0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound - 2 days left

Yamaha RH5MA Supra-aural Headphones - Closed Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Kenny Bergle

    Great value in headphones. These are very sturdy and sound like headphones costing much more!

  • from United States February 19, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Audiophile.

    Clear linear sound, sturdy construction

    I've had this headphones for 2 years and despite regular use they look, sound and feel like new.

    Almost perfectly linear except for a minor resonance at the high mids.

    Initially I had minor discomfort after wearing them for more than an hour at a time, but I have large ears & seem to have got used to them.

    Much better headphones compared to 3 other I've tried from other popular brands in this and slightly higher price range.

  • from S.W.MO June 20, 2014Music Background:
    OLD DRUMMER

    YAMAHA RH5MA HEADPHONES ROCK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i spent about three weeks checking out different reviews of headphones.My plan was to make the best purchase possible for the money I had to spend .After u sing these phones for several weeks,I can honestly say that if you buy these ,you wilt be quite pleased with the performance of the RH5MA headphones!! If your laptop or pc has one of the advanced digital audio technologies inside your surprise will be increased 10-fold !!!!! They may not be perfect,but they are close enough for my old ears!!!!!!!

  • from Joliette, Qc, Canada June 11, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician.

    Comfy, quality, what a sound...so pure.

    My 3rd pair...great reference headphones...love them. Great price compared to other brands...

  • from New York August 7, 2009Music Background:
    About 15 years home recording, touring local studios, and helping bands get good sounds!

    NS-10m of headphones!

    I've used these for years, and I just switched back to them. I don't know why I left them; there is no competition AT ANY PRICE! You can hear EVERYTHING in these. When you first put them on, you notice the flat response, and at first it doesn't sound good at all. Once you sink in to them, well, its a REVELATION! The positioning is crystal clear, I highly reccommend these for gaming and listening, not just monitoring. They do SHINE when monitoring, I got a comment from a "supreme being" of a vocalist saying he would trade me his BOSE and his AKGs for the one pair of Yamahas (not knowing the price), and that was in the first 5 minutes I got them, and they still aren't even broken in! You can just simply hear everything in the audio, vocal delays you didn't know were even there, kick drum squeaks, tom rattles and rings, the bassist tapping his finger to the beat on the body of his bass, and the guitarist's bad picking habits and lazy fretting hand (no more denials buddy lol)... all the information that "Hi-Fi" equipment tries to hide. For gaming, I think these were a better buy than my new GPU! I have used every brand and every pair of headphones extensively, and I keep coming back to these...also the build quality is better than some $400 headphones! I don't know what Yamaha did right when they designed these, but IT IS SO VERY RIGHT! I am ordering a few more pairs as soon as my Sweetwater rep gets in to work this morning! I suggest you do the same, I hear Yamaha might discontinue these like they did the NS-10m. DON'T DO IT YAMAHA! These are like reading glasses!

  • from Tallahassee June 12, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Teacher

    Forget the Specs - Go with your ears!!

    The specs will say that these are just average headphones, but after comparing these with some of the best names on the market, these down right ROCK!! Clarity throughout the entire frequency spectrum, lightweight, comfortable, and affordable!! What more can you ask for? My ears said "Thanks!!!"

  • from San Antonion Texas March 21, 2013Music Background:
    Band Director/music composition/arrangements/original

    Yamaha RH5MA

    I had a pair of these headphones for 17 years. They finally broke due to my careless accidental dropping them on the floor. The headphone broke off the swivel arm. These phones have pro line sound quality like the much more expensive models. I am going to order another pair.Thankyou! clap clap clap clap clap clap clap clap clap clap clap clap clap!

  • from East Moline, IL USA July 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Headphones

    I've gone through many pairs of headphones over the years, and I am the most satisfied with this pair from Yamaha. They are sturdy, comfortable, and accurate. I'm sure that if I could afford to spend more for a pair of headphones I would find better ones, but at the $100 or less price point, these work just fine for a home studio.

  • from nutley nj usa September 22, 2011

    good choice nice fit great sound-ok sweetwater!!

    glad i found sweetwater

  • from Leo, IN August 9, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer \ Remixer

    Great, and comfy for hours.

    The RH-5MA's are very comfortable, with a lightweight feel and breathable wear. They have perfect frequency response for rock or electronic music. Very durable.

    I sent back a pair of over-rated AKG's, which made everything sound muddy, like some high-school theater production.

  • from NJ June 16, 2007Music Background:
    Serious hobbyist

    OK, but too much bass

    I like flat response in speakers and headphones. These are fairly comfortable, but the bass is way too pronounced and fatiguing. If you close off the slots (I used tape) the bass is much better.

    If you are considering open phones in this price range, I recommend AKG 240's instead. They cost a little more, but are in an entirely different league.

Questions about the Yamaha RH5MA Supra-aural Headphones - Closed?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway