0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Gibson Acoustic J-45 Standard - Vintage Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
  • from Pilot Grove, MO May 1, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    J45 Standard

    Beautiful guitar. Sounds great and looks awesome.

  • from March 23, 2015

    Bucket List Guitar

    I had always wanted a Gibson J45 acoustic and finally decide it was time.The tone of the J45 is really sweet and just what I expected from Gibson. I play a lot of country blues and am one happy customer with my new guitar. Sweetwater always takes great care of me. The fit and finish on this guitar was perfect ☺

  • from March 12, 2015

    Gibson J-45 standard

    I have owned many expensive guitars from the big name companies but this is my first Gibson. This guitar sounds amazing, looks great in an understated way, and plays excellent!! I favor it over all my other guitars some that cost a lot more. You can't go wrong with a J-45!! As always Sweetwater was great to work with!!

  • from Palm Bay, FL March 5, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter, Recording Artist

    A true legend

    I have owned a J45 Standard for about seven months now and it keeps getting better and better. Fantastic guitar for recording whether directly into a DAW or through a mic. Great live sound and playability as well. The L.R. Baggs element pickup system really amplifies the actual acoustic sound of the guitar rather than making it sound unnatural.
    This is an expensive guitar, as most hand-made guitars are. But if you take care of it, it will last you a lifetime and, like fine wine, handmade guitars only get better with age.

  • from United States September 28, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    A gibson Classic

    Love the sweetwater staff and facility...Purchased my J45 on a friday evening and by bed time on friday I was was in love with this great guitar..smooth playing with the crisp mid-range and the legendary Gibson Low end that just makes you want to play more and more...Great Guitar from a iconic guitar manufacturer and bought from an Iconic dealer. Thanks Zach Garrison for your help and quality service.

  • from September 18, 2014Music Background:
    American folk / country

    New J-45

    I orderd the Pelham Blue J-45 a few weeks ago and......it's great! The support and service from Sweetwater was great as well.

  • from Mobile, AL August 27, 2014

    Gibson J-45 standard... Wow

    Love this guitar. Sounds so sweet when finger picking and will sing when using a flat pick, I have been debating on which guitar to purchase for some time. i have a Martin and thought of getting another one. Played some upper end Taylors and other Gibsons.

    This axe is so beautiful with the sunburst and slope shoulder. intonation is spot on when moving up the neck. It fits my hand perfect. no flaws what-so-ever. To top it off it has a pickup. I don't usually play accoustics with pups but this j 45 sounds great when playing through an amp.

    Thanks, Alan Carter for answering all my questions and returning all my calls!

  • from Brunswick, GA USA June 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Wish I Had Bought It Years Go

    The Gibson J-45 Standard goes beyond expectations. It is easy to play and has a great tone. No set up required. It arrived ready to play. I played it in a club the other night and the LR Baggs systems worked flawlessly. I just plugged it into the house PA and it sang. No hum, no feedback nothing but great sound. I have a Taylor 414CE a nice guitar that sounds great but the Gibson is louder and has a deeper voice than the Taylor. I like both guitars but if I had to choose only one I would keep the Gibson J-45.
    Sweetwater performed exceptionally well as always. The guitar arrived with no problems, on time in great condition and looked exactly like the pictures.

  • from Lexington, VA May 31, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Gibson j45 standard vintage sunburst

    This guitar is great. It plays like a dream and is beautiful. I can't put down and my guitar playing friends, even Martin lovers, are imptesssed. Thanks Sweetwate. Jamie Smith

  • from troy new york July 19, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist/jam band member

    a beautiful six string guitar

    all ive heard about a gibson j 45 is true. when i open up the case the room is filled with a sweet aroma of pure gibson quality.....

  • from Arlington TX August 5, 2015

    Gibson J-45 Standard - Vintage Sunburst

    What a marvelous guitar Gibson produced with this model and the tradition continues. The pickup system is outstanding but the guitar needs a tone control along with the volume control. Well worth the money I paid for this gem.

  • from Nashville, TN October 15, 2014Music Background:
    Music Publisher

    new j45

    i love this guitar. it came with the strings too high and needing a setup, but the sound is amazing.

  • from Monclova, OH February 28, 2011Music Background:
    Amateur Musician

    A Great Introduction To The Gibson Family

    I recently purchased this J-45 and am already in love with it's tone. I have a number of guitars that have a spruce top and rosewood back and sides, so I opted for the Standard over the Custom. I love the woody tone that this guitar has, and the Sunburst finish is very appealing visually. Unplugged, the strings are all very well balanced. The action as it came was very nice, and bar chords play up the neck without too much effort up to about the 9th fret. Plugged in, it was a little bit hot on the b and e strings - the treble just pops out a little too much for my liking, but running it through a pre-amp, I was able to clean it up effectively. If the plugged in tone was as even as it was unplugged, and if it came with a bone saddle and end pins, I would have given this 5 stars. But those are things easily upgraded, so I am extremely pleased with this purchase!

  • from Cameron, Ok February 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, play with a small church band at nursing homes and retirement centers.

    GIBSON J-45

    This is my first Gibson. I am impressed with the quality. Been very dry here with very low humidity. Have a humidifier and hygrometer in the case to stabilize humidity around 50 % hopefully. I am sure I will like the J-45 a lot better after I have played it enough to really get use to it .
    Right now I am partial to the Martin, but, I have played them a lot more.
    Looking forward to spending a lot of time with the Gibson

  • from Cincinnati, OH May 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Getting better

    The most important thing...sound is all I had hoped for. There were some minor imperfections in the lacquer around the soundhole and a couple of case latches don't close as tightly as I would want. Also, it needed a setup to be more playable for me but I realize that is personal preference. Dealing with Sweetwater was great...all the service accolades they get are well-deserved!

Questions about the Gibson Acoustic J-45 Standard - Vintage Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close