rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Waves Renaissance Maxx Plug-in Bundle - Native Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Austin Moss

    Out of all the plug-ins I have (and I have a lot) these are the ones that get used on EVERY song. These are the ones my friends who make their living mixing records use on EVERY song. Why? 1) They are great, 2) They are cheap, 3) Everyone uses them so when sessions get sent around the mixes still sound the same. Try them for free for two weeks when you've got mix projects and I think you'll agree.

  • Jeffrey Green

    Do you have a ProToolsLE system and need to get your first batch of really good plug-ins? This is the go-to bundle for 7 very usable plugs that will add character to your sound while solving sonic situations. The Renaissance Channel is a must for cleaning up a drum mix and RenVOX is one of the best simple solutions available for compressing a feature instrument or vocal.

  • from Utah February 6, 2015Music Background:
    Recording (Mixing) Engineer, Singer-Songwriter, Student

    My Favorite Waves Bundle!!!!

    The real question is: if you buy these will you regret it? That all depends on your style of music and what you already have. This review is going to be more for those who already own a bit of plugins and are looking to find some others that will further completer their plugin collection without being to redundant in sound or style.
    Let's start with the EQ! The EQ is really great but doesn't have anything fancy. I like it mainly because it is Really easy to control and reacts to the frequencies very smoothly! when compared to an analog EQ I would say it comes much closer than others to that so called analog sound. Overall I really enjoy using it and really like the way it sounds.
    Next are the Reverb/s: This is one of my favorite parts of this bundle. I love the convolution reverb. Most reverbs are not convolution reverbs so if you don't have one of those in your plugin collection then I would recommend this one. Although it is heavier on the cpu it sounds really nice for strings and even acoustic piano and guitar. The parameters are very easy to understand and sticking with the room sounds and their already assigned presets sound just fine most the time. The Rverb is a little more trickier. You can adjust things to your hearts content and make it sound perfect if you wanted. There is an eq section to the left of it to really narrow in on the way you want it to sound too. The overall reverb has a really creamy-smooth sound and can be very heavy and rich without making any adjustments. I find that a little goes a long ways.
    A big bonus for this bundle is the Waves tune lite that it comes with. If you are constantly finding yourself recording out of tune vocalists than this could be the thing that saves your tracks from sounding unprofessional. Although this is the lite version it still has tons of options and versatility. If you want it to automatically tune by itself you can do so, or you can fine tune things yourself.
    The last items that are included in this bundle are the dynamic processors. My favortie one is the Rcompressor. The Rcompressor sounds sooooo good and handles everything so well. If I were to be left stranded on an island with only one dynamic plugin processor that would be the one. I love it. It really thickens things up a lot. It makes vocals sound up close and keeps them wide like they should be without squashing them too much. Of course with a little bit of abuse you can certainly make it drive and pump to crush those transients too.
    The Rvox is another great compressor but I don't find myself using it as often. I would say that it is a little more aggressive than the Rcomp. You don't have to tweak much of it either to get it to pump or sound big. For weak and thin vocals the Rvox is usually the one to run to.
    As far as the other dynamic compressors go they are in the same category in my opinion. When you really need them they are there but I don't find myself using them in every session. I am talking about the Axx and the Channel strip comp.
    The last peice is the Deesser. Man I love this thing. I use it almost all the time. Sometimes it doesn't quite get the "s" out so having a few dessers on hand can be super handy. This one is the one that nearly works for me every time. Glad I got.
    That sums up everything. All in all if you don't have plugins that are similar to these then I would seriously recommend considering it. Good luck!

  • from FL, USA July 28, 2014Music Background:
    Student, Producer, Engineer.

    So helpful

    Before i purchased the Waves Renaissance Maxx Bundle, i had but a few freeware plugins and the stock Avid Plugins. I'm a college student majoring in mMusic Production, and Recording Technology so i didn't need many plugins because they have a massive amount of gear at my school. Thanks to my sales rep however I got a sweet deal on this item and after purchasing I realized just how useful this bundle is. So many essential tools are included in this bundle such as the Rverb and Rvox plugins. All of the Eq's and Compressors are intuitive and sound great. And the legendary Rbass could be exactly what you need to get the sound you've been looking for on a synth bass, live bass, or bass drum. Even using it on the whole mix can yield great results. Rbass Also very useful for making the bass more noticeable on small speakers. If you're on the fence about this bundle just do it, for this relatively small price you get so much functionality and use even if you work primarily out of the box.

  • from West Jordan, UT June 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Deal

    Great little bundle of plugins. Renaissance Bass, Renaissance Axx & Renaissance Voxx along with the EQ are plugins I use all the time. Can't be beat for the price.

  • from Nashville July 5, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Songwriter

    Required materials.

    It's simple. If you are buying ProTools or another DAW for the first time, you should be required to buy this, as well. It will take your mixes to a level that the included plugins simply cannot approach. I have mixed tracks at studios that have every plugin imaginable and a few RenMaxx plugs will still find their way into the mix. The three comps, Rvox, RenAxx, and the Rcomp give you three easy to use flavors to beef up tracks. The "warm clipping" feature is a nice touch as it allows you to drive the compressor as you would be able to drive real analog gear. The EQ's are solid, as well. The De-esser is a must for most condenser mics, especially the lower end Condensers that tend to have a certain harshness in the highs. Rverb is a really, really solid reverb plugin. Finally, Waves Tune LT is a very useful lite version of Tune that is just a great bonus. Since I got the RenMaxx bundle I have purchased many more plugins. However, I still use RenMaxx plugs all the time. It's a great price. They are really easy to use. And EVERYONE else in the world has them so it's easy to move your mix from studio to studio.

  • from Atlanta, Georgia January 9, 2011Music Background:
    Part Time Performing Musician, Home Recordist

    The Desert Island Bundle

    If this bundle alone blew my effects budget, it would be no problem at all. Two wonderful reverbs with very different results, a powerful yet transparent eq, a bigger-than-life compressor that still sounds natural, and yet even all that does not begin to exhaust the power that this package puts in your hands. If you're starting out, get this and invest the money you save in room treatment, a versatile mic and a good preamp because this bundle is a top-quality category killer when it comes to basic, everyday essential mixing tools.

  • from Nashville, TN September 12, 2006Music Background:
    Recording/Mix Engineer

    Waves Rocks

    Anyone I've ever talked to, myself included, loves waves plugins. I've never seen a plugin tha they've made that I haven't gotten some se out of (even enigma). If you want to get into Waves Plugins without breaking a small project/home studio budget, Renaissance MAXX is your answer. Just having the Renaissance compressor is worth the price. It is probably my all time favorite software compressor. Sounds a lot like certain vintage comps whos remakes are going for thousands of dollars.

  • from June 28, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, amateur recording engineer/producer

    An excellent upgrade for ProTools!

    I purchased this bundle to upgrade my stock ProTools plugins and am very happy that I did. These plugins (so far I've used the EQs, compressors and reverbs) are much more effective, natural and less digital sounding than what I had been using. My recordings have improved drastically. I did not rate this a 5 because I am still new to these plugins and am learning how to use them most effectively.

  • from St. Lucia March 1, 2013Music Background:
    Recording & Mix Engineer, Pro Musician

    RenMaxx

    Serious tools for your serious in-the-box engineering tasks, from EQ to dynamics, from frequency enhancement to reverb, very affordable and very professional.

  • from Cleveland, MS February 28, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Instructor Delta Music Institute

    Great deal on great plugins

    I like the sound and control that renaissance EQ gives me for my work. The compressor is very useful too. Convolution Reverb Is just an added bonus that allows me to create my own spaces.

  • from February 22, 2013Music Background:
    musician and engineer

    Excellent plug-ins at a great price

    Mixing an acoustic project right now and these plug-ins are going on every track. The compressor is surprisingly nice, and I've even used it as a buss master comp a few times. The EQ is simple to use and sounds great, and the Vox and DeEsser plug-ins make vocal tracks sit perfectly in the mix. Both reverbs sound way better than their price tag, and the Renaissance Channel is my go-to plug-in for kick, snare, and toms.

    I wish there was a gate in this bundle, but that's a minor complaint as there is already so much value in here.

    If you're still using stock plug-ins you owe it to yourself and your mixes to pick this up! The compressors and EQ alone are worth the price.

  • from Pensacola, Florida September 10, 2009Music Background:
    Recording artist, song writer, performer, recording/mixing engineer, mastering experience.

    Quality

    Hard to give anything a 5 star, but these are excellent plug-ins. Ordered them from Sweetwater as the only add-on to my LE 8.0 set-up and have been very pleased. If these plug-ins fit into your budget, you will be pleased with the decision to buy them. I have several other mastering tools now, but always go back to Waves. They make GOOD stuff!!

  • from Nashville, TN USA September 13, 2008Music Background:
    Live Sound, Recording Engineer, Music Business Student

    Great Plugs At A Great Price

    This is a great set of plugins. I love them for this price. They give you a good variety and cover most everything, from a Channel Strip to a Tuner. I am very pleased with these. They are easy on a processor too. I wish it had a limiter. But good nonetheless.

  • from bloomington , indiana February 8, 2013Music Background:
    recording engineer

    Waves Renaissance Maxx

    waves plugins are the best!... this one does not get a five star because: although these are great plugins... they do not have enough control. They seem to be a stripped down version. They still work great but I would like a little more control over some variables. But for the money... BUY IT!

  • from United States August 5, 2013

    Good

    They are good but I already had the wave arts plugin. I thought these would be better for some reason and I can't notice much of a difference. I dislike the interface on these. The graphics and text are very small. I like the wave arts interface better. The plugins I use the most are the RVox or whatever it's called. It was good deal for $100 but I was expecting them to be an upgrade from the wave arts but I really can't tell a difference. I'm interested in the Alloy 2 but I don't know if they will sound any better either.

Questions about the Waves Renaissance Maxx Plug-in Bundle - Native?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway