0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Tech 21 Roto Choir Rotary Speaker Emulator Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Tech 21 Roto Choir Rotary Speaker Emulator Pedal?

Questions about the Tech 21 Roto Choir Rotary Speaker Emulator Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from June 2, 2017Music Background:
    Professional

    Very Cool

    This was just what I needed for certain songs like Heart Breaker by Led Zeppelin, the intro of Country Girl Shake, and many others.

  • TezBob
    from Carmel, IN April 5, 2014Music Background:
    Rank Amateur

    Great pedal for chorus-hating pedal buffs

    I wanted a Leslie sound but have never really been a fan of Chorus-type pedals.And who doesn't like the Badge sound? I saw some demos of this online and liked the sounds so picked one up. Anyhoo I love this pedal as it has a lot of sounds from old school Leslie to some cool original sounds you can get especially with other pedals. Best of all it doesn't sound "chorus-y" and it's a lot of fun. Plenty of things to play with but not really complicated and quick to get a nice tone.

  • Dean Ulmer
    from Cincinnati, Ohio December 29, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Nationall reviewed guitarist and song writer, with 35 years playing experiance

    Tech 21 Roto Choir

    I finally have a "Leslie" Pedal thats worth every stickin' penny
    I have tried and or owned nearly every "Leslie" simulator ever put out over the last 25+ years. Uni-vibes and roto-vibes were ok/best of the lot and the Uni-Vibe will stay on my pedal board because it has a nice niche' to fill but...

    The Tech 21 Roto-Choir is just off the grid. The over all quality of the sound is excellent, its easy to use, and like a real Leslie, it has a sound that is ever so slightly crack-ly and both trebly yet has that terrific midrange.

    What does this have that seemingly all the other simulators dont have/do? It has a mic placement dial, which IMO was freaking brilliant. It allows you to adjust the sound so that if you had a mic up close on the cabinet it would give that (sorry, this is the best discriptor I can make an analogy to) full whoosh whoosh whoosh of a spinning speaker, of move it back so that its a little more blended wide whoosh, or move the "mic" further back to get that wide WHOOOOOOOSH that is just stupidly rich and full... It also responds quite nicely to being cranked up or softly. I played it through a tiny Crate, a Fender Twin Reverb, and a vintage Vox AC30 and was pleased with it on all three at all volumn levels.

    FWIW Guitar Player Magazine gave it an editors choice some time last year for best in its catagory. Want that Leslie sound but dont want a monster heavy cab to tote around... the Tech 21 IS the answer! Also, for people asking about a stereo version. Leslie's are not stereo and not many guitar players have the roadie help or can afford two leslies. A single, MONO is all thats really needed, ever.

  • ROGER WINTERBERG
    from SHEBOYGAN, WI USA November 25, 2013Music Background:
    SELF TAUGHT MUSICIAN, BUT STUDIED KEYBOARDS

    TECH 21 ROTO CHOIR

    I DO LIKE THE ROTO EFFECT AND I JUST DON'T USE IT ON GUITAR BUT ALSO ON MY STEEL GUITAR , OTHER KEYBOARDS AND ACCORDION.

  • Mike
    from Liberty, MO December 29, 2012Music Background:
    40+ years in the music business

    Its like a leslie in a cigar box

    Sounds as good if not better than playing through an actual leslie cabinet.

  • Chip Geisthardt
    from Denver, CO USA September 12, 2011

    Tech 21 Roto Choir

    Excellent pedal, great authentic rotary speaker sounds....and the best service from Sweetwater!

  • Patrick F.
    from Minnesota April 16, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur

    An excellent device

    The Roto Choir is a very nice piece of equipment, with an impressive sound and an amazing versatility of control. I am impressed with the speaker simulator and the switch that allows it to be switched between a single rotor, Fender Vibratone setting, and the full Lesley 175 sound. My only criticism is that stereo output is a single out rather than two mono outputs; it requires the user to buy a splitter cable. Other than that, a stellar device.

  • Customer
    from August 28, 2011

    Tech 21 Roto Choir

    Excellent pedal... To date the best Leslie / Revolving Speaker guitar effect pedal I have ever found... Easy to get good sounds following recommended settings, then a few extra tweak's here and there and excellent sound found easy...

  • Brad Spence
    from Detroit, MI. August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    RotoChoir

    Sounds good live, noisy for studio but no noisier than my real Leslie. And sure is a lot lighter in weight.

  • Rob
    from Lafayette Hill, Pa April 27, 2015

    Good Effect, But........

    I feel that the rotary effects that this pedal emulates is pretty dead-on. I compared it to my Line Six combo which has a leslie effect patch that I really like and it's pretty much the same, which I was pleased with. However, I used the Roto Choir with my Marshall DSL head and had a very different opinion. If you try to run this pedal direct into a high gain amp like a Marshall or a Boogie, the effect is heard, but the overall sound is over- distorted and noisy. Many guitar players have said that running effects before distortion is not the way to go and it's very true in this case. I then tried it through the effects loop of the Marshall and the sound is better. But this time, even though the effect is more pleasing to the ear, the tone of the amp is compromised. The effect sounds very sterile and (at least in my case) the great tone you love about your amp gets lost. Part of the problem may be that the Tech 21 pedals are not true bypass. They are buffered bypass instead. If I had one suggestion to that company it would be to make all their products true bypass. My best advice would be to run this pedal after a distortion unit into a cleaner amp so you won't lose your tone, and it won't sound noisy and distorted. Again, as I said before, I believe the effect that you're looking for sounds authentic. It just didn't sound right in my particular setup.

Reviews

  • Sweetwater
    8-26-2011

    Tech 21 has long been known for their SansAmp family of guitar and bass processors. These were some of the first amp simulators on the market, and they still hold up well, producing excellent tones. The Character series upped the ante with a line of pedals that each simulated a particular type of amplifier. These pedals have been very popular in the worship market because they include a nice extra: speaker simulation. This lets the pedal become, in effect, your amplifier. Just feed it straight into the PA, and you're ready to go.

    Now Tech 21 has a new line of pedals, the Boost series. They sent me two members of the Boost family: the Boost Chorus and the Boost Chorus Bass. The new Roto Choir was also in the package. These pedals re-create the sound of vintage pedals, while adding some nice extras. The Boost Chorus, for example, can replicate a very wide range of chorus pedals from the '70s, from pedalboard-standard choruses to "Tri-mode" choruses. You're given a ton of control, including a mix control (this has become a must-have for me on my chorus pedals) and a pre-delay control that allows the pedal to reach into the flanger realm and almost get into the slap-delay range. A level control lets you match the output of the effect to the bypassed signal, or you can boost the level of the pedal way up if you so desire.

    You can set the Boost Chorus for everything from a subtle thickening to a lush, syrupy wash to a warbly tonality, with rich, colorful tones on tap at every setting. The Multi Voice switch makes things even richer and deeper. I have a number of choruses in my collection, and I have to say that the Boost Chorus can stand in for any of them - color me impressed! If you're after a Swiss Army knife of a chorus that sounds great at every setting, this is the one. The bass version adds detuning for even thicker, richer sounds, without losing bottom end.

    The Roto Choir simulates rotary speaker effects. It can do pretty much everything the original can do: it ramps from slow speed to fast speed, you can overdrive it, you can adjust the mic distance from the cabinet, you can EQ the treble and the bass, and you can even switch from a single rotating drum to a bi-amped Leslie. In use, this pedal sounds very convincing. The flexibility of the controls allows you to dial in just the sound you want, whether you're looking for clean or dirty sounds. The overdrive sounds and feels natural, and the speed ramp up/down feels right. All in all, it's an excellent pedal - I believe this one has earned a spot on my pedalboard!

Questions about the Tech 21 Roto Choir Rotary Speaker Emulator Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway