0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound - 2 days left

Line 6 Relay G30 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 111 customer reviews
Questions about the Line 6 Relay G30?

Questions about the Line 6 Relay G30?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jason Kovach

    I used the Line 6 Relay G30 it in my last band for countless practices and live performances. Two other band members had the same wireless setup and because of the channel selection options, we had no signal drops, interference, or loss of tone!

  • Stringman Guitars
    from Pittsburgh February 7, 2017Music Background:
    Bassist and guitarist

    Line 6 G30

    Was looking for a wireless for use at church on my bass and guitar. No noise. Clear sound all over the sanctuary. Very happy so far.

  • Customer
    from January 2, 2017

    Line 6 Relay G30

    Great little piece of gear! Freedom of movement plus it cured a hum problem I had with my setup. Great sound and now no hum, what more could I ask for?

  • George
    from Elk Grove, CA December 19, 2016

    Good stuff.

    Best wireless that you can buy without breaking your bank.

  • RON
    from Missoula MT December 18, 2016Music Background:
    Retired music educator

    FREEDOM AT LAST

    THIS WIRELESS SYSTEM REALLY WORKS. I PLAY BASS IN A BIG BAND. I SIT ON A STOOL DURING REHEARSALS AND WHENEVER I WOULD STAND UP I WOULD STEP ON MY CORD. NOW ITS EASY TO MOVE AROUND. IN FACT AT THE LAST REHEARSAL I PUT MY AMP AT THE BACK OF THE BANDSTAND, AS USUAL, BUT I SAT OUT FRONT NEAR THE CONDUCTOR. I COULD REALLY HEAR MY BASS IN RELATION TO THE REST OF THE BAND. IT WAS WONDERFUL TO BE ABLE TO SET MY VOLUME AND EQ WITHOUT GUESSING! BUY THIS. YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!

  • Odilon
    from Brazil August 3, 2016

    Line 6 Relay G30 - Guitar Wireless System

    Allīs perfct. No loss signal.

  • Customer
    from May 3, 2016

    Line 6

    Love it! It's a must have

  • Jim McCoy
    from Lake Jackson, Texas March 23, 2016Music Background:
    Been playing bass for 45 years. Originally a rocker, I now play praise and worship music at my church.

    YES!

    Three things I love about the G30 system. #1: The price. Amazingly below other units. #2: Size. I love the compact nature of this unit. #3: The tone. Beautiful tone. I play a 2015 Walnut Rickenbacker 4003 through a Hartke head and a 2-10 GK speaker cab. The Rickenbacker sound comes through with amazing clarity. I couldn't be happier!

  • Customer
    from March 10, 2016

    Wireless

    Great product right out of the box, 5 min and ready to go

  • Customer
    from February 26, 2016

    good product

    product worked as advertised . Very satisfied

  • Bryan Mace
    from Kansas City December 9, 2015Music Background:
    37 years as a pro multi-instrumentalist.

    Simplest, best sounding wireless out there!

    Dead quiet, transparent and easy to set up. I use rechargeable Eneloops in it and average something like 7 or 8 hours off of a charge. Our band rehearses 4 or 5 hours at a time and we play 4 sets a night with no problems. Another band member uses the G70 and we have no signal conflicts even though we're standing (broadcasting) 4 feet away from each other. If you need outstanding sound without a lot of frills then this is your product.

  • Jon C
    from Hampton, VA November 26, 2015Music Background:
    Long time bass player

    Passed with flying colors

    The G30 works great at home, at band practice and on the stage. I used it last night for the first time with my bass rig on stage as the final test and it was great. This unit keeps you from stepping on your cord if you move around a lot and lets you step out in front of the PA speakers so you can hear what you really sound like. It is worth the money just for that. Did put new batteries in it just before going on although they last for hours at home. When the batteries go the music stops dead, no fade out. Walked around the club (about 50' from stage) playing and never a drop out or any interference. Lead player had a G30 also, but his was taped because, as several have pointed out, the battery door is easy to break. One interesting thing though, I laid my Samsung S6 phone next to the receiving unit on channel 3 at home practice and bass notes started to drop out intermittently. I wish I had purchased this years before.

  • Davyo
    from Las Vegas Nv November 22, 2015Music Background:
    Lifelong Pro player

    G-30 GREAT for bass !!!!!!

    So I just did my first gig last night (Nov 21st,15) and the Line 6 G-30 was awesome with my bass, even with low B string,,, totally in love with my new G30.
    Since I don't trust ANY wireless that clips onto a guitar strap I just put the transmitter in my front pocket as its so small and lightweight.

    I highly recommend the Line 6 G-30 wireless system !!!!!!

    Now for the one bad thing, all the concerns over the battery door on the transmitter are true, the battery door does feel flimsy and I plan on putting a thick rubber band around the transmitter just to be safe.

    What do find very curious is the G-30 has been around for for a while and with all the concerns over the G-30 battery door that posted everywhere I find it odd that Line 6 does not address the flimsy of the battery door.

    I mean come on Line 6, do you not read the reviews on your products or care about such a minor cheap fix you could do ???????,,,, Hello Line 6 !!!!!!!

    There are way more than just a few negative comments about the G-30 battery door, what would it cost you Line 6,,,, like 25 cents to make the battery door more solid ?????????????????

    I almost didn't buy the G-30 because of all the negative battery door comments, but I'm very glad I did buy it, just know that if you get the G-30 be prepared to place a nice thick rubber and or some Velcro over to battery door just play it safe so the door does not pop open which would cause the batteries to pop out during a show.

    Other than the battery door I have No regrets about buying the G-30 and it's a simply an amazing wireless system for way cheaper than the much more expensive systems and I highly recommend buying it, along with some Velcro or thick rubber bands.

    Line 6,,,,, are you reading this and do you care ????????,,,, spend a few pennies per unit and upgrade the battery door !!!!!!!

    Ohh well,,, I'm often amazed at the stupidity of companies not making such an easy fix that would cost like almost nothing to fix !!!!!!!!,,, and there is a ton of reviews everywhere online questioning the flimsy battery door, ok, I'm done my negative vent on Line 6 for being so stupid.

    Other than the battery door the G-30 is very much worth the price of admission and I would highly recommend buying one !!!

    Cheers
    Davyo

  • Greg
    from AL September 14, 2015Music Background:
    35 years plus sling'n axe

    Freedom!

    Works. I can hear the difference in a 30' and 10' cable but cannot hear any change to anything between this and my 10' hard line. I run around the bar like a madman sharing lead breaks with the ladies close up. No more pulling my cable out of my head in front of the civilians! Built tough, 100' range then off. Anything inside 100' has zero signal degradation as the signal to the receiver is all digital. This is the dream come true gents, affordable, flawless performance.

  • Bill
    from Ventura, CA September 9, 2015Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Excellent Value! Flawless Performance

    Couldn't be more impressed with the price and performance of this unit. No tone loss on my Fender Jazz Am Dlx bass; if anything clarity is improved over a cable. Love the freedom to move around the stage, but also appreciate not having a cable to step on and yank out, which I seemed to be doing at least every other gig. No problem with battery compartment door as reported by some, although you need to be careful about making sure it snaps into place correctly. I have four Panasonic eneloop rechargeable AA batteries (highly recommended) I use with this: two are charging while I'm using the other two. Haven't run the batteries down to zero yet with 4-5 hour gigs. I just pop in the fresh ones after the gig and recharge the others. Seems to be a good system so far.

  • Victir
    from Princeton August 12, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    G30 Excellent

    I have been using my Line 6 Relay 30 for over a year. I purchased it at Sweetwater to use with my Flamenco Guitars. At this time I'm using it with my JDZ guitar outfitted with the LR Baggs Dual Source and a Fishnan Presus Blend. Both are a two source a UST and Mic that are blended. With the Line 6 I can be free of the wires and walk around. I get a great sound and pick up the percussive techniques in the Flamenco style especially the glopes. I use the G30 with a Grace Felix Preamp or direct to a QSC Touch Mix 8. It's a great inexpensive system.

  • Customer
    from August 7, 2015

    Awesome Product

    Couldn't be happier.

  • Customer
    from July 13, 2015

    Small, compact but effective

    I love Line 6 gear and this is no exception. For the price and the size of this system - you can't really go wrong. Good strength, compact, well priced.
    Wireless connectivity is still a bit of a risky business with some areas being prone more interference and drop - out than others but as long as one accepts this then no-one will be disappointed going wireless. However, so far I have had no drop out using the G30 - 3 shows done and great results each time.
    At this price point - taking the plunge should be a no-brainer !!

  • Marc
    from Whittier June 22, 2015Music Background:
    10+ years

    Amazing Wireless

    i used one for about 6 months before i bought this unit. it was reliable and with AA batteries has a long life span. sounds just as good as a cable. no tone loss. i dont travel too far from the stage (usually) to need any more than 100 ft. but if i do i know i can rely on this thing to sound awesome.

  • John
    from May 3, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbiest

    Line 6 Rocks

    I have always wanted to go wireless, but the price has always been prohibitive. This product puts wireless within the price of a lot more people. It's worth every penny. It's cool not having the instrument cable in the way all the time. The G30 handles my 5 string bass with no noticeable tonal change. I was concerned about the possible interference with other devices , but so far hav had no issues. If you have interference wit the G30, try another of its 6 channels. This device delivers what I need., without breaking the bank.I recommend this G30. If you try it, I think you will like it.

  • Brad
    from April 11, 2015Music Background:
    Bass player/FOH dude

    Line 6 Relay G30

    Very Impressed with the G30. Great tone and really enjoy the select ability of channels.

  • Charles B
    from Tulsa OK April 9, 2015Music Background:
    20 Plus years Church Bass, Learning a 6 String Electric guitar

    Line 6 Relay 30

    This is great for my apartment in Arkansas And my home in Tulsa. I don't interfere with any foot traffic when I am playing and the amp is across the room.

  • Nicholas
    from North Carolina April 7, 2015Music Background:
    Bassist for 8 years and tour

    Why don't more people have one

    I am 16 and in a rock band. I play an Epiphone thunderbird through a peavy amp. I have been saving up money and had a little over $200 and thought what the heck why not? I talked to my bass teacher and he said this was the way to go. He was right. Now I am cable free. It's amazing. I can walk around stage, play in the audience and nothing will pull me back. Honestly it is the greatest feeling. I have no problem with the clip or battery door. If you are thinking about getting it, get it. These two little boxes will make you and your guitar or bass feel amazing.

  • Alan
    from April 7, 2015Music Background:
    semi-professional

    Wireless for bass guitar

    It is simple & effective and I don't hear any adverse effect on my tone. One set of batteries lasts me through 4 hours gigs and I've not experienced any problems with the battery door as reporting in some reviews. The transmitter is plastic so I place it in a neoprene wireless pouch to prevent issues during performances.

  • Ralph Belcher
    from Greenville, SC April 2, 2015Music Background:
    Still learning, playing for 1 year and 3 months

    Future Church unpaid guitarist.

    I play in a lot of small churches and the cable has been a problem. I got my G30 today, it was easy to set up. I was playing in less than 5 minutes. The freedom was a little strange for a while but, I got use to it. The size is perfect and the range and sound quality is better than a standard cable. I walked through the house between walls without interruption. Outstanding product for the price

  • Haji
    from Nashville March 26, 2015Music Background:
    hard rock and metal

    Best bang for the buck

    For the price, there is no better wireless. The battery door is a bit of a concern, but drop the transmitter in a Neotech padded pouch and that worry is greatly diminished. Additionally, I use a strip of Velcro One Wrap on the transmitter as a failsafe. I don't think that's necessary, but that stuff is super cheap, so I do it anyway.

    In terms of performance, the frequency range of the G30 is wider than my gear can reproduce (an Ampeg SVT3 Pro and two Hartke 410 cabs), and due to that I gained a nice, subtle high end sparkle in my tone. I've broken more cables by stepping on them than by any other method, and now I don't have a tether, which makes it a piece of cake to go out into the room and check the sound through the mains.

    Buy it. You know you want to. Just do it. You wouldn't be looking at the reviews if you didn't. Its worth it.

  • Ken Thompson
    from Lady Lake, Florida March 8, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro for more years than I care to remember !

    Line 6 does it again

    Received my G30 relay and had no problem with the the battery compartment as some have mentioned. In fact I would say it iwell designed and easy to use. So batteries in place, receiver plugged in and ready to go. First impression, amazing. Exactly the same quality of tone so wandered ALL around the house with NO dropouts. Used it on a gig last week and the new found freedom of movement was everything I wanted with again excellent results. For those wanting guitar freedom go for it. Excellent value.

  • Robert
    from Pacifica, CA February 16, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent product

    Sweetwater shipped this gear exactly as expected and it arrived on time. The wireless system has performed flawlessly since arrival, and I enjoy it daily. sound quality is excellent, and the convenience is great.

  • Gresham McMillon
    from Mountain View, AR January 25, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician - Upright bass, 17+ years

    Excellent!!!

    This wireless system works great! I plugged it into my electric upright bass at church this morning and it worked flawlessly. The pastor and the music director both use wireless headset mics, but my receiver and transmitter didn't interfere with those at all. So far I love this wireless system.

  • richard collacchi
    from virginia November 25, 2014Music Background:
    played forever

    g30 relay

    about time i cut the cord this is fantastic no single pick-up hum from my 1960 jazzmaster cause there is no direct link everyone should have one and you need to buy it here these people are great to work with ,Bart Amburn is the man to see . .so push the button and dump the cords

  • Lee Stiles
    from Palm Harbor , Florida October 31, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    g30

    I have been really surprised at how well this works , I can stand at the back of the church and play my guitar and hear it through the amp. I love it

  • Papa Joe Tucker
    from Kerens, Texas August 21, 2014Music Background:
    Traditional and contemporary gospel.

    Line 6 G30 Guitar Wireless is AWESOME

    I have tried several wireless systems only to be disappointed by dropout failures. There is nothing worse than to have three notes or chords of music disappear in the middle of a performance. I took the plunge to try the Line 6 based on the good reviews. So glad I did. I have no dropouts in signal. I have a sensitive ear and the quality is amazing. I cannot tell a difference from the wireless and a corded sound. I no longer have a tether. I am free to move.

  • STEPHEN ARNOLD
    from NEW IBERIA, LA June 2, 2014Music Background:
    worship musician, occasional band gigs

    LOVE IT!

    I had a Shure diversity system prior to this. The L6 G30 is FAR superior in performance, durability, reliability, and clarity. I've only had to change channels once to eliminate some buzz in the signal (probably local interference). Even better, this system uses a standard 1/4" cable from the guitar to the transmitter. A 12-18" patch cable does the trick, AND I can use an angled plug.

    I'm not crazy about the strap/belt clip, but I didn't like or trust the one on the Shure, either. I use a Neotech small wireless pouch that attaches to the guitar strap.

    Line 6 has a hit with this system. Highly recommended.

  • Ken Carter
    from Houston, Texas April 11, 2014Music Background:
    Passion for all things guitar ...

    Line 6 Relay G30 Guitar Wireless System

    Playing guitar in our church praise and worship band provides a sense of freedom for me by the very nature of the music. However, recently implementing the use of the Line 6 Relay G30 Wireless Guitar System has taken that freedom to the next level. It's performance exceeds what I'd hoped for and is it's our first step toward cleaning up our limited floor space entirely too easy to clutter with cables. I highly encourage any guitarist still tethered to their amp to explore the liberty a wireless system can provide. As always, Brian V. and his assistant at Sweetwater provided customer service second to no one,

  • Howard
    from Florissant m. February 11, 2014

    Works great...!

    Used the line 6 relayg30 guitar wireless twice, and it is great
    First one I have ever had.
    Works like it is supposed to.

  • Grandpa
    from Iberia, MO. November 29, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Guitar Wireless

    Still waiting for the rebate but this thing is awesome... Been playing for many years and had many wireless systems but this takes number one.

  • Steve
    from Louisiana February 27, 2013Music Background:
    Part-time musician

    Amazing tool

    This is a great device. The advertised battery life times are accurate. It transmits my guitar signal more transparently than any wireless I've used. After reading complaints about the belt clip, I purchased a small pouch for it (sorry, Sweetwater does not carry it). The fact that it accepts a standard 1/4" jack is a HUGE plus.

    Highly recommended.

  • Santiago
    from Indiana August 11, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    True to sound

    I have several high end wireless guitar systems and I purchased this one to have a "beater" around the house. Was I wrong, this thing is crystal clear and true to sound and sounds amazing. Thank you Line 6 for getting rid of the 9V battery. Leaps and bounds above the old X2 system. Reliable for use anywhere including gigging out. Way to go! I'd purchase this again in a heart beat.

  • Sema'j
    from Inglewood, CA. USA June 17, 2012Music Background:
    Preforming,recording Guitarist with over 40 year of playing time

    Great unit

    This is a worry free unit just hook it up to your pedal chain or amp the your guitar and play.The stomp box style of the receiver is perfect right there at your feet.
    Battery life is 2 four hour gigs (use good quality batteries not the 99 cent ones.
    To keep the battery door closed (if needed) use Velcro (see picks on my facebook page Jimmy Gough (Sema'j). We shouldn't have to do this for $300.00 but it's a good fix pass it on.
    Over all good unit,good tone,good range,Great stomp box design and great price.

  • Don Conoscenti
    from Taos NM March 17, 2012Music Background:
    Full time working multi-instrumental session player, songwriter, producer, performer

    Line 6 Does It Again

    I bought the G30 to replace the X2 XDR system I'd been using which had become undependable. I was thrilled to find that the troublesome 1/8" guitar cable had been changed to 1/4" and that the batteries were now AA instead of 9V. The power supply is also a vast improvement. This thing sounds better than any cable I've ever used on stage. I bought an extra power supply for my acoustic/rehearsal board so that I can just drop the unit into whatever rig I'm using on any gig. The advantage of being wireless on stage is obvious whether I'm on bass, six string electric, slide or acoustic, but the convenience of being untethered in rehearsals is worth the investment alone. I also love that I can use rechargeable batteries, which allows me to use this for any and everything without guilt.

  • Emilio Pabon
    from Vega Baja PR November 1, 2011Music Background:
    Christian musician, Studio owner

    Line 6 Relay G 30

    Once you set the correct frequency you can forget that this thing is there. I added the receiver to my pedal board and as it doesnt have any antenas it looks like another pedal. The sound is awsome for a wireless at this price. The other guys in the band want to have one. I traveled to Spain and didnt have to make any adjustment and played all the gigs without a hint of interference so it works in the new world and in the old one too. Great!

  • Jim Martin
    from Cleveland, OH USA September 27, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar Player

    It Works

    I have beed playing for 40 years and this is the first wireless device that works well, sounds like a wire. I had to make a few minor to adjustments because it's so clear. The simple fact that when you power on the transmitter you mute the initial connection, that annoying pop all the old ones made. The switch on/off the transmitter has a nice placement and is big you don't have to hunt for it. My bass player will be buying on very soon.

  • jim Drew
    from Rochester, NY September 23, 2011Music Background:
    Pro touring musician, studio owner, everything related.

    sounds great

    I love the size and sound. Own an Der shure that did great for years but kit of date and I work with a pedal board now so space is an issue. Not with this line 6, and not with sound quality either. Wonderfully cool for the fitting musician who doesn't wanna be tripping over wires but also doesn't want to sacrifice sound. Us the price is very cool. Already lookin.g for a second one.

  • PAUL SCOTT HOAGBIN TRIO
    from Omaha. NE June 8, 2011Music Background:
    Educator, weekend warrior

    FOR THE $$$$$ EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE ONE !

    ECONOMICAL.
    FREES YOU UP TO WALK ON "BAR TOPS."
    FULL HARMONIC SPECTRUM!
    MY BLUES HARP IS CAPABLE OF PUSHING THE TUBES IN THE AMP FROM 100' AWAY.

  • Greg Mathwick
    from Norton, ohio May 29, 2011Music Background:
    Jammer with friends, occasional gig.

    Line 6 Relay G30 Guitar Wireless System

    I called my sales engineer [David Mikautadze] inquiring about this unit. He was so enthusiastic about the G30 that I had to try it. I got it the next day, and hooked ti up and MAN!!! No signal loss!! It retains the upper and lower frequencies better than a cable. I couldn't be happier with this product........and at this price point it is unbeatable! Now I have the freedom to roam around without the cable being tripped on, yanked from the amp or any other problem associated with a cable. In fact, I will still need a good cable on hand just for emergencies, so don't throw all your cables out. But until that time occurs my cables will be on the sidelines! Check it out, you will not be disappointed!!

  • Tony
    from Long Island NY May 24, 2011Music Background:
    Worship Team Guitarist

    The best Wireless I've ever used

    I've been a musician for over 40 years and I've used or owned an embarrassing amount of gear.
    I always found guitar wireless units to be deficient in one way or another and subsequently, for the most part, strayed away from them. I did own a popular brand when I bought this one. I'm more than glad I did because It is, by far, superior to anything I've owned or tried.The signal is pure and never had a signal loss or drop off. The cable simulator is a cool feature.
    If I had one critique, it would be to make it a bit sturdier, only because musicians are a careless lot.
    All in all I'd say it's the best wireless unit on the market. If you're wondering, the answer is yes, I will be upgrading sooner or later.

  • Solid Shadows
    from Toronto, Canada May 2, 2011Music Background:
    guitarist for 50 nyears

    Top Product

    So simple and pure sound reproduction, when you play clean melodies you cant afford for any break up in sound, this system just blows away the competition.

  • Allen Q
    from Mansfield, MA February 11, 2017Music Background:
    Hack. Always have been...always will be...

    Simple and Reliable

    I have 4 Line 6 Relay G30s. With a lot of gear in a crowded space I was forever tripping over and stepping on cables and jacks. As a result I've broken inputs and outputs on just about everything you can imagine. These wireless solutions help eliminate the clutter and help to keep me safe! Very simple to use with a respectable range to boot. I might have 3 amps running with a receiver attached to each and with just one transmitter hung on my belt I can seamlessly switch from amp to amp with a simple channel switch setting. I can also change guitars with no abrupt pops by simply shutting the transmitter off, unplug from one guitar, plug into another and switch the transmitter back on. I have a pedal board and have used 2 of these to go wireless from guitar to pedal board and then wireless from pedal board to amp. The only drawbacks on the unit is the instrument cable that comes with the G30 is a little short when using the transmitter as I do...clipped onto my belt and not on the strap of the guitar. Also, the battery door seems a little flimsy but I've not broken one (yet). I love the fact that the receiver can use the same power supply that I have mated with the pedal board...one less wire to be tripping over!

  • Michael Powell
    from Orlando, Florida August 5, 2016

    Extrememly happy

    I love this little wireless guitar rig. For the pricepoint it's the best wireless guitar rig I've ever had. The only thing I don't like is that the unit is made of plastic instead of metal. But...other than that...it sou d's amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Scott
    from NY July 4, 2016Music Background:
    Intermediate

    G30 ...finally free from the cable

    Love it. Simple! It really can't be much better. No drops, and crisp clear signal. A winner.

  • Bob Knight
    from Minneapolis, MN April 4, 2016Music Background:
    Pro

    Much better than expected!

    The G-30 does well in reviews, and I wanted a wireless (primarily for 5-string electric bass) that was simple and inexpensive. So, I took the plunge on my first wireless.

    The G-30 plugged in (utilizing a standard guitar cable, NOT a proprietary cable) and worked just beautifully the very first time. This was LITERALLY plug-and-play. I understand that everyone doesn't have the perfect out-of-box experience every time, but this was impressive. No dropout or tone suck whatsoever.

    Ironically, the guy next to me, the front man of my variety band, was trying out a more expensive (and perhaps better-respected) unit, and was having fits with it.

    The G-30 is a great buy.

  • Will
    from January 28, 2016Music Background:
    Studio guitarist, On stage performer, Writer, Producer and Engineer

    G30

    Just got shipment today and had an opportunity to try it at home. So far, clean sound, good tone and compact sizing makes for practical, wireless freedom. It may be worth 5 stars but I hadn't the chance to try it on the gig yet so I can't give a full rating till I check range and on job assessment. This is my first wireless unit so I have no basis of comparison but so far, I'd purchase it again.

  • Bobby Gasiorowski
    from Hartland, MI October 7, 2015

    Fantastic

    This is the first wireless system I've tried. Battery life is not a problem at all for playing shows. Once or twice the signal cut out (luckily not during a song), but I don't know for sure that it wasn't a cable problem. The only thing I can think of that it could improve on is the range, but considering the price there's nothing to complain about. Great product!

  • Guitar Lover
    from St. Charles, IL October 1, 2015Music Background:
    Not a pro, just love playing...

    Great Wireless

    This is my second Line 6 wireless system. Perfect for small gigs or just getting some Freedom. Never had any problems. Always a clean latency free signal. Just remember to carry some spare AA batteries with you. Highly recommend getting the Neotech pouch to hang the transmitter on your strap rather than clipping to your pants/belt. Well worth the investment!

  • Larry Bagbey
    from Ferriday,Louisiana August 11, 2015Music Background:
    50 year rocker

    G30 great

    I have had the G30 about a year or so, had absolutely no problems. Great tone,great range,very dependable. The reason I didn't give it a full 5 stars is because I did have to get a strap pouch right away. The clip on the back,I would not trust. But I like the look and convenient application of the strap pouch anyway. I am just celebrating my 50th year on stage as a bassist and I can truthfully say this was the best investment in equipment acces. I have ever made. Go Line 6 .

  • Marty
    from June 25, 2015

    G30 actually works!

    I'm really skeptical of tech, since do many gadgets fail to live up to the hype. So after reading lots of positive reviews, I finally got a G30 wireless. Man, this thing actually works. The sound is almost as good as as a cable, and there's no hum or other artifact. The cable-length simulation switch is pretty useless, as the sound-quality difference is so subtle you might as well switch it off. There's a barely perceptible latency in the sound (i.e. from the time you touch a string to when you hear it), and since sound travels a foot per millisecond, as you get further away, the latency increases.

    As a sound test, I plugged it in and connected it to my amp modeller (Boss GT-001) via the cable I normally use for guitar. Comparing this sound to just the said cable only, the two sound very close, mainly just a little big of compression to the overall sound. Very impressive for only $200.

    Build is OK, but the battery polarigy indication is really poor. I couldn't see the symbols on the metal contacts, and I had to consult the instructions. The battery door is a little flimsy, and with no batteries inside, it's hard to open the door.

    The clip provides a pretty secure connection to your back pocket or guitar strap.

    I wish the receiver had a battery operation, as you therefore still need an outlet to run the receiver.

    All in all, I'm happy. But subtract 1/2 a star for the deficiencies I indicated.

  • Customer
    from Ohio May 5, 2015Music Background:
    Giging muscician

    No Fuss No Problems!

    Great product for the price!!! I have used it on several gigs and have zero problems. The previous reviews had me worried about durability! Unfortunately I have dropped mine several times and it holds up well!! I also get 6+ hours on the batteries!!

  • Edward Brown
    from Oxford, PA March 4, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, Vocalist, Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    Line 6 G30 Like Using a Cable

    The G30 worked very well and had no problems during my first live show with the unit. Sounds like my Les Paul is wired even at long distances. During sound check I walked to the back of the hall and did notice latency in the signal but I was 100 feet or more away from the receiver. The sound stayed in tact and I am not likely to be that distance away while performing. I like the small size of the receiver. The transmitter clipped in one of the loops of my strap securely. So far so good. The guitar cable that comes with the unit is very short but I used a good quality patch cord I had laying around.
    Overall I was impressed with the sound delivered by the Relay G30.

  • Rafael Torres Sr.
    from Lancaster,PA March 4, 2015Music Background:
    Worship

    Leap of Faith

    The simplicity of this unit is great. No real thought is required for operation, right out of the box. Just choose your channel on both units, and your on your way to tether free playing. About as technical as it gets is when you want a specific cable length. Thats it. Now if it was not for the fact that my pastor would have me cleanning the church bells for 6 months, I would be leaping and strutting across the stage. But then again it would require a leap of faith that the clip included would hold. Just to be safe, I threw the clip to the side and got a Neotech pouch and attached that to my strap. Problem solved. Now all I
    need is a lookout, and a good running start.

  • SammyB
    from Stockton IL January 21, 2015Music Background:
    I do recall I've done it all!

    color me Happified

    You know that I've heard many time in my lifetime this wireless or that wireless is clean no added noise and sound like it's plugged in and until now that was never true. It may be made of plastic but it seems pretty rugged to me. My only suggestion to Line 6 is improve the clip for the belt so it doesnt fly free.

  • Customer
    from Philadelphia, PA December 6, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player beginer level.

    Love it

    It a great upgrade for me to not need a cable any more. Currently I use it for my bass. Sound quality is great. I'm very satisfied.

  • Richard Bates
    from Durango, CO December 3, 2014Music Background:
    Musician since age 7, noob sound engieer

    Not Bad

    I am using this with my Roland AX-Synth keytar, and it works fine. Went outside the front of the bar, through glass windows 75 feet away and it worked perfectly.

    My only complaint is the battery cover on the remote unit. It seems a little loose and I lost connectivity once because it wasn't perfectly secured. It might just me being a guitar wireless noob.

    Overall I am pleased.

  • Larry Pannell
    from Soldotna, AK November 4, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician (40+ years)

    Great investment in freedom!

    Extremely simple set up right out of the box. Up & running within five minutes. Only challenge was convincing my subconscious that I was no longer tethered to the amp. Finally, freedom to roam the stage & even experience the house mix!

  • Danny Rowden
    from Iberia, MO. USA July 17, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Line 6 Relay G30

    Works excellent but breaks easy. The front broke on my transmitter and I can't find a place to get parts. I don't even know how it got broken. Thanks to super glue it still works but I would like to get parts for anything I buy.

  • John Jordan
    from Fall River MA ( USA ) July 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbist

    Awesome

    I have had this G30 for about a week now,and can't find anything yet to complain about it.I am using it with the line 6 spider jam, a match made in heaven. Very clear. I did notice I have to turn the amp up a bit more to get the same volume. Aside from that I would say if you are looking for a great wireless system, order it now.

  • Planet Dave
    from Crockett, Ca. August 9, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Way to Go

    Digital is the way to go. Sounds better than any wireless or cable I've used...like HD. I bought this to replace the old X2 XDR. That unit had a lot going for it. Even so this is a vast improvement. Better designed transmitter and receiver. 1/4 in. cable from guitar to transmitter means you can use any brand any length. AA instead of 9v and more than twice the time. You can even use rechargeable. To get 5 stars it needs to have a better battery door.

  • Dennis
    from Los Angeles, CA, USA August 15, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Line 6 Relay G30

    This unit works great. Wish the casing was made of metal rather than plastic. That's why I deducted half a point. But the signal comes through clear and clean. I couldn't be happier. The price also makes this unit a good value for the money.

  • DwB
    from Arizona June 24, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Well worth it

    Love this unit. Performs great. I agree that the battery door is hard to close and flimsy. I had to tape it closed out of the box. Other than that it's a 5!

  • Eddie O
    from California January 15, 2012Music Background:
    Serious hobbyist.

    Great value; needs better battery door; product suggestion ...

    Reliability and sound quality are great. Those who find it a bit bright, just need to select a longer simulated length. I normally used Mogami cables before the G30, so no issue for me at all. Battery life is great (8 hours on my Apple rechargeables normally used for my Apple mouse and keyboard.

    The battery door can be closed securely, but it should be better designed. The pressure from the battery contact springs fight to keep it from latching. I suspect a minor tweak by Line 6 could fix that.

    It uses a regular 1/4 guitar cable from guitar to wireless transmitter: much preferable to the special cables used by the G50/90 units.

    Suggestions: this uses 6 of the 12 channels available with their 12 channel units (G50/90, and the similar mic systems). They should sell two versions of the G30 (and the V30 mic system): one for each half of the 12 channels.

  • Sonny Borba
    from Levelland, TX September 5, 2011Music Background:
    Lifetime Musician and College Guitar Instructor

    G30 tested for frequency response

    I have used several different wireless units and the most recent was an analog Audio Technica system. When I got the G30 I did a direct frequency response analysis between the G30 and my good 'ol cable. Also did a response test of the ATW and a cable. The results amazed me. The G30 was nearly identical in the full spectrum with just a bit added around 15k. The AT was a different story. It started rolling off low end around 90hz and was gone by 60hz. Also, the high end was rolled off significantly. I did notice through about an hour of playing and testing that the G30 added a bit of sheen or sparkle. If you are looking for a wireless that has a frequency response nearly identical to a cable...go for it. BTW, the cable I tested was a 20' Mogami.

  • Lamontdavillain
    from Wilmington, DE June 21, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, live sound, recording.

    Line 6 Relay G30-Thumbs up

    I can't hear any loss of sound quality when using this product. I don't move a big distance from the reciever often but when I have (upwards of 100 ft) it's been fine. I've played with the cable types and defer to keeping it off and it gives me the tone a desire. My only major gripe is the battery pack is difficult to close after changing batteries (every 2 gigs). Not sure if I have a bad rig or if these are just made bad in general but def something to consider. I've heard others concerned about plastic quality of receiver & belt mount but I handle with kid gloves so hopefully I never have this become an issue. But yea...for the price and quality of this it's a nice piece for small to medium size gigs to have in the arsenal.

  • Ron
    from North Carolina June 7, 2011Music Background:
    Lifetime addiction, engineer, musician

    Line 6 G30

    This is the only wireless a weekend warrior like me would ever need.
    She does eat batteries, but if you put new ones in each gig, you should have no problem.
    It is so liberating, not having to kick the cable out of my way!

  • Randy Sandmann
    from Atco, NJ May 12, 2011Music Background:
    Semi - Pro musician, Live sound engineer

    the first wireless that I actually trust...

    I have a G30 and a G50 both are awesome and the sound is amazing it really FEELS like i am playing through a cable. the guitar responds exactly like it should. I got the G50 because I needed a bit more range and I will tell you I've had no problems at all. I am not a big Line 6 fan but they really got this right, best wireless regardless of price!!

  • Ron "Bearrrr" Murray
    from Fresno, CA April 12, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Live Sound Engineer

    Works great on bass, too!

    I play a Kala U-bass through a G-K MB115 Combo amp and with this unit I can move around without the cord. I got a Planet Waves 6" pedal cord with right angle plugs to go between my bass and the transmitter and it works perfect. I play in a bluegrass band and also at my church and this little unit rocks. I get my bottom end just as advertised and no loss of signal. My only complaint is the flimsy battery door. No problem just yet. It doesn't compete with other wireless systems, it's in a class by itself. Try it, you'll like. If not, send it back. I just bet you'll keep it.

  • Tank
    from Inland Empire (L.A.) September 29, 2016

    Great Wireless Value

    I own 2 of these and the first one had a bad battery door. Line 6 took care of it right away and the transmitter that replaced the original has never failed in over a year.

    So I bought another and it is working great. 100'+ oF range is excellent. No drop outs and No interference ever

  • Steve
    from Jersey Shore June 22, 2016

    A must have system

    I picked this up to use on my Summer Concert Series for freedom to move around, worked fabulous, able to walk around and do sound checks, and walk among the crowd, don't hesitate to get this little baby, easy to use and works great

  • Pat Iannone
    from MONROEVILLE, NJ March 8, 2016

    Line 6 Relay G30

    Nice compact unit, works very well. I especially like the size of the transmitter. The jack cable for the guitar is a bit stiff, but that would be my only slight complaint. It would also be nice if they gave you an addition guitar cable. I did try plugging in one of my other cables and for some reason it did not work well with this unit. So I went back to the stock cable. So far the unit works very well and the battery life is good.

  • Ross James
    from January 7, 2016

    Excellent

    I purchased the G30 a week ago. I put the batteries in, plugged it in, and it worked. Very easy. The batteries that came with it died after about three hours of playing, but they were cheapies. I replaced them with Eneloop rechargeables (even though the instructions say not to use rechargeables - I can't see why not, if they're good quality). I expect these will last much longer.

    The transmitter clips easily onto my belt or guitar strap. I'm enjoying the freedom of walking around without a cable getting tangled. When practicing at home, I go between amp and laptop, and always turn clockwise, so end up with a twisted cable - drove me mad. Problem solved.

    So far I've only checked range of about 20m, but it hasn't missed a beat. Some people complain about a light weight battery cover, and I can see what they mean. However, treated sensibly, I don't anticipate it being a problem - just be aware of it when changing batteries.

  • Jon Cotters
    from Hampton, VA October 13, 2015Music Background:
    Bass player in a Hard Rock band.

    This could be great!

    Just received my Line 6 G30 from Sweetwater today. Easy to set up and works as advertised. Home practice area is in the room over the garage and I was able to wander around the house and back porch with my EB3 with no drop-outs or volume problems. Will see how it does at band practice this week end and on stage shortly after that. I have wanted a solution to stepping on my cord and doing my own stage sound checks. Amazon and other retailer reviews were positive as well as BassTalk website. I will update my review after the practice and gig.

  • Chris Parker
    from Thomasville, GA August 8, 2015

    Great Bang for your Buck

    I've used this in 4 gigs and at least 8 practices so far and I can say that this is definitely worth the $$. The only negative thing I can say about it is the cable that comes with it is junk. It went out the 2nd time I plugged it in! I usually make my own cables anyway, so it wasn't a big deal. I haven't had it cut out on me yet and I've been close to 100 ft away with no waver in sound. The cable length deal actually works. It's not a huge difference in tone, but I could definitely hear it. I can't tell a difference in sound with this vs an actual cable either, so that says something about the Line 6 quality.

    I read a lot of reviews before I decided on this unit. A lot of the reviews I read complained about the battery door popping open unintentionally, but I haven't had this problem (yet). I can see what they're saying, but it's not the door or compartment that's too small for the batteries, it's the tension the batteries put on the door. I've just made sure the lock actually locks before I start playing.

    If you're on the line about buying one, don't be. It's well worth the price!

  • Mike
    from MD April 20, 2015Music Background:
    classic rock Bassist

    Line 6 G30 wireless

    Just bought a G 30 wireless system by Line 6....... It works amazing.... I play bass in a classic rock band....... ONLY THING BAD...... DO NOT USE THE SUPLIED BATTERY'S IN THAT CAME WITH IT...They last 2 sets and go dead with no warning..... PUT fresh batteries in from the start.. Real Happy with my purchase....

  • dOEL
    from Puerto Rico April 13, 2015Music Background:
    Bass player since 1990

    Line 6 G30

    I've had it for less than a month now and have used in a couple of gigs. So far it has worked just fine! I'm finally free from being tied to the amp and stepping on cables (at least mine! Haha).

  • fishmark1
    from south houston ,texas March 28, 2015Music Background:
    i play guitar everyday,and i will always try to be better

    nice product

    I read some of the reviews before buying g-30 wireless. some talked about the battery door not working right but I have not found any problems there it seem very well made. the transmitter size is like a one of those pager that people use to have in the past. it sounds the same like if you are plugged in with a cord. i have only been about 30 feet away and I did not have any problems. the only thing I do not like is that the batteries seem to drain fast it seems to only last about 6 to 6 1/2 hours and as you know it can add up fast when buying batteries. I have used 8 set of batteries already and I use the good batteries, but all in all I do like it, I just cant use it all the time, are I will go broke buying batteries (LOL)

  • Customer
    from Central New Jersey March 23, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/ songwriter, live musician, studio engineer

    Great little pedal.

    I've had the opportunity to try this guy (or girl) out for a couple weeks. And I must say minus a few quirks it has been excellent. The range is as good (or better in my experiance) as advertised. We play small to medium size gigs sometimes with many rooms and I can walk room to room.
    I can't rate sound quality because there isn't any. This is as clean a signal to your amp as you'll get without a cable no dropouts no buzz just your guitar or in my case bass. It feels like the big full sounding bass I would expect. Normally If wireless units are going to trip up its over the really low stuff. Not here.
    For the price this guy is king. To be fair there are some issues. Others have complained about the battery door, they are right it is flimsy and doesn't like to stay shut. The clip is terrible as well. That said, I have had no problems and have since gotten a neoprene pouch just in case to keep things together. All in all I love it. And there is nothing under 400$ that's better.

  • Michael Hack
    from Babylon, NY December 30, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Wireless

    This unit is so easy to setup and use. I was up and running in as much time as it took me to insert the batteries. Which is only one of two complaints. There's no indication on the unit on which direction the batteries go. I had to guess and hope I got it right. Others have reviewed that the clip on the transmitter is poor quality and design. I figured with a little tlc I could avoid the issue of it breaking like others have reported. One month in and no such luck. The clip has already broken off. I just did like some others have mentioned and got some gaf tape and taped the whole thing back together again. It's a solution. All of the positives about this unit far outweigh the clip issue though. It's easy and works perfectly with great sound. I picked up an extra transmitter because I switch back and forth between two guitars, an electric and an acoustic. I was worried about how the two transmitters would work together with one receiver but it couldn't have been easier. You simply have to shut off the transmitter on one before you turn on the second and it picks up the second guitar before I could even roll up the volume and ready myself to play. Perfect solution for multiple guitars. Great sound on both electric and acoustic, no colorization and no dropouts.

  • Customer
    from United States August 2, 2013

    Awesome tone... Cheap plastic transmistter

    This thing is about as simple as it gets... and it's cool that the battery indicator is on the receiver - you can just glance at your pedal and see how it is doing. The downside is that my transmitter pack plastic clip holders broke off. Nothing some Gorilla Glue wouldn't fix, but for the money this is unacceptable.

  • Mark King
    from Los Angeles, CA July 23, 2013Music Background:
    Design Engineer

    Flimsy but great sounding and easy to use

    Out of four Line 6 wireless systems I own one died just out of warranty and Line 6 basically just said sorry, buy a new one. I did, so far nothing sounds as good as these. They are also very simple to set up and use. The latch on the transmitter battery door is very cheap and feels like it's going to break, especially after you've changed batteries a couple hundred times. We use these wireless systems three to four times a week in a broadcast studio and out in clubs. I only gave it four stars because of the cheesy batter door, it's got five-star sound.

  • Scott Sundberg
    from Spring Arbor, MI USA March 12, 2012Music Background:
    Mr. Muckabout

    An Excellent System!

    The G30 combines both ease-of-use and terrific sound, making it a very potent addition to any player's toolbox. As a digital system, it delivers the sound of your guitar as truly as a cable does, if not more so. While I have never been a fan of wireless systems before, I have to say the sound of the G30 is really quite something and I am more than pleased with it. I'm kind of a luddite when it comes to guitar; my only guitar is a hollowbody with P90s, going straight into an amp I built myself; point-to-point and all-tube. If I can put a digital wireless system in-between those, that's got to say a lot for the G30!

    Finally, the Cable Tone Simulator is a simple fixed high-end roll off. Again, this works well; if your sound is too bright, you can easily knock some of the high-end off by switching this on. My tone tends to be rather low-end heavy, so I don't use this. However, testing it with a Tele, it worked quite well to curb the brightness of the guitar.

    Four stars as it's easily the best budget-minded wireless system you'll get.

  • Don
    from Colorado September 20, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great sound....flimsy battery door & latch

    If it were not for the flimsy battery latch on the transmitter, I would give the Relay G30 a 5.0. It seems that with the superb technology that went into this transmitter/receiver combination, a little more thought could have been directed toward the battery compartment door and latch. Since this latch will be used very, very often (batteries will probably be replaced before each gig) I wonder how long this miniscule latch mechanism will hold up. I'm already looking for a monster rubber band to hold the battery door closed when the latch breaks.

  • Customer
    from Yorkville, IL July 23, 2011Music Background:
    Old (60+) hobbyist.

    Line 6 Relay G30

    Great unit. Have used mostly for bass. I purchased from Sweetwater and got the unit w/in 48 hours of placing the order. Rechargeable batteries I use in the transmitter last about 7 hrs. No setup is required.
    I'd have given the unit 5 stars but the battery door is flimsy, hard to close/latch, and there's no CLEAR marking for battery polarity.

  • Stephen Bavaro
    from Westchester, NY March 14, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Church musician

    Excellent unit!

    I've had exactly zero issues with this device since I got it. Transmitter is nice and unobtrusive. I usually play keys and guitar at the same time, so having this little guy really helps when switching instruments (I keep it clipped to my strap and swing the whole guitar around to my back when not in use). I have noticed the latency issue over distances, but it's not a problem for me; I usually stay close to my rig when playing. All in all, I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Customer
    from Charlotte NC November 14, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    It really does sound as good as a cable !

    The Line 6 G30 certainly does sound as good as a cable, not just any cable either. Mogami Gold, for real. I really cannot tell the difference. I would highly recommened this wireless system in terms of ease of use and sound quality. There are a couple of issues to expect with the G30 however. I noticed some complaints on the internet about the battery door on the transmitter and they are for real. The battery door sucks. You can work with it, and I would not allow this to prevent you from purchasing it, but it is a poor design in that it does not close very easily. The sound quality and ease of use out weigh that flaw, but I have contacted Line 6 and suggested they consider re-designing the battery door to be more user friendly. They did indicate that they have received some complaints. The only other thing is that the specs say the batteries last 8 hours. The truth is they will last 3 hours tops even if used conservatively. Average would be about 2 hours, so be sure to carry plenty of AA batteries with you. This unit is worth the money, and sounds as good as some wireless systems I have used that cost twice as much. The other big plus with the G30 is that you can use any 1/4" cable with the transmitter, unlike the G50 which requires a different connector. Also, the cable tone settings are quite cool. Overall, the G30 is an excellent choice. Try it, you'll like it !

  • Joe In Ottawa
    from Ottawa Canada May 27, 2010Music Background:
    Weekend warrior for over 30 years, live sound tech for more than 25

    Great Little Unit

    Works great, and is very, very clean. I was surprised when, after a couple of gigs, I really did start to notice the starkness of the signal, and how much of a difference switching over the "15-foot Cable" mode made. It's really subtle, but it's definitely there. I also really appreciate the "battery-dying" indicator and the signal indicator -- both are great for trouble-shooting.

    Other things I like: It uses AA batteries, which recharge way faster than 9-volts; it uses regular 1/4" to 1/4" cables, so you can replace them very easily (my transmitter is fitted with a circuit-breaker cable so I can switch guitars without switching off my amp); and, unlike some other digital systems, there is no reduction in the bass of your signal.

    Biggest problem: After about 50 feet, even line of sight, there is a noticeable latency in the signal. Might not be a problem in the more expensive devices, and 50 feet turns out to be more than enough range for me (weekend warrior). If it weren't for that, I'd have given it a 4.5.

  • Daniel Hamilton
    from Norfolk, VA June 26, 2016

    Get what you get

    While this wireless is good enough for the price, one thing that really bothers me is this thing EATS BATTERIES LEFT AND RIGHT. I play guitar just about every day for about an hour or so. The next day I would be changing the batteries. If you get this, make sure you have a daily supply of AA batteries.

  • Sean Orr
    from Bastrop, TX USA October 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    It works!

    I got this unit for my violin / fiddle that uses a Fishman pickup. I was previously using a Samson Airline Synth but the 10 Meg Ohm output of the Fishman really overdrove the transmitter even at the lowest settings. This unit fares much better.

    Positives: I like the simplicity of the setup. Setup time is greatly improved over the Samson. I also like that you can use a standard cable from your instrument to the transmitter. It also seems like I can easily use it on a pedalboard if so desired. Likewise the sound is pretty good. It does capture the low end of my C string on my 5 string rather well.

    Negatives: There still is considerable amount of compression. Other reviews I read bragged that Line 6 had the most headroom. It may be a bit unfair since my pickup is 10 Meg Ohms but I don't recall getting the same amount of compression from my Samson SR 22 that I used for almost 15 years.

    I have experienced dropouts. Typically when I have put it on top of my amp. Oddly I have not experienced any dropouts when I've had the receiver on the floor.

    It may also be a matter of taste but I have never been a fan digital equipment. I can certainly discern that this is digital.

    And yes, as I've seen it stated many times before, it seems like it's only a matter of time before the battery door fails. And it does eat the batteries as well.

  • Joe Willis
    from Nevada, Mo. 64772 April 8, 2013Music Background:
    Majored in music Mizzou, Played professionally with various Grand Ole Opry Stars. Presently working with 4 bands playing variety of music from big band to blue grass.

    Great sound quality

    I use the unit with guitar and bass. Easy to set up and has excellent sound quality on both instruments. Major problem is the belt clip on the transmitter. While trying to adjust it for easier mounting on my belt the metal belt holder broke away from the transmitter. Since then I "wear" it in my pocket.

  • Mike Hokanson
    from Detroit Lakes MN January 22, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician, quite a while now

    Wi Fi mixer interference

    Sound quality is top notch. Seriously, this thing sounds GREAT! Range is adequate. (Able to get out front and hear what the audience is hearing.) Battery life is adequate (gets me through one 4 hour gig, and then I feel like I'm rolling the dice--It would be nice if it were rechargeable).
    I haven't had a battery door issue. Maybe I've been lucky.
    I recently made the transition to a WI FI mixer and I'm convinced that the G30's signal is getting overridden or something. It works like a dream until the mixer's wifi is turned on, then I get serious signal drop. I have to experiment with wifi range on the mixer (there are several choices) and I think this may take care of the problem. I hope so, because I really love not tripping over my guitar cord.

  • Frank Francois
    from Fenton, Michigan December 17, 2015Music Background:
    Working musician

    Handle With Care

    Works great, no break up as I was warned it would, the only down side is the cheap plastic. The battery door don't bother me, it's the on-off plastic switch on the transmitter. Be extra careful when handling this unit, you drop it once, and it's back to the cord.

  • Gary
    from July 3, 2014Music Background:
    Professional over 40 years.

    Filters high end

    Great unit but poorly made, batterey door is weak, and the belt clip just broke off with no forcing on my first gig. Had to replace is and now take great catre when clipping it onto my strap. Main thing I notice is the clarity and high end is really compromized when comparing it with a real cable, especially on an accoustic guitar.

  • Customer
    from October 2, 2012Music Background:
    very little

    Line 6 relay g30

    Works well but needs Litium Photo batteries to use longer than about one hour or so. Has excelent tone and I amhaving no trouble with range .

  • Jim Collins
    from Williston, SC March 18, 2010Music Background:
    Plays 4-5 times per week.

    Line 6 G-30

    Nice simple unit. Well made. Clip tends to hang up on the inside of your blue jeans, but is very nicely constructed. One things that really sucks is the cable supplied with the unit. It buzzes and chatters terribly when you get your guitar close to a speaker. If you buy this unit, order a Monster or Elixir cable with your system and avoid the disapointment of having to wait to hear the unit work properly.

  • Mark Krueger
    from Kirksville, MO January 18, 2012Music Background:
    Church Musician

    Relay G30

    The sound is good and the size is great. The first time I used it the clip on the sending unit broke loose. If you purchase this unit I would suggest you glue the clip in place before ever using. I am also disappionted with the battery life. Two AA batteries last about 4 hours of use. My previous wireless system was at AT with a 9v battery and it would last several months.

  • jeremy
    from Desloge, Mo July 26, 2015Music Background:
    Church musician, 25+ years

    save your money

    sending my G30 back after using it twice. First off the belt/strap clip broke the first time I used it. The plastic piece the clip connects to is a very poor design. Secondly, I experienced signal lost at any distance. Unless I was standing right over the top of my petal board it would cut out several times even from a distance of less than 20 feet. I was however happy with the tone from the unit. I was told that wifi will interfere with the signal and I believe it. We have wifi in our building and everyone on stage uses wifi devices to control our in ear monitor system. I would not recommend this product.

  • Dani
    from Tampa Florida June 21, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist for screaming at the silence

    Great wireless if you don't move! poor build quality!

    I have had this wireless for years and it works but i have had 4 body packs break in the last 3 years the body pack is made of cheap plastic with a metal clip that breaks off after minimal use which has caused me many fumbles on stage chasing batteries and having to switch to a cable in emergency and they are not cheap replacements ($150 plus) this is a great wireless if you plan on not moving around a lot but being that I am in a metal band this is not the case,I will be upgrading to the wireless g50 because the metal body pack is way tougher and my second guitarist has one and its never given an issue.

  • Jim Criswell
    from Needville, TX May 19, 2015

    Line 6 Relay G30

    The tonal quality of the unit is very good, when it isn't cutting out. This is the second G30, the first one was replaced under warranty. This unit worked fine until the warranty ran out, and now it's doing the same thing as the first one. It cuts out and drops your signal for a split second, just long enough for you to notice it, and it's very aggravating. Some gigs it doesn't drop out, some gigs it drops the signal multiple times during the show. The transmitter is made out of plastic and the clip will break off. I just put mine in a cell phone belt-clip carrier. I would not recommend this unit.

  • Matt
    from United States July 14, 2014Music Background:
    Pro guitarist

    Not worth it

    When functioning properly, the unit works just fine. But it's a fragile piece of plastic. Had I known, I would have spent the extra $$$ to get the metal one. Less than a year after purchase the fragile little plastic piece on the back that holds the strap lock broke off. No way to fix it. Line 6 was gracious enough to replace it for me. 6 months later it did it again. I wish I had just sprung for a better unit.

  • Ryan H
    from Trenton, MI USA February 16, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Great Tone, But Cheaply Made

    I Bought this product based on Sweetwater Reviews, and I just returned the product yesterday.

    The True Tone claim is very accurate. I have never had more precise tone from a wireless rig (This is my third wireless system). But thats about it for the pro's.

    As soon as I opened the box, My first reaction was "I will break this in a month." it just looks cheap. Everything is made of light plastic and feels hollow inside. Then I put the batteries in... The battery door wont completely close with batteries installed. In fact, the one and only time I used it on stage, the battery door opened and the batteries fell out. Obviously not acceptable.

    The final straw (and the worst of the issues) is that while on stage, it would continuously cut out for about 1 second at a time, sometimes as often as 3 times a minute. It was so noticeable and distracting, that my drummer needed my guitar taken out of his monitor.
    I thought i may have simply received a bad unit, but i checked the Line6 forums, and this is a very common problem. It seems to occur more depending on the amount of wifi networks in the area (The G30 runs on the same band)

    I would not recommend this product to anyone, I give it 2 stars simply because the tone quality is Amazing, and i don't want to overlook that.

  • Customer
    from June 14, 2016Music Background:
    Bass Player

    On the fence

    I just tried this device tonight after taking it out of the box. I connected it to my Boss ME50 then thru TC electronic RH450. I went into the next room (straight line) and it cut out immediately. I switched over to channel 2 and same thing. Since I had to rehearse for this weekend, I put it away. I'll spend more time with it over the next couple of days and post an update to this rating.

  • KC
    from Atlanta,Ga August 23, 2015Music Background:
    Musician for fun

    Good wireless sound, but it will break. Don't buy.

    The wireless is just as advertised. It sounds great. The problem is with the G30 transmitter. There are plastic feet that hold the belt clip that hooks to your guitar strap. One of those feet will snap off making your G30 transmitter useless. I have broken two transmitters and I wasn't abusing either unit. Both breaks came from normal use.

    Don't buy this unit because your transmitter will break and they are expensive to replace.

  • Customer
    from July 12, 2016

    Transmitter is Junk

    Don't buy it. The Transmitter is junk. The battery door broke to second week I had it. I fixed it. But I don't think the fix will last very long. I had to super glue the metal plate to the door. We will see how long that lasts. And the transmitter acts funny sometimes when you change the batteries. It takes some fooling around to get it to work again. Big waste of money. Buy something else...

  • Customer
    from April 27, 2015

    pos

    Right out of the box this piece of junk was a failure. Flimsy, cheap made junk. I read a ton of 5 star reviews before I purchased, then I hooked it up and wanted to throw my whole rig out the window. All 6 of the channels cut out for 1-4 seconds, about every 10 seconds. Glad I didn't trust line 6 and use this live right off the bat. Maybe the ten cent cable? Nope, I used a George L and a monster cable And got the same result. Power supply? nope, I was using the supplied line 6 power supply and had it going thru a Furma. Pedal board? Wifi? Tried that too. I took it away from my pedal board, even put it in a different room for Pete's sake. Unplugged the Wifi router, turned the power off on the g30, still the same result. Total signal loss when I was 5-10 feet away, nice. I'm not gonna call 90% of the folks that wrote a 4-5 star review a liar, I'm guessing they made a million lemons and I was one of the lucky ones to get just that. Last product from line 6 I will ever own. Their amps have similar problems as well and their customer service is terrible. So long line 6, I'll stick with a good amp, pedals, and a cable.

  • Jeffro
    from Cleveland, ohio March 15, 2011Music Background:
    Muscian

    Dont waste your money

    Sound quality is horrible. The battery door is very hard to close. Sending it back and trying something else.

Questions about the Line 6 Relay G30?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway