0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Show Report

LR Baggs Radius-M Mandolin Pickup Reviews

4.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the LR Baggs Radius-M Mandolin Pickup?

Questions about the LR Baggs Radius-M Mandolin Pickup?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Jamie Jones
    from Miami FL November 4, 2016Music Background:
    experienced musician

    Love it!

    I have been very happy with my Baggs radius pickup which I have had about six months now, and sometimes use with the Baggs Venue preamp to give it more volume and some EQ for my Washburn 118 mandolin. It reproduces the acoustic sound of my mandolin accurately and I am pleased with the results when I record. That's the test! Piezzo pickups sounded cold and metallic, too much like an electric guitar. This gives the woody acoustic sound of the mandolin, which is what I want. This pickup is also designed for those who don't want to make any structural modification on their instrument, if they have an expensive or vintage model.

  • Kevin Lasselle
    from Maine November 10, 2015Music Background:
    Bluegrass, Southern Gospel, Country

    Great alternative

    This pickup is a great alternative to a mic when a mic is not convenient. I am using it in conjunction with a Fishman preamp and then direct into a mixer. I will admit that I can't get a pure acoustic tone but it is very close and more than adequate for live sound in the Southern Gospel/country style music that I do. It would fall short in a bluegrass band I feel, but overall I'm very satisfied. The one shortfall is the carpenter jack will pop off when unplugging the 1/4 inch output cable if care isn't taken, but that is an issue with all carpenter style jacks.

  • Customer
    from August 17, 2015

    LR Baggs Radius- M Mandolin Pickup

    Did not distort the acoustic sound of my mandolin ! It actually sounded better than I had anticipated.
    I will recommend this pickup to anyone who is in need of one , novice or professional.

  • JOHN J SWEENEY
    from United States January 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    LR Baggs Radius-M Mandolin Pickup

    This is the second mandolin that I installed the Radius-M on; do I need to say anymore? Highly recommended!

  • Chuck
    from Michigan January 4, 2017

    Easy to install, great live sound

    The L.R.Baggs Radius was easy to install and contrary to other reviews, it stayed in place. I did hold onto it while unplugging my 1/4" cable. This seemed intuitive to do. The pickup sounded great live. It will pickup small noises if you bump the top of the instrument, but once you are aware, this is avoidable.

  • Dan
    from LA April 27, 2016

    Great option

    I've got a 1917 Gibson A-style mandolin that I wanted to use for a few gigs. I didn't want to modify it at all, so this pickup sounded perfect. So far, it has worked exactly as I hoped it would. It sounds pretty stellar for a little box stuck to the soundboard. Not like a piezo. And if I like it enough (after a few more gigs), I have the option of drilling out the strap button and fixing it to the underside of the soundboard to conceal it.

  • Keith =^-..-^=
    from Columbia City, IN March 9, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Impressive!

    It used to be said about mando pickups that your mando could either be heard, or it could sound natural. The Baggs pickup is the best of both worlds. It is strong without distorting - even without a preamp. I can be heard in the band above a fairly loud electric guitar. It also sounds very natural and warm, picking up a good mixture of tone and percussiveness.

    The sticky mount is very dependable. The side clamp mount, however, takes a little care to make sure it doesn't slip off. When you pick up the mando when it is plugged in, you need to grab the patch cord as well so it doesn't get caught and pull off, and you need to push against the plug-in base with your thumb when you unplug. Once you get in the habit of doing this, it's no big deal, especially when weighed against the good sound quality of this pickup.

  • Austin
    from Louisville, KY USA March 6, 2014Music Background:
    Piano Rebuilder/ Technician, Music Hobbyist

    Good, that's all

    Internal install was a bit tricky, but it seems pretty robust once it's in place. Was getting a lot of noise when testing it to find the sweet spot, so I beefed up the shielding for the final install. Tone is clear and bright, without sounding too electrified: it still has an acoustic body to the sound (since it's pretty much a boundary Mic), but I definitely recommend a good DI with EQ togo along with it.

  • Allen Dupras
    from Minneapolis, MN February 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great sound

    I have been using this pick up for several years now and it does the job. It captures a clear and accurate tone. But if you don't have the right DI set up the sound guy can get frustrated and need more gain. I would recommend getting an LR Baggs DI as well. Every time I use this pickup without the Baggs DI the sound guy has to fiddle around and waste time with it. I have used this pickup with amps too and I would recommend doing extra EQ when using an amp. It's mostly the amps fault because they are not design for acoustic instruments. But if you do use an amp you will notice that the high e string will ring out louder then all the others. And certain notes will be louder then others, this can really effect the way you play for the worse. Also, I have used this pickup on many other stringed instruments. It sounds great on a violin and make sure you put it right below where you would play the bow. Not behind the bridge like I do for the mandolin. Also I have used it with the ukulele and this is a little more tricky. In order for it to capture the whole tone you have to put it inside the sound hole. This causes the pickup to capture extra unwanted noise when the sound hole is facing towards something loud. Also I've noticed that with the pickup inside a sound hole it is more fragile to feedback. But when ever using the pickup for mandolin with a baggs DI I have never had feedback problems. I have played with this pickup in really loud rock bands in larger venues, in bars, and I've used it for more acoustic stuff like bluegrass too. The tone sounds great on a wide array of instruments and situations. But you definitely NEED a good DI!!

  • brian v
    from nj January 16, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician

    good pickup but...

    installed this in my mando. works very well but does require a preamp to get enuff gain.

  • steve
    from ogden utah usa July 9, 2013Music Background:
    semi-pro player for over forty years

    lr baggs radius-m mandolin pickup

    I waited awile to give it a chance.You cannot keep it on the instrument will not clamp down tight enough.When your pick hits the string it sounds like a hammer .there is alot of noise.I expected more from L R baggs.

  • Mandoman
    from November 29, 2015

    Noisy, doesn't hold

    Not impressed. The clamp doesn't hold worth a flip. And it's NOISY. I think you'd be better off with half a dozen other solutions.

Questions about the LR Baggs Radius-M Mandolin Pickup?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close