0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

DigiTech RP1000 Modeling Multi-FX Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 24 customer reviews
Questions about the DigiTech RP1000 Modeling Multi-FX Pedal?

Questions about the DigiTech RP1000 Modeling Multi-FX Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Tennessee December 21, 2016

    Killer

    Tried them all! This one is Fantastic!! The Amp modeling smokes the competition! People don't realize you have to cut off the Cabinet modeling when using your amp! Straight up no frills unit that is Killer!

  • from GA November 11, 2016

    AWESOME!

    I have tried it all and this is the best tone for $ I have ever spent. I also currently have the Line 6 HD500X and it is a good unit, with more options for control, but not better. Everything about the LP1000 is so well thought out. If I still used amps I'd by this to use in the FX loop. I haven't used the PC programming software at all because it is so easy to program. I basically used patches that came with it, with very little tweaking. I do wish it had another CC pedal input, and I wish the pedal position would update when changing patches, like the Ground Control does. The FX are AWESOME, much better chorus than anything in the Line 6. But the main thing is the tone. It has a growl that I lost some time back. I am overwhelmed actually and inspired to play more. For reference I have played for 53 years and seen it all:)

  • from GA October 25, 2016

    AMAZING!

    I have used and tried every kind of pre-amp under the sun, midi rigs with controllers and I also have a Line 6 HD500X at this time. This unit blows it all away. It has a growl that I lost with tube heads. It is so easily programmed that I haven't used the software at all, there is no need. It does not have many of the the micro adjustments some of it's more expensive wannabees, like separate left right delay times, or left right chorus adjustments, but everything there is very useful and the FX are of the highest quality, and again blows the Line 6 out of the water. I basically use 4 patches and I just used what came with it with very little adjustment. I do wish is had another CC input. Everything about it is easy to use and get to. I am very pleasantly surprised. This may be the best money for tone I ever spent. For the record I have been play for 53 years, so I have seen it all:)

  • from September 6, 2015

    Great

    Great I really enjoy it

  • from PA August 8, 2015Music Background:
    Recording and performing artist.

    Awesome device!

    I am a very experienced all around musician and guitarist. I think this device sounds great with recording and live. Through an amp or PA. The presets are phenomenal and you can edit anything and store your creations or move the presets whereever you want. The looper is very usable. The wah's sound excellent. I am having much fun with this effects processor/pedal.

  • from Lexington, KY (USA) January 28, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Teacher and Luthier

    This Pedal is AWESOME!!!

    I bought this pedal several years ago, when my worship band stopped using amps onstage. I was using a Fender CyberTwin with the big pedalboard, so I wanted something like the CyberTwin, but not a Pod. The DigiTech rep came to my regular music store, demo'd this "new" pedalboard, and I bought one when he was finished. Got an awesome deal straight from the factrory.

    This is as easy as my Fender to setup and I was able to A-B my CT created tones against my RP1000. Very intuitive and easy interface. I love it and have used it every week with no problems.

    It also works great with gigs and jam sessions with regular combo amps. I always have lots of control.

  • from Lexington, KY March 14, 2014Music Background:
    Been playing 50 years, I teach guitar and repair instruments, Play in 2 bands, both Blueugrass and Contemporary Christian

    It is the best I have ever had

    I love effects and effects pedals. I have several individual pedals, but I have always come back to multiple function pedals. It is perfect for my needs and easy to program what sound you want. It just takes awhile to get used to. I find it is easier to control the setting on the computer, rather than bending over to adjust it. I needed something to replace my 1st run Fender Cyber-Twin and it's massive pedal board. This did the trick. Reason for the change is I play in a large church and we did away with amps on the stage, so now we just have small powered monitors. The sound engineers control the final sound. Point being, I can bring up my favorite amp and get the effect(s) I want. I can imitate any effect out there. The modern Contemporary Christian Music can be very intricate and it's fun to figure what effect was used. It's amazing the sounds you can create.

    Anyway, it surpasses my expectations and I would recommend this over a Line 6 any day! (sorry Rob)

  • from Challis, Idaho December 12, 2012Music Background:
    I've played with some good ones, like Johnny Fortune, (sole surfer & dragster.) I'm still loving to play and make a little spare change.

    RP 1000, Good stuff Mainard

    This gear does everything as advertised. Would have preferred a longer than 20 sec looper, and the pause at the play over isn't helpful. I believe I'll be able to overcome this problem. I'm an old man now and find myself doing more solo gigs, as my old pals have moved on. Thiis gear is helping with a fuller sound and even though I haven't kept up with technology, I am moving right along learning the RP1000. Whats really nice is I can see the display and work everything with my feet, with these old tired eyes.

    Let me say sincerly, if I have a problem on the learning curve, I am confident that the good folks at Sweetwater will solve my problem. I wish I could get the kind of service everywhere that I Received from Sweetwater, as my grand kids would say they are the bomb. Let me go on to say, I am in no way connected to Sweetwater, or Digitech other than being a greatful customer. I'm a product of the 40's and have bought a few guitar strings in my time. Never had better service then Sweetwater. Sweetwater, don't change. Respectfully, Your new pal, Ed Looney Challis, Id.

  • from Hudsonville January 28, 2012Music Background:
    Home recorder of guitar, vocal, and piano

    GREAT Pedalboard

    This pedal board is an amazing thing. I bought one almost new off of craigslist and couldn't be more pleased it. The board has a bunch of options including stompbox inputs, 160 interenal stompboxes, an expression pedal, USB audio streaming for recording, phase looper, MANY different effects, and other things. It's a ton of fun to play with and would work great for almost any musician wheather recording or playing live sound. If playing live sound, you can program the 6-10 banking buttons to be preset to the certain effect(s) you want for a particular song. This is also deffinetly a pedalboard for the more advanced musician; however, it can also be used in simple ways and work great for the begginner musician. Overall, I give it a 5/5 star review.

  • from Maryland September 4, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    I'm spoiled now!!

    I've been a user of Digitech equipment for years and I'm glad to see nothing has changed with quality, sound or performance of their units. I decided it was time to rebuild my rig and I wanted to go with a simple, incredibly reliable, easy to use, and diverse set up. I'm currently running Schecter guitars through the digitech into a 15 band eq, then into a carvin TS100 power amp which goes into a Recto 2x12 cab. The sound is just beastly and becasue I'm letting the unit do it's thing like a multi effects unit should be used, it's the optimal set up for pro quality flexability.

  • from Katy, TX July 19, 2011Music Background:
    pro musician

    best effect system hands down

    Ive played them all people, and the RP1000 by far is the BEST system out there period. And, it records great! Digitech really came up with a winner on this piece and it shows they listened to musicians who wanted flexibility. Ive recorded with it and have gotten superb results, although I prefer to use Sonar DAW software, I have no problem connecting with USB. Unlike other units out there most of them dont have decent sounds or features that are practical in a live situation unlike the RP1000. I highly recommend this unit, and get yourself a gator gig bag for it too! My band recently wanted to perform Pride, and I was able to nail Edge's sound perfectly with this bad boy. Digitech makes great product, roadworthy, tough, and they have superior dna in their technology. Dont waste your money on other systems out there, this works great out of the box. You can call Digitech and ask questions and talk to real live person, as they still maintain human relations with customers unlike other companies that dont. Great investment, built like an M1 Abrams tank!

  • from Carson City, Nv. July 23, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist, progressive rock

    Way too much fun

    I upgraded to this unit last month from the Rp500. I love that I can intergrate my stompboxes with it, and use amp loops wit it. But what I have found is my own sound with just my amp and stompboxes. I cant tell you how much fun I am having. I am compossing more music than before. very easy to use. Also I have integrated my Rp 500 with this unit so my possibilties are even more endless. And running 2 metal pedals in this mix.

    I've tried alot of multi effects units looking for something that can actually use easily and with has other types of effects. Unlike all the other ones out there. So get this thing and be inspired to rock...

  • from Livermore, CA August 12, 2009Music Background:
    Gigging musician - 1-2 times per week.

    Blown away

    I bought this after watching their clinician's demo. He had it connected to an Orange amp and was using its preamp. This is the first multi effects that does this! No longer am I forced to use pedals.

    When I got it home it took a few minutes to understand the wiring but I ended up using 3 20' cables and zipping them together to form a sort of snake. It sounds great with my Vox AC-30. The RP1000 sits out front while my amp is at the back of the stage with the 3 cables running to it. I also just got the HardWire pedal, it's pretty cool. Why doesn't DigiTech advertise them? They're absolutely cool!
    I would recommend buying this. My Line 6 X3 is now collecting dust except for when I record and need to get one particular heavy tone which it rules. Gigwise, the RP1000 is the most solidly built effect (including pedals) that I've ever owned.

  • from Ypsilanti, MI USA July 30, 2009Music Background:
    Gigging musician and recording engineer

    Update - you can set one of the other switches to be the amp loop switch...

    I wrote the previous review before reading the manual...and didn't yet know that you can assign switches 6-10 to do pretty much what you want, including enable / disable the amp loop.

    So, I give it 5 stars now!

  • from West Chester, oh January 30, 2017Music Background:
    Worship Music

    The Edge's Rig on a Small Budget

    This is very versatile unit for the right price. Whoever says he cannot find a good tone or that it is not for pros has not spend quality time with this pedal. For me it works best using the four cable method. It puts the distortion, wah, and compressor before the pre-amp and the delay, chorus, reverb, etc. after the pre-amp. You get the best tone out of your tube amp using this method.
    I use 1 to five presets per song. Depending on how complicated it is. That is one of the reasons it works perfectly for me. You have 5 to 10 presets just available instantly with the push of a button depending if you use the pedal or preset mode.
    I use a lot of dotted eighth delay and some modulation to get the U2 sound. Also the distortions are really good. You can get distortions ranging from transparent distortion (the guy) to very dark metal distortion. The only thing I would change would be the number of characters for naming the presets. You have to get very creative with only eight characters.

  • from Ohio March 15, 2016

    Awesome pedal, awesome service!

    I bought this this unit a couple of weeks ago to replace my rp 255. I wanted more control of my sound on the fly than the 255 could deliver. I couldn'the be happier! The pedal board mode on the 1000 is wicked, fully configure able for what effects I want to trigger on/off at will; instead of having to program multiple presets. Love it!! Also the folks at Sweetwater rock for customer service. I spoke with Bret Miller, not for a problem, but just to confirm I reviewed it. He rocks, a pleasure to deal with. Keep up the good work!!!

  • from October 12, 2015

    Great product!

    I am very pleased with Sweetwater and Digitech. Digitech makes a great product and Sweetwater knows how to sell it.

  • from North Dakota June 3, 2015Music Background:
    10 year versatile musician

    100% Worth it! Go Sweetwater!

    Let me put it like this; If this pedal was to get lost,damaged, or stolen I would immediately get on here and spend the money to get a new one. After reading reviews I took the jump and purchased the rp1000. I absolutely love the versatility this product provides. I have been able to tweak preset tones to find the exact sounds I am looking for. I am able to get all sorts of sweet custom sounds to cover anything from Van Halen to Tom Petty. Worth the buy!!! Would have given 5 stars however, due to the poor positioning of the built in loop button it isn't really accessible by foot you have to reach down and press it.

    On a different note, like many other reviews, I would like to give a shout out to the sweetwater crew! Never before have I had the kind of online customer service that they provide. Within an hour after my purchase I received a phone call from my Sweetwater engineer to give me their contact info and let them know if I had any questions about just about anything from Sweetwater. Guitar center just got rocked with competition. Sweetwater has my business!

  • from Indiana September 4, 2012Music Background:
    5 year hobbyist

    Awesome pedal!

    I love this pedal. It has a great variety of cool effects and a really good sound. It even has a bass effect that lowers the strings an octave which is really useful for me. The reason it doesn't have 5 stars is because it doesn't have the sound of a single effect pedal, but you have to expect that from a digital multieffect.

  • from bastrop,la usa November 15, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist-ballad,power metal,80's metal

    Great but...

    I bought this thinking it would be a good replacement for my late RP2000. IT WAS except it didnt come with a rythm trainer [the drum beat(s) that makes jamming fun when your alone] But the ability to use the 4 cable method and be free to use the RP's sound or your own amp's sound with the RP's effects only was really awesome! Easy to use preface/easy to dial in a sound/tone. Looper is cool but only 20 sec.and was a waste to add inputs for a footswitch to control ONLY a 20 second looper..But overall is a more than great entry level F/X,amp modeling stomp box that is road ready,heavy duty,durable and easy to use.

  • from Baltimore November 25, 2009Music Background:
    Forever - I still have an original Morley Power-Wah! Mostly Blues & Worship now.

    Most of what you need in one box

    Excellent pedal. I run my synth guitar (w/GR-20) through a keyboard amp. The downside is that the clean sound of the amp does nothing for the humbuckers. Enter the modeling/FX pedal. Digitech does it right and in stompbox mode gives you most of what you need to flavor any sound. I DID find the programming of the patches so frustrating that I gave up and used the stock sounds. Then I plugged in the USB - This is definitely the way to go! The layout of the patch software is easy and understandable and you can instantly tweak the FX. The pedal has 100 pre-sets and another 100 user presets, so there's more than enough room to store you favorite/tweaked patches. I would have given this a much lower rating before I tried the USB software. Now I would have to say it's one of the best deals out there. The minus half point was for the Phrase looper which is anything but convenient to use - I only wanted to lay a back track to play against, but it's not worth the effort - Just get an RC-2 and be happy

  • from Ypsilanti, MI July 30, 2009Music Background:
    Gigging musician and recording engineer

    Great pedal

    I bought this to replace a Digitech GNX2, which is impossible to see in bright sunlight. I've had the GNX2 for several years...it's been a great pedal. Sounds great, built like a tank. It's even had a beer spilled on it and still works fine.

    However, we've begun playing more outdoor shows, and it's a must to be able to see the pedal in the sunlight.

    The RP1000 delivers. It's got better tone than the GNX2 out of the box, and is very easy to use. I received it on the night of practice, and I took it out of the box about 10 minutes before we started playing. I spent very little time thinking about the pedal during that practice...which is exactly what I'm looking for. Dead simple to use, great sounding, fun to play. There's obviously a lot of depth to this pedal, which I'm looking forward to exploring. The 4-cable setup is amazing. I was skeptical of going to the vaccuum style switches, but they're very easy to use. All in all, it's a big step up from the GNX2...and definitely easily visible in direct sunlight or daylight.

    I didn't give it a full 5 stars because the one switch I would love to have as a foot switch is not - the switch that turns off amp / cab modeling is made to use with your finger.

  • from Utah November 24, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Lost The Magic

    I owned a GNX4 before this unit. And even though the amps/effects of this unit are mostly included in that unit, this unit sounded to me like a generic, bland version of the GNX4's tone. If there is one word I could use to describe the over all sound of this thing it would be bland..

    What you gain in versatility you lose in great tone. All amp models sound boring. There is no rumble of bass when you are chugging away on your metal tones. The effects are generic and get you the sound of the effect, but none of the benefit.

    The noise gate is super annoying as it 'fizzles' out your sound. There isn't any sustain that I can seem to get out of the unit, and what little I can get is fizzled out by the noise gate. Turn the noise gate any lower and you get hiss. Everything sounds like you are in a tin can. Not a lot of top end.

    I tried to like the unit as I'm a huge fan of the GNX4. But, after spending hours with it trying to dial in magic that isn't there, I've given up on it. I even downloaded other presets made by those with the unit, and none of them sounded decent either.

  • from Palm Beach October 28, 2015

    Not for pro's

    This unit could have been a great thing, if it worked. The tone was good for cleans and choruses but only so-so for distortion. I like a more classic, plexi type crunch, and, while this can get there, it falls apart next to a real drum kit. On the other hand, if you like high-gain buzzy-fizz, you might like the distortions.

    I returned this unit because it would randomly change it's settings, even in the middle of a song, and required a re-boot to set it right. That means it can't be trusted in a commercial environment. Fortunately, Sweetwater can be trusted. I was outside the 30-day return "window" by a few days, but they took it back anyway. I'm glad I bought it here.

Questions about the DigiTech RP1000 Modeling Multi-FX Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway