0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Mesa/Boogie Dual Rectifier Roadster 100-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Amp - Black with Black Grille Reviews

5.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • from Redmond, WA March 9, 2017

    SOOOOOOOO NICE

    This thing is so great! I was really hesitant to pull the trigger because of the price but I'm so glad I did. The versatility is amazing. The quality is amazing top to bottom and the sound is unbelievable. After messing with settings for countless hours I've dialed in my favorites and can honestly say it is the best amp I've ever played. Comes with ultra durable casters that make it a breeze to move around even though it weighs a ton. Couldn't be happier.

  • from July 8, 2016

    Best Amp I've Ever Owned

    This amp is amazing. You can literally make it sound like any other amp - Fender, Vox, Marshall, classic or modern Mesa/Boogie, it's all there. And unlike amp simulators, it's all from a real tube amp.

    The range of tones is unbelievable. Once you understand the settings, which are not too complicated, you can get any sound you're looking for.

    I would strongly recommend anyone considering an expensive amp modeler to try one of these instead. The only drawback is that it's heavy and harder to transport. But the tone and versatility are unmatched.

  • from Ohio April 9, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    The Last Amp You'll Need

    I've played too many amps over the course of my career. Some, I'd like to forget, and there are others that served their purpose, but still fell short in some manner. The primary reason for my purchase was to plug into an amp that was ready-to-roll. It seems that I spend more time diagnosing and fixing amp issues, rather than actually playing through them.

    I researched this amp for a while before I pulled the trigger on it. It's expensive, but the saying is true: "you get what you pay for." This is a 4 channel amp, with 3 different voicings on each channel. Right out of the box, there are an overwhelming number of tone choices at your disposal. Each channel can independently be switched from either 50-to-100 watts (depending on how much headroom you want for your style).

    In terms of build, this amp is solid (and heavy). It weighs in at approximately 100lbs, but not only does it have a LEATHER (not rubber) handle on the top of the chassis, it also has two hand-holds on the side of the cab, as well. It comes with removable casters that slide into grooves on the bottom of the cabinet. It's the attention to detail that really struck me about this Mesa. This is my first and undoubtedly will be the last amp I'll need. I'm, unfortunately, accustomed to buying pricey midrange amps only to have rubber handles that break during cartage to rehearsals. Again, this is rock-solid.

    I've only begun to dig into the tones on the Roadster, but in running through some of the settings fairly quickly, I have to admit I was almost dumbfounded when I discovered this amp really delivers an incredible tweed tone. In my research on this amp, I knew it was good for blues, rock, metal, etc, but plug a Tele into this with a little compression and you can get some serious country tones out of this, too.

    Tone is subjective, but you'll find the one you want (and love) in this Mesa.

  • from NYC April 9, 2015Music Background:
    old school rock

    Massa amp

    This amp is on a league of its own I got it about 4months ago I have about 15 amps but this amp when you turn it on it just goes right thru you it's clean with the tc g system there is nothing better out there I would tell everyone buy it you will never be disappointed I no it cost a lot but well worth it I give it a 10,star....stevenmeinster

  • from NC October 23, 2013

    Wow!

    I've had this amp for 6 years now. I loved it the first day I got it and I've never looked back. I have many styles of guitars and I can get what I want out of any of them. I told my wife if I ever sell this amp to have my head examined because I'm clearly not thinking straight. I think this will be a keeper until the very end. I highly suggest this one.

  • from Kingman Az. February 15, 2012Music Background:
    80's rock guitar genre for 12 years.

    Dual Rec Roadster

    All Around goodness. Mesa Boogie coupled with Sweetwater is like the ultimate combo. Recieved this amp and I just have to say, WOW. This tone-machine does it all. Leppard, Bon Jovi, Ac/Dc and all things 80's, are easily tuned in with little effort. This baby has power. I was skeptical at first given all I could find were reviews/samples on Youtube that had horrible sounds via laptop/camera mics and repetitive grinding noises. When real melody is feed into this thing it sings. A little pricey, but worth every penny. Sweetwater's customer service was also surprising. I had the impression that my sales associate, Bob Furlong, would practically bend over backwards for me. This is the most professional company in retail. Sweetwater 4 LIFE!

  • from Hampton Roads, Va November 10, 2010Music Background:
    pro musician, hobbyist recording

    My only problem........

    is that I didn't buy a Mesa amp sooner. Pristine clean to super thick lead tone and everything in between. Top notch quality made right here at home. If you can play guitar you wont have any trouble dialing in great sounds. One of my very best purchases ever. You wont regret owning a Roadster!

  • from Florida August 1, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Semi Pro if I practiced more:)

    Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier 2 x 12 Roadster Combo

    I got this bad boy from Sweetwater and I can tell you it is WELL worth the money.I used to have a Triple Rectifier half stack and I just couldnt dial in a tone for some reason.Every time I do a gig I get tons of compliments on my tone,even from non guitar players!!! I only use it on the 50 watt setting and thats more than enough for most gigs.The only negative about this amp is the weight at 103 lbs!! But it comes with casters,and has handles on both sides of the amp.Do yourself a favor and get this amp,you wont regret it!!

  • from Indianapolis February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound, Recording, Guitar Player (Metal, Hard Rock, Classic Rock)

    Everything you will ever want.

    I bought this at a closeout sale in a local store, as they don't sell Mesa anymore, so I got this for really cheap (compared to this price), but honestly, I would gladly pay the full price if it wasn't available there. This thing is truly amazing, and has every sound I've ever wanted in an amp. A few weeks ago, I bought the Marshall JVM 50th anniversary model, but it didn't fit the tight sound of my SG 61 reissue, so I took it back and found this. This has every option you will ever want in it. The reason that it comes 4.5/5 for me is that it is the heaviest combo I have ever seen, but since Mesa offers casters, that's not much of a problem, unless you have a house with an upstairs of basement. However, its not as heavy as my dad's old Kustom 250 bass amp. If you plan on moving this at least semi-frequently, I would suggest going to the gym and benching for a few weeks before buying. Other than that, it is an almost perfect amp.

  • from Smiths, AL August 27, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    It's LOUD!

    The quality of this amp is apparent from the start. I admit not having a lot of experience with Mesa amps, so it was a bit of a challenge for me to dial it in to get the tone I want. This amp is extremely heavy, 100lbs, but it comes with castors (wheels) to help move it around. This amp has a lot of buttons and switches that need to be dialed in to get the sounds you need, but this is by far the best quality amp I have ever owned, and it's extremely loud, mind boggling loud. If you have the money to purchase an amp of this quality, by all means, buy the best, Mesa Boogie. It's not just hype, you get what you pay for.

  • from Chattanooga, TN . USA May 15, 2010Music Background:
    Masters Berklee, Pro Studio & Live Musician

    MESA ROADSTER ROCKS

    One of the finest combo amps available today. Everything from sweet clean to smokin' saturation. Great construction, plenty of tonal options from an easy-to-use format, dial in your favorite clean tones, or choose big Boogie sounds. Choose between 50 or 100 watt power options. Dial in the amp response that suits you. A bit heavy, but I would still have her if she were twice the weight... I think. Highly recommended.

  • from new Orleans March 1, 2013Music Background:
    Extremest

    mesa boogie roadster combo

    Really nice! Performs its best at higher volumes. ...unfortunately, I'm not playing with a group at the moment. ...just jamming in my house. ...so I'm unable to utilize its full potential. Overall.....it thrives better at higher volumes! A little disappointing at lower volumes. ....BUT....I'll be ready to kick butt once I'm onstage! !

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie Dual Rectifier Roadster 100-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Amp - Black with Black Grille?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway