0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

sE Electronics Reflexion Filter X Portable Vocal Booth Reviews

4.5 stars based on 39 customer reviews
Questions about the sE Electronics Reflexion Filter X Portable Vocal Booth?

Questions about the sE Electronics Reflexion Filter X Portable Vocal Booth?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Lorton, VA February 24, 2017

    Nice addition. Easy fix.

    Unless you have time to fiddle around with acoustic panels and the extra money, this is a quick,easy solution. I have a 24x30 studio with skylights and vaulted ceiling. Not the ideal room. Added this and a noise gate to my condensor microphone. Problems solved.I do have to watch where it's placed to ensure no echo from the front side but thats a minor correction.

  • from Northern California Bay Area February 17, 2017Music Background:
    Working Professional Musician (35 + years experience)

    Great addition to my recording studio...

    This unit has significantly improved the quality of vocal tracks on my home recordings.
    I am using a Rode NT 1A microphone for vocals and the clarity, noise reduction and overall
    Improvement on my recordings can not be over emphasized. I highly recommend.

  • from Southern California December 23, 2016Music Background:
    3-Year Professional Recording Artist

    Great Buy

    Amazing products, works amazingly! There are reviews here who talk down about the product not coming with installation instructions but it's very simple so instructions aren't necessary, this filter deserves all stars available. Great buy, would recommend to anyone!

  • from June 21, 2016

    worth buying

    great buy, would recommend to a friend

  • from Brooklyn March 20, 2016Music Background:
    Producer

    A Must-Have

    I bought this the other day out of curiosity to compare to my Auralex Mudguard and SE Reflexion Filter Pro. I must say that I am pleasantly surprised. I have had the SE Reflexion Filter Pro and was not impressed. I couldn't get it to really stay on the stand, and when I did, I didn't notice a difference, except maybe negative (made things more muddy and/or boxy). This! .. This though is A+. I'm so glad I got curious. My room is treated decently, and my Mudguard does the job at blocking out sound and filtering, BUT .. compared to this it sounds a little dull and lifeless. I would compare this to a very good sounding room, if that makes sense. Some rooms just sound better acoustically, and this thing does the same job, but sounds better. I also bought a Wintech Popguard, the combo of these two has put a smile on my face. I'm utterly surprised how good this thing is, wasn't expecting much given the previous incarnation. It does everything I wanted and expected from it predecessor, without all the mechanical fuss too. Anyway, can't recommend enough. Well done SE!

  • from July 1, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter/ Producer

    This reflexion filter rocks nothing like ts predecessor

    I was skepical of getting this. But sweetwater hasn't let me down yet. So I went for it! And I am so happy! I hooked it up in like 5 mins, after I watch the sweetwater video. That was actually a drag it doesn't come with instructions. Not sure what's up with that. But after hooking it up, I noticed that it wasn't falling over the place like its predecessor model. God I was fed up with that thing, and for me, it didn't really work. But this one. Yes SE stepped up their game. I song a track using this, and wow, it sounded like I recorded it in a vocal booth. Really good investment, and the price is right!! Grab it!

  • from Pennsylvania October 7, 2014Music Background:
    Radio Production Director

    Amazing!

    I use the Filter X in my home studio...essentially a corner in an untreated room...and with my Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 and AKG P220, it sounds as clean as the professional studio I work in! It takes a little experimentation to find the perfect mic placement, but once you do, the results are great!

  • from Tifton, GA September 23, 2014Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Best bang for your buck portable vocal booth

    I'll start by saying in emphatic terms, this doesn't negate the need for moderate acoustic treatment. You can't record in a small room with numerous low end problems and expect a solution like this to make it all disappear.

    You can, however, expect to record vocals in a decent but reverberant room and expect this to yield superb results. It's designed to take flutter and room reverb out of recording and it does a marvelous job. You have to make sure the capsule of the mic is centered vertically and as far back into this filter as possible for the driest results. And I wouldn't recommend using it in a bathroom, LOL. However, in the middle of a room this thing is great.

    I was skeptical and took the Pepsi challenge on this one. Yes, you could probably make something or buy some cheap imitation on eBay but not one that utilizes the air gap and different layers of filtering like this. And, it looks sharp and professional.

  • from irvine July 18, 2014Music Background:
    music producer & engineer

    great addition to the studio

    really helps get rid of unwanted reflections and room sound when my recording environment isn't the best. i'm completely happy with the portable vocal booth and it has definitely improved my sound. thanks guys.

  • from Detroit, MI July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Broadcast radio veteran

    Good choice

    Deadens bouncing sound waves as advertised. Perfect for the temporary bathroom audio booth. I used it with the Proscreen 101 louvered metal pop filter ( a must have BTW) with excellent results. I used a two mic stand setup - the SE Reflexion Filter on one; boom style mic stand with mic and pop filter on the other - for laying down narration tracks. Worked great. Highly recommended.

  • from Trinidad,Co. April 29, 2014Music Background:
    just a mom

    I love shopping with Sweetwater!

    The vocal booth worked great for my sons B-day gift. I shop for all his musical equipment here at Sweetwater, with alot of help from Ryan. As a mom, I am never sure what I am purchasing and how the equipment works for what my son needs. Ryan helps me not only with the pricing I need but also with getting it to me on time, even when I call in a bit late. Great follow up and great prices.
    Thank you Ryan.

  • from Chicago, IL February 25, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Pleasantly surprised

    I really like this. The smallest detail, unmentioned on the sales page, has the largest effect I notice. It has open slits that diffuse & deflect the sound downward as well as the foam to dampen. It's the only one I've found in this price range that has somewhat true diffusion (most are solid or just have holes drilled in them). This extra diffusion helps cut down the reflections before they have a chance to bounce back, and then of course when they do they are re-directed again. I use it on many instruments to take a bit of the room out--that's actually why I bought it. For instance, ribbons can sound really nice backed off from certain guitar amps. Using a Filter X behind them keeps the vibe but keeps focus a little more like a cardioid. Try it everywhere on everything with every mic you have once for fun, you might find a new sound you didn't realize you had.

  • from Pennsyltucky January 9, 2014Music Background:
    Writer, producer, guitar player

    Very Happy with This Product

    My studio is a converted bedroom in my house, and I've never been satisfied with my vocals...muddy, boomy, etc. But since using the Portable Vocal Booth I've noticed a huge improvement in the sound quality of my vocal tracks. Gone is the mud...the difference is like night and day. I went from somewhat skeptical to wishing I had bought this product years ago. Can't wait to try it on acoustic guitar!

  • from Sparta, NJ October 17, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Better then expected

    I can't record using head phones because i suffer from tinnitus ( ringing of the ears) and was forced to record with the studio monitors on. I was amazed at how little music bled into the vocal mix. I would recommend this product because it can't be beat for the price and it actually does what it's suppose to do

  • from Mendenhall MS USA September 21, 2013Music Background:
    recording engineer,Hobbyist

    great

    it is great no feed back and great isolation.

  • from FLORENCE, SOUTH CAROLINA July 23, 2013Music Background:
    UPCOMING RAP ARTIST

    INCREASED MY SOUND QUALITY , MY MIC SOUNDS LIKE NEW NOW !

    I LIKE THIS PRODUCT , IT WAS RECOMMENDED BY GREAT GUYS AT SWEETWATER.COM , I WAS HAVING TROUBLE USING TONS OF PLUGINS, BUT STILL SEEM LIKE I WAS ALWAYS GETTING A MUDDY VOCAL , THIS BABY CLEARED EVERYTHING UP FOR ME, USING A TOP NOTCH RODE CONDENSOR MICROPHONE, WAVES PLUG INS, AND MASTERING PLUGINS, I CAN RECORD IN A BATHROOM , AND SERIOUSLY YOU CAN' T TELL , SINCE I GOT THIS I DELETED 8 UNRELEASED MIXTAPES FROM MY HARD DRIVE , AND RECORDED LIKE 50 SONGS IN 3 DAYS, HAVE BEEN THE BEST SONGS I HAVE RECORDED, ITS GIVES A NICE TIGHT VOCAL RECORDING, SWEETWATER.COM THEIR DELIVERY AND CUSTOMER SERVICE IS AMAZING, AND THEY HAVE A AMAZING TWO YEAR WARRANTY WITH THEIR PRODUCTS ! I HAVE PURCHASED MY MICROPHONE , AND MIC PREAMP FROM SWEETWATER.COM , IF YOU WANT TO MAKE DEMOS IN YOUR HOME PURCHASE THIS.

  • from Salt Lake City, Utah July 15, 2013Music Background:
    voice over artist

    sE Electronics Reflexion Filter X

    Like many, my home "studio" is less than professional. It is, in fact, a converted bedroom (sound familiar?). Because my acoustics are less than ideal, I thought I would try the sE Electronics Reflexion Filter X. My audio now sounds very close to that of a professional studio! I couldn't be happier! We will all have individual experiences with this impressive tool, but for me, it's top notch. I think it will work in most applications, maybe 98%. The other 2% would be impossible, unfixable places to record. Try it - you'll love it!

  • from June 17, 2013Music Background:
    played music for over 60 year. Went to USL for Voice and Piano.

    SE electronics filter is a " Must Have"

    This filter is amazing. there is no need of a 100,000 dollar treatment for a studio anymore. This filter keeps the noise floor at 0.with the right gear.
    i use a newman U87 and a avalon 737 preamp. with the filter .
    and i can get the best vocals possible .

  • from Chicago, IL February 16, 2013Music Background:
    Professional musician, Recording engineer

    Excellent Filter

    The sE Reflection Filter X is a great product and does a superb job. I like the new composite housing which makes it light weight and well balanced on the stand without the need for heavy mounting hardware. The workmanship is excellent and it works very well providing a tight sound. I was looking for a filter for my studio that would do the job but would not break the bank and this unit does it. I have recorded some vocal tracks with it and I am totally satisfied. The only thing I would ask for would be an adjustable mic rod or a choice of lengths. I am using a Blue Bluebird and when installed on the bracket sits high in the filter. If the mic rod was about three inches long it would sit right in the center pocket. This is not a big deal and easily remedied by using two mic stands one for the filter and one for the mic. I highly recommend this filter for those looking for a great quality excellent performing studio tool. For the cost you can't go wrong.

  • from Santa Ana April 6, 2017

    Doe's what it's supposed to

    It has helped achieve consistent sound levels and tone in the various rooms I record in,and works nicely with the Rode NT1 kit.set up and breakdown is very easy ,

  • from SEKY March 21, 2017

    Great idea for the small home studio

    Very good for the small home studio. Like the ability to adjust the distance from mic to filter. Have used it twice and very happy with the difference it makes on the vocal tracks.

  • from Louisiana January 6, 2017

    Great

    It captures the sound good keeps the Plugins tight on the mixes i record with and without and with the reflection the reverb and plug in where tighter on the mix works great for me

  • from Cleveland, Ohio June 21, 2016

    Reflexion Filter

    This is a well-made unit. Quite a bit lighter than the top-of-the-line version, although it lacks some of the adjustment available there. Very good unit.

  • from Fairhope, Al. USA October 7, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Engineer.

    Great!

    It does function as advertised. Just what I needed. Thank you!

  • from South San Francisco, CA USA August 6, 2014Music Background:
    Home Studio Musician

    sE Electronics Reflexion Filter X

    This reflection filter does not reflect much of its own sound into the mic where a lot of other products by big companies create a "dark" tone to the mic while being used. It is not a product where the reflections are gone but more of minimize and utilize the best of your mic at a cheaper alternative than acoustically treating your room and soundproofing the linings of the wall. This product works best at what it is made to do but it is very small. So for musicians who do not have their lyrics remembered, they will have to remember it since there is no space to have a paper holding up behind the mic or using your phone with the google drive app to read the lyrics. If you do have the money, try going for it's biggest brother, SPACE, since that is said to be 20% bigger than the pro itself.

  • from Circleville, OH June 11, 2014Music Background:
    Voice Over

    A very useful tool for sound control

    Excellent tool for sound/noise control. I use it for V/O work, where I need to minimize my noise floor. My room has sound treatments, but I use it particularly to block noise from my computer monitor (while reading text from it) and my computer tower, and it's also pretty good to dampen other ambient noise.

  • from Jersey City, NJ USA May 5, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician

    Make a Different

    IT really make's a difference in your studio!! You will notice the clarity
    in our vocal recordings instantly.

  • from ND, USA April 17, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Leader and Live Sound Engineer

    Great sound isolation

    I work for a church, and we bought this to record vocal tracks that our volunteers could use to rehearse. We set the Reflexion Filter up between the singer and the computer. Then we play the track on the computer and have the singer sing along with it (without using headphones). We record in a small room made of concrete block. In the resulting recording you can't really hear the computer playing the track, and the vocal is nice and clear. These recordings aren't professional quality or anything, but the filter has done a great job in making our recordings clean with an easy setup.

  • from United States March 13, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Student

    great!!

    Using this in my untreated room kills all reflection and have taken it on the go for on the location voice overs. I always get great sound with it no matter where I go though.

  • from April 6, 2017

    Reflection Filter X Portable Vocal Booth

    Excellent product for home studio enthusiasts!

  • from February 10, 2017

    Works well but.....

    What it needs is flexibility in the mic placement mounting. I would like to see an up/down adjustment. I do like the front/back adjustment. I use mine reversed as a separate stand from the mic stand.

  • from Los Angeles August 2, 2016Music Background:
    NARAS, AFTRA/SAG Engineer Wing

    YOU'RE DOING IT ALL WRONG!

    These things are useful, especially in a home studio environment, but the way it's pictured does virtually nothing to isolate your worst offending first reflections. Cardioid mics reject most of what's coming from behind them where everyone bafflingly puts these baffles. Most home studios have hard ceilings, where the first reflection is just a few feet away. Have your singer stand with their back a few feet away from a soft surface (drapery, open closet full of clothing, etc.) Put this on a boom stand and position it OVER the mic like a roof. Carpet will take care of the floor reflection, and this will reduce the ceiling bounce. Off-axis rejection will take care of the rest. This also helps reduce midrange loading from the mic being at the focal point of a semicircle that you're singing directly into.

  • from usa February 19, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Nice!

    Good addition to the home studio..

  • from Charleston,SC February 13, 2015Music Background:
    I played trumpet in many different musical spectrums.I have turned the musical torch over to my son,who plays guitars and sings.He also writes music and lyrics.

    Adding equipment for son's recording endeavors

    My son loves all the equipment that I buy from Sweetwater.This along with the condenser microphone was a great addition for him.

  • from United States December 13, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician and sound designer

    Well worth the modest price for recording in an untreated room

    This inexpensive device is easy to set up, and it works very much as advertised. The quality of my vocal recordings in my untreated room improved immediately; in fact, I could hear the difference even before I hit the record button, just standing in front of the device warming up. It cuts a lot of reflections out of the picture. One small caveat: if you use a microphone with the cable attached to the rear (as opposed to the bottom), it's a tight squeeze to get the mic and cable in; not at all impossible, but it takes a little care. That aside, for many people this is a viable alternative to treating the room, which is much more expensive and time consuming.

  • from Orlando August 26, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter, home Recorder

    Makes a difference

    I noticed a pronounced fullness and warm in my recordings using this It also helps isolate some noise from my computer hard drives and a window in my studio. Very handy to have around not only for vocals but for guitar amps etc. There are more expensive versions, but this seems to do a very good job.

  • from New York December 17, 2015Music Background:
    Mix Engineer, Artist

    70% of Reverb Gone!

    Just picked this up and put it my bedroom studio, which is a standard Queen size room with 2 windows and regular sheet rock walls. Placed it facing a corner in the room which is padded and the ceiling is padded. I recorded a vocal which I had previously recorded in the same location with out the shield. After comparing I could still hear some reflections but to an untrained ear they might not hear them, but it was reduced about 70% from my previous recording. Not bad at all for the price

  • from November 14, 2015

    Tenor sax

    I'm still experimenting with it. I'm using a blue bird mic. Seems to work better when I put some distance between the mic and the horn, The mic is mounted on the mic stand. The music stand is forward/above the mic.

  • from New York, NY May 2, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer, Pro Musician

    Good filter. Configuration issues.

    The filter does its job, minimizing feedback into mic for a clean recording. One annoying issue is that My XLR plug rests on the adjustable bar, making it hard to set my mic straight. It forces me to either pitch the might to the side, or pull it out to the farthest distance. I prefer my mic to be as close to the filter as possible without the shock mount touching. No wonder it was difficult to find pictures on the net with a cable attached to the mic.

Questions about the sE Electronics Reflexion Filter X Portable Vocal Booth?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway