0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Gibson Acoustic J-45 Custom - Vintage Sunburst Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • from Tallahassee FL August 5, 2015Music Background:
    40 years of playing bluegrass,country, and folk music

    Brings out the music sprit it

    I own a nice Martin and a nice Taylor so I needed to complete my collection by adding a J-45 custom. I have never been more pleased. It is not only a pleasure to look at, but the richness of tone and quality of workmanship makes it difficult for me to put it down. It sets no boundaries on my music spirit. I thank the craftsmen at Gibson for building such a beautiful instrument.

  • from June 15, 2015

    Great guitar!!!

    Great Guitar!!!! Can't go wrong with Gibson!!!!

  • from Camden South Carolina January 21, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Gibson J45 Custom Great Guitar All Around

    Ordered my J45 on Monday and received it on Wednesday. Waited a long time for a Gibson and this one is a dream. Love everything about it. The looks. the tone and way it plays. Hats off to Jake Greil for the great speedy service. Wasn't quit sure about buying without playing but it's everything they say it is. Looks like my Epi EJ200 and my Ovation will be collecting dust for a while. It's hard to put this one down.
    THANKS SWEETWATER!

  • from Aurora, Colorado! October 25, 2014Music Background:
    40 years of musical maddness!

    J-45 custom

    I have wanted my own J-45 since playing a friends back in the 1970's
    The workhorse of Gibson Acoustic's. Finally pulled the trigger and purchased a J-45 Custom, After setting up the relief in the neck and action to my liking, it is so very nice to own this Guitar! Plays like butter and the sound is truly heaven sent, The voice of this Guitar blends with other instruments So well. The LR Baggs element pick up sounds Beautiful. The extra detail in the Custom is well worth the money! It looks as nice as it sounds! The inlays on the headstock and fingerboard and tailpiece jump out and make this Gibson a treasure. I have now purchased 3 Guitars from Sweetwater, I have never been disappointed with the Sales staff and extra care they take, making each item arrive on time, in one piece! Most important!!! First class care! and follow up to make sure that your happy with your purchase.
    I never thought I would order a Guitar without playing it first, But Sweetwater has changed my opinion on that! being able to pick out the exact Guitar and then finding them so playable and ready to go.
    If you want a Gibson Acoustic that will sound and play great, The J-45 will not disappoint !

  • from Dallas, TX July 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Player,Collector and one lucky SOB!

    JACKPOT !

    I have been looking for a Gibson acoustic for some time. I currently own a Martin and wanted a second companion that not only looked great but sounded just as good. I wanted an Indian Rosewood back and sides with all the attention to detail like inlays, Sitka Spruce top, and pickup system. This one literally has it all! This is the fourth premium guitar that I have purchased from Sweetwater and I will not hesitate to continue to order more. Great sales advice from my sales associate Mike Soper and I literally had the guitar in three days. Beautiful, Beautiful Guitar!! Sweetwater, you have a loyal fan! This J-45 truly rocks!

  • from Denver Colo. May 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Great Company!

    I was a little concerned about ordering my J-45 on-line after listening to other's experiences with similar mail order services. My new guitar arrived in excellent condition with not a blemish on it and plays like a dream. She is my new baby along with my Islander uke. Very impressed with Sweetwater's top notch customer service and attention to detail. My brother had a similar experience with them so it's no fluke. I would not hesitate to buy from them again!

  • from Pennsylvania February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Worship musician

    Beautiful Guitar

    I have always wanted to own a Gibson guitar so I decided to purchase the J45 Custom. I am not disappointed with the craftsmanship of this instrument as it is nearly flawless. It plays and sounds beautiful. Plugged in, the LR Baggs pickup is decent but I find that it needs some tweeking through a DI to get the sound the similar to being unplugged. Overall I am very satisfied with this guitar and look forward to it aging and sounding even better.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Amazing Guitar!!

    This J-45 is an absolute show stopper. I have been a huge fan of Martin Guitars for all of my life and this is my first Gibson. I must say that this guitar shocked me from the moment I began to play it in the Retail Store and continues every time I lay down a new track. The acoustics are so responsive and provide a very wide range of capabilities! The rosewood body definetly makes this guitar "talk."

  • from Leo, IN August 8, 2013Music Background:
    Student recording engineer

    Tone Machine

    I have always been a big fan of Taylor's and Martin acoustics and never thought much for Gibson's but this guitar is a total tone machine! The whole spectrum of your highs and lows, this j-45 custom hits flawlessly. You get the whole package wither you finger pick softly or strum very aggressively. It might be the rosewood body that sets this guitar apart from its mahogany family members, but it provides tones I have never heard from any guitar. The LR Baggs pickup system is very nice and really makes the guitar sound as it should through a PA, and not like something it's not. As for the looks the sunburst is killer and you really can't get a nicer looking American made guitar for less.

  • from July 1, 2015

    Gibson Acoustic J-45 Custom - Vintage Sunburst

    Wonderful tone. Big on the low end and fairly bright at the top. It's loud and thumpy, but what really stands out is the complex, quivering, almost reverb like sound it produces across the spectrum. It is really sweet.

    Cosmetically, the guitar is gorgeous and is very well put together. Workmanship is top notch.

    The grain of this particular Rosewood top is tight in the center and a little wider at the edges. The vintage burst is beautiful and the very thin layer of nitro lacquer paired with the natural grain of the wood creates a bit of a corduroy texture, instead of being perfectly smooth. It actually looks very cool.

    The guitar has many custom upgrades above the J-45 Standard and is quite a work of art.

  • from St. Louis November 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist and Student

    Beautiful Guitar

    This is my 3rd Gibson Acoustic. I've had it for about a month and never want to put it down. I'm once again very pleased with the high quality of Gibson guitars.
    First the sound: This guitar has a clarity and volume that that makes it a joy to play. The neck is a slightly smaller profile that my Songwriter's Deluxe, but I quickly got used to it. The set up feels good right out of the box. I'll give it time to acclimate to the local environment before I get a professional set up (although right now it's perfect as is!).
    The finish is stunning. More than any other manufacturer, Gibson really has mastered the vintage sunburst finish. The inlays, the binding, all make this a real work of art. I did notice a small "orange peel" in the top finish that looks like maybe where a clamp may have been used in the building process, that's why i gave it 4.5 stars instead of 5. It wasn't enough to kill the deal, but in a guitar of this price, I thought it was worth noting.
    I really love that Gibson continues to produce unique models and options that reflect their history but also combine new features.

Questions about the Gibson Acoustic J-45 Custom - Vintage Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close