0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Tannoy Reveal 601a Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • from Illinois October 21, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Engineer, Recording Engineer

    Tannoy Reveal 601a

    I was going to buy a different brand of speakers but kept hearing the good reviews of Tannoy. Then I had a chance to do a comparison at a local music store. I compared them to KRK Rokits (G2) Yamaha (comparable model line) M Audio plus many more. I settled on the Tannoy brand due to the more even low end compared to others in that competitor line. KRKs we a little bottom heavy. Don't get me wrong, they are all good brands but I just settled on the Tannoys.
    This statement is to Tannoy, please think about making a subwoofer to go with these!!!!!!!!!
    '

  • from Defiance, Ohio February 16, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter / Musician

    Tannoy 601a's

    The Tannoy 601a's are excellent entry level home studio monitors. They are quite accurate and just plain sound good as near field monitors.

  • from Nashville TN May 4, 2012Music Background:
    Studio engineer

    Totally awesome

    Just really great speakers! I've been a Tannoy fan for a very long time since the very first studio mix I did with them. These are a lot smaller but they're still Tannoys. I use these in my home studio.

  • from Michigan February 22, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Awesome

    These monitors are awesome. They have super clear highs and defined lows, basically a great response all around. They are the some of the best monitors you can get at this price point. I would highly recommend them to anyone creating a small home studio.

  • from Seattle, WA February 1, 2012Music Background:
    professional audio engineer

    unimpressed

    I can't find anything I like about these monitors except the price & their appearance. The bass is tubby, the highs sound filtered, the imaging leaves much to be desired. I would never mix or reference master on these. I expected more from Tannoy : (

  • from Fort Wayne February 8, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist, Songwriter, Amateur Engineer.

    Fantastic!

    I have searched the better part of a year looking for a solid quality pair of monitors I could live with under the $500 price range. I began my search just reading customer and professional product reviews online for probably about ever monitor that exists under $500 a pair. The three monitors I had narrowed it down to were The Yamaha HS50m, JBL LSR 2325, and the Tannoy Reveal (I hadn't decided on the 501a or 601a at the time).

    The selling factors for the Tannoys were WHO wrote the reviews and what they said about it, as well as being front ported, whereas the Hs50m, and the JBL LSR are not. Though I am not near as experienced, nor do I do this professionally, I highly value words of professionals when it comes to gear and techniques. The reviews for this speaker (though few), held it in such high praise that I decided to get it without properly comparing between the other two speakers.

    The risk paid off though. I am still "breaking them in", but these will exaggerate errors in your mix. I got these on a huge part about what professionals have said about them. TAKE THEIR WORD FOR IT! THESE SPEAKERS ARE AN EXCELLENT BUY!! If I were a professional, I would give you a more accurate and articulate critique, but in fear of doing an injustice to these speakers, I will leave it to the other professional reviews I read, the amazing knowledgeable staff at Sweetwater, and the Tannoys themselves.

    Oh! and did I mention they're loud?!?! haha

    God Bless and Take Care

  • from Ruidoso, NM October 24, 2010

    Amazing!

    The Tannoy Reveal 601a's are simply amazing, period. When accuracy is important to you, these puppies right here won't let you down! Thanks Charlie for recommending these bad boys for my new studio setup!

  • from Salt Lake City, UT USA August 11, 2010Music Background:
    Producer, Pro Keyboardist

    Tannoy quality at an affordable price.

    There are a number of monitors at this price range that I've listened to that sound great, and the Reveal 601a's are no exception. They do a great job of bringing out details within the mix, which is exactly what I want from a mid-size near-field monitor. And although they sound great and they are quite affordable, (as much as I hate to admit it) the tone-snob-designer-brand reputation that Tannoy has was also a determining factor in this purchase. As a businessman, it makes sense to put reputable, "rider-friendly" equipment into my studio. If I have the rare opportunity to purchase that equipment, have it produce quality results and have it be affordable, then that piece of equipment is a winner. The Tannoy Reveal 601a is that winner!

Questions about the Tannoy Reveal 601a?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway