0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

PreSonus Studio One Artist 2.6 (download) Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
  • from March 20, 2015Music Background:
    MPC2000xl and hardware synths for all genres of music.

    I was scared, but...

    So I've been very reluctant to jump into the world of producing music from start to finish completely in a DAW. Yeah I am, wait, I was one of those �ol skool� dudes that only used hardware to produce music. I came from the MPC2000xl and synth and racks like the Motif and Roland XP series. The only experience I had with a DAW is for audio only. I would record my music in Magix Music Studio for the purpose of mastering and burning CDs. All sequencing was done via hardware. When I wanted to upgrade my RCA USB interface I decided to go with PreSonus 22VSL which came with Studio One Artist. My computer was an older PC that could handle audio pretty well but to try and do complete production wasn�t happening. So once my wife decided she wanted a MacBook instead of the Windows 8 Laptop I bought her I went ahead and installed Studio One on the laptop. From there things took off. I haven�t used my hardware in weeks. Well, only to practice piano and sample from my MPC into Studio One Impact. After getting Native Instruments Players installed correctly I�ve been blown away by Studio One. And this is just the Artist version. I have other VST instruments I want to use so I'm debating on upgrading to Studio One Producer now or wait for a sale and jump to Studio One Professional. Honestly, Artist is a beast all by itself and I could get a lot done with it, but I definitely want to expand my instrument arsenal with Synthmaster which I have and XPAND2 which is next on my list.

    If you�re like I was and are afraid to jump into all-in-the-box producing because of the learning curve or thinking you don�t want to sit there with a mouse in your hand clicking all day, then Studio One is for you. The flow is so fantastic you won�t even think about the mouse. It literally becomes part of your natural flow. That�s mainly because Studio One does what you hope it does when your creating music. It doesn�t get in the way. And probably the biggest thing with me and any product I'm new to is if I have to crack open the manual all the time to learn how to do something. I haven�t touched the manually. It�s like what you think you should be able to do, Studio One does it. It just makes sense in terms of work flow. I mean check it out, I'm not a big loops or samples dude. I like to build my own drums and percussion and instrumentation from scratch. 97% of the sampling I do is sampling drums kits and making one shots like kick, snare, hi hats, shakers, etc. With Studio One, when I�m auditing loops while the sequencer is running it automatically locks the loop in time with the sequencer tempo. The loop description could be something like �Funky_Drummer HouseDub_Loop_114bpm�. But if my tempo is at like 80bpm it will play the loop at 80bpm instead of 114 and not change the pitch. This is while clicking on the loop from the browser and before dragging the loop into the project. That�s insane!!! And after I drag the loop in the project it�s an audio file / wav. So if there are only little pieces of the loop that I want I just chop it up and cut out what I don�t want. And remember, it�s already in time with the tempo so I don�t have to move or drag the remaining pieces of the loop anywhere. That is absolutely insane!!! I mean think about how much talk we hear about producing wishing DAWs and equipment could do some sort of time stretching without adding artifacts. You don�t have to do anything to make it happen, it does it for you.

    I haven�t any experience with other major DAWs like Logic, Pro Tools, Cubase, Ableton Live,etc., but from where I was at in terms of the concerns I had moving from hardware into this total virtual world, Studio One is The One.

  • from United States February 25, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    PreSonus Studio One Artist 2.6

    For the price, this is an excellent deal! You get easy to use controls, very good quality effects and it's just an overall joy to use and play around with and everything is high quality!

    If you get this, you won't be sorry. :)

  • from Pascagoula, MS March 26, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Recording Engineer, Artist & Song Writer

    Amazing

    Studio One Artist 2.6 is simply amazing... The presets makes it so easy to record without really having to adjust any knobs.. I recorded my first song with a couple of days ago and everyone though I went somewhere professionally and had it done.. I would refer this program for any upcoming and aspiring artist and or producers... LOVE IT!!

  • from Port Charlotte, Florida June 4, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Teacher

    Studio One 2 Artist musician friendly and powerful.

    This is one superior composing tool. At 80 years young I have used many music software programs and this one is intuitive and fun. Work flow is smooth and effortless from adding instruments, effects, mix down and then send your composition to SoundCloud and become a STAR! WOW! I can't stop working. . . . I've got to get some sleep. . . My golf game is suffering. .

  • from OC, CA, USA February 18, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Keyboardist, Home and Studio Recording 10+ years

    Can't Be Beat!!!

    Quite simply amazing for $100. So many features standard. Producer is the one though and only for $100 more. I got Artist V1 free with my presonus interface and at the time presonus was giving V2 upgrades for free and they do that often. Just upgraded from Producer to Professional on Valentine's Day when they sent me a 50% off offer...no brainer. Do your home work though and research to find whats best for you or ask Sweetwater, they're the best. Personally, I wish I could control transport duties with my keyboard controller and I need a sequencer for drum parts. There is a way to do it with S1 and its cool but I prefer the MPC way.

  • from Long Island NY December 21, 2011Music Background:
    Church Musician and Home Recording

    WHAT A GREAT PROGRAM!!!

    This goes along with my Audio Box USB Review since Studio One Artist was included as a bundle The Studio One 2 upgrade was offered free when I registered, what a nice surprise.
    This is packed with awesome features and tools. The loops and effects are really nice and unlike many others totally usable and really user friendly. The tools will need some work on your part to learn and understand how to use them but if you have experience it's pretty straightforward.
    The quality of my recordings are unbelievably clean and pristine. They have a quality sound before mastering anything.
    If you're new to recording it's well worth the price. Try it and I know you'll be blown away. I like it so much I'm more than sure I'll be upgrading to Studio One Professional before long.

  • from USA November 17, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-pro composer

    Expectations far exceeded!

    Let's just say that this is the best $99 I have spent on anything music related in my life. There is no hype surrounding this product, it is all they say it is and more! I will be upgrading when I can afford to but even the Artist version allows you to produce professional projects.

  • from Reno, NV January 11, 2015Music Background:
    Composer, engineer, producer.

    You Can't Go Wrong With Studio One

    I've been using Studio One sine its inception. It is well thought out, layer out, designed, implemented, and it just is a joy to work with. The plug-ins are more than adequate for most users, and your work experience should be fun after a very flat learning curve. Try it. You'll love it.

  • from Yuma, Arizona August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist and student...

    Great software for the PreSonus Audiobox USB...

    I decided to upgrade the free Studio One software that came with the Audiobox USB, and it was a great choice. I may upgrade further, but this will keep me busy for now! Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from Concord, NH January 13, 2015Music Background:
    former pro - long retired

    A bit complicated for a beginner.

    This is an excellent studio program, of course. However, there are so many available features in it that a rookie will be lost almost from the beginning. After a couple of hours of studying and trial and error, I was able to record a track. It is going to take much practice to get a song laid down.... it's a good thing I have lots of time and patience.

  • from South Carolina, September 26, 2014Music Background:
    Pro: Singer, Musician, Composer. Arrangements

    LIKE IT!

    I am very happy to have Studio One Artist 2.6 (08-27-14) as my recording software! I also have another recording studio that I have used for almost 6 years. Studio One has the best Setup, Effects, etc. I had a little problem with navigating the mix down process (I was searching for something that only Studio Pro has). Contacted tech support and they responded quickly and sent me the info that I needed. I'm also impressed with the "Help" tutorial. It is very extensive and will take you where you want to go. I must have used over a cartridge of ink and a ream of paper to move info that I needed for quick references...LOL. I copied what I needed to Microsoft Word...Presto a quick reference booklet. My experience with Sweetwater was very satisfactory. Their representation of PreSonus was very professional. I'm sorry this is so lengthy. But, hope you will find it helpful.

  • from Springfield, GA USA May 3, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Seems The Perfect Thing For Starting On The Ground Floor

    This is not a really fair review because I've had little time to work with my ProSonus. I will say (1) it looks really good (just like the photos), and (2) allows anyone interested in digital recording & editing to start on the ground floor because it is "not" expensive. The problems, turns, twists, and jumping through hoops to register and get the key you'll need just to load the software onto your computer is ridiculous. Only through the gracious patience of Sweetwater was I able to get it up and running. Also, by the grace of Sweetwater, one of their technicians is the one who convinced (with her patience and understanding of what I hoped the software would do) that I could accomplish what I wanted to do by buying a smaller, less expensive software package. My goals are small. Import recordings from my 16-track recorder for correcting mistakes, and CD mastering for personal use - at least for now, I believe ProSonus is an excellent way to start. Thanks SWEETWATER for introducing me. P.S. my rating may go higher once I really get into the software.

  • from indiana July 30, 2012Music Background:
    HOBBY MUSICIAN

    MY FAULT NOT WHAT I"M LOOKING FOR

    I was looking for more of a musicians performing software such as
    midi maestro

Questions about the PreSonus Studio One Artist 2.6 (download)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close