It took me about the same amount of time to get both projects reset in each DAW (and sounding the same, because it's not as simple as having the same plugins and settings). But in the end, it was the inability of ProTools to take advantage of my triple monitor setup and a lack of bright colorization for tracks - as well as features like folder tracks - in fact, I was hooked on PreSonus before I even realized it. By the time my demo license expired, I ended up buying it at something like 1am in the morning. It was that important and that transparent to my workflow.

    As of this writing, I can't even say I've remotely scratched the surface of its capabilities. I wouldn't change DAW's for any reason at this point. ProTools 11 is fantastic, but PreSonus is for me.

  • from July 15, 2014

    Its simple, yet professional

    I have been a previous user of Cubase, emagic Logic (before Apple). With S1 2.6 the workflow is seamlessly easy and intuitive. The GUI is nice and clean. Easy to setup with any hardware (I use Focusrite 2i4). I can go on and on... however, the litmus test lies in using it!

  • from nashville tn April 16, 2014Music Background:
    pro drummer

    i love this program

    im kind of new in the DAW world I have been using the old vs-2400 Roland for my projects . till it fried . well before it did I bought some of the presonus eris 5 speakers and got a copy of the free studio one artist. I loved it but just wasn't quite ready to make the move then it happened like a dog that over stayed its welcome my Roland fried. so I was left put on the street with nothing. so I started playing around with the studio one and realized why pay a 1000.00 to repair the old two ton boat Anker (vs-2400) when I had a great kick butt laptop that would do everything I wanted. I invested into a nice interface the zoom r16 and then bought the upgraded to bring me up to studio one pro . need I say anymore its way better then anything I ever used and my work sounds just like the record. thanks to presonus keep no recording ya all

  • from February 14, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Pastor

    New user

    I am a new user with this software but so far I am loving it! It hasn't let me down!

  • from December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome

    I bought a FireStudio Project that came with S1 Artist. I liked it so much and decided to upgrade to Pro. I'm glad I did.

  • from Atlanta, GA November 24, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Design, Composition, Post

    Studio one

    I upgraded to studio one v.2 Pro from the producer level., to post a indie film. I had been working with it for composition and sound design previously. I love the work flow of studio one. Coming from a protools background I am not left missing anything, especially considering having access to the project page. I mean come on, I can quickly create songs and master full projects with K system metering in one program. I can even change the mix in the middle of mastering. Plus batch processing, awesome effects and being able to use the same quick keys as another program if I want. What else do you need?

  • from Seattle WA November 22, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Designer, Music Composer, and Audio Engineer.

    Best DAW for studio and Live work!

    I been learning and using Studio One since version 2.0 and honestly think that it is the best cost effective solution for Studio and Live work. Version 2.6 added the Fat Channel for all of us that use StudioLive mixers and now Capture files can be directly imported into Studio one to work on. Record the band and seamlessly transfer the session, mix, master, and even publish it on-line. It's a one stop shop here folks to take care of business.

  • from Pecos TX September 26, 2013Music Background:
    Gumbo

    Studio One

    Presonus does it every time! Started with Artist, went to Producer & now Professional! Can't go wrong!! :)

  • from New Orleans, LA July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Composer

    This is the DAW I have been looking for

    I can not believe how intuitive this software is. I've worked with so many over the years and Studio One 2.5 is simple to understand and even easier to use. I have finally found the program I've been looking for all these years. Not having to waste time with mundane tasks allows me to jump in and be creative.

  • from Scottsdale, AZ July 3, 2013Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Songwriter

    A great DAW at any price

    I've been using Studio One since v1.5. For my needs (multi-tracking, mixing, lots of pre-production), I probably barely scratch the surface of what it can do in some respects, but have yet to find something I need to do that it can't do with ease. All of the controls are either very intuitive or easy to research in the manual or Presonus forums. There is still a learning curve, as with any software, but if you're able to spend a few hours with it before needing to do anything critical you'll probably be fine. I've used other applications such as Pro Tools, DP and Cubase since way back in the day and have also spent more hours than I'd like to admit editing and mastering audio with SADiE. Studio One is the first DAW that both sounds and feels complete without being clunky. The quality of the included content and plug-ins is great. I use many of the plug-ins on every session. Throw in a few third party plug-ins if you want some different "colors" and you'll be cruising.

  • from Kansas City, KS, USA April 12, 2013Music Background:
    Ex Pro Musician, Church Musician, Hobbyist

    Amazingly Intuitive

    Although I'm an experienced musician, this is my first DAW. I'm amazed at how intuitive the interface is for something that is so feature rich. I've downloaded plugins only to find that I already had a more competent feature already within the package. The drag-n-drop interface is most appealing, and I rarely find myself lost. When I do, the community forums are top notch, with many helpful users than seemingly never sleep. I'm trying to purchase Komplete 9, as the S1 Pro comes with Komplete Elements. I'm waiting to find out if I am eligible for a cross-grade or upgrade. If I am eligible, that further increases the value of this package. Melodyne is another valuable addition, and is a breeze to use. Note: If using this DAW in native 64bit mode, you can only use true 64bit VSTs. I have wasted a few dollars on un-useable purchases. This DAW also does not have surround support, though I'm hoping that it can be patched in with a later update. All-in-all I am stoked to be using such a complete solution for recording.

  • from Commack, NY April 4, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar, Recording Engineer

    Great program for mastering

    Easy to use, organized to mastering songs for online or CD delivery. All the tools you'll need to finish your master and then some .

    DAW portion is great. easy transition from Pro Tools. Highly recommend Studio One 2.5

  • from Tilton, NH March 14, 2013Music Background:
    20+years live performing, live/studio engineer

    The BEST DAW.

    Ok, I have been doing home studio for over 12 years, so you can image the kind of dinosaurs I have worked with as far as gear is concerned. I won't tell you all about me because that is a waste of your time, but let me just say I have been around the block a few times. It's not the years that count, it's the mileage.
    I have used many different DAWs and they all did ok, but this one leaves them all at the curb standing like fools in the rain.
    The features that are included in this program are everything you could want to truly get complete control over your home studio projects. From fx and eq's that really sound great to compressors, limiters, and gates that work like real rack mounted gear, this DAW delivers..! The drag and drop functions makes so many things so simple. I have owned this program for 6 months and it would take me an hour to tell you all the great things about it I have found. What is amazing is I have less than 70% of this program figured out, I have barely even started to learn about the Mastering Section, (a feature not included on the "industry standard" program). I did a Cd for a friend last year on ProTools. When I got Studio One, I recorded his newest song and rough mixed it after the recording session. He was so blown away by the sound he asked me to remix all of the songs from his last Cd..! I remixed the first one already, and the mix I got was 10 times better sounding than the Cd, and it took me less than half of the time to get that mix. If you own a home studio, BUY THIS PROGRAM..! It could turn out to be the BEST investment you ever make. One other thing, I recommend that you have a computer that has some processing power. Once you get used to this DAW you will be able to do mixing and editing so fast that your old computer may not be able to keep up.

  • from Lake Tahoe, CA. January 28, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Studio2.5 Professional

    Upgrade was very easy to install. The extras that were included from Artist were as promised and were loaded with many surprises! the MP3 support and Mastering tools along with Publishing tools made this choice well worth the money. The Graphics are the same as Artist with little difference in feel and workability. I would recommend this to anyone in the music field as this is a one stop shop! Thanks Presonus

  • from United States January 11, 2013Music Background:
    Procude, Recording Engineer, Pro musician

    PERFECT!!!

    I've been using Sonar for many years, having problems with Latency, Drop outs and Bugs, etc... just the first day I got Studio One as my DAW I had no difficulty to work. Bye-bye SONAR!!!! It has every thing you need. Studio One is simply amazing! It sounds good, very easy to use, fast working, is not a software that requires very much of your CPU. I liked it even more than Pro Tools, Cubase, Logic...

  • from Boston, MA December 29, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Guitarist and production

    Just Awesome

    I was a Protools user and when Avid released PT10 months after I just paid $300 for PT9 I had enough. I said goodbye to all latency issues and glitches of Protools and I'm so much happier now. Studio One 2.5 is so far ahead of Protools and I am 99.9% glitch free. No freeze ups, no latency with my firestudio project, sounds amazing and professional.

  • from United States December 24, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound and Musician

    Presonus Studio One 2 Professional

    You've reviewed and tried all the Recording software out there and found some to be quite daunting and others to make you buy more and more without getting what you want. Presonus Studio One 2 Pro is just what I needed to further my learning, to record, and do practically anything more than the rival expensive (and expansive) software features. I use the Studio One Pro with a Presonus Studio Live 16.0.2 Mixer and the 4 channel Presonus AudioBox 44 and I would not trade them for ANY other DAW/software regardless of price and features. Of course having Sweetwater expertise makes it a perfect match for assistance to ensure what you want is what you get at a great price. One thing I do recommend...get a Mac! I bought two PC laptops and each did not have the right firewire chipsets to run the Studio Live Mixer.

  • from West Hempstead, New York July 12, 2012Music Background:
    I play bass & bkup vocals. Sound and recording man. Also played guitar and sax in bands in the 1960's.

    PreSonus Studio One 2 Professional (Upgrade from Artist v2 Download)

    Itís been 4 months since I purchased the software (sorry guys to much fun recording). I use a MacBookPro 15Ē MD3184LL/A , Lion 10.7. Was an easy problem free download and set up. Easy to use and a must to have. Saves time and effort on a project when working on your bands (or others) Demos and Album CDís. Features lets you switch back and forth from project and songs for editing. And reminds you to up date your new changes to the songs etc. Both the SL 16.4.2 and the upgrade 2 Professional software are great. The Sweetwater staff is great as always. And always a courtesy call to make sure everything is working the way it should and are there to help if needed.

  • from San Luis Obispo, CA March 30, 2012Music Background:
    musician, recording eng., live sound...

    PreSonus Studio One 2 Professional

    True 64 bit bliss with 3.4Ghz iMac i7 and 16 gb ram! This software is so easy to find things in and flows so smoothly it is just wonderful. I have it integrated with Presonus Audiobox 1818vsl so I run Virtual Studio Live on one screen and Studio One 2 Pro on another. It has got to be the greatest package going! Smooth great sounding Powerful. Love the 64bit utilization of the iMac and extra RAM.

  • from Somerset (the South West), UK February 20, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur classical guitarist, composer/arranger and recordist

    PreSonus Studio One 2 Professional

    I should qualify this review by saying that I'm essentially a hobbyist, recording mainly acoustic guitar in ensemble arrangements, and I've only had this software for 2/3 months. I have come from using Cubase SL3 and have no experience of other DAWS. I find the system rocksolid, and there are many great features - the ones I've found to date are: all editing seems to be nondestructive/ the ability to work with songs and master to an album at the same time is great/ I often play along to existing recordings, so the ability to pitch shift an octave or just a few cents is fantastic, particularly as it is also immediate i.e. no processing time/ Time stretching audio is invaluable allowing you to setup initial speeds throughout the song, and record audio to that but also be able to instantly adjust changes of pace further after the recording this wonderful/ Comping - being able to instantly bounce any part of any take into the principal take in order to create the definitive recording of a track is something I've just got to grips with - but I can see the great advantage that you can perform the takes in a relaxed manner because you know it's going to be easy to tweak/edit afterwards/ Also just got my head around cue mixes, and as a solo player/recordist, I simply use the master mix as a cue mix and then able to record audio with zero latency, given that my hardware is also Presonus/ Another discovery was that you can record stereo audio parts and then with the mix tool and binaury? tool pan the part in the mix exactly as you want to/ On top of all that, I find the software very user-friendly and well set out/thought out, and the drag-and-drop features are also very useful then quick/.... That's all that comes to mind at the moment folks, but I'm sure I will discover more and I just hope it's in time to prevent we doing it the hard way!! I can't find fault - it is the best bit of software I have on my computer!

  • from Southeast, USA January 25, 2012Music Background:
    engineer, producer

    WOW, THEY SHOULD CALL IT STUDIO FUN...

    ...said my friend, and I can't agree more. I've spent 8 lifetimes,wrapped a million miles of cable, mixed over 3500 shows, and bought hundreds of thousands of dollars of gear, but I've never, ever, owned such a powerful tool.

    Powerful, pro-creative, and easy to use, is simply the best product, or group of products, I've ever used. With a super low learning curve, Studio One 2 allows me to create, mix, and produce quickly and efficiently.

    I highly recommend this product... I bought the Artist version bundled with a USB Presonus device, and I accomplished in weeks what I couldn't accomplish in years. I was so impressed, I bought the PRO version, which has further allowed me to get the professional results I require.

  • from United States January 9, 2015Music Background:
    Minister of music, Recording, Producer, Pro Musician.

    Fantastic software!!!

    After getting this installed, I was blown away with the ease of use. There was nothing wrong with what I was using but..... oh man this is just too cool!!! It is just RIDICULOUS how great this program is. I'm having fun just learning how to operate it. The sound of it, the drag and drop of plugins etc, etc. I was able to start right up creating songs. Thank you guys at Sweetwater for your support. You guys are the top. Blessings.

  • from MD January 4, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriting

    Presonus Professional 2.6 is amazing

    The only reason I'm giving Professional a 4.5 is because I am a song writer, not a engineer. I'm months away from knowing it's true potential. Love what I see, just need time to become proficient, and comfortable with the total environment. It is definitely a complex piece of software.

  • from Wichita, KS April 11, 2014Music Background:
    Live audio, recording hobbyist

    Studio One Pro

    Was so excited to upgrade to Pro and have not been disappointed! I spent weeks reading and researching DAWs and when Sweetwater offered their great deal on upgrade, I jumped. I've used it to record music at Church and have begun to build a home recording studio and Studio,One is exceeding my wants in every area.

  • from United States December 24, 2013Music Background:
    Home recordist, play in two bands, music and gear enthusiast

    Happened to get a great price!

    I've been looking at this software for some time, but hesitated to buy it 'cause I already have Cakewalk Sonar Professional X3 which is still my mainstay. I had the Artist V1, then Artist v2, but when Sweetwater hosted this super sale on Presonus StudioOne Professional v2, I couldn't resist. Did I need it, well, no, but did I want it, you bet! Anyway, one of the things that StudioOne shines at is its audio engine, meaning it doesn't stall out like some other DAWs under comparable heavy loads. It's sort of too band that you have to get the Professional version to get VST implementation and 64-bit feature (compare to Sonar X3 which I believe gives you these features even on its most basic version. All in all, I will enjoy exploring this software and hope to learn it well.

  • from Franklin, TN January 23, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Producer

    Check out Studio One! You'll be glad you did.

    Being in the market for a different DAW and reading a number of glowing reviews on Studio One, I figured it would be worth my while to download the 30 day trial and give it a spin. After a few hours with the manual and online tutorials from the Presonus website I had recorded and was mixing down a cut for my library. I was sold and ordered from Sweetwater when my trial ran out. What I like most is the fast hardware control surface mapping, painless audio interface selection and project mastering tools. The stock compressor is strong as is the Pro EQ and Openair Reverb. It comes with Melodyne essentials too and its not just for pitch correction my friends. I'm using an AudioBox 22VSL and they work flawlessly together. Most importantly, the audio engine quality is awesome. Great job PreSonus.

  • from Milwaukee, WI February 12, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Recording Engineer, Music Production

    Great DAW, not far from being the best

    This DAW is by far the best I have used (logic pro, pro tools, cubase, ableton). It ease of use helps the one man studio (producer, engineer, artist) be able to focus on the more creative on making music then the technical aspects the other DAW's present. The factory tools built in can get you that professional sound you are looking for.

  • from Louisville, Ky July 26, 2012Music Background:
    Working giging teaching professional musician for over 30 years, just new at the engineering side of the desk.

    A newbie at recording

    The only reason I didn't rate higher is I don't know what I'm talking about really. I will say this from a standpoint of affordability and ease of use (many aspects of this very powerful program are very intuitive) it so far has been a great buy. As I'm finding in my learning curve most of the DAW's on the market have a given level of understanding assumed since you're buying a heavy duty software that can essentially create a marketable and this one follows suit. So far I am finding a lot of help via the internet via youtube and vids and blogs from Presonus. Another thing I must mention for the purchaser is Presonus seems to be totally devoted to your satisfaction as a user/customer and that's a great bonus. If you are shopping here you probably are aware that Sweetwater is second to none in their support and customer service. My first place to go shop always. So two thumbs up from a novice to anyone looking to get started in the home DAW for Presonus and Studio One 2 Pro.

Questions about the PreSonus Studio One Professional 2.6 - Upgrade from Studio One Artist v2 (download)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway