rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Propellerhead Reason 6.5 - Student Edition Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Mike Hammond

    Propellerhead Reason has been the center of my music creation and sound design since version 1.0. I've purchased every upgrade since. Reason 6.5 expands your musical freedom even more. Now with Rack Extensions opening the door for third-party contributors, there's a gazillion more ways to shape, mold, reconstruct, destroy, improve and control your sound and music - all in real-time. Every electronic musical artist should be informed on the power and capabilities Reason has to offer.

  • from Colorado November 23, 2012Music Background:
    Bedroom producer

    Many Reasons to purchase this!

    Reason 6 is an incredible package! As a long-time user of Propellerhead software (my first taste was Reason 3), I can honestly state that Reason 6 is a fantastic game-changer. Not only are the wonderful soft-synths and instrument racks ever-present, but the mixing interface has achieved a complete overhaul. By incorporating Record's capabilities into 6, Propellerhead has (in my view) solidified Reason not only as a powerful virtual workstation, but also as a full-fledged DAW!

    On another note, Sweetwater's Student/Teacher offer is a great value for any scholars looking to expand their musical vision without breaking their bank. I would highly recommend!

  • from Indianapolis, IN September 3, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Best program on the market!

    Absolute best writing and recording program I've used.. hands down.

  • from Gurnee, IL August 30, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician

    Everything I hoped for and more

    Such a great recording experience. I am not an electronic artist, but Reason provided the best option for my DAW experience, so that I can have ease of use, UI is very friendly, and also a range of sounds that I am not using in my music currently. It gives me the option to grow and expand my sound and do it with very little work. If I have an idea, I can set up a track and start recording in about 20 seconds. Good stuff.

  • from Redford, MI June 4, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Propellerhead Reason 6

    By far exceeded my expectations!!! Reason 6 is a complete recording and mixing DAW. The SSL Board emulation is amazing!!!

  • from San Jose, CA June 3, 2012Music Background:
    monophonic instrumentalist, DJ, Electronic musical producer

    Reason's Evolution

    Reason has most recently convinced me that it is going to sweep the world of DAW's by the fact that it is overcoming it's few faults. The addition of reason 6.5 to the menu this year blew me out of the water with the idea that they are fixing their biggest complaint of not allowing plug ins. Not only that but this new update will be free and it will keep everything we love about reason, the stability, the sounds, the amazing collaboration of Reason and Record, and the production in a box idea that keeps it's users focused on the music and not on the software. Thank you Propellerhead and Sweatwater.com for helping me find my passion.

  • from Racine, Wisconsin February 9, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, recording engineer and producer

    Reason 6

    This DAW is amazing. Easy to learn and it takes me back to the old days in the studio with racks and all. I have pretty much every DAW know to man and Reason is by far the best one to work with.

  • from March 26, 2013

    A whole rack of synths in a box

    Reason is super easy to use and is far more wallet and space friendly than the room full of synthesizers you'd need to replace it. Now with audio track capabilities (and the midi out power of Reason 7 once you upgrade) you can literally do most anything. I run it with ProTools via "rewire" and it works perfectly.

  • from October 31, 2012Music Background:
    Music Tech Student

    Reason Fan

    Ive been using reason for a little over a year now just recently upgrade from 5 to 6.5 and I really enjoy it. Reasons strength is its awesome built in effects and synths, and although i haven't purchased any yet alot of the rack extensions look really on point and affordable. if your looking into recording mainly I'd shoot for Protools. If your looking for some hardcore MIDI editing I'd go for logic but the software synths in reason cant be beat

  • from Phoenix January 7, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter

    Singer/Songwriter out of the box

    If you've ever had to set up sound for live music or deal with any PA system, the set up for Reason is pretty much the same. I've been able to record almost out of the box, get bogged down in all the effects, etc. I have had since around December 2012.
    I still have to dig into more of the mastering edit section to finish off songs. Not worried about music industry compatibility creating my own stuff. If someone calls someday to use a song, I'll have to re-record anyway, right?

  • from atlanta August 23, 2012Music Background:
    industrial, goth, punk, funk, metal, ska, crap, audio engineer, what ever the green fairy tells me to write after drinking absenthe.

    whats your reasoning

    I like the sound banks and all, i just think the grids where you lay your beats out is a little hard to see. they should make them different colors so you can see the differnt blocks of the measure...other than that, its great. i love how you can sample anything you want, make several layers of things. i just wish this had audio warping like abelton or elastic audio like prtools. (maybe it does i just havent discovered how to do it yet)

Questions about the Propellerhead Reason 6.5 - Student Edition?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway