rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

PreSonus Studio One Professional 2.6 (download) Reviews

4.5 stars based on 57 customer reviews
  • from Everton, MO March 8, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best Daw.

    Switched to this from PT11 due to constant glitches on my PC system. No more headaches ! This is a solid D.A.W. The mastering section and plug ins topped it off.

  • from January 13, 2015

    Reveiw of Studio One Professional 2.6 (download)

    I love the software. Watching tutorials on YouTube really helps with the learning curve. The download went smoothly with no problems.

  • from United States December 1, 2014Music Background:
    Producer

    The new industry standard!

    I've tried it all.. No literally any daw you can name and all good in their own way but the workflow on this is as smooth as butter, everything you could want is jam packed in here, the ability to export stems individually is dope, being able to change a tempo without it being mangled and weird sounding like ableton, the piano roll, the stock mastering plug ins are just top notch, the ease of use, I mean I could go on forever but I'll keep it short and say so long pro tools, you've finally met your match at 1/3 the cost.

  • from Everton, MO November 29, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    This should have been my 1st and only DAW.

    So far so good, S1 includes lots of plugins and a mastering section. Sessions are easy to set up. Got it on sale. This is a great deal. S1 comes with options to market your music to.

  • from lawton OK October 15, 2014Music Background:
    singer, songwriter,musician, and studio owner

    Presonus studio one professional

    Lot's and lot's of features once you are learn how the interface works the sky is the limit.

  • from Mesa, Az. September 26, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer.

    studio one professional

    Nice to work with it. It really cover what I need and have fun improving.

  • from Austin, TX June 17, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Player and Studio Engineer

    This Is Not A Toy, This Is The Real Deal!!!

    After using Cubase 3, 7 & 7.5 and FL Studio PE 4-11 I was getting tired of deciding on which DAW I wanted to commit too. I chose these DAW's because the sales people at Guitar Center recommended them over the past 10 years.
    FL was good but the mixer was limited. Cubase sounded amazing but way to complicated with too many unnecessary options(needs to be cleaned up). I found myself spending more time buying tutorials and books to learn the software that my creativity was suffering and my mind frustrated(I just wanted to make the music I heard in my head).
    I decided to think for myself and find a DAW that let me finish my songs with outstanding results. I wanted something powerful with high quality instruments and effects like Cubase, with amazing audio quality and something easy to do beat making like FL Studio without the quirkiness and constant mixer track setups.
    What I love about Studio One is that the interface is silky smooth and laid out in a way that makes sense. The audio and MIDI setup is a breeze. I like that there is very minimal moussing around and not cluttered with windows open all over the place. The ability to add or delete tracks without having to configure it with complicated questions, it just does it right for you. The drag and drop options are amazing from the browser that are similar to FL but far better. This program is not a toy in any way shape or form. Studio One is serious and all business.

    Final note: I'm a perfectionist and very serious when it comes to producing great recordings and song creation tools.

  • from United Kingdom May 9, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer singer song writer, musician

    I switched from protools 11

    i had been a protools user for only a year when I saw a video of Joe Gilder explaining why he switched to from protools to studio 1 and couldnt believe it would be that much better. So i did some research and had a chat with my personal sales rep Ikes. yup i said personal sales rep because it simply is that. over the past year Ikes really has helped with making decisons.

    Thanks to Ikes and his reassurance of the product and support I bought it. And ive never looked back. Its a very easy and user friendly DAW and if other Daws were like this they would be so easy to use. Ive used several DAWS and this is the best. Protools is so slow and cumbersome to use compared to this.

    I still use Protools but only to record midi parts where I require a particular sound. but apart from that is studio 1 all the way. one last thing Presonus provide you with tons of free videos to get you up and running othrer DAWs charge for this.

  • from Tennessee April 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Studio One Pro

    I've been using Studio One for a little over four years. I started with Artist that came bundled with my Firestudio. My favorite part about S1, is the ability to just jump in and start recording. It is very intuitive and easy to use. Saying that, it is also as powerful as you need it to be. The stock plug-ins are pretty darn good and I have yet to see another package that has something that S1 doesn't have that I can't just live without. I went ahead and moved up to Pro so i could start using 3rd party plug-ins and make sure I didn't loose connectivity to EZDrummer. I'm just starting to use the Master side of Pro, but it is also a great upgrade to Artist.

  • from Sheffield U.K April 9, 2014Music Background:
    Music Producer/ Engineer

    PreSonus Studio One

    For those who are serious about making music look no further than this DAW
    .Having used or owned a couple of the major DAW'S- PreSonus simply rocks with ease of use and is a very stable piece of software.
    The audio engine is crisp and dare I say SOUNDS incredible . For those who come from a Cubase / Logic / Sonar background the learning curve is gentle but once you get under the " hood " wow it has a lot to offer and then some .

  • from Sterling Heights, MI March 25, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Composer, Producer

    One The Best !!

    I'll keep this short.. The developers came from Steinberg .. I look at Studio One Pro as the next evolution to Cubase. Nothing against Cubase, but Studio One is for the Music creators with virtually no limits to workflow and power.. Great Job...

  • from March 24, 2014Music Background:
    Beethoven's assistant

    Insight from the ignorant

    Title meaning, I am, by the text book definition of the word, ignorant to DAW's. I haven't used them since the first ones came out about 20 years ago. In the past couple of months, I've tried a few trials. This by far is the simplest to grasp. I can't go into technical differences of them, but will stick to my newb view of what I like.

    I like the workflow and how things work like I would expect them to work. For instance, I'm not ignorant to computers or other programs and use the highest end software suites when it comes to video editing and such. It's easy to see that the developers behind this have the much needed experience in how things work most efficiently in the computer world. One DAW I tried seems like it was written by someone that had zero windows or mac based experience. This program allows me to drag and drop and get to where I'm going in more than one way if I so chose that way. It also allows for making macros (love this). A macro is basically a set of instructions to do with the click of a button rather than go through menus. You can set one instruction macros (which is more like just creating your own shortcut) or more advanced macros to tailor to your own style.

    I also love that it's multi monitor friendly, so I can move things from one monitor to the other to keep my precious screen real estate de-cluttered. Love the graphics on the modules as well. Very well done and adds a bit of professionalism to an already professional product. Sort of like a training aid for me really, since I'm just now working around some of the gear it emulates\simulates. Very pleased.

    Oh, for those like me that have zero clue what I was doing, there are many great tutorials available for this (unlike some others).

  • from February 20, 2014Music Background:
    Song Writer/Arranger/Producer/Choir Director/Sound Engineer

    One Word...Workflow

    I bought Studio One years ago after using Cubase for years. When I want to create I just drag and drop the instrument and go. For instruments I commonly use in Virtual Instrument Libraries I just create a preset once and drag and drop the preset itself and voila Piano or strings or whatever created. No more Press F11 then go through the instruments then choose an instrument then prompted if to create a track. Drag Drop Create. It handles your plugins well and the fact that I can play instruments without perceived latency issues during a mixing session is priceless. Melodyne integration...priceless. If you're worried about support... don't be... they are on top of that! Just THE GREAT DAW!

  • from December 29, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer.

    A brilliant piece of kit

    I've tried several DAWs some better than others. Everyone says get Protools but I say get Studio One it ROCKS!!!

  • from washington, dc December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer etc

    WOW! Beyond Amazed!

    Ok, first of all I must say that I am speecheless about this DAW, I mean this DAW is simply ridiculous & just off the chain!! I have Protools 9 & 10, Cubase 6 & 6.5, 7 & 7.5, DP8, Reason Record 6 & 6.5, & now PreSonus STUDIO ONE PRO 2.6 (my MAIN DAW FOR LIFE!!!).... I really dont know where to begin..

    1. The Audio enging in this DAW is just amazing I mean I PUSHED it to the LIMIT & the Sound was just outstanding & hardly never distorted; the head-room in this is simply incredible. 2. Live Drums Quantizing & Timing is just simply easy & It WORKS (Cubase dosen't not for me).. 3. The Drag n Drop is just a lovely feature, especially with the effects & instrument tracks all being seperate: you can just grab and effect & drag... 4. Mastering...

    There are so many things that I can list but I'm not, but I have found the all in ONE DAW that I have been looking for & also that sounds amazing; as a Producer & Engineer I was looking for someting that is easy, effective, & I can work quickly & I have found that DAW. So no more Prootools, Cubase, Logic or DP for me it's all Studio One Pro 2.6!!! I'm done searching becuase I have found the ONE, Studio ONE that is.... Peace I'm out...!!

  • from Atlanta, GA November 24, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Design, Composition, Post

    Studio one

    I upgraded to studio one v.2 Pro from the producer level., to post a indie film. I had been working with it for composition and sound design previously. I love the work flow of studio one. Coming from a protools background I am not left missing anything, especially considering having access to the project page. I mean come on, I can quickly create songs and master full projects with K system metering in one program. I can even change the mix in the middle of mastering. Plus batch processing, awesome effects and being able to use the same quick keys as another program if I want. What else do you need?

  • from Seattle WA November 22, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Designer, Music Composer, and Audio Engineer.

    Best DAW for studio and Live work!

    I been learning and using Studio One since version 2.0 and honestly think that it is the best cost effective solution for Studio and Live work. Version 2.6 added the Fat Channel for all of us that use StudioLive mixers and now Capture files can be directly imported into Studio one to work on. Record the band and seamlessly transfer the session, mix, master, and even publish it on-line. It's a one stop shop here folks to take care of business.

  • from United States October 24, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer

    Great Daw!!!!

    Out of the box you are up and running!!!! Just add a good midi controller and you can begin creating some great stuff!

  • from Washington, DC October 23, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Best DAW for the $$$

    This software has blown me away. It comes with all of the plug-ins you need to create music from start to finish. Best DAW for the price. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • from Charleston, AR October 18, 2013Music Background:
    musician, singer

    Designers had their thinking caps on!

    I am relatively new to DAWs and have only experimented with Cakewalk etc. After using the "Artist" version for a week or so I upgraded to Studio One Pro. Phenomenally intuitive! Everything you could ever want! Here's the most important part of this review so listen carefully. If you've never dealt with Sweetwater before, you're in for a pleasant experience. My Sales Engineer Alan Carter is excellent! I received a call from him after receiving my interface and software just to see how I was getting along with it. He is always happy to help me with any issues I have. The tech support line is also huge selling point. Trust me on this, even if it costs you $100 more at Sweetwater (which it won't) it's well worth it just to know they've got your back!!!

  • from Lexington, SC October 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Cakewalk Sonar vs Personus Studio One 2.6

    I've been a Cakewalk Sonar user from version 5 to The New X3. It is a very good DAW . The main issues I have are with the software are the various bugs I have to fight with when using the software. I went ahead and upgraded to X3 hoping some of the issues would be corrected. Well that's not working out as I had hoped. I purchased the Personus Studio one about a month and a half ago. It truly is a very easy DAW to learn and the sound quality, I think is better than the Sonar. And guess what? No BUGS.

  • from Pecos TX September 26, 2013Music Background:
    Gumbo

    Studio One

    Presonus does it every time! Started with Artist, went to Producer & now Professional! Can't go wrong!! :)

  • from Dallas, TX USA August 30, 2013Music Background:
    BME from Baylor and Hobbyist

    Enjoying Studio One

    Great DAW software! It has a very efficient, easy to use workflow. Love the ARA integration with Melodyne as that is a real help to my workflow. I like the drag and drop user interface. Overall, I really just like the overall speed with which you can work in it now. It is easy to compose, record, mix and do a project of songs. Love Studio One Pro!

  • from New Orleans, LA July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Composer

    This is the DAW I have been looking for

    I can not believe how intuitive this software is. I've worked with so many over the years and Studio One 2.5 is simple to understand and even easier to use. I have finally found the program I've been looking for all these years. Not having to waste time with mundane tasks allows me to jump in and be creative.

  • from Scottsdale, AZ July 3, 2013Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Songwriter

    A great DAW at any price

    I've been using Studio One since v1.5. For my needs (multi-tracking, mixing, lots of pre-production), I probably barely scratch the surface of what it can do in some respects, but have yet to find something I need to do that it can't do with ease. All of the controls are either very intuitive or easy to research in the manual or Presonus forums. There is still a learning curve, as with any software, but if you're able to spend a few hours with it before needing to do anything critical you'll probably be fine. I've used other applications such as Pro Tools, DP and Cubase since way back in the day and have also spent more hours than I'd like to admit editing and mastering audio with SADiE. Studio One is the first DAW that both sounds and feels complete without being clunky. The quality of the included content and plug-ins is great. I use many of the plug-ins on every session. Throw in a few third party plug-ins if you want some different "colors" and you'll be cruising.

  • from Kansas City, KS, USA April 12, 2013Music Background:
    Ex Pro Musician, Church Musician, Hobbyist

    Amazingly Intuitive

    Although I'm an experienced musician, this is my first DAW. I'm amazed at how intuitive the interface is for something that is so feature rich. I've downloaded plugins only to find that I already had a more competent feature already within the package. The drag-n-drop interface is most appealing, and I rarely find myself lost. When I do, the community forums are top notch, with many helpful users than seemingly never sleep. I'm trying to purchase Komplete 9, as the S1 Pro comes with Komplete Elements. I'm waiting to find out if I am eligible for a cross-grade or upgrade. If I am eligible, that further increases the value of this package. Melodyne is another valuable addition, and is a breeze to use. Note: If using this DAW in native 64bit mode, you can only use true 64bit VSTs. I have wasted a few dollars on un-useable purchases. This DAW also does not have surround support, though I'm hoping that it can be patched in with a later update. All-in-all I am stoked to be using such a complete solution for recording.

  • from East Moline, IL United States April 12, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Studio One is unique.

    Many top-shelf DAWs require countless hours of both reading a manual, and hands on work. Many top-shelf DAWs don't come pre-loaded with kerjillions of sounds and third-party VSTs. Many top-shelf DAWs make making music an effort. And many top-shelf DAWs' price point is out of reach for the casual musician.

    Studio One is not one of many. It stands alone. Studio One is a powerful and complex erector set disguised as Lincoln Logs.

  • from Commack, NY April 4, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar, Recording Engineer

    Great program for mastering

    Easy to use, organized to mastering songs for online or CD delivery. All the tools you'll need to finish your master and then some .

    DAW portion is great. easy transition from Pro Tools. Highly recommend Studio One 2.5

  • from Corsicana, TX March 29, 2013Music Background:
    Indy producer, Hobbyist, Guitarist, Musician, Recording Artist

    SIMPLY TH E BEST!!

    I can't seem to shy away from writing positive reviews for this product!! Why should I?!! This is the best by far, at least to my taste considering within my arsenal I've sampled virtually almost every software available to date. In addition, the creators of Cubase and Nuendo are the same faces behind Studio One. German engineers at their best!!! This DAW is super light when it comes to CPU processing without compromising any of its professional fuctions and features, unlike any DAW I;ve used. Its marriage to Presonus is a huge plus!! Presonus has been revered as one of the leading hardware manufacturers in the music world, from computer recording interfaces to signal as well as multi fx processors. Studio One also integrates its own multi FX as well as virtual instruments plug-ins. Version 2 automatically bridged all your 32-bit, third-party plug-ins for use in a 64-bit platform. Simply put, Presonus Studio One is destined for the Hall of Fame!!

  • from Tilton, NH March 14, 2013Music Background:
    20+years live performing, live/studio engineer

    The BEST DAW.

    Ok, I have been doing home studio for over 12 years, so you can image the kind of dinosaurs I have worked with as far as gear is concerned. I won't tell you all about me because that is a waste of your time, but let me just say I have been around the block a few times. It's not the years that count, it's the mileage.
    I have used many different DAWs and they all did ok, but this one leaves them all at the curb standing like fools in the rain.
    The features that are included in this program are everything you could want to truly get complete control over your home studio projects. From fx and eq's that really sound great to compressors, limiters, and gates that work like real rack mounted gear, this DAW delivers..! The drag and drop functions makes so many things so simple. I have owned this program for 6 months and it would take me an hour to tell you all the great things about it I have found. What is amazing is I have less than 70% of this program figured out, I have barely even started to learn about the Mastering Section, (a feature not included on the "industry standard" program). I did a Cd for a friend last year on ProTools. When I got Studio One, I recorded his newest song and rough mixed it after the recording session. He was so blown away by the sound he asked me to remix all of the songs from his last Cd..! I remixed the first one already, and the mix I got was 10 times better sounding than the Cd, and it took me less than half of the time to get that mix. If you own a home studio, BUY THIS PROGRAM..! It could turn out to be the BEST investment you ever make. One other thing, I recommend that you have a computer that has some processing power. Once you get used to this DAW you will be able to do mixing and editing so fast that your old computer may not be able to keep up.

  • from United States January 11, 2013Music Background:
    Procude, Recording Engineer, Pro musician

    PERFECT!!!

    I've been using Sonar for many years, having problems with Latency, Drop outs and Bugs, etc... just the first day I got Studio One as my DAW I had no difficulty to work. Bye-bye SONAR!!!! It has every thing you need. Studio One is simply amazing! It sounds good, very easy to use, fast working, is not a software that requires very much of your CPU. I liked it even more than Pro Tools, Cubase, Logic...

  • from Boston, MA December 29, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Guitarist and production

    Just Awesome

    I was a Protools user and when Avid released PT10 months after I just paid $300 for PT9 I had enough. I said goodbye to all latency issues and glitches of Protools and I'm so much happier now. Studio One 2.5 is so far ahead of Protools and I am 99.9% glitch free. No freeze ups, no latency with my firestudio project, sounds amazing and professional.

  • from McGuffey, Ohio December 25, 2012Music Background:
    Recording engineer, drummer, live sound, and video production

    Look no further!

    If you are looking for ease of use, power, and a mind blowing audio experience, then look no further. Every part of this DAW is on one screen, no split screen sadness here! Hot keys make every facet of this powerful DAW not only easy to navigate, but makes every part of the creative process happen before the inspiration leaves your mind! With VST and other plug-in compatibility as well, this DAW is a real winner!

  • from United States December 24, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound and Musician

    Presonus Studio One 2 Professional

    You've reviewed and tried all the Recording software out there and found some to be quite daunting and others to make you buy more and more without getting what you want. Presonus Studio One 2 Pro is just what I needed to further my learning, to record, and do practically anything more than the rival expensive (and expansive) software features. I use the Studio One Pro with a Presonus Studio Live 16.0.2 Mixer and the 4 channel Presonus AudioBox 44 and I would not trade them for ANY other DAW/software regardless of price and features. Of course having Sweetwater expertise makes it a perfect match for assistance to ensure what you want is what you get at a great price. One thing I do recommend...get a Mac! I bought two PC laptops and each did not have the right firewire chipsets to run the Studio Live Mixer.

  • from Skiatook, OK August 15, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, arranger, hobbyist

    Awesome!

    I downloaded the demo version of this product two months ago. I am a recent entrant into the DAW world so I can't compare this to a lot of the other products. For many years I did what music production I did on hard disk recorder/mixers and stayed away from computer-based recording, because up until recently I was scared off by glitch-filled software with steep learning curves. Then I got a Yamaha 01V mixer that came bundled with Cubase AI. That made a DAW convert of me.

    Cubase AI was OK, but not long after I was doing online video training at Home Studio Corner, and came across tutorials done with Studio One. And the rest, as they say, is history. I downloaded, I used, and a month later I purchased. I think this software is artfully constructed. The learning curve is not that steep, the power amazing, the plugins numerous and mind-boggling. Bundling Celemony Melodyne and Native Instruments just makes it all even better. I can't believe what you get for the price: a premium DAW that is simple to install and use, with tons of extras and tons of horsepower.

    I can't quit gushing about Studio One. It is awesome. I also can't believe that a year ago I was still struggling to make music on a hard disk recorder with it's severe limitations and primitive editing tools. I'm sold on DAWs and Studio One is everything I ever wanted. I'm not qualified to tell you to "trash your other DAWs", but I can tell you that you won't be disappointed with this one.

  • from Wilmington, NC July 28, 2012Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer

    This is Where I Landed

    I was a Nuendo man once weaned off of 2" tape. Studio One has taken over. I didn't even install my old system on my latest editing PC. Studio one takes any format that comes in and feeds polished tracks in whatever format I need into my Adobe Premier Pro editor. And while the program itself is good enough, the folks at Presonus take care of business if you have an issue. They make great stuff and back it up. Great DAW and great company.

  • from Tucson, Arizona July 6, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The ProTools Killer

    I came across this DAW by accident. Looking for something on YouTube and found a review of this software from a highly respected producer. After listening to the review, I had to try it. Studio One 2 does not disappoint. I have used Logic, Pro Tools, Ableton Live, and Reason. While all of them have something specific to them that I really like, none of them come close to the ease of use and intuitive interface of Studio One. The Melodyne integration that comes with the Studio One 2 Professional version is very cool. It also comes with almost 19gigs of additional sounds, loops and plug ins (including Native Instruments Elements). This is a solid value. My experience with this software has been nothing short of amazing. . PreSonus has knocked it out the park with this one.

  • from Virgin Islands May 27, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Producer

    You Can't go wrong

    Like most other reviewers, I've used just about everything out there and S1v2 is the best by far. It makes what we do (Create, Produce, Mix, Master music) so much easier and faster without getting in the way.

    Practically NO learning curve whatsoever. The included Plugins are actually usable and are very nice. There are a few things I miss that Cubase has like the arranger track and maybe a couple of midi toys, but nothing that equates to being a deal breaker.

    If this is your first DAW you'll feel welcomed and if like me this is your profession you'll welcome S1v2 as a trusted companion in your workflow...I expect only GREAT things from Presonus and S1.

  • from Louisville, KY USA May 8, 2012Music Background:
    Swimming in the Ocean of Tone

    Unbelievable Power And Value!

    You really have to try this program to believe that it really is better, easier, faster, and 'funner' than whatever DAW you're using now! All that, and it's at least 90% as powerful as the "Industry Standard" DAW (Yeah, that one) and it's more flexible and vastly more intuitive. Considering it's only been around a couple years, unlike the 'Standard', Studio One is surprisingly mature and powerful.

    Having spent considerable time, effort and energy into really learning Tro Pools, and really liking it, I finally tired of it's quirks and having to lift myself out of my creative space to deal with some technical issue, and so dug into Studio One. Man was I pleasantly surprised! I'm being 100% honest when I say that it was like coming out of a fog into the clarity of day. I'm not detracting anything from Tro Pools; it is more powerful, but for strictly music production, Studio One, though it lacks a few things (like a score editor) is just better for working with music. Just about everything I do in Studio One is done quicker, and with fewer clicks/keystrokes than with any other DAW I have ever used. And the results all sound amazing (that's what REALLY matters, right?)

    Studio One is already 64-bit so it uses the full resources of my computer, everything I need is either right there on the screen or a click or two away, it's very intuitive to work with, but even if I get stuck, the manual is very well written and clear. It comes loaded with an excellent compliment of instruments, effects and sounds (and of course 3rd party plugins are not a problem). It loads faster, and accomplishing typical tasks is faster than other DAWs, and some of those others aren't even in the ball park! I'm using it with a MOTU Audio Express interface and have had zero issues; again, unlike 'certain' other programs.

    Now, for the Cons: I really wish it had a score editor, and I will strongly suggest that to Presonus for the next version (hopefully they listen). The faders in console view could have a longer travel and they are a little inaccurate in that the actual level (the numbers) don't consistently match up well with the physical position of the fader, and I personally prefer pots rather than sliders for panning. Track numbering is missing as well and the outputs of a couple of my multi-out virtual instruments are not enumerated correctly. Except for the missing score editor, these are really very minor and all together the cons aren't worth deducting a star.

    Throw in the fact that Studio One currently costs hundreds less than the more popular, more aged offerings out there and there is one more reason every serious musician ought to make Studio One the foundation of any hobbyist, amateur, semi-pro or even professional studio setup. It really is THAT good!.

  • from Las Vegas Nevada USA April 15, 2012Music Background:
    recording artist, producer, engineer, musician

    presonus studio one 2 pro

    Like many other reviewers, i too have used reason, logic, abeleton, etc. DAWs. S-1-2 is by far the best ever !!! The ease of putting a track together, or using S-1-2 for stems for complete mixing, and mastering is the easiest !!! Great product !!!!

  • from United States April 5, 2012Music Background:
    Composer, Pro Musician, Eterna Student!

    Even Better than Version 1!

    My original review of Studio One v. 1:
    ------------------------------------------------------

    I heard of Studio One last year when it came out and my first thoughts were, "Come on guys, what a waste of resources....focus on what you are great at...hardware!).

    Well, having used Logic Pro, Pro Tools, Sonar, Ableton, and toyed with several others, I can solidly say that this DAW is not only well worth your time and penny to check out but also here to stay for a while.

    Developed in collaboration with Kristal Labs comprised of Wolfgang Kundrus and Matthias Juwan, both former heavy hitters of Cubase and Nuendo, this DAW although only on v. 1.5 is nimble, mature, sonic-ally gorgeous, and intuitively innovative.

    It almost feels like these two gentleman had a few things they really wanted to get implemented for previous users of other DAW's and found a benefactor with Presonus to share and join the vision of their mission.

    This DAW really is a breath of fresh air. Now that being said, it is still on v. 1.5 and although I sound like a fan boy, I miss many of the other features in Ableton and Logic, such as folder tracks and richer instrument/effects options and jump back to use them on occasion. However, with the speed at which v. 1.5 came out (as a free upgrade), it won't be long before S1 not only has it all, but has pushed their creativity caps to a streamlined and well conceived apex.

    So if you are just getting into the game, you can't get a better deal than Logic Studio, has it all and it sounds great. But if you already have the after-market plugins and primarily use Komplete, Omnisphere, etc. etc. and are more concerned with a fast and phenomenal sounding, 64-bit host...you may find yourself in love with this program, I obviously have.

    I am also excited at what Presonus may bring to the table with their hardware integration. Excellent job Presonus and the Studio One team!
    close [-]
    -----------------------------------------------

    With the update including Melodyne's ARA, Folder tracks, single window multiple track midi editing, Air One convo reverb, the new user exchange, etc. etc. This is one of the finest recording related products on the market. If they would add an Ableton-esque sequencer or cell based composing tool, I'd never use anything else!

    Great update Presonus and kudos to the Studio One Development team!

    ~C

  • from USA February 1, 2012Music Background:
    DRUMMER/COMPOSER/MUSICIAN

    PRESONOUS STUDIO 1

    I HAVE BEEN USING STUDIO ONE SINCE IT FIRST CAME OUT. I JUST RECENTLY UPGRADED TO VERION 2.0 PRO. I'M IMPRESSED WITH THIER HAREWARE AND SOFTWARE. WHAT I REALLY LIKE ABOUT PRESONUS IS NOT ONLY THEIR DEDICATION TO THE PEOPLE THAT USE AND BUY THEIR PRODUCTS BUT THEIR COMMITMENT TO GETTING IT RIGHT.

  • from Corsicana, TX (near Dallas) January 20, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist, recording artist, guitarist

    Simply put...dee best DAW ever!!

    Upgraded from Artist to Professional. Love it!! Love it!! Love it!! A full-fledged, high-end, truly professional audio workstation designed and geared for music lovers of all levels. An integrated mastering suite, track-and-drop feature never heard of on other DAWs, integrated virtual instruments such as synths, drum machines, etc.; user-friendly concept design that gives musicians, regardless of technical background, total control and freedom for one heck of a climactic experience!! A definately must have!!

  • from USA January 5, 2012Music Background:
    Sing, Songwriter, Guitarist

    I dig it!

    I have worked in quite a few different platforms including Linux. Most DAWs I have experienced, though briefly have been confusing, mind boggling, and just plain over the top difficult.I also did a lot on a multitrack board. This DAW is the best I have ever used, hands down! Very easy workflow. I has all the plug ins I wanted. Many thanks to Brandon Eden for helping me to make a supremely awesome choice! I appreciate the knowledgeable people here at Sweetwater. It is nice to get a question answered about a product knowing it will be real info I can use. I do wish I had a foot contoller but since it runs Guitar Rig which is terrific, I am already shopping. :o) The amp windows are a little weird. I wish they had a minmize feature. They are tricky to pull back up. When you delete a function it will fold up and disappear. Even though I find it again, it's annoying. I will need to do some more reading, it's possible there is a better way as I have not had the software that long. I love the way it is laid out, all right up front, drag and drop! I have more time to be creative instead of being frustrated with ridiculous hoops to jump through. Guitarists will dig this program. You get pro results. Easy to learn if you have experience, but newcomers will find it more intuitive and relaxing. I was recording in minutes once I actually got it downloaded. One word of warning, If you have low or restricted bandwidth DO NOT buy the download. It'll take 5 flippin days! My service provider slapped a usage violation on me. A zipped file would have been better. All in all this thing is fun to use and has endless possiblities creatively. This is a great DAW and destined to become extremely popular.

  • from December 20, 2011

    studio One 2

    A very complete option for those that are tired of the conventional DAW. All the action happens in front of you, no pop ups windows no diagrams, no crazy bus routing edits. its all right in your face. Workflow is superb, the sound is up to par to any other DAW and believe me I have them all, Logic pro, Live , Reason, Record, Cubase 6, Digital Performer, Reaper. I was looking for something new and fresh, and I found it is as friendly as it is powerful.

  • from USA January 13, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    impressed

    Being a pro tools user and in the process of discovering the potential of Studio One so far I am impressed. I am using Studio One right now as my Mastering tool which simplifies the process for me. It is working absolutely Great. I am gradually learning more about the software and look forward to using it extensively. Studio One is my main mobile recording software which does a beautiful job. I suspect my rating would be a solid 5 if I knew all of it's potential. You cannot go wrong with Personus Studio One Professional.

  • from boston, ma August 13, 2012Music Background:
    Classical violist, new to audio editing

    I'm Very Happy with PreSonus Studio One 2 Professional

    I am pretty new to audio editing, but have used a variety of fairly simple programs in the past. Studio One is great for someone like me as it is very clear and easy to follow. I am thrilled with the layout and love the detail in which I can edit a file.

    Thank you

  • from Spring Arbor, MI USA May 10, 2012Music Background:
    Mr. Muckabout

    Excellent!

    Having never been a fan of full-blown DAWs before, I've found this to be very intuitive and easy to use, yet very powerful. I won't give up my hardware just yet, but Studio One 2 is a terrific tool!

  • from Dallas, Tx March 13, 2012Music Background:
    Country Keyboard player

    GREAT and intuitive DAW!

    I have been recording with my computer since the Cakewalk Pro Audio Days. I followed Cakewalk thru Sonar 2, and changed when i started having a lot of issues with the program crashing. I bounced around, tried Cubase for awhile, then found REAPER, which i was really impressed with. However, in order to get the full use of REAPER, you MUST spend time setting its preferences and workflow to fit you. I ended up with Mackie Tracktion right at its end-of-life, and i liked the concept but was concerned about support. I had seen the original version of Studio One and felt it looked somewhat like Tracktion. I was VERY nervous about biting the bullet and buying it because i was afraid i would miss something from REAPER......well, that is NOT the case. I am not a "power" user, I work mostly with audio and effects and a little midi, with VSTs, and Studio One V2 fits the bill for me perfectly. I've never looked back since I bought it. AND, instead of having to use CD ARchitect to burn the cd's, it is all built into the project page. i never leave the program. And, whereas I used to use a lot of 3rd party vst effects and instruments, I haven't used anything except what is in Studio One so far.

  • from USA March 11, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician, sometimes semi-professional engineer

    Outstanding DAW

    I purchased this DAW to get off the "industry standard" upgrade gouge train. I'm blown away, and here's why. This DAW installed seamlessly on my iMac 2.4 ghz duo core, running Snow leopard. No hassles whatsoever. In addition, and I can't stress this enough, the plug ins that ship with this software are exceptionally usable. Much more so than the plug ins that ship with the industry standard. The software grabbed on to my Mbox 2 without issue, and when I paired it with the Presonus Firestudio mobile I was just blown away! If you've used other DAW software, this will take a tiny bit of getting used to, but honestly, that would be the same with ANY software change. It's got all of the features I need without the constant error messages and buffer size issues of that "other" software. I can't make the darn thing crash, even when doing a session with lots of tracks and plugs! When, not if, they release a new version in a couple of years, I'm supremely confident that it won't cost me an arm and a leg, and that's something you just COULD NOT say about that "other" software. Studio One v2 can help you create release-ready mixes, and it does so without all the hassle of some DAW software. I'm never going back....ever.

  • from Kansas December 13, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging Guitarist

    Powerful New Standard in DAW's

    After using other DAW's for years, I found Studio One V2 to an easy transition for the most part. Studio is fairly easy to learn if you have used other DAW's in the past. What I love about the S1V2 is that is does not overtax my cpu at all (quad-core AMD w/8 gigs ram). I use lots of plug-ins simultaneously. The included VST plug-ins are awesome and are in some cases as good as some vst's costing hundreds of dollars by them selves. I am using an Presonus Audiobox 1818vsl + Digimas D8 with S1V2 with outstanding results so far. No real complaints other than the manual is a bit lacking. For example; Using the Pipeline plug-in (for managing hardware effects) is only briefly explained what is does and not how to use it. A simple diagram would have been nice. Presonus does offer OBEDIA Free Training (trial) for anyone that bought or upgraded to version 2. I am very pleased with the Presonus products I've recently purchsed and give thanks to my Sweetwater Sales Representative (Paul Rowan) for putting up with my numerous phone calls and questions.

  • from 2202 nw 36th street September 16, 2014Music Background:
    Working Musician, and studio Owner

    STUDIO ONE PROFESSIONAL 2.6 (DOWNLOAD)

    Haven't really gotten into to it that much been kinda busy what I have seen I like very Much.

  • from Milwaukee, WI February 12, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Recording Engineer, Music Production

    Great DAW, not far from being the best

    This DAW is by far the best I have used (logic pro, pro tools, cubase, ableton). It ease of use helps the one man studio (producer, engineer, artist) be able to focus on the more creative on making music then the technical aspects the other DAW's present. The factory tools built in can get you that professional sound you are looking for.

  • from Ontario, Canada June 19, 2012Music Background:
    recording engineer, musician

    Studio One 2 Pro is my new DAW!

    I recently had to start looking for a new DAW platform to work in because Sony Acid Pro 7 has not been updated since early 2010 and the current version was created in 2008. I knew finding the software that I was going to want to work in would be a challenge and that there were a lot of platforms out there. A few of the guys in the Sony forums kept mentioning Presonus Studio One 2. So I checked it out. I downloaded the demo-trial and was amazingly impressed with it's workflow and UI. What I loved about Acid Pro was it's ease of use and work flow. What I needed was something similar with workflow and layout but something that was 2012 and something that was 64x compatible, and something that handled my ever growing amount of 3rd party plugins.
    Studio One Pro 2 does it all. It is very stable on my pc which is a must. I also have to say the bottom end frequencies are much more defined than what I was used to in Acid Pro 7.
    I have also been working in Pro Tools 10 at work because I needed OMF support for video. If I could work in Presonus Studio One 2 everyday I would eliminate Pro Tools 10.
    You will not be sorry purchasing Presonus Studio One 2. You will be thrilled and find your love all over again for music in this DAW.

  • from Herndon, VA, USA September 20, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    Confusing Installation

    As a tool it works fine. Documentation for the product, and installation could be a lot better. Lots of files are never installed, and many disks are never used, no explanation is given for what those disks are, or how to use them.

  • from LaPorte ind. March 30, 2014Music Background:
    drummer recording studio owner

    Studio one flaws

    Great, easy to use. Downloading manual is expensive lots of ink and paper. also mine quit burning CDs in the software on a Mac Pro quad. Still not resolved this issue. Presonus has had other clients with same problem

  • from Dublin, OH February 24, 2014Music Background:
    playing and recording for years

    unintuitive garbage

    i'd rate this a zero if i could. i seem to remember this coming highly recommended to me. had been on the market for a new DAW for years and from everything i saw and heard this seemed like a good home.

    i came to this program from a very early (and buggy) version of sonar, which utterly blows this out of the water. all i wanted to do was to set up a template file in S1 that was set to record midi channel one on track one, channel two on track two et cetera - i still use a hardware sequencer and this is part of the process i've used for years. after some forum diving, looking at tutorial videos and the laughable excuse of a "manual" i had to give this entire investment up as a loss. i was able to convey some of this to my sweetwater salesman but he and all his techies couldn't get it to function either. i never got into anything else so i can't tell you about the sounds it comes with or any recording features. i could never use any of them because i could only ever get the software to record everything from the same channel or playback everything on the same channel. in cakewalk this is all controlled by super intuitive drop down menus on every track. you can immediately see how everything is routed, or change it. couldn't find anything like that. huge waste of time, money, and hard drive space. easily the worst purchase i've made in the last 15-20 years.

    on the plus side i was able to download the full version before the box version arrived, not that it ever worked. in fact this failed so badly it made me seriously consider getting back into hardware recording. in the meantime i've actually gone back to sonar, which had me recording that same night.

    lastly, and this is a minor gripe in the grand scheme of things, i sincerely miss the days when your new toys (software or hardware) came with a manual. no, not a .pdf. no, not a link to their site. but a real manual - a book you could hold in your hands and read when not at the console or check when you're at the console. i loved the addition of extensive help menus, but menu diving is never fun and should only be reserved for deep sound editing, never for simple midi channel set up.

Questions about the PreSonus Studio One Professional 2.6 (download)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveawayrrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev