0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Rotosound RS775LD Jazz 77 Monel Flatwound Long Scale 5-String Bass Strings Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Rotosound RS775LD Jazz 77 Monel Flatwound Long Scale 5-String Bass Strings?

Questions about the Rotosound RS775LD Jazz 77 Monel Flatwound Long Scale 5-String Bass Strings?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from McDowell County, WV December 3, 2016

    Just The Sound I wanted

    I have been playing electric bass since 1967 and switched over to round wound strings about a year after I started playing for that bright piano like sound. I decided to try the flat wounds again with this set, and I must say I am pleasantly surprised. I don't remember this great punchy sound, but it's surely there with these Rotosounds. We play a lot of acoustic music, and I love the way they blend in. I had been playing the upright bass for the last 10 years, but I really like the tone I am getting with these. A plus is how much easier they are on the fingers compared to the round wound strings. I think I will stick with these for a while.

  • from June 1, 2016Music Background:
    Professional - 20+yrs

    Best flats I've played

    I gave these a shot to try and get a cleaner tone out of some low end pickups. They sound amazing. They have a deep rich tone like most flats, but these don't muddy up the mids. The sound still cuts through, just with less overall string noise. These are the first flats I've played that I would consider using for pop/rock music. If you're looking for versatile flat wound strings with great tone, these are probably what you're looking for.

  • from monticello Utah May 17, 2016

    Great strings

    These strings work and sound great on my fretless . Haven't played a lot of flat wounds but I know I like them.

  • from Novato Ca September 21, 2015Music Background:
    Long time Hacker of Instruments

    Great Strings!

    I asked my engineer at Sweetwater for some flat wound strings for my son's new base (GWB35). Josh selected these and my son couldn't be happier. He's particularly happy with the clarity with regular playing and how they react to slapping. Excellent Choice!

  • from Lincoln, IL April 1, 2015

    Love these strings!

    I prefer flatwounds over roundwounds because of the string noise as I move up and down the fingerboard (plus I started as an upright player!). I've tried various brands, and I think I've found my keeper. Most flatwounds I've tried are "sticky" and don't slide well, but these are great. They've got a nice mellow tone like most flats, and feel great!

  • from Pittsburgh area November 16, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Pro Flats

    Love these - been using them for over 10 years. I play R&B, Funk, Blues, as well as straight ahead jazz gigs. These strings get better with age.

  • from Buchanan Dam, TX November 8, 2012Music Background:
    church musician (5-string bass and 12-string guitar, as well as vocals).

    Great Flats!

    I'm very impressed with these flats. I started over ten years ago with some (very) expensive flats from another manufacturer, and they served me well. Decided to try something different (less expensive) this time, spent less than half the money on the Jazz77 flats, and they sound and feel just as good as those other strings, plus, I saved enough money to pay for another set! (Not that I need to!) Very happy with these.

  • from Worcester, VT October 15, 2012Music Background:
    performing

    Rotosound Flatwound Bass Strings

    After years of round wound on a 5 string bass this is a welcome and smooth change. Easy on the fingers, eliminates most of the finger slide screech, and inspires a different playing attack. I am surprised with the unexpected and welcome punch of these strings. I am a convert.

  • from Pellston, Mi. USA September 14, 2012Music Background:
    Band bassist

    Solid strings!

    I love the feel and sound of these strings. They have a nice bite and growl to them. I am a little disappointed in the sustain, they don't have that "Sustain Forever" to them. But the aggressiveness is really nice. The tension is less on these which I like.

  • from Piedmont WV August 1, 2011

    Fun To Play

    Great speaking tone. Blends with the band well without overwelming;though strings were stiff slowing down my right hand attack (use fingers) but a little practice made perfect. Great clicking sound for solos. My Guitar is a Carvin LB75 Mahogany neck & body

  • from SF Bay Area August 30, 2010Music Background:
    Long time player, working band

    Great Flatwound strings

    I play a G&L L-2500 5 string, with through the body string routing. so I need really long strings these are the only Flatwounds I have found that will work, plus they have great sound, quite punchy. All most no music stores carry them, they have to order them so its good to find an online source.

Questions about the Rotosound RS775LD Jazz 77 Monel Flatwound Long Scale 5-String Bass Strings?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway