0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Show Report

Boss RT-20 Rotary Ensemble Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss RT-20 Rotary Ensemble?

Questions about the Boss RT-20 Rotary Ensemble?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Indianapolis, Indiana September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Composer

    Rotary Bliss!!

    Great Rotary pedal. Cool retro vibe. Spot on Leslie simulation. Great roland/boss pedal with COSM tech. Cool Pedal. I use it often.

  • from Michigan April 12, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Sounds Like A Leslie

    The Boss RT-20 is phenomenal. You could use it for both keys and guitar, but I strictly use it for guitar. One of my favorite guitar sounds is the sound Frampton got on his Frampton Comes Alive album. He got that sound using Leslie cabinets. I know this because I've seen him several times. This pedal allows you to get that same sound without having to lug around a Leslie and it's extremely simple to use. It's the coolest effect in my guitar rig.

  • from Staten Island, N.Y. June 14, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Keyboard Player

    FANTASTIC

    The RT-20 Is What I've Been Waiting For. It Is By Far The Best Leslie Simulator On The Market. I Own An Oberheim OB-3 And Along With The RT-20 It Sounds Like A Hammond B-3 Along With A 122 Leslie Speaker. WAY TO GO BOSS!!!!

  • from Kansas City June 13, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar player

    Rotary effecct that really sounds like a Leslie

    Not only great rotay and Univibe sounds, but this tool with both pedals pressed at the smae time makes a great clean boost for my Taylor acoustic. I have the expression pedal for it and am also using one of the Boss Fender Tube Reverb pedals, nice combination. The natural distortion and Marshall type distorion are pretty good

  • from NC September 7, 2010Music Background:
    pro musician

    Boss RT-20

    The unit is built like a tank and does exactly what I want for guitar. While not 100% on the tones it is as close to perfect as I have found, and weighs next to nothing - after moving B3s for years this little 'Leslie in a box' was amazing. It has become one of the central effects in my recording rig.

  • from March 5, 2016

    Boss Rt-20

    This is a great pedal. Great swirling Leslie type effect and the Uni Vibe type setting is great also

  • from Temple Terrace, FL USA December 10, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Sounds great, love all the options

    I bought this, along with a new amp, to replace my Motion Sound KBR-3D, which I was tired of due to several problems that had arisen and overall weak/brittle sound with an overly hot signal via the XLRs. The RT-20 sounds great and I'm very happy with it. I also like all the options at my disposal (modes, speeds, etc)....which I didn't have with the KBR-3D.

  • from Pennsylvania July 29, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Like the real thing

    I played through a Leslie years ago and wanted recreate that sound for various tunes with my band. This relatively inexpensive pedal comes very close the the real thing. Like all Boss pedals, it's solid. Like all Boss pedals, the controls are simple and intuitive. I don't use the braking or distortion features, but do like the rise effect between slow and fast. The various emulation modes all sound great and distinct.

  • from Sparks NV February 8, 2010Music Background:
    Pro musician / hack

    LOve it

    Great little unit... makes my Juno G bar board sound like a much better rig. Only complaint is the1/4" jacks don't hold very well (ok... to be fair, they don't hold when I accidentally kick the dam thing). A bit of Velcro solves the problem nicely tho.

  • from Green Bay, Wisconsin USA May 1, 2009Music Background:
    Part time musician. Keyboard and guitar.

    Boss RT-20 Rotary

    EXCELLENT!!! Didn't get a 5 because it does not have an on/off switch (only goes off when unpluged). Use it all the time playing out with my Technics SX-KN 3000 (I get that great Hammond/Leslie combo sound).

  • from Chattanooga, Tenn. September 13, 2008Music Background:
    Guitar and bass - 43 yrs.- Keyboards (all) 40 yrs. - Proud to say all Gospel

    Boss RT20 is "BOSS"

    This little box didn't get a 5.0 WOW rating because all it lacks is being installed in Hammond unit - it is by the closest simulator to the real thing i've found yet - i have played and owned Hammond B3's and C3's since i was fifteen (trust me, its been quite a few years) and outside of not being in a leslie cabinet and watching the horns and drum spin, you could close your eyes and be fooled - not a pro or manufacturer, but on a stage if you placed this unit in a cabinet and amped it all out,,,,,it would be "BOSS" - thanks alot for making an ole friend of the B3 happy on a retired budget -

  • from Omaha NE August 20, 2008Music Background:
    Been playing since 1973

    Boss RT-20 First Impressions

    This pedal was just what I was looking for. I was at a local guitar store a few weeks ago and asked the guy if they had a Leslie type effect that had a pedal that could change the tremelo speed as I was playing. He just looked at me like I was crazy and said no. I started hunting around on the internet and found the RT-20. The Boss RT-20 webpage had a demonstration video that clinched it for me. It looked like it had just the type of sound and control that would realize my Beatlesque guitar fantasies.

    I got it from Sweetwater today and have been having fun with it. It nails the sound of the opening lick from Ringo Starr's 'It Don't Come Easy'. You know that iconic single picked line where the rotor speed ramps up for the last few notes. That was the first thing that came to mind when I tried to think of classic guitar licks that I could try out with the RT-20.

    I read the manual on line before I got the pedal so I already knew about the features and how I should set it up. It seems to sound best in the effects loop of my amp. Unless my amp settings are very clean it loses it's vibe when it's connected straight into the amp's input jack. I use a Tech21 Trademark 60.

    So far I'm more than pleased with the RT-20. I can't remember being so excited about a guitar effect since I got my first Vox wah from my guitar teacher when I was kid back in the early 70's. Sweetwater has been very cool too. They called me at home to tell me they were shipping my order and even put some candy in the box with the pedal!

    This pedal is a miracle for guys like me that could never afford a Leslie but love the sound. It really seems amazing when I think of the kind of effects that were available for the average joe guitar player when I was just getting started with the electric guitar. The RT-20 has really been a sonic dream come true for me.

  • from Charleston, WV March 25, 2015Music Background:
    Ive been playing 41 years, four to five nights a week these days

    Wish I had bought it years ago.

    I've played Keys for 35 years. I've had Motionsound 3D amps with the rotating horn in the cabinet. How ever like most amps, it was heavy. When I went in ''In Ear" monitor I sold the Motionsound amp. I've been missing the amp for a few years until i found this pedal. No it isn't the $500 Ventilator pedal, but for less than half the price you can have the Boss RT-20. It does a great job duplicating the Leslie Tone Cabinet. I love it and use it five nights a week. If you need that Leslie sound with out breaking the bank, then this is the right pedal for you. I also like the fact it has a built in distortion control for when you want that down and dirty organ from the late 60's, early 70's. You can also control how fast or slow the rise and fall of the virtual rotor horns to get the effect you are looking for. In summery, the most bang for your buck out there.

  • from Windsor,SC December 26, 2012Music Background:
    Musician and recording engineer

    Nice pedal

    Really like the pedal and was at a great price.Sweetwater always the best service.

Questions about the Boss RT-20 Rotary Ensemble?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close