0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

KRK Rokit 5 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 26 customer reviews
  • Mike Kosman
    from Streamwood, Illinois August 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very Satisfied

    These studio monitors are incredible. My studio is in a small room and they are perfect for my space. The sound is very powerful but not overpowering. Very punchy, clear, and crisp. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.

  • Roland Hills
    from San Diego, California August 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Bass, Keyboard and Guitar player

    KRK 5s

    After researching I found out that a large number of home studios used the KRK brand monitors and their users were satisfied with the sound. After using my set of KRKs I would have to agree with everyone else. I enjoy the sounds produced by the KRKs and my mixes have shown a great deal of improvement since I started using them.

  • kawame davis
    from Sunrise, FL August 11, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician, Student

    GREAT 7 BEYOND

    have to say that when i brought a pair of these krk rokit. the sound completely captured me. going to buy the subwoofer to complete the collection.

  • Chad D
    from Elgin, IL August 3, 2013Music Background:
    Seasoned Musician

    Excellent Studio Monitor For Small Room Setup

    I'm out looking a good pair of monitors to complement my PreSonus AudioBox 44VSL recording interface. I already have a good pair of headset for my mixing (Shure SRH840) and I needed something to hear my "final" mix on a reference speaker. Sweetwater's Joe Secu helped me on my options and decided to buy this KRK Rokit5 Gen2. The front-firing bass port does help eliminate that artificial bass bouncing on the walls and thus gave me a near realistic final mix. If you are looking for a flat sound monitor for raw mixing, this is not it (checkout Yamaha instead). But for "final" mix or mastering or DJ mixing, THIS IS THE ONE without breaking your bank. It gives you healthy bass response without exaggeration. Don't be fooled by its size, this is one powerful studio monitor for your recording desk. I have tried setting the monitor volume gain to max (+6db) and the audio interface master volume to max and AMAZINGLY NO DISTORTION OF SOUND PRODUCTION. For the price, you can't go wrong with this monitor.

  • Drew
    from July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Video editor, Live sound engineer, Hobbyist

    Good

    They sound great and give a clear definition. For the price I could not resist them after my BX5a's went bad. I record and mix demos, and edit video and the Rokit 5 series are great for my projects.

  • Thomas Block
    from Florida June 20, 2013Music Background:
    audio books studio

    good fit

    they work quite well, and fit nicely on the small shelf I've got them assigned to.

  • dbrandt
    from Washington, D.C. May 12, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Overrated - Poor Quality

    I hate to give anything a one star review but the descriptors of the Sweetwater star rating scale have left me no choice. If giving these speakers a 2 star rating means that they are average than that would be misleading.

    These speakers are below average in quality. Of the three that have come through my hands TWO have been faulty. One I returned because it stopped working after two uses. The one that replaced it has become faulty after 30 days of use. The gain switch is highly in the back is dirty and highly sensitive and drops +10 dB frequently.

    Huge amounts of false bass / boosted low frequencies due to the rather large front port (I expected a little). Mixes don't translate well. I didn't expect so much low end coloration with such a small speaker. Mostly disappointed in the quality.

  • Steven Pastore
    from Clermont, FL April 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Outstanding Studio Monitor

    I can't express in words how wonderful these powered studio monitors sound...You will just have to purchase a set/pair and judge for yourself... .In my case, consultation with my sales engineer {JK} was a must...He understood my space considerations, equipment to be used/needs and other factors which let to his recommendation and the purchase of these fine studio monitors...Thanks, JK !

  • Alek
    from Brooklyn December 21, 2012Music Background:
    composer/sound artist

    good bass response for size/price

    i have a pretty small space so big monitors weren't an option, and a small budget, so the very high end was out as well. I listened to these, the tannoy reveal 5a, and a few others. Most reproduced mid to high frequencies very reliably, but the krks were far superior when it came to bass response. very happy with my purchase - they suit my needs very well

  • Chuck
    from Austin, TX USA September 18, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Home Recording Engineer

    Excellent Deal!

    Great speakers for the money! While not the most accurate, if you're on a budget and are looking for a value these really do the trick. I have a set of british monitors for accuracy and a large set for high output. These fit nicely for that "car stereo" sound only more exacting. Definitely hard to pass up for the price and will work nicely when I set up my secondary station slightly less exacting work. If your looking for your first set of monitors this would be a great set to have. Get them before they're gone.

  • Customer
    from September 4, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Pleased!

    The KRK Rokit 5 has proven to be reliable in my studio . I'm pleased with their performance.

  • Art Varga
    from Belle Mead NJ August 28, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Very Nice!

    Had these for about 6 months now and my appreciation has grown the more I listen. Clean and accurate would be the best words to describe. Don't even miss the bass because of how sweet these guys sound. Great value for your money in my opinion,

  • Logan
    from Mansfield,OH USA August 15, 2012Music Background:
    Recording engineer, Hobbyist

    Little. but Amazing!

    Words cant describe how impressed i am with these monitors, incredible highs awesome mids and, good bass response. my first impressions of these were they wont sound good way to small, i plugged them in hooked them up to my saffire and was amazed KRK did amazing work with these i would pick these over any speaker out there.

  • John
    from Georgia July 21, 2012Music Background:
    Video Editor / Engineer

    Rokit Self Powered Speakers

    These Rokit self powered speakers are very good with accurate smooth sound and work well in our surround mixing studio!

    Fast service from Sweetwater!

  • Customer
    from Morenci, MI July 21, 2012Music Background:
    Student of Recording Engineering, Musician

    Just what I was hoping for!

    I bought this monitor at GearFest with the great deals Sweetwater was offering, without even listening to it, just on the great reviews I've heard for it. It was an amazing purchase for my first studio monitors! I can hear details I never knew existed in my favorite music. Over all a great product!

  • Jordan
    from July 21, 2012Music Background:
    Producer / DJ

    Don't be turned off because it's KRKs smallest.

    These 5" monitors are incredible. I produce electronic music and DJ as well, and they are perfect for my room size and sound incredible. Full bass and crisp high-end frequencies are great.

    Don't be put off by the fact that you can choose from 6" and 8" sizes when these sound incredible!

  • Customer
    from Ohio, USA July 20, 2012Music Background:
    Student, Musician, Audio Engineer

    Rokits

    Outstanding for the price. The studio I've been doing a lot of my work in has Mackie's and I originally thought that these guys would not give me the low end I would need to hear for work, but they reproduce it quite accurately to a point where the Mackie's actually feel like they give off too much bass now! The Rokit's are a great value for a great price

  • Larry loobie
    from Trinidad & Tobago July 15, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/ Producer with 12 years experience.

    Great Buy!!!!!

    This little bad boy is worth the penny it cost....but my only problem seems to be that the highs don't translate as clearly as i hoped it would but overall a great investment if you're on a tight budget.

  • Micheal
    from Los Angeles, Ca June 28, 2012Music Background:
    Producer and Writter

    To much hype

    These are great if your a Dj, not do much for engineers, producers and or etc... Got these a year ago and they are not very accurate. Used them on vocal and instruments. Later listened to my mix on other monitors and the mix sounded totally different. Spend the extra cash on better monitors. Believe me you'll be happier.

  • Steven Flotow
    from Bend, OR April 29, 2012Music Background:
    Singer-songwriter, engineer, producer

    Ride the Rokit to a great sound.

    I bought these monitors for mixing and playback of original tracks in my small home studio. So far they have performed admirably. For this price range they present an impressively detailed sound allowing me mix without headphones. Also, the bass port in front eliminates unwanted interaction with the walls in my studio. The HF level adjust gives me the ability to dial in an accurate reference sound source. For their size these guys rock. My only concern so far is that when I move one of these moniters a few times the power cable gets loose in back. All in all, I am very happy with these little gems.

  • RED KANE LIL SHOT
    from AUGUSTA GA February 29, 2012Music Background:
    RAP ARTIST,WRITER,PRODUCER, LABEL CEO

    SATISFIED CUSTMER!

    I'VE HEARD ABOUT THESE MONITORS FOR A LONG TIME FROM FRIENDS OF MINE WHO ARE ALSO PRODUCERS. THEY HAVE THE LARGER KRK MONITORS SO THEY SOUND WAS AMAZEN SO WHEN I SEEN THESE ROKIT 5 I WAS CAUTIONS ABOUT HOW THEY WOULD SOUND COMPARED TO THE LARGER KRK MONITORS. SO I ASK SWEET WATER TECH SUPPORT FOR THEIR IN PUT AN THEY TOLD ME I COULDNT GO WRONG! SO I PURCHASE THESE MONITORS AN ****!!!!! I CANT BELEIVE THESE MONITORS SOUND THIS GOOD! HONESTLY TO ANY ONE WHOS THINKING ABOUT PURCHASING THESE MONITORS I WILL NOT LIE TO U GUYS THESE MONITORS SOUND GREAT GET THEM AN JOIN THE KRK FAMILY OF GREAT SOUND!

  • Charlton
    from Dallas, TX February 16, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Mixes Don't Translate

    On their own, this monitors sound great, they reproduce the full spectrum of audible sounds quite nicely. I came really close to writing a 4 or 5 star review, but then I heard my mix through other systems and it was not what came out of these monitors when I mixed originally.

    Here is the thing, if you plan to just listen to music or need a monitor as a DJ or something, these are fantastic, but if you need to create mixes that are going to be played over a wide range of systems, pick something else, you get what you pay for.

  • Brandon
    from February 6, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Independent Artist, Singer/Songwriter

    BEST ENTRY LEVEL MONITOR!!

    I am a huge fan of KRK, having the opportunity to work with Expose, and VXT lines of monitors in pro studios, I am amazed at how many of the features as well as quality in the monitors is put into these monitors. Such as HF options, not what you find on similar priced monitors. For a beginner studio you cant get any better than this, simply put...

  • Bob
    from New York September 17, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist film maker

    Rokit 5 Exceptional Sound

    These are, very simply, exceptional monitors for the money. The sound is terrific, they set up easily and Sweetwater was a pleasure to deal with.

  • Lee Griffith
    from Santa Cruz, CA September 9, 2011Music Background:
    I have an electrical engineering degree and have been playing and recording music for 40 years. I worked my way through college playing 3 nights a week and continue to play in college jazz bands and orchestras as well as local rock bands.

    KRK Rokit 5

    These active monitor speakers are very nice, especially for the price. I am quite happy with the mixes that I can do with them and would highly recommend them.

  • Scott
    from Phoenix, AZ May 11, 2011Music Background:
    Full Time Musician (8+ Years)

    Incredible Monitor for the Price

    These were the first studio monitors I ever purchased, and I was and still am blown away by how great they are. For just $150 each, these are worth every penny and many more. They have an incredible bass response, and crystal clear highs. I run through out of my Apogee Duet, and it's clear as can be. I absolutely love these monitors, and recommend them to ANYONE looking for a pair of monitors under $300 that doesn't want to sacrifice sound quality. These are amazing!

Questions about the KRK Rokit 5?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway