0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

iZotope RX 2 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
  • from Houston, Texas June 29, 2013Music Background:
    Artist, engineer

    Absolutely fantastic!

    I had a difficult project to restore 3 songs recorded on a cassette deck in a church balcony. There was an incredible amount of hum, clicks, and noise plus congregational noises. I was able to clean and restore the tracks with great clarity. This software is absolutely amazing.

  • from Mira Loma Ca. January 13, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Singer/SongWriter

    WONDERFUL PRODUCT

    Much better than I thought would be.

  • from Renton WA December 25, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Engr

    Great software

    The user interface is intuitive to operate! This program really works!

  • from New York December 24, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician. producer, engineer, editor

    Remarkable product!

    Without any experience and very little study of the manual I was able to remove random noises of all types, at least 95% of the time with complete success and many times with enough success to make the noise irrelevant. I have no doubt that as I gain experience that rate will improve.
    Was also able to completely eliminate intermittent buzz from an old microphone and the noise from my computer. While it's better to have a quiet environment RX2 enables the rescue of material that would otherwise have to be discarded.
    Very well worth the price!

  • from Wake Forest NC September 25, 2012Music Background:
    Video Director

    From Soap to iZotope

    I've been using SoundSoap for years to clean up audio for video, always with great results. Then SoundSoap went away. A quick call to Sweetwater to find out what happened and recommendations for a replacement. iZotope RX2 was at the top of the list. All these years of using one software for one job I never checked out anything else. I should have discovered this sooner. The ease of use as a stand alone program and as a plugin in Final Cut Pro made the transition easy. The graphical interface, seeing your sound in several different ways, is perfect for us visual editors. Our productions sound cleaner and better than ever. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • from United States August 1, 2012Music Background:
    composer, sound artist, field recordist

    why didn't I buy this ages ago?

    The noise reduction, hum removal, and spectral repair algorithms are amazing. I do a lot of field recording, so there's pretty much always unwanted noise, and rx2 gives me the kind of scalpel like precision i need to isolate the sound i want and get rid of the rest. i've found very few of the kinds of warbly high frequency artifacts that I've experienced using other programs. no more long hours of notching out prominent unwanted sounds... rx2 does it better with just a few clicks. i love this software.

  • from Fort Worth, TX, USA July 23, 2012Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer

    It Just Works!

    I received some 96/24 files of a piano recorded too hot and the transients were clipped. It sounded nasty. I tried some online plugins in the DAW with no success. I processed the file offline with RX 2. It took some trial an error, and it ended up being a two step process (Declipper followed by Decrackler), but when I was done, it sounded like the file had never been recorded too hot. The timbre and dynamics of the piano were intact. No funky digital artifacts or phasey issues. It just worked.

  • from New York, NY May 21, 2012Music Background:
    Musician/Recording Engineer

    Amazing

    This software is amazing. I had to clean up a live performance (stereo track) where the singer wasn't used to the mic and there were pops from all the plosives and fricatives. It was a mess. With the RX 2 software I was able to decrease all of them, and was actually able to eliminate some of them all together. Blew my mind.

  • from United States September 19, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Awesome software!

    I'm rather new to mastering and was looking for some starter software that I thought might be essential. I knew I wanted to have something to remove any unwanted noise and this was recommended to my by a Sweetwater rep. So far I've been able to do everything I wanted with it and I think it is so amazing how you can isolate one little piece of sound and remove it.

  • from ny June 21, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    A Must for Audio Post

    I was mixing an independent film with lots of scrachy lal mics on the actors. in the worst case, after using the declicker and decrackler ,the noise was reduced by 85%. for lesser scratches it got ride of all the noise. The crazy part is that there is virtually no change in the tone of the dialog.
    The Denoiser got ride of hum in the room, camera noise, and dogs barking in the background. This does change the sound of the dialog but sometimes it better than what you had. It made me look like a hero!!!

  • from Lancaster, PA, USA December 8, 2010Music Background:
    Recording engineer, studio owner

    Saves time, makes money

    I've been restoring lots of 60's and 70's jazz tapes from 1/2" analog. This software not only handles the removal of random and tape noise, most drop-outs and all sorts of bandpass junk, I've even used it to fix bad/noisey punches in the original material. Workflow is intuitive --great spectrogram and lasso tool. It's the real deal. Next to my Studer 820, my most useful tool.

  • from Aurora, IL USA May 22, 2013Music Background:
    Studio Owner/Musician/Voice-Talent

    Izotope RX2

    After reviewing and trying out various noise reduction programs, Izotope's did the job with the least amount of work and for a very reasonable price.
    Since most of us don't need an audio restoration program that takes more input work/time than just re-recording the damn song in the first place, these guys have made a very user friendly program that does what it says it will. Have not used all of the programs in the suite, but what I have used performed flawlessly. These guys make good stuff.

  • from Ca September 22, 2012Music Background:
    Post for Broadcast, Features

    Great for the price

    Great for spot fixes.

  • from Amsterdam, Netherlands December 7, 2011Music Background:
    Audio Mastering

    Izotope RX2, excellent value for money!!

    This piece of software is an excellent value for money, I'm very pleased with what it does and in combination with knowledge and other gear it's just excellent!

  • from Denver, CO December 7, 2011Music Background:
    Sound and music editor

    Love it. Use it everyday.

    As a dialog editor I use these tools everyday. There is always room for improvement but these five tools make my work much easier.

  • from Milwaukee, WI, USA July 29, 2011Music Background:
    Sound Designer / Audio Post-Production Engineer / Facility Figurehead

    iZotope RX2 in post-production

    When used with discretion, the iZotope RX2 works wonders. The results sound, to my humble ear, more natural than with other software restoration programs I've used. The old Dolby Cat43 (and now the Waves W43 plugin) still work great for quick dialog clean up, but if you need something a bit more serious, give the RX2 a try.

  • from Brooklyn October 2, 2012Music Background:
    Producer

    It works, it really works.

    I am a musician first, producer second. That means that I will often use a sound that I really like despite it being noisy or hissy.

    I have a track thats a very simple, sparse instrument that sounds perfect to my ears. It has a beautiful, organic, simple, original and inspiring tonality. I got very into it. A few days later, over the initial excitement (end of a musical honeymoon, you could say) I noticed it was so damn hissy-hummy. No longer did it sound rocknroll, it just sounded irritatingly noisy. I went through the options on Sweetwater and came across this plugin - its cheaper than the competition and had good reviews.

    It fixed the track, absolutely. I was so pleased. There is a bit of a subtle tonal effect, which you can minimise by playing with the controls a bit, but it is there. It is subtle enough that you will never think of it after the first notice - every time you open up the project you just get on with the music. Its also quick.

  • from Charlotte, NC May 1, 2012Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer and Mixer

    RX-2

    Great stuff. There's a bit of a learning curve but the results are quite good and the sonics are minimally effected.

  • from Oklahoma City October 19, 2011

    Great product

    I have spent the last 2 days doing audio cleanup on a documentary, and the results are amazing: eliminating elevator dings and car alarms during interviews, hum removal from mics and fluorescents, even re-glued a song together that had a digital glitch in it. Great software!

Questions about the iZotope RX 2?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close