0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

sE Electronics SPACE - Specialized Portable Acoustic Control Environment Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the sE Electronics SPACE - Specialized Portable Acoustic Control Environment?

Questions about the sE Electronics SPACE - Specialized Portable Acoustic Control Environment?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Sunnyvale, CA May 2, 2017Music Background:
    Working industry professional

    A must-have tool!

    I already own a Reflexion Filter PRO but had need of a second unit. I decided to give the sE Electronics SPACE a try.

    Wow! Everything I liked about the PRO but less — in the best way. Less frequency anomalies, less outside noise, less coloration (ok, the PRO imparts very little but...)

    My rooms would need 5 figures worth of treatment (each!) to achieve what this bad boy does for under $300.

    These allow me to use my ribbon mics in places where that would ordinarily be unthinkable. The flat surfaces do not induce comb filtering artifacts that are unavoidable in the inexpensive, corrugated foam types.

  • from New York City February 28, 2017Music Background:
    Experienced Composer/Pianist/Producer

    sE Electronic SPACE - Rocks!!!!

    My home studio windows face a noisy street. Vocals have always been a problem to record and almost impossible. Thank you Stewart Nevin for recommending the sE Electronic Space. The unit blocks out 90% of the noise. I was blown away by how much ambient noise was reduced. Quite impressive!!!! Easy to use and install!!!! ...Randy Klein

  • from Salt Lake City December 5, 2016

    This thing is the bomb

    If your room isn’t the greatest, before spending money on the latest la-dee-da microphone you should seriously consider getting one of these. Simple, built well but fairly light weight… it goes a long way toward taking the room out of the equation. My own converted 12’x14’ basement studio with carpet and old wood paneling has a kind of stuffed-head wooly midrange muck in the vocals. This completely fixes it.

  • from Hawaii August 4, 2016Music Background:
    Musician

    sE Electronics SPACE

    Excellent! Does exactly what it's advertised to do ... it took the ambience out of vocals in an untreated room ... just made sure the open side faced off center from opposite corner. Reflections behind the SPACE which was two feet off center from an untreated corner were non existent. It is surprisingly lightweight, and the mounting hardware is robust and centers the weight over the mic stand so very stable. :-)

  • from Puerto Rico May 10, 2016Music Background:
    Recording and mixing engineer

    Outstanding!

    I would recommend the SE Space to anybody who is looking to get that pro studio sound! It's 10 times better than the cheap foam reflection filter I used to have. I used to get some high frequency sizzles when I recorded with the foam filter but with the Space there are no sizzles at all, only the ones the mic makes Lol! The SE Space and a good condenser and your good to go!

  • from Prospect Heights, IL December 21, 2015Music Background:
    Electronic Musician, Vocalist, Mixing Engineer

    The Missing Link for Pro Vocals

    All too often people neglect the acoustic environment they are recording in. This product significantly reduces comb filtering and room reflections from behind and the sides. Additionally, it will attenuate the vocalist's voice before it starts hitting the walls in the room. I've recorded plenty of vocals in the past, and was never satisfied with results. Once I got to the mixing stage I had to spend tons of time trying to fix comb filtering and bad room sound. We had used a makeshift vocal booth with a cheap knock-off filter, and all it did was roll off some high-end reflections. A lot of the sound was still bouncing around in the booth. This reflexion filter does an incredible job of cleaning up your sound, and gets you much closer to that Pro sound. The acoustic environment is just as important as the mic, preamp, and talent. Don't skimp on it, or your vocals will end up sticking out like a sore thumb. It filters the entire frequency range, not just the highs. Don't be intimidated by the quality and price, sE Electronics spent a huge amount of time developing this product, and you can hear the difference.

  • from November 3, 2015Music Background:
    Home studio, vocal, sax, Leslie recording

    It really works!

    I needed something for a ribbon mic and decided to try this. I wasn't really expecting it to work all that well. I was wrong---it really does work! Not quite an isolation booth, but much closer to that then I ever expected.

  • from Hollywood August 26, 2015Music Background:
    Producer / Engineer

    This does a great job of focusing the sound

    I didn't know what to expect. I ordered this based on reviews I had read online and some YouTube clips that I saw. I use this with a ribbon mic (AEA 92), and this really helps bring the sounds into focus.

    It works great on both guitars and vocals. For guitars, I am mixing up some small vintage amps (1946 era).

  • from Las Vegas August 18, 2015Music Background:
    Music Producer, Rapper

    Amazed

    So I was first sceptical about getting this and wen through countless YouTube reviews and couldn't tell the difference (mind you my room is not acoustically treated) and to record some lyrics without it and then with it I found can definitely hear a huge difference in my record I highly recommend getting this if your room ain't treated and need that acoustic vocals my next step is to get my room treated but with this I won't have to stall on recording any vocals

  • from Berkeley, CA May 29, 2015Music Background:
    Everything

    The Best!

    I have a project studio and I had a cheaper "Mic Shield" before this. I recently upgraded my studio and bought this filter. I can tell the difference immediately. Sounds like a booth where I record now. It's not even funny how much better it sounds. Incredible!!!!!!! I'm literally blown away. Went from "Hollow" sounding vocals, to full sounding vocals with almost no extra background noise!!!! This "Space" Reflexion Filter is the best!

  • from Fort Walton Beach, FL August 20, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Artist, D.J

    A Definite Upgrade!

    I was previously using an Aurelex Mudguard and while it did its job the build quality and overall "deadening effect" was horrible. I went ahead and took a leap of faith and got this and i must say what an upgrade. I don't usually write reviews but i love this thing it's built nice and sturdy looks very high quality instead of glued down foam like other products this stuff is top notch ,thick, and nicely made. I did a few tests and used this in an untreated room with one of my Modded Michael Joly Mic 's and was impressed by the nice upfront sound and clarity i got back using this. Rappers and singers alike that have come into my studio love how this thing looks. needless to say i sold my old mudguard on ebay the next day. And big thanks to my Sweetwater rep Ed Needler.

  • from May 2, 2017

    It makes a difference!

    We were struggling with unwanted slap from an untreated wall. We added the Reflexion Filter and noticed an immediate difference. Great product.

  • from Ohio, USA September 28, 2016Music Background:
    Shakuhachi Zen Flute and recording artist.

    Excellent.

    The improvement is sound was great. It provides for a very clean recording space. The only down side is it is heavy and thus I had to secure my mic stand to a keyboard stand. I am not sure I would trust the two little 'sand' bags to provide balance. I am very happy to have it and the improvement in recording far outweighs any need to stabalize the mic stand.

  • from Milford, CT May 9, 2016

    Works as advertised

    I've found a significant improvement in isolation using this isolation panel and would recommend it to anyone recording vocals in an untreated/poorly treated room.

    Be sure to pair with a microphone with the correct polar pattern for best results!

  • from December 4, 2015

    Pretty well made.

    I kind of expected more engineering involved with this product. However, it is well made.

  • from Tampa, fl September 2, 2014Music Background:
    Dj, Recording and mixing engineer, writer

    not what I need, but may be for others

    I have a very small vocal booth that is treated with foam which brings down all the airy roomy noise and mid to high frequency annoyances. I have also treated it to keep outside noise where it belongs. The only issue I have is because size and shape i tend to have muddy low boomy vocals with certain voices. This was my sole reason for purchasing the Se Space, and I was hesitant because I doubted it could touch the lower frequencies. In my case, I was correct. Doing blind a/b tests on identical vocals laid down with exact same mic and positioning in same session, the vocals without this product actually sounded better. looking with frequency analyzers I found that the 125hz to 500 were actually increased with the Se Space which confirmed my blind ear comparisons. It did smooth out the overall shape, but it also raised the low end slightly. The difference was so small and negligible for my treated space that I am returning the unit. For an untreated room or for tracking in the control room, it may be a different story but I did not test for that. I've purchased bass traps from Gik, and will be finishing my acoustic treatment for half the cost of this product. I also recommend mattress foam and/or cheap memory foam for high end treatment if you just want dry clean recording. It is just as effective at deadening a space as the products sold, and actually a/bs equivalent to this product. Just don't expect foam to get rid of low end modal issues, and don't go for this to clean up mud in a treated room. Buy a proper panel bass trap or make one.

Questions about the sE Electronics SPACE - Specialized Portable Acoustic Control Environment?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway