0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance Last Chance

TC Electronic RH450 450-Watt Compact Bass Head Reviews

4.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the TC Electronic RH450 450-Watt Compact Bass Head?

Questions about the TC Electronic RH450 450-Watt Compact Bass Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Rich T
    from Texas October 2, 2014Music Background:
    Old school bass player

    Love It

    This is a really great sounding amp with a ton of features. Clean and powerful and I love the size and weight. Tuner is great and the I/O's are awesome. Love the practice mode with the headphones.

  • Gregory Hitch
    from Anaheim, CA September 16, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Band

    Soo many features

    I've own this amp for 3 months now, and if you just plug it in it sounds good. BUT, that isn't why I bought this amp. What really sets this unit apart is the fact that it is greater than the sum of its parts. It has a tube-tone effect, compression, a tuner and an excellent EQ. All of these extra functions work great, and everything is digital with 3 available presets so you can save your custom setups.

    This just saved me $$$ on an EQ, compression pedal, and a fuzz pedal.

  • John
    from Plymouth, NH July 19, 2013Music Background:
    working musician

    Wonderful amp!

    What a sweet sounding amp! I run it through the TC RS410 and RS212 cabs. Has a very warm, organic, tight, and defined tone. I play a P-bass and you can hear the wood. People get worked up about the "real" power rating but they don't understand that TC uses a completely different power management system than other solid state amps. Think tube amp power. Bass players have been shaking stadium stages with 300w Ampegs for decades. Same idea and, actually, very similar tone except that the RH450 is more defined in the lower notes. This amp will blow other 500w solid state amps completely away. Great tone and power to spare. If you're looking for a harsh, metallic, Billy Sheehan-ish tone, this isn't the amp for you. If you like a round natural, tone - this amp is you.

  • Art Narvaez
    from Marshfield, WI USA October 15, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Awesome Sound!

    Unbelievable sound - just watch the videos on YouTube. I agree with Steve Bailey and can't believe how loud this sounds for the rating (bass player for Public Enemy was gonna use two RH450 heads running 2 RS212 cabs each, but it was too loud and opted for 1 RH450 running 3 RS212 cabs).

    You can run 3 tc electronic 8 ohm RS cabs with this head (for a total impedance of 2.6667 ohms) or two 8 ohm cabs from another manufacturer (total impedance of 4 ohms). I am currently using it with a RS 212 (which is amazing as well and it has plenty of bottom and overall volume). There is a review out on the internet somewhere that stated that the overall volume was around 230 watts but that it felt like a 450 watt amp, thus the 450 watt rating. I usually can't turn it past 9 or 10 o'clock when I'm at home (and that's just using the RS212, let alone with the RS410 also).

    I love the preset option and use the optional footcontroller with it as well. I use the headphones with the RCA inputs in the back of the amp to play along with my iPhone or laptop. The TubeTone is great as well especially since you can save the level as part of a preset. So, I can have a slap tone, finger funk tone, and a picking rock tone saved and switch back and forth. The tuner is handy as well especially with the foot controller since it also displays the tuning notes and has the mute switch to engage silent tuning.

    I cannot say enough good things about this amp. My EBMM Bongo 5HH and Carvin SB5000 both sound amazing through this amp. I get full useability of my onboard preamps on both basses. And if that isn't precise enough, I can make use of the semi-parametric EQs for each of the 4 bands (I think they overlap from 75Hz to 6kHz, so they cover alot of frequencies).

    If you live in central Wisconsin, feel free to look me up and I'll let you hear how good this amp sounds (and how loud it is!)

    If you really need something louder than this amp, go with the RH750.

  • Jeff TenEyck
    from Detroit, MI October 25, 2013Music Background:
    30 year music scene vet

    Awesome amp, awesome company

    Ordered and received this amp within 24 hours..amazing Sweetwater! And to those who say this amp is not 450 watts, you must have a bad one. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is I don't have the RS10 cabs yet, lol. I hooked this thing up to a Mesa Powerhouse cab and it shook the whole house at only half volume. Thank you Sweetwater, I wil buy from you again..JT

  • Robert
    from Corning, NY USA March 29, 2012Music Background:
    Jazz Bassist. Home recording enthusiast.

    Great piece of gear!!

    Sounds fantastic. the compression is the best integrated compression I've ever heard in a bass amp. the EQ is infinitely tweakable. There is plenty of power for a small to medium gig. The overall sound is beefy but clean. I play electric and upright bass which have completely different EQ and compression requirements. I've been looking for an amp for quite some time that will accommodate both my needs. Now I can switch my settings by hitting a button and calling up a preset. How easy is that? This thing is a major step up from any other amp in its price range.
    Criticisms: 1. The shift button allows the user to change the center frequencies of each EQ band but there is nothing that tells the user what frequency he/she has selected. You can use your ear of course but if you're looking to dial in a specific frequency you can only guess. Not a show-stopper but a little inconvenient. The manual does supply you with the default center frequencies and ranges.
    2. Not a big fan of the tube tone so far. Maybe as I familiarize myself with it I'll grow to like it. Even at the lowest setting I get distortion as opposed to 'warmth'. When it is completely off the tone is clean and full/balanced.
    This was definitely money well spent.

  • Paul Rosano
    from Cheshire, CT December 15, 2015

    Great amp, poor quality construction

    This is a great sounding amp with the cheapest crap control knobs imaginable. For such a high end sounding amp, it's kind of amazing it has this major design flaw. Perhaps we

    were just unlucky but we gave up having the control knobs replaced after the third set fell off. And I mean fell off. They strip after moderate usage over about a three-month

    period and stop functioning. It's incredibly frustrating. So your just left with just the spine of control interface. This is the most important aspect of the amp after its

    basic sound quality, the human interface. It's awful. We love TC products and we own many. But this is just inexcusable.

  • Charles
    from August 23, 2011

    236 Watts for real

    Wow, TC advertises this as a 450 watt amp. Some companies fib a little and fudge specs but TC has taken it to a new level. 236 glorious watts at 4 ohms, people. That's right, just over half of what TC claims. Perhaps if I had paid half the price for mine I wouldn't be so sore about it. Will not deal with TC again.

Questions about the TC Electronic RH450 450-Watt Compact Bass Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway