0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Fender Rumble 500 500-Watt Bass Head Reviews

5.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Rumble 500 500-Watt Bass Head?

Questions about the Fender Rumble 500 500-Watt Bass Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 26, 2017

    Fender product

    Love the new head, great sound and easy carry! fits awesome on top of Rumble cabinet too. Also great service from these guys! love the follow up calls and delivery was great, next day here in Michigan. I have recommended these guys to everyone I know. Good Stuff!

    Matt L. Midland, MI

  • from Canton OH January 8, 2017

    Rumble 500 head

    I'm giving this amp a 5 based on MY NEEDS ONLY. First of all if you only have one 8 ohm cabinet the amp puts out 350 W which is overkill for me (rehearsal, jams and practice). I paired this amp with the 750 W 210 cabinet and the sound is very loud and very clean and I get the headroom I wanted. I used to have an SVT 300 W beast in the old days and it was loud and sounded very good with a Fender j-bass (Black-black pick guard, maple neck and rectangular black inlays, 1973 I think, wish I never sold it) and 2 Acoustic 215 cabinets. I don't know if this amp/cabinet combo can compete with that decibel to decibel but consider: The SVT was almost 85 pounds compared with 5 pounds for this amp. The 210 cabinet is 40 pounds compared to the 2 Acoustic cabinets (over 100 pounds combined, plus the space they took up in the van). My sound from this equipment is loud AND clean. If I add another 210 my amp puts out 500 watts into a cool looking stack (I always loved the Fender silver sparkly grill cloth). Consider your needs and at least look at the Rumble heads and cabinets. My rep at Sweetwater is David Merkoski and I find he is very helpful and knowledgeable as you can imagine a rep would be handling the variety of calls they must have in a day. That is my endorsement of Sweetwater and the Rumble 500 head (and 210 cab). I am having a blast with it and in today's crazy world, how good is that? CRANK IT!
    Will

  • from Michigan December 26, 2016Music Background:
    28 years playing bass

    what a great sound!

    What a great sounding amp. The distortion channel is awesome. I use the vintage button a lot and love the sound. I knew Fender amps sounded great but this is above and beyond what I expected! Thanks sweetwater for all the tech help. Arthur in Lansing, MI

  • from New England October 22, 2016Music Background:
    Working Professional

    The WOW Factor!

    I've owned several Rumbles over the years and this V3 series is the best ever. Sweetwater has them all and have been great on support though I never needed service. Not sure if that's in part due to Fender acquiring Genz Benz before these came out, but no matter the WHY these amps have the WOW! At first the preamp takes a little getting used to so I used my Tech 21 Bass Driver plugged directly into the effects return for a while and bypassed the preamp and just unleashed the raw power and the new cabinet design. That alone had me sold and then I joined the Rumble Club on Talkbass and learned different settings and was able to tweak the preamp for all of my basses and now LOVE the preamp too. They should publish some settings examples to get you started, but once you get the hang of the preamp you'll be in tone heaven with plenty of power behind you. I love it alone with one 2x10 and have used it with a second 2x10 as well as with a 1x15. When used with 4-10's this is a real beat. Rumble on!

  • from SAINT CLAIR SHORES, MI August 8, 2016Music Background:
    Retired from the road

    Leave your pre-amps at home.

    I can't add much to what's already been said. I've been playing bass since 1967. I've gone through A LOT of amps. I run it through a 4X10 / 1X15 rumble stack. It's got to be one THE BEST amp rigs I've ever played through. Chest pounding volume. A wide, rich, tone sweep and an over drive that actually SOUNDS like "over drive". No need for any "pre-amp enhancement"....This guy holds it's own on it's own.

  • from Indiana June 29, 2016

    Fantastic!

    I have the 500W Head powering the Rumble V3 4x10 and the sound is HUGE! lots of tone capabilities, and super lightweight. I've been able to put this in the bag it comes with and use it as a carry on for gigs where we have to fly. My only complaint, though minor, is that the zippers on the carrying case are very cheap. I've already broken two of them off on the side zippers! In regards to the amp itself however, I'm floored!

  • from So Cal March 17, 2016Music Background:
    Pro

    Rumble 500 Head

    I've played a lot of bass amps and this is one of the best Sounding amps. I've used Ampeg SVT TUBE (70's) SWR GK and more. Trust me this is a great sounding amp and deserves a great cab. When I
    Plugged into my SWR Triad I Was blown away!!
    Big sound in a small footprint. As always, my Sweetwater engineer was great. They actually do care.

  • from Tulsa, Oklahoma October 28, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician 15 years

    Solid Gigging Musician Amp

    Let me start this off by saying first that i got this amp as a backup amp for my Gk 1001Rb head. Upon playing it for the first time i realized that i can use this amp as my travel amp and not have to lug my monster head around. It came with a travel bag which has side compartments for cords and pedals... which is nice in a pinch.
    So far i have Played 5 gigs and recorded a few songs and i have to say this amp will probably be my main gigging amp for a long time to come. I have yet to use it with an extra cab and get the full 500 watts but 350 into 410's is doing everything i need and more. I use mostly finger and slap style so the bright switch and contour switch is was my first go to when i need to cut thru the mix. This amp has a built in compressor that is non adjustable and that kind of stinks but other than that i can dial in any tone i can think of. From Progressive metal to Motown moldy oldies. i am very happy with my purchase. Overall 5 stars.

  • from South Jersey March 27, 2015Music Background:
    45 Years of Rock, Soul and Jazz

    Great Tone and Power

    The Rumble 500 Bass Head gives me the fat sound I need to lay down a solid bottom with a click for the high end while using an Ampeg 450 watt 15" cabinet with horn. Beats several other amps I have used. The power is amazing and the tone cannot be matched. Awesome product and awesome service as usual from Sweetwater.

  • from February 5, 2015Music Background:
    Semi pro musician

    Perfect bass tone

    I've been playing my Fender Rumble 500 for a few months now and every time I turn it on I'm exctited about the sound I'm going to get. I use it with the Fender 4x10 cabinet for small to medium-sized gigs and it produces plenty of power at 8 ohms. It's a very loud amp for such a tiny package. For bigger venues or outdoors gigs I double the Fender cab up with an Ampeg 4x10, for a massive 8x10 sound and huge presence. The tone of this little amp is beautiful. With EQs run flat the sound I get playing my Fender Jazz American Deluxe V is rich, warm, clean and punchy, with crisp note definition and a ton of bottom end thud. It really does deliver my idea of perfect bass tone.. The tonal options are great too, either by tweaking the funky retro looking dials or punching in one or more of the three-preset buttons. This amp has the best tone of any amp I've ever owned, and I've owned a lot. I'm absolutely thrilled with it.

  • from Fort Worth Tx January 11, 2015Music Background:
    Novis bassplayer

    Hey great head

    You know I'm nothing special but I really am impressed with rumble 500
    head . I don't use a pick so most of sounds from hands.
    And its cost effective .
    You know its funny you always go back to were you started.
    I like the mids in bass and good clean low end,
    And tone as well ,Its really what's missing in bass tone.

  • from Kosciusko, MS October 17, 2014Music Background:
    Sound Engineer, Bass Player, Electronics Engineer

    Rumbling for sure

    After reading many reviews of this product and talking to Ben Eller, my sales engineer, I decided to pull the trigger on getting one. It came in today and I have been playing through it for the last two hours and I am really impressed. Playing in a gigging dance band you have to play almost every genre of music from country, to rock, to R&B, to Funk. This amp seem to fit it all very well with just a push of one of the three buttons, Bright, Contour, and Vintage. All of the other adjustments I need are on my Bass, a Sterling Ray 34. I was already playing through a Rumble 410 cabinet (for more than a year) and this amp made a perfect fit. I will be looking forward to playing tonight and tomorrow night at our venue with the new amp head.

  • from Santa Clarita, CA USA June 11, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Producer/Composer/Arranger/Music Director

    Fender Rumble 500v3 Head ROCKS!

    This Fender Rumble 500 Class D Bass amp is pretty fantastic.

    It's very light, and comes with its own gig bag.

    I had been looking for one system that I could play all kinds of venus with, and this is it.

    I bought with both the Rumble™ 2X8 Cabinet, and the Rumble™ 410 Cabinet.

    For small clubs or worship gigs, the 2X8 cab is plenty by itself, and is surprisingly loud and beefy. But you do need to pump up the bass in the four band EQ section to make up for the size of the speakers. The two 8's can easily handle the 500 watts of the head, and the sound is pretty spectacular.

    At only 24 pounds, it's really easy to carry in one hand, with your bass in the other hand, and the amp slung over your shoulder in the gig bag, with the included shoulder strap.

    The 4X10 cab is rated at 1000 watts, and is a very good sounding, but not too heavy piece of gear. At 65 pounds, and with recessed handles on both sides, I can get it in the back of my either my van or my SUV without hurting myself.

    The 410 alone with the 500 watt head sounds great, but with both the 4X10 AND the 2X8, you have a stack that can do pretty much anything.

    The head is pretty straightforward, and I really like the sound of both the "vintage" button, and the "overdrive" section.

    So far, I've been able to dial in any sound I've needed, with complete confidence that I have way more power than I'll ever need.

    Both the 2X8 and 4X10 cabs have a magnetic locking system that keeps the head "glued" to the four recessed "dimples" on the top of each box.

    I can't imagine ever needing to buy another bass rig.

    I think I'm all set!

  • from LONG ISLAND August 25, 2016Music Background:
    WEEKEND ROCKER

    NICE WORK FENDER !

    I am still amazed that such amazing tone and power can come from a 5 lb Class D amplifier like this. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is you can't use a Speakon cable to connect your bottom(s). But it is so versatile you can get any kind of tone and sound no matter what your playing style is. And the carry on gig bag with a pocket for your cables and wires is a nice added touch. I'm not a Fender guy but this head rivals my TC Electronics RH450, and is easier to use. I've teamed this up two of with my Hartke Hydrive 112's for a super powerful and lightweight mini-stack. The Master volume set at 10 o'clock with the gain raised high rattles my walls ! This baby kicks out some serious air. This head is the real deal ! Buy it now.

  • from Cameron Park, CA July 30, 2015Music Background:
    musician for 40 years

    R500

    I like this amp head, comes with a very nice gig bag where I store my speakon cable for the cabinet. The voiceing button actual does something. I have practiced and done only one gig so far but that one gig went really well. Sounds great, good price per performance ratio

  • from temple ga. July 22, 2014Music Background:
    i have had a band for 40 years

    super bass head

    this is a super bass head I have had this head on stage two times and it done great thanks fred james

  • from NC January 6, 2017

    Rumble 500 a Good Performer

    Have not put it through all the options and performance demands but find it impressive. It's small & light for to carry for practices on a small cabinet and has the guts and sound quality for performance on my larger cabinet.

  • from December 13, 2015

    rumble 500

    The Fender Rumble 500 seems to have plenty of power and punch. I like the way it cuts through the other instruments without having to be overdriven.

Questions about the Fender Rumble 500 500-Watt Bass Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway