0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Roland RD-700NX Reviews

4.5 stars based on 17 customer reviews
  • from Danville Indiana USA December 10, 2013Music Background:
    I still I'm amusical G

    I changed my mind considerably

    When I first got this keyboard I wrote a pretty bad review. I would like to change that review because it was not the keyboard that was the problem it was the operator. I have since spent time learning the instrument and the controls and I have to say it is a incredibly nice keyboard. The editing flexibility and the control flexibility are almost endless. I highly recommended indeed and I regret my first review.

  • from Houston August 28, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Classical Pianist

    Best Keyboard I've ever played

    I absolutely love this thing. My background is classical piano. I've got the performance degrees, played publicly everywhere from New York to LA. I'm used to excellent grand pianos (I have a vintage Mason and Hamlin Model BB) and have played concert grands my whole life. This keyboard comes closer to those than anything else by a mile. The keyboard is crisp and extremely responsive, not mushy at all like most others, handles fast repeated notes with ease, and the keytops are textured and feel wonderful under the fingers. I can't say enough good things about this keyboard. I actually prefer it to a lot of real pianos. That's saying a lot.

  • from Cheyenne, WY December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Worship leader, musician, percussionist

    Needed a decent sounding keyboard

    But got a stunning sounding piano that happens to be electronic and can play pad and strings as well. Really, you need to go into a music store where they have one of these and try it out. It feels very much like playing a piano and the controls are easy to use and setup for a variety of playing styles and sound needs.

  • from Folsom, CA November 15, 2012Music Background:
    Expert

    The best money can buy, hands down, on the keys

    This is easily the best electronic piano emulation ever made. The pianos are as good as you will ever need for any project or performance. The other sounds are also insanely good. The build quality is pure 100% Japanese ROBUSTNESS . Every detail has been well thought out and implemented to perfection. The keys are so fun to play you will completely lose track of time. Yes it is expensive, but what thing in life worth having does not require sacrifice? You can't name any. The price is fully justified IF you are passionate piano player and want the very best money can buy under your fingers. It's that simple. HOME RUN. LOVE IT.

    PS: to the guy below who said the pianos sound bad. Very sad statement. Not sad because the pianos sound bad, they don't, they are BRILLIANT, sad that he is so obssessed with minutia that he can't hear the beauty of the music this keyboard can make under skilled hands. I shall pray for him.

  • from MA USA September 24, 2012Music Background:
    Recording

    Amazing

    I had a yamaha P-95 basic stage piano and i thought that was a nice piano which it was, it was decent. I recently purchased this piano and .... WOW... it is incredible, the sound quality is mind blowing, i always wanted to be able to feel the music more, similar to the feeling when your at a live concert; its electrifying. This keyboard does an amazing job at doing that i get so into my music its unbelievable. This piano surely is an investment but its worth every penny in my opinion! I recommend this 100%

  • from Utica, NY USA April 6, 2012Music Background:
    Student, Musician and Home Recording Hobbyist

    The Best Keyboard Out There

    I've used this keyboard in numerous applications ex. jazz bands, solo gigs, and recording. It is very stable and perfect for every project. The Supernatural feel is incredible. One of the only downsides to this is the weight. The 700NX is very hard to classify in the portable category. The sounds on it are amazing and the V-Link is very useful. I love it!

  • from Fountain Inn, SC December 23, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Live Sound Engineer

    The Best Stage Piano on the Market!

    I myself have the RD-700GX1 (which includes the SuperNATURAL Pianos). The NX is just the next in the line up. I have loved the RD-700 since the SX series several years back, and Rolands has always outdone themselves. The Touch and Feel of the Third Gen - Progressive Hammer Action (PHA3) keys is the BEST in the business, and the synthetic Ivory keys are amazingly effective when out gigging and you get those sweaty hands. Now, in comparison to other stage pianos, the RD-700GX and NX are some of the heaviest stage pianos in the business because of the PHA3..... so if weight is a concern too you, I would look into the RD-300GX. But, I have had many Pianists sit and play my RD-700GX and comment on how shocked they are at the quality of sound and realism of the Action. But I also wish I had a 300gx sometimes as well, Cause the RD-700NX/GX weighs over 55 pounds. So bear that in mind.

  • from sydney December 10, 2010Music Background:
    pro musician

    roland rd 700nx

    amazing 3 grand pianos 3 electric pianos ivory pha3 keys easy to use nice sound & touchresponce the best rd series congratulations to roland job well done very recomended gear to all whos looking for digital pianos promise you wont get disappoint on this gear perfect 5 stars.....................................

  • from LA, CA July 30, 2013Music Background:
    Pro

    Roland RD-700NX

    This keyboard was everything I hoped it would be. It is intuitive with a great feel to the keys themselves. Wonderful sounds and a fine sense of "touch". Easy to navigate with lots and lots of user programming capabilities that will take some time to learn. My only "concern" is that I wish there was more variety in the "synth" sounds and pads as many seem quite similar. Great keyboard for the price!

  • from Laura, Ohio February 16, 2013Music Background:
    At this point in my life, hobbyist

    Awesome

    For a old guy who's 1st "acoustic" piano sound was a Yamaha CP70, then a Roland RD300S I've had for 25 years, my RD700NX is an absolute joy to play.

  • from Denton, TX January 15, 2013Music Background:
    Electronic Composer, Professor, Associate Dean

    solid keyboard with fantastic feel

    Pros: Of the keyboards I have tried this one has the feel that is closets to an acoustic piano. It has a very solid build and a great variety of piano sounds. The electric piano and organ sounds are quite good. I was also pleasantly surprised at the quality and diversity of other sound possibilities. Editing is pretty straightforward and relatively easy. The iPad editing app is also a nice feature. Overall, I am incredibly satisfied with the instrument and it marks a huge improvement from my old Roland RD-600 that this is replacing.
    Cons: I only wish that the iPad app was also available for my laptop/desktop computers as I work primarily in a studio environment rather than a performing environment and this would be a welcome addition---other than this minor, nit-picky suggestion I really love the instrument.

  • from San Francisco, CA January 11, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Roland RD-700NX

    Love the keyboard feel as well as its sound capability. Great UI as well. Was thinking of the RD-300 but really liked the UI and feel of the 700.

  • from Minneapolis, MN November 1, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Roland RD-700NX

    Love the keyboard, sounds and ease of use on stage

  • from Decatur, Il. August 1, 2013Music Background:
    Church Organ and Keyboard Musician.

    Mark F.

    My Roland RD-700NX looks and sound as great as its name. I truly enjoy playing and composing music. Thanks Roland,

  • from Maine June 17, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend warrior

    Rd700nx- - well I didn't send it back!

    My long term suffering sales engineer at sweetwater understands this is quite high praise from me. Ok - I'm fairly picky about piano sounds and I've tried just about everything. I like my ivory 2 Steinway through good Adam near field monitors but I have never found a live piano sound that seems to fit in well and competes adequatelywith a guitar, bass and live drums. Everything just sounds to thin to me in the live setting . The rd700nx is the first piano that seems full bodied enough to keep me happy ( have had privilege of trying Roland v piano once and that is not unexpectedly even a little better ). I use it with a bose unit -mono or stereo and this seems to be the best combination yet. The Bose lets me hear myself and piano sounds are real enough not to make me cringe . Keyboard feel is really quite wonderful. Organ simulations with drawbar functions and Leslie simulation are surprisingly good and will fool 99% of the audience. Personally , I don't like the Rhodes that much - (prefer other brands versions) but they are fine . One caveat - bass on this thing kicks through so much you will likely annoy your bass player and then spend some time eq 'ing the bass down (I certainly did - was kind of fun for a short time )

  • from Fort Wayne, IN January 7, 2012Music Background:
    worship band keys, amateur sound man, sound system wiring & maintenance, DAW user

    great live keyboard

    CCatG bought this a few months ago. I play in the modern worship band that goes anywhere from piano meditative to hard-driving guitar worship music where I may use the sound design control to punch a piano part, or use organ or synth sounds to complement the sounds of that type of song.

    At Christmas time, this keyboard could be piano, orchestra, split keyboard to have cello and flute ala TSO, and bells.

    Being able to layer the sounds with the on/off button and to have the sliders to adjust the volume of the various 4 layers make being creative on-the-fly a lot of fun and you only have to have this one keyboard.

    The piano action, key construction/look, and the great depth of sound has really enhanced the worship at CCatG. The strings actually have depth, not a thin, old synth-like piercing sound.

    I had 2 Sweetwater people show me the various aspects before purchasing and their help was pivotal in buying this keyboard.

  • from Nashville, TN June 7, 2011Music Background:
    former pro kbd player, and glad to be out of it

    Marginal

    I bought a new RD700GX 3 years ago. It's a good stage box, very versatile with the four layers, foot controller, and a good assortment of factory patches. I've tweaked the patches considerably, and am mostly pleased with the product.

    I have two major annoyances:
    (a) The acoustic and electric pianos sound like a stinking pile of failure.
    The acoustics are boxy, mid-heavy, brittle, and just plain ANNOYING.
    I've spent many days tweaking them, and still hate them. I think I will have to buy a stereo 1/3-octave EQ for this problem.

    (b) The software has a bug that causes the box to forget that it has the lowest octave. During my 5-hour show, I will usually have to cycle the power several times, to restore the lower octave. It has always done this. I have never found a firmware upgrade.

Questions about the Roland RD-700NX?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway