0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Ibanez RG Series RG8 - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Ibanez RG Series RG8 - Black?

Questions about the Ibanez RG Series RG8 - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Rockwall,TX May 30, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician

    Way Cool and Fun to play!

    I'm an advanced 6 string shredder and own a Ibanez Prestige 6 string.
    The neck is thin and fast. I have not had it professionally set up yet, but I am really pleased with it and think that the 8 string is easier to adapt to from 6 string than a 7 string is. The pickups sound fine. This thing is built solid as a tank sort of like a Schecter. You will not be disappointed with this axe. Definitely an inexpensive cool addition to any collection and really fun to experiment with.

  • from Kokomo, IN January 8, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Session Player, Closet prog metal junkie

    Delightfully Suprised

    Its not a perfect instrument... but its certainly built above its competition in this price range. Very solid. Great Feel. I personally have changed the pickups, though they weren't bad at all to begin with.

    An excellent choice for those wanting to venture into the 8 string realm.

  • from December 11, 2012

    Quality instrument

    The quality of this guitar is second to none. It plays smoothly and the pickups are passive, great clean or distorted and not muddy on the 8th string.The craftsmanship of the instrument is excellent, easily could sell for 700-800 bucks. I am thoroughly satisfied with it excellent buy.

  • from Texas December 10, 2012Music Background:
    Recording, Performing, Producer

    Excellent Buy

    I will say right off the bat, I am very surprised they are selling this for 400 bucks. This guitar has the quality of a 1000 guitar. There are a few items that reminds you this is a budget guitar, but overall this guitar feels midrange level.

    The good things about this guitar: Frets are nicely done, the pickups sound extremely good and very clear (very surprised). Tone of the guitar and feel are really good. Plays fantastic.

    The... well reminder that its budget: The neck is not perfectly smooth, and the wood does not resinate tonally as a 1500$+ guitar made of basswood. The paint is pretty cheap feeling.

    Okay so you can see my grips are really nit picky. But I will say that if I paid 800$ for this I would not have complained. This is a steal for 400$ and if you are wanting an 8 string, I would pick this over the other brands and the RGA8 that Ibanez has. So unless you can go for the premium model stick with this, you won't be sorry.

  • from Los Angeles June 9, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar technician

    Worth every penny!

    The 8 string is one of those guitars that I often find myself thinking is of no use to me, then I hear someone play some amazing melodic and brutally heavy music with one and it makes me want to take the plunge so I did when I found the Ibanez RG8 Black! I must admit most of the 8 string guitars I've played around this price range felt like toys and not real professional instruments. The ones on the high end felt like works of art but I'm about to spend that much money on a untested platform like an 8 string so when I found this RG, I knew I found the right guitar for me. The neck feels sleek and smooth like one would expect on the higher end 8 strings and it's consistent from the nut to the 24th fret in feel and shape. A+ for this design. The frets are tall and wide which I love and theres ZERO buzz even on the low F#. I use a set of .008's for the first six strings, then I use a .048 for the low B and a .058 for the low F# and even with these really light strings, I have no buzzing and I get a beautiful chiming tone from this guitar. The bridge looks and feels pretty solid which I think is what's contributing to the nice high end of this guitar. Honestly, I will be changing out the pickups but that's just because I'm very particular about my pickups but these aren't lacking in any way. I played one gig with this guitar in stock trim and it killed. This 8 string is by far, the finest 8 string I've found not only in this price range but even better than some of the more high end stuff.

  • from Las Vegas, NV September 9, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Hobbyist, 6 years exp

    A steal!

    The build quality of this guitar is beyond anything else in it's price range. Agile, LTD, Schecter, don't make an 8 string as good as this for this cheap. The biggest reason is the NECK.

    A 5 piece maple and walnut sandwich with titanium reinforcement rods in addition to the truss rod. This means it handles the tension of 8 strings pulling it without warping or requiring stupidly high action. If this is your first 8 string, you may not think the neck thin, but compared to others it really is. I have a really strong suspicion that this neck is the same neck Ibanez puts on higher end models, simply because the Iron Label RG8 (more the double the price) has the SAME neck. (My bandmate owns one). Not to mention the logo on the headstock is pearloid. The only difference between this RG8's and the RGIR28 neck and the prestige and premium models is the walnut is swapped for wenge.

    The guitar's only downside is the PASSIVE (but in active soapbar size) pickups, while not muddy, or compressed, they just don't have a lot of clarity on dirty tones. The bass overwhelms the highs very easily. Chords using the 7th and/or 8th string will sound mostly the root, the octave and nothing else.

    If you're torn between getting this RG8 and the Iron Label RG8, the only differences are better pickups, a killswitch, and a painted binding around the body. The Iron Label cost more than twice as much for those little things. It'd cost you less to upgrade it to those specs yourself.

  • from IRAN April 4, 2015Music Background:
    Math Metal Guitarist

    Great Instrument

    When changed stock passive pickups with EMG 808X Active Pickup,Get the Amazing Tone.

  • from PA August 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Gear Tech and Musician - 31 years on guitar, 21 on bass, 20 on percussion

    Tough Buy

    I wanted to experiment with an 8 string guitar. I purchased the RG8 understanding it was an economy guitar. While setting up the guitar, I found that I could not get the intonation set. Using a high resolution tuner, I found myself removing the spring on the 8th string, on the bridge, to get the saddle back against the rear of the bridge, and still the 12th fret would not match tuning with the open. I settled with where it was cause I ran out of room. Then, while tuning, I noticed that if I tune the guitar using the 5th fret method, it would not match on the tuner, likewise with the harmonic method between the 7th and 12th frets, it would not match with the 5th fret method. I gave up there. The bridge must have been placed improperly or the scale length doesn't calculate correctly with the size of the fretboard. This applies to the 6th, 7th strings as well, Simply put, it wont tune. Can't play a guitar that wont tune. I shouldn't have to spend all this time to get a chord to sound decent. What would happen on stage......

    The guitar body is basswood I guess. Sounds like a JCPenny guitar. I will say though that the relief was easy to set. I got the clearance I was looking for right away. Overall, this is why I don't play Ibanez guitars. Their bottom of the barrel guitars are not good at all. I'm sure if your Tosin Abasi, they'll make it work for ya, otherwise, its a no-go.

Questions about the Ibanez RG Series RG8 - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway