0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Whirlwind Rochester Series Orange Box Phaser Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Whirlwind Rochester Series Orange Box Phaser Pedal?

Questions about the Whirlwind Rochester Series Orange Box Phaser Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Cincinnati, Ohio September 4, 2016Music Background:
    Music, audio engineer

    Exactly what I was looking for

    I love this little guy. Throughout the years many other pedals have come and gone on my board but I never consider selling the "Orange Box". I tried the block phase 90 with multiple mods and the Phase 45. This sounds much more natural and is one of the the few phase effects I've heard that does not sound inherently cheesy. I will never sell it.

  • from MN September 1, 2015Music Background:
    Professional musician

    It has THAT sound

    I've owned MXR and EXH Phasers and this one has that tone and sound I've been trying to find.

  • from NY March 16, 2014Music Background:
    Retired Pro

    AWESOME!

    Simply put, the best single knob phaser out there!
    MXR Phase 90...The Whirlwind Orange Box completely kills it!
    0% tone suck and true bypass!
    Rich, organic, chewy and quiet!
    Hand made in Rochester, NY!
    What more could you ask for!

  • from MS, USA July 23, 2013

    Replaced script MXR 90

    I play in a worship band at church and have used the MXR phase 90 for years. After reading reviews on this pedal I ordered one. I run both for a few times then finally moved the Script 90 to the closet. Absolutely fantastic sounds from this pedal, especially in the slow area from 7:00 to 9:00.

  • from Va April 9, 2013Music Background:
    guitar hobbyist, semi-retired local gigger, music creator

    vintage, yet modern

    This pedal is simple to operate (one knob), yet it is a top notch phase effect. It outputs a beautiful, warm sound that pretty much duplicates the 70's phasing that so many artists used. I have now added a successful phase element to my own sound and couldn't be happier. This pedal is handmade and handwired with zero harsh digital aftereffects.

  • from Lakeville,MA June 10, 2012Music Background:
    Semi retired GB player

    Absolute Pristine Pedal

    First of all I'd like to thank and give a shout out to Robert Williams of Sweet Water to help me land this beauty! This phaser sounds clear and clean compared to others that are harsh and washy. It sounds great playing through my 1981 Fender Elite Strat and twin reverb. Whirlwind/Rochester came through with this classy pedal. A nice touch was to add the velvet carry bag to protect it. Thanks again.

  • from Troy, NY March 27, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording, Hobbyist

    This is it

    I have had an on off search for 10 + years for a phaser that doesn't sound like you're playing through a tin can...I have to admit, I didn't buy it at sweetwater, but at my local shop...One of the employees that's sold me guitars since the early nineties was raving over this pedal...I had no idea whirlwind could make anything worth a crap...This thing rules!!!!I've had it a year...No problems, lush and full, you never get lost in the mix...EPIC

  • from Reno, NV June 9, 2010

    This Phaser ROCKS!

    This effect box is simply awesome! The build quality is excellent and so easy to use. The sounds are wonderful. This is a very nice effect and I am loving every thing about it. If you are looking for a phaser you have to give this one a try. It is a winner in my opinion!

  • from Denver, CO United States June 28, 2014Music Background:
    Home recording badass

    Great job replicating a classic

    I love the sound and reliability of the Orange Box. The sound is fantastic, and controls are accurate and intuitive.

    This unit is glorious when the effect is turned on, and completely silent when it's off. I have a modern reissue of the Phase 90 Script that has some issues with effect bleed through when the signal is bypassed. That's the main reason I replaced it with the Whirlwind, because I wanted ACTUAL true bypass that works.

  • from Detroit, MI November 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Whirlwind Orange Box

    I upgraded from MXR phase 90 to the Whirlwind "Orange Box". The 2 pedals sound similar, but the whirlwind is much cleaner sounding than the MXR. The MXR has a harsh mid boost when the pedal is activated, which can be desirable, but not to me. The Orange Box's tone is crystal clear, transparent, and very musical. It will surely have a permanent residence on my pedal board. Comes in a nice pouch too.

Questions about the Whirlwind Rochester Series Orange Box Phaser Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway