0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Rotosound RS88LD Tru Bass 88 Black Nylon Tapewound Long Scale Bass Strings Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Rotosound RS88LD Tru Bass 88 Black Nylon Tapewound Long Scale Bass Strings?

Questions about the Rotosound RS88LD Tru Bass 88 Black Nylon Tapewound Long Scale Bass Strings?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Valencia, CA August 1, 2016Music Background:
    Playing for 45+ years

    As Advertised!

    I bought a Guild Westerner Acoustic Bass to play a standup tone witout having to haul around a double bass. It comes with roundwounds, which sounded great-if you want an acoustic with brighter tone instead of the warm, mellow sound I was after.
    These strings definitely get that bass violin bass tone out of the Guild. I play pick & use a hard pick or felt on my P-Bass. I use a Wedgie 3.1 pick and get the speed of a pick & the tone of fingerplaying
    Should add I just reordered a set so I have a spare set.

  • from South Georgia March 21, 2016Music Background:
    Jazz and Rock

    Great Strings

    These strings sound great! I love the deep, smooth tone I get with them. I have recently started gigging my Precision strung with these strings instead of my upright for jazz gigs. While I won't pretend it's the same, it is close enough for me and the rest of the guys in my quartet.

  • from Charlotte January 12, 2015Music Background:
    beginner

    flatwounds

    Love these strings. 1st put them on my short scale Jaguar bass. Loved them so bought these for my Ray.Easy on the fingers, great sound.

  • from Oklahoma December 16, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Bass player latest work Small Town Sound

    Very good

    First of all Sweetwater is awesome. Everytime I place an order its comes in so fast. Love this music store. Now down to the strings. I went to the studio last month and had the honor of playing on someone's bass that had the 88 on it. Love the sound so I recorded with his bass. So when I got home I ordered a set for my Fender. I contact Roto Sound to tell them I loved the string but I wish they would make it in a lighter gauge. They told me that's what gives it the sound. I believe if they would go down to a lighter gauge everyone would play on them. But hey what do I know I just play the bass.

  • from August 27, 2014Music Background:
    Bassist, composer, producer

    Tremendous deep tone

    No matter how great your bass is, without strings it can't make a sound. Those strings are not all the same from brand to brand, from type to type. If you're looking for a new sound with smooth top end, ultra low end, and a firm, balanced tension for each note, throw a set of these Rotosound 88s on and witness a rebirth of your sound. I put them on my Eastwood EEB-1 and it immediately converted it to a deadly salsa and Motown tone machine, dark and strong with still enough upper mids to cut through the mix. Highly recommended.

  • from Paradise, CA May 14, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician since 1968.

    excellent stings

    I have been using the Rotosound black nylon tape wounds for over 30 years on my Rickenbacker 4001 electric bass. They give me the sound I want with virtually no fret wear.

  • from Pgh, Pa February 7, 2013Music Background:
    retired musician

    suitably impressed and will use these again in performance

    played on the vic bailey fretless fender jazz bass, these have a mellow and full sound while creating nuance of an acoustic bass. more than easy on the pau ferro finger board too with soft feel. tones are only slightly muffled and active pickups more than correct. the dark wrapping and gold at the tuners make this a standout look for the gold plating on this instrument as well, IMO

  • from Howard, Ohio USA June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player and lead guitarist

    New sounds?

    They are nice strings really. They are a little softer than nickel wound strings but still have a similar sound to them? It's cool and weird. I would reccomend them if you're looking for a new sound with some punch. They're good strings.

Questions about the Rotosound RS88LD Tru Bass 88 Black Nylon Tapewound Long Scale Bass Strings?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway