0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Mesa/Boogie Dual Rectifier 100-watt Tube Head - Diamond Faceplate Reviews

5.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Mesa/Boogie Dual Rectifier 100-watt Tube Head - Diamond Faceplate?

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie Dual Rectifier 100-watt Tube Head - Diamond Faceplate?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Chris McCown

    This amp is one of the classic metal amps. But did you know that the clean channel on the Dual and Triple Rectifiers can be used for a lot more than metal? For that matter, so can the dirty channels! This is a lot more than JUST a metal amp. I used mine to do everything from contemporary worship music, to bluesy overdrive, to crystal clear clean tones, and of course....HEAVY METAL!!! Dual and Triple Rectifiers are a lot more versatile than their preceding reputation gives them credit for! Three channels and the truth!

  • Zach Neels

    The Mesa/Boogie Dual Rectifier is a classic reborn! Now with the ability to switch wattages, you can easily make the transition between the stadium and the club! Listen to the latest releases of rock, metal, hardcore, post-hardcore, metalcore, and every thing in between, and you're guaranteed to hear a Rectifier!

  • from Michigan July 10, 2016Music Background:
    Studio, clubs, grages, basements, bars.

    So many amazing tones

    It's like having multiple amps all put into one masterpiece. Any electric guitar sound you could ever need is in one of the three Chanels.

  • from March 6, 2015

    Rectified

    Sweet tube overdrive

  • from OC, California September 29, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Best Tube amp I've ever played!

    This amp can do it all! If you need a "CLEAN" clean or in your face Modern metal gain, or any stage in between, this is your amp. How can you make a great amp even better? Add the option to choose between 50 or 100 watts on each channel. How about choosing to use the rectifier tube(s) on any of those channels as well. What about being able to change between 6L6 and EL34 tubes. Man, I tell ya, this amp has exceeded all of my expectations, and I hope to have FINALLY ended my search for ultimate tone and versatility with my purchase of the Multi-Watt Dual Rec. Get one! You will not regret it!

  • from Ft. Lauderdale, FL USA May 20, 2013Music Background:
    I've played in many metal, ska, and country bands

    Well Worth the Wait

    I saved up for 5 years to buy this amp with its matching cab and...this amp was everything i wanted and more! It can produce enough gain to decimate a small country and beautiful cleans that can get any lady in your arms. The only problem I found with this amp, is that it takes a considerable amount of time to dial in your tone... but once you do it is a dream to hear and play. It offers so many options from the spongy/ bold setting, if you want to bypass the rectifier tubes or use the silicon diode setting. Its all great and most of all versatile. If you play metal, punk, country, ska, gospel, clean, and/or any other genre this thing can most definitely play it, and play it better than any other amp.

  • from Snellville, ga, USA March 28, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, music producer, sound engineer, song writer.

    Awesome amp

    The amp it's all you can spect from messa boogie and more.
    The clean channel it's amazing and great on the pushed mode.
    On channel two you have a great palates of tones. I used it for my solos on the modern mode and its great.
    And my rhythm channel will be channel 3 on modern mode as well.
    The amp needs tweaking to scoope out the tone, but as soon as you get with the right guitar its heaven.
    The loop section it's amazing and really clean just be careful with signal level it can get really hot.
    The foot switch its great and smooth, excellent construction.
    No more to say about it... It a dual rectifier a messa legend...

  • from Bossier City, LA USA August 29, 2012Music Background:
    alternative rock, christian rock musician

    100% satisfied

    The dual rec is hands down the best amp I have every had the privilage to play through. You cannot get a bad sound out of this head. I'm playing through an Orange 2x12, and no matter what chord I play, each note sounds clear and each chord sounds juicy and warm. After getting the tubes going playing a bit, this amp starts to sing! Not to mention the friendly personal customer service I get with Sweetwater.

  • from Alabama April 28, 2012Music Background:
    30 year hobbiest

    Finally!

    Overally, this amp rocks!

    I use channel 1 clean with some coloring effects in the loop. Sound is awesome. I have channel 2 set up with medium gain and use a couple distortion pedals in front for when I want a pure metal sound. Channel 3 is what I have been search for...that perfect mix of high gain with tonal quality. Tons of adjustability to hone in the sould your after.

    I actually use it in a spare bedroom at a master volume setting of around 8-9 o'clock. It sounds great cranked and backed off.

    There are a few nitpick complaints I have (location of knob text is a pain to read, no real marker on the knobs to see what they are set at - only a chromed dent and I wish the foot contoller cable came out the back), but the sound quality more than makes up for the minor inconveniences.

    I am using the amp to play 80's rock, hard rock and heavy metal.

  • from Seattle, WA July 20, 2009Music Background:
    Recording and Mixing Engineer

    Still my favorite

    I've owned my dual rec for almost 12 years now. It's still my favorite. There were times when I thought "I have my dual rec for high gain, now I need a little warmth and a cleaner clean." After experimenting around with it over the years, I found I didn't need to go to multiple amps to get those qualities. It is certainly the most versatile amp I've played through, and I've played them all. As a plus, these things are built like tanks, and if something did go wrong Mesa's product support is exemplary. This truly is the "God of all amplifiers" for me.

  • from Valdosta Ga October 22, 2012

    I'm a convert

    My rig consists of:
    Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier Half stack
    TC Electronic G-Major
    BBE Sonic Maximizer
    ISP Noise Gate
    Monster Power Surge/filter

    I've been a Mark series fan forever but this setup blows them out of the water. I use a fat mid heavy clean sound on Channel one. Channel two I have set for a creamy sustaining lead tone that goes for days with the vintage setting. Channel three is pure destruction, I have a very slipknot/korn-ish sound on the modern setting on this channel.
    I do have to admit there is a noticable pop when I change between 2 and 3 that only happens when one is on vintage and the other on modern but I can live with it...

  • from Cleveland, OH USA March 22, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Guitar Player

    Impressive Amp!

    This amp sounds great! There are so many sounds to choose from, the cleans are very nice sounding and even up to the higher gain settings this thing roars. I recommend that you crank this amp to get the best tone, at lower volumes it does not have as much control over the tone and with the higher gain settings, there is a fizzy sound that once you get the amp to a certain level it meets in volume with the rest of the full body tone. This is meant to be a quiet amp. I bought a RockCrusher power attenuator for my amp for studio and practice volumes as this amp is mainly for studio use.

  • from February 7, 2012

    mesa dual rec

    great sounding amp all the way around. ONLY bad point is the EFFECTS LOOP, it is useable but trying to foot-switch the loop and maintain proper levels is a total waste of time. Too bad on an amp that sounds this good

  • from Chattanooga, TN October 14, 2010Music Background:
    Musician

    No Quiet Channel Changes

    I have owned a few of these over the years. It is a very impressive for Distortion in the Ultra mode. I actually prefer Channel two which is more of a master volume vintage vibe. Channel one would probably be better without the master volume setup in my opinion. The" big secret" about these amps is that the channel switching is not always silent. Sometimes a load pop can be heard when switching channels either by the foot switch or on the amp directly. This may be due to the Relays used in the design. The older 2 Channel versions do not have this problem. The recommended fix is to rotate thru the channels a few times which only seems to diminish the issue rather than correct it. Great amp but if you want silent channel switching look somewhere else. I feel a hand-built amp in this price range should be silent. I only post this here as there seems to be little information out there regarding this issue and Mesa will not reply to my emails.

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie Dual Rectifier 100-watt Tube Head - Diamond Faceplate?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway