0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Fishman Rare Earth Humbucking Magnetic Soundhole Acoustic Pickup Reviews

4.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Fishman Rare Earth Humbucking Magnetic Soundhole Acoustic Pickup?

Questions about the Fishman Rare Earth Humbucking Magnetic Soundhole Acoustic Pickup?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Dennis D'Amato
    from North Fort Myers, FL December 12, 2015Music Background:
    I have been playing since about 1967. Let's just say I've been around.

    This Thing Is Awesome

    I have a 20 year old Martin D-16 (I forget all the letters) that sounds a lot like a D-28. Problem is, I don't like drilling into my guitars to install pickups. So I bought another Martin that had a pickup built in. HATED it. Just didn't feel right, electronics sounded like an electric guitar. Someone told me about this pickup, and I heard it in an old Gibson. Sounded great, so I gave it a shot. I just used it for the first time tonight, and it was truly amazing. Sounds like a real acoustic guitar. And I got to use my old stand by...the one that "feels" right acoustically, and responds to the way I play. The pickup let the guitar respond the way I like it, and sound the way it should Highly recommended piece of equipment.

  • Ron Kanipe
    from Fishersville, VA October 23, 2015

    Happy with purchase

    I recently purchased the Fishman Rare Earth pickup for my Martin D-18. I really feel good with this item. I review this one and comparable product by L R Baggs. The Baggs pickup was also good but I felt the Fishman had several advantages. 1) it did not pickup any tapping sounds from surrounding areas like the guitar top. 2) it was smaller and less noticeable on the guitar 3) it sounds great. I would recommend the Fishman Rare Earth pickup to anyone with similar needs. Sweetwater's service was second to none. They answered my guestions and got the product to me in a very timely manner.

  • Mark M.
    from SoDak May 9, 2017

    Nice tone, easy to use

    This pup was installed on a Washburn dreadnaught and given to my son, who is gigging with it. Great tone, very usable through a PA system. Installation was fairly straightforward, although a link to a video would be helpful (I used YouTube). As usual, Dave W. was a big help. Thanks, Dave and Sweetwater!

  • Dean
    from NW Indiana October 18, 2016Music Background:
    musician

    natural sounding

    Very happy with this pickup. sounds great. Easy to use. Now I'm ready to perform.

  • Customer
    from Albuqueque, NM September 8, 2011Music Background:
    Musician who's been a professional at times

    Love it!

    This pick up does not sound exactly like an acoustic guitar without a pick up, but what pick up does? I have been searching for years for a great acoustic guitar tone for the stage and studio and I keep coming back to the Rare Earth! I really like the low end that I get from this pick up. I have never played a Piezo pick up that I would use in a recording. I use the rare earth in recordings all the time. I can't wait to try the "blend" model of this pick up. I did not give 5 stars because it is pretty expensive and the batteries are kind of weird and it weighs the top down on an acoustic guitar. I know that Fishman cannot do anything about any of those things, but I just thought I'd mention them.

  • Steve O
    from Emeryville CA March 1, 2015Music Background:
    Professional musician / songwriter for over 20 years.

    Great Soundhole Pickup

    I have an older version of the RA Humbucking pickup, without the tone (and later, volume) knob. It has a strong, clean sound, and isn't sensitive to finger noise on the body, as my M1-A is (Which is also a fantastic pickup). Excellent string-to-string balance, and, in my ROS-626, it is a fingerpicker's dream, picking up the nuances of touch without being noisy. It punches through a mix, and doesn't swallow or distort the acoustic sound of my guitar, as the M1-A can do. I've not tried the Sunrise pickups, but this is the best sounding soundhole pickup I've ever played through, hands down.

  • Ray
    from Marquette, Mi February 6, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician, live sound engineer

    Rare Earth phase 2

    My second rare earth pickup. I have the original permanently mounted in my Martin 000-15. I wanted another to use in anyone of my 5 other vintage martins. The original had a feature that is not on the new one. A bright switch, which I leave off. The new one has the hi end of the old switched version always on.Called Fishman and was told the switches are no longer made. Too much hi end. The new one has a volume switch. I was told people asked for it. Not necessary. I leave it wide open. I can guarantee you it will fail from not being used as any pot will over time. These two differences are why I give the new one a 4 and the original a 5. Change is not always good. Both have excellent string balance with bronze strings, are quiet, meaning no body noise like the Baggs, very long battery life, and they plug into any pa and sound correct. There you go, for what it's worth I've been playing acoustic guitar in a duo for 35 years and have tried many pickups over the years. I've used the rare earth the last 10.

  • Bruce Williams
    from Daphne, Alabama March 14, 2016Music Background:
    Working musician

    Would not fit in my Larrivee

    I bought this pickup based on its reviews and the fact that I have friends that use this pickup and they spoke highly of it. The problem I had with it was the input part of the pickup would not go all the way through the body of my Larrivee D-40R. We (luthier and myself) compared the input to the input of the pickup that I was replacing (L.R. Baggs Anthem SL) and we also compared it to the input on a Fishman Martix Infinity and the input on the Rare Earth was shorter. We tried several different ways to make it work with no success. I was really looking forward to using the Rare Earth but it just wasn't the pickup for my guitar. Shout out to Sweetwater for making the return painless.

Questions about the Fishman Rare Earth Humbucking Magnetic Soundhole Acoustic Pickup?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway