0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Boss RC-300 Loop Station 3-track Looper Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 36 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss RC-300 Loop Station 3-track Looper Pedal?

Questions about the Boss RC-300 Loop Station 3-track Looper Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from California April 10, 2017Music Background:
    20 years of playing for food scraps and free beer (so far)

    Great gear. Great supplier. Many thanks.

    The boss loop station line has a noticeable difference in sound when there is a lot of sound coming through, it will not be as clean as when it was first played. Otherwise, this is a really fun pedal and a fantastic tool to learn to lead as well as write parts and be able to jam with yourself until you find the mix you are looking for. I always joked (with the smaller boss RC-30) when I would play at bars, "it's like having a rhythm guitar player or bassist that doesn't get offended when you adjust their sound or turn them down." Overall, this pedal does infinitely more than the RC-30 and once I was able to afford it, Sweetwater is the place to get great gear quickly. It arrived very fast and has been a blast to use. I've been able to accommodate the loops risirual loss of sound quality by putting the output through added pedals, but again, if you want something that's going to sound absolutely perfect with many loops going and you find it feel free to let me know.

  • from March 28, 2016

    Awesome

    works great. I started using it immediately after opening!!!
    fast shipping s always.... great prices too!
    Jim

  • from Carter October 13, 2015Music Background:
    45+ years playing

    Awesome looper!!

    This is a great composition, jamming, and even performance tool. I've yet to get all the way through the long list of features, but from all i can see so far, Boss got it right with this one! I am really pleased and hope to be using it at solo gigs for rhythm guitar soon (my rc20 finally died after 10 years of hard work). I am totally pleased with the memory programmable options they included in this one. I would recommend this to anyone looking for advanced looping capabilities.

  • from river valley October 1, 2015Music Background:
    Many, but for now Jazz Rock Fushion

    RC-300 Looper is da bomb

    I love my new friend, the again I am from ole school when we were in awe of the Echo-plex, or doing things like, stacking a delay chain....
    slamming our fist don on our guitar anp so the springs in the reverb would dance and create a simulated boom...lol
    The BOSS RC 300 only awaits a master musician/ technician, to bear it's fruit...moneey well spent

  • from Ca, USA January 30, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Buy it...

    I have always had a looper on my board and decided to make the professional jump to this bad boy! I haven't even glanced back... I recommend really getting to know this pedal. The more you learn the more it has to offer. I've gotta have 2 now!

  • from Olympia, WA August 19, 2014Music Background:
    student for 45 years,

    Boss RC-300 Loop Station

    I love it.

  • from Walker, LA February 19, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Very nice addition to my rig

    This pedal is made of quality materials. It should last a lifetime of use. The controls are easy to use and there are plenty of in and out jacks on the back. My first attempt at making a loop was a disaster. I played one chord and it strated looping. Read the manual! My sedcond attempt was great! I put rhythm chords on track one and plan to put bass on track two and then drums on track three. I will then be able to play lead with great backup. This rig is great for practicing or to take on the road for a one man band. I like the ten built in loops.

  • from August 22, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    Boss RC-300 Loop Station

    It is just an amazing pedal to have and to use .. i am not a professional in looping, and i dont know how to beat box , iv been practicing and now im good with it and having so much fun with the looper .. the pedal is really easy to understand and it has alot of fun effects and modulations to use .. thanks to sweetwater and its amazing employees ,, Dustin helped me alot with everything before the purchase and the following up also ...

  • from Chicago, IL July 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A Powerful Musical Tool / Instrument...

    This thing is truly awesome. I tried the RC-30, but even with the extra pedal, it's difficult to use the two tracks independently -- and the effects were pretty much useless. Not the case with the RC-300. It looks big and complicated, but more pedals make it simpler to use. The built-in drum tracks are surprisingly good quality -- not just a cheesy drum machine, but actually usable. FX are neat. You can apply a reverb to the master output, and can apply delay, chorus, etc. to input, tracks, or output. Lots of routing and configuration flexibility. (The instruction manual is your friend.) It won't switch seamlessly between sets of loops, so for a song, you have the three loop tracks available to you, and that's it. But you can do a lot with them. Especially with separate undos and redos on each track.

    There are separate level controls for the inputs, master output, rhythm track, and loop tracks. This is really helpful for balancing instruments, the mic, and tracks with each other. It runs my condenser mic (Rode NT1A) with phantom power like a champ. Also, it works as a USB audio interface. When I'm jamming out, I plug my guitar into the left track, my bass into the right, and my mic into the input -- and after I've put together a few loops, I open up Audacity on my computer and record myself (via USB) jamming along with the loops, in case I come up with anything good. Then switch it to USB storage mode and download the original loop tracks, to save with the sound file from the jam. For me, the RC-300 is a creativity flow machine, and I really like it. Looking forward to taking it on stage at some point.

  • from Mo April 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    RC 50

    I own the RC 50. It is fantastic. Does not have the effects and expression peddle like the RC 300 but it has three phrase loop's and you can compose stuff on the fly like nobody's business. I will be buying one of these soon but I am keeping my RC 50 as a backup. The RC 300 I'm sure is that much better.

  • from Florence, AL USA March 20, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Student

    Boss RC-300 Loop Station

    This pedal is great!! And the service from Sweetwater was wonderful. Awesome experience all around!!

  • from riverside, ca. December 2, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    boss rc 300

    i did a lot of research on a lot of loopers and went with the boss 300. it was a great choice. i'm not real hip on all the new stuff and some of it is hard for me to program. not so with the rc 300. love it and enjoy using it.

  • from Pittsburgh April 8, 2012Music Background:
    none

    Boss RC 300 Loop Station

    Best loop station bar none, 99 saves 3 hours of space. Add back tracks and you don't even need a band, spending hours practicing perfecting songs that I never thought I would learn. Great for any body that does not have access to a band and needs backing.

  • from April 6, 2012

    Boss RC-300 Loop Station

    If anything, I feel as though I am not competent enough to use this device to its fullest potential. Practically limitless flexibility, awesome I/O, solid construction, etc. Everything you could want in a looper. The only complaint I have is the price. Took quite a hit to the wallet in purchasing this one.

  • from Arlington VA February 6, 2012Music Background:
    Active gigging musician

    Stop Thinking About It and Snag One of These!!!

    This was recommended by my awesome sale tech Corey Reynolds. I was using the two pedal scaled down version of this for a while and was looking for an upgrade. WOW! This guy is amazing. Can't wait to snag a second one and sync them up! I run my guitar, mic, and iPad (the aux in) through it and WHOA the possibilities are honestly endless! I've even messed around with my old trombone and the silent brass system with this pedal. Flat out: It makes performing a WHOLE lot more fun for both you and the audience (people get tickled when they see one of these used well) and makes practicing a new and engaging experience. Stop thinking about it and pull the trigger! You will not be disappointed.

  • from Salix, IA December 22, 2011Music Background:
    Musician/Producer

    Wow.

    I'm still pretty new to this thing, but I absolutely love it. This will give me the freedom to play live shows by myself which is something I've been working towards for quite some time. It takes a bit to understand all of the bells and whistles that this thing can do, but once you get the hang of it you don't ever want to quit playing. This has absolutely everything I would want in a loop station. I'm so happy to own this product!

  • from Lansing, MI December 7, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist with occasional gigs

    Wow!

    I'm just beginning to scratch the surface of everything this loop station can do, but I can already see that it will be an outstanding composition tool as well as opening the door for all kinds of possibilities in live settings. I will now be able to perform songs that I never would have thought of attempting at solo gigs.

  • from Outer Banks, NC October 19, 2012Music Background:
    Solo Acoustic Artist

    Great pedal... worth the upgrade

    I've been playing with the JamMan Chorus pedal for several years and finally realized it's limitations. This pedal exceeds that... and then some. I'm fairly new in using it so my brain is still trying to wrap around it's capabilities but in just a few gigs, I've been able to take my music to a new exploratory level. The ONLY reason I gave this pedal a 4.5 out of 5 rating is because it's sooooooo big. If you're like me and use lots of pedals, be prepared to make room.

  • from August 17, 2012Music Background:
    Performer/Producer/Remixer

    Boss RC 300 Loop Station

    Very nice item indeed - as advertised! it does take a bit of learning and getting used to, but does prove to be a very useful, powerful tool.

  • from USA August 6, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Team Musician

    RC-300 Loop Statioon

    I recently purchased the RC-3oo and have been inspired to create new music all in a matter of minutes. It is absolutely an incredible product. My only wish is that the display was bigger for easier reading, but besides that this is a must have "gadget" for the aspiring musicians of any level. Order yours today!

  • from Crescent City, CA June 10, 2012Music Background:
    enthusiastic home recorder

    Quite a bag of tricks!

    First of all I am probably not the most qualified to evaluate this device but let me share a couple of thoughts. This is a powerful, well thought out, and complex device that will need to be approached with enthusiasm and dedication to master. Most of the basic controls are straight forward, but to really reach it's potential you will need to spend some time and maybe have access to someone who knows this stuff.
    One negative comment - I use this device almost entirely with quality studio headphones and I have to say that the 16 bit output is in fact not super high fidelity. When I compare to the very simple 32 second phrase looper on my Boss ME-70 pedal board, the degradation of sound is very noticeable. However, I have not used the RC-300 for a live presentation and I believe that the sound quality is probably more than good enough for that. Having said that, I believe that the RC-300 is a very powerful and versatile instrument and as such must be studied and mastered to get it's full potential.

  • from January 5, 2016Music Background:
    10 plus years as a musician

    Stepping up from an RC-20xl this is a HUGE upgrade!

    I just received this for Christmas and am loving it so far. I am coming from a boss RC-20xl and so far it's a huge improvement. I haven't had a chance to fully explore all its functions so it could get 5 stars. On first impressions and a few hours of use it's easily a solid four stars.

    I will update with a full review once I have had a chance to use it longer.

  • from March 24, 2015

    Versatile tool to create compositions.

    Great tool for composing.

  • from San Marcos, CA January 11, 2015Music Background:
    Pro gigging guitarist jazz, blues, etc.

    Almost the perfect looper, but it is still awesome!

    This is probably the most versatile looper available. I use i primarily in my personal studio. In single track mode you have the capability of have 3 separate recording tracks for capturing ideas, arranging songs etc, and yes still retain traditional record/overdub functionality. I have used it live using the default loop mode and it is easy to use and feels natural like any other stomp box. I gave it four stars because you cannot erase individual tracks because all 3 tracks are tied to a single memory location.

  • from NM March 27, 2014Music Background:
    Fonky

    Best looper out there, ready to go...

    With live looping, flexibility is key to creativity... So, i approached the RC-300 having done about all the research possible to figure out whether or not it was the gear I needed to appropriate the phrasing and such to get the job done. It does. Could it have really been R and D'd better? Yep! But the RC-300 will suit just about anyone's style and approach. Sure, I would have liked different features, and could have done without some of the factory decisions, but after hours of play, found that the unit a actually allowed much more flexibility than I originally thought. To sum it up, I was willing to compromise features, but have rocked out fat loops and blown up heads with unreal compositions with this unit within hours of receiving it. Don't hesitate. Get it. If you think you won't use a lot of the features, just try em. I was a fool to think the rhythm crap and most effects wouldn't fit my production. I had 20 year old babes gyrating helplessly to "Flashlight" style funk grooves in no time flat. Just do it and buy the damn thing. Not like you can't ebay it to get your money back! These things go for for twenty bills less than new all day long. Once you get one, you won't want to get rid of it anyway. All them other fools who are selling theirs used are no-loop doops.

  • from mcallen, tx August 22, 2012Music Background:
    40+ years on guitar and attended Berklee School of Music

    it works

    I own 2. It's great to lay down an rhythm track. I send mine to my producer and I keep one to keep up with music. I only wish it had an edit feature or some way to punch in to correct a mistake. 3 tracks are usually enough to lay down a rhythm piece but i've gone so far as to buy the rc-30 also to duplicate the rhythm track and have doubled the lead tracks to 4. this is for 3 lead guitars to be added. let the produce handle the mixing. It is great for quality high end amatuer production

  • from Barbados June 1, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Great but needs version up

    Recording quality is fantastic. the inputs are real nice and beefy. I used a Samson cardiod condenser with the phantom power XLR input. It sounded great.
    The tempo control after recording audio is also cool. I wish they had put in some reverb/ eq for recording vocals into the RC300. You'll need something else before the input to get your vocals sounding good. I tried recording a long loop and discovered that the unit had difficulty pulling that off. It would play the first track fine but the other two played back glitchy and weird. Would be nice if the unit also saved the last used setting regarding the FX pedal amount and which tracks were in playback. It plays all tracks when you first call up the memory location. One more thing. Why give us a USB audio stream input without being able to record it to tracks?

  • from MO February 19, 2012Music Background:
    engineer, producer, remix artist, pro musician

    Fun Writing Tool

    This is my first looper and while I have a fine recording setup there is something desirable to me about writing with one project without the aid of computers. I probably use this a little different than the average user...I am not beat boxing or endlessly layering guitar parts on the fly (usually), but using it to capture and mangle phrases from synthesizers and drum machines, as an idea capturing and sound designing tool. It is very interesting and useful I think for capturing things that may not be easily recreatable, chance things like making loops off of circuit bent toys or random noises captured by a microphone. Having the Boss automatically capture the BPM off of what you record is very handy for things that may be somewhat loose or tricky to guess...it is also sometimes fun to drastically alter the tempo once into the Boss for stuttering/glitching type sounds.

    I do not find it flawless however. The effects are for most people probably going to be throwaways, and disproportionate maybe in certain categories. A couple of them are okay for certain things, but I think there is an absurd amount of samey-bad sounding distortions, and curiously the only effect in the guitar category is the guitar->bass effect, which is...um maybe the last thing one would expect to find the guitar category, especially when there is already a transpose effect? I find it surprising that there is not a compressor effect for all the beat boxers. Not as many delays or modulations as I would like...hopefully Boss can make an OS update to add more in the future? I mean there is the expression control added but there it seems like they could cater more effects to use this well...an obvious point being for example a wah-wah effect... At this price point I think they could do a little better with the effects. The preset drums are sort of lame and not the sort of thing anyone would probably use except as a scratch track, but I find myself using them as a reference when writing.

    I also find the operations of it somewhat quirky and not as well thought out as it could be. For example if you use external footswitches, I imagine most people will apply the same function for the footswitch in every patch...I think a global parameter would be nice as opposed to having to go in and set up your footswitches every time you start a new patch. I understand the flexibility they have added for the 1% of the time where this would be useful, but a global setting would save a lot of time for the rest of the users. Hooking up the computer for USB backup (I have not used the USB audio function) is also a bit awkward. The backup process is fairly slow for USB 2.0, and its also slightly weird that after ejecting the unit you have to disconnect the USB cable from the computer...NOT the unit, for it to disengage from the USB Idling screen...

    That said even though I've spent a lot of time on the negative things about the RC-300, I do find it a very inspiring purchase and really useful for my purposes, despite its flaws.

  • from Victoria, B.C. January 18, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend Musician so far

    RC-300: Professional Tool for a motivated musician

    This is the best looper yet. Have used various loopers before. It upgraded nicely from my RC-50, was able to take all my files from the RC-50 and fit them flawlessly into the RC-300 with lots of memory to spare. Was happy about that compatibility. As much memory as the RC 300 has, i wish it had more but if necessary I can get an additional RC-300 and operate it independently or in sync with the first unit.

    One reviewer, here or somewhere else incorrectly assumed the RC-300 was just an RC-30 with an extra track. Wrong the RC-300 is far more than that. One of the many features that are essential to my kind of looping performance is the ability to sequence tracks which the RC-30 cannot do. The RC-300 gives full functionality and intuitive performance. Just requires some reading of the manual and some trial and error practice sessions. Start with simple tasks then work your way up adding complexity as you go. The RC-300 can produce professional grade results with a relatively easy learning curve. An extra dedicated footpedal is a smart idea. You have to understand that being able to do "hands-free" multi-track recording live is very impressive for an audience if done well. It takes practice and clever planning. Being inspired to do some adventurous things onstage is okay but a bag of tricks can get you thru a tough night with a tough crowd. Having that extra memory means I can have those guaranteed songs "in the hopper" ready to go if I see a talent scout or booking agent in the crowd. This pedal is expensive and it takes a bit of effort to learn it but it gives vastly superior performance compared to any other looper out there. With one RC-300 you are equivalent to a three piece band and your gig income should be what a three piece band makes. If you have two RC-300's sync-ed then you are essentially a six piece band. It takes planning and work to pull that off but you will be a working musician that few can compete with. An RC-300 will never replace a great musician but some lame-brains and prima-donnas will be looking for new day jobs.

    Somewhat less than a full rock band and much more than a DJ is what you are looking at here to entertain the audience...for ego boosting, musical craftsmanship and money.

  • from SF, CA January 10, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Ultimate guitar player's toy

    The Boss RC-300 was as-advertised. The learning curve was gradual, as I was able to begin making loops within 20 minutes.

  • from Philadelphia, PA December 30, 2011Music Background:
    Composer, Producer, Pianist...

    Worth the Upgrade from RC-50 (but some issues)

    If you're afraid of another "two steps forward, three steps back" type of "upgrade"... FEAR NOT! They mostly got it right this time.

    First off, I was a power user of the previous RC-50... It had many well-known flaws.

    HERE'S WHAT'S BEEN FIXED COMPARED TO THE RC-50

    * No more hiccup when you record the first loop in sync mode...
    * Seriously, re-read that first bullet cause it is a HUGE improvement... It was a serious problem with the unit stalling for about a second before the first loop started to play back... Very embarrassing on stage.
    * MIDI Clock is FINALLY stable... If you work in MIDI you know why this matters.
    * No more tap dancing morse code with your feet... There are dedicated pedals for each phrase's start/stop and other critical functions now.
    * The manual is no longer 100 pages of poorly translated Japanese in 10 point font... Many gave up on the RC-50 due to its cryptic manual... Now it is actually in English!
    * An Expression pedal is now built in... Smooth level management of loops vs. live playing is critical in my opinion and now the RC-300 is capable of that right out of the box (the built-in Expression Pedal can be assigned to master level, drums level, etc.).
    * Much more recording time (three hours now vs. around 20 minutes in the RC-50).
    * They added built in FX... They are fun, not the main reason to upgrade though.

    WHAT THEY SCREWED UP THAT WAS GOOD IN THE RC-50

    * RC-50 was 24 bit D/A conversion... The RC-300 is 16 bit. If you are doing serious recording, you'll want your source tone to bypass the RC-300s D/A converters so it doesn't get bumped down to 16 bit resolution... Easily accomplished if you know how to route your source signal via mixers and you use the RC-300s optional "100% Wet" mode (with none of the original signal coming out of it, just the loops).
    * RC-50 allowed foot operation of "reverse" playback for each of the three phrases individually with dedicated switches and LED indicators... These switches/LEDs are gone in the RC-300, but a closer look reveals an external foot switch and/or MIDI workaround buried within the sub menu... Annoying... But at least you can still do it.
    * You can no longer assign "Rhythm On/Off" to an external foot switch... Again there is an external foot switch and/or MIDI workaround, so at least it is still there as an option.
    * There is no longer a simple footswitch for tap tempo input... REALLY! There is a tiny little button but good luck hitting that with your foot live... Again, the workaround requires either an external foot switch or external MIDI control.

    WHAT THEY GAVE UP ON THAT NEVER WORKED IN THE RC-50

    * The RC-50 claimed it could be a slave to an external MIDI clock sync...
    * This was super buggy and we could not use it live...
    * The RC-300 does not claim to have this feature at all... You can slave it to another RC-300 and that works fine, but you can't send it a MIDI clock sync from any other device.

    SUMMARY

    * Everything that was apparently lost compared to the RC-50 is still there but you'll have to access it via external foot switches and/or MIDI devices.
    * What they gave up is probably not important to most users... Who can REALLY hear the difference between 16 bit D/A and 24 bit D/A in the average performance environment?
    * What they fixed is CRITICAL! (No more hiccup bug and MIDI clock is now VERY STABLE).
    * It is MUCH easier to use than the RC-50 with the new pedal layout, simple manual, etc.
    * The fun factor rates very high... I thought the built in FX would be stupid but then I lost myself jamming with it for 2 hours or so and had to admit they are pretty fun.

    BOTTOM LINE: If you were a power user of the RC-50 be prepared to spend some time with external switch programming and MIDI control solutions, but you will be VERY pleased when you are done... If you just want a toy to play with, don't hesitate to buy this!

  • from mcallen, tx March 7, 2012Music Background:
    berklee school of music, 41 years guitar

    It Works

    probably deserves more stars but I'm very critical. I've used it for about 3 weeks and have had no complaint's I'm not as sophisticated as I should be on it but I'm learning., The basics are very user friendly and I'm able to record and add tracks with ease.

  • from June 1, 2016

    Volume Control - Rhythm

    Works great for what I need - which is something that will play through the chords on jazz standards endlessly. And easy to setup for recording the chords to a song. I do have a couple of problems, the play back volume both on the recorded tracks and the drum rhythm is very unpredictable. Sometimes it just comes blasting out way too loud and its very hard to understand why this is, or how to control it. Secondly I would like to have a better way to pick the drum rhythm. Have to cycle through the choices all the time is very tedious. Where's the foot control for that I wonder. Not there. So, it does the trick, but falls down a little on ease of use.

  • from March 20, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    CANNOT BE A MIDI SLAVE

    Packed with features but falls miserably short in that it cannot be a midi clock slave to any type of drum machine,, in my case specifically the DR-880. Some coloring of tone as well caused this otherwise great pedal to end up in the return pile.

  • from May 19, 2016

    Good pedal but average effects

    The FX section is not really convincing

  • from July 19, 2015

    An archtop tone destroyer

    I ordered this unit to be used with my arch top electrics. As a looper, it works and appears to have more functionality than most and is fairly easy to use the basic functions. Playing through the unit provides fairly accurate reproduction of the guitar's tone, however, the recorded loops are another story entirely. The recorded loop tone is muddied, muffled and nothing like the original. On the other hand, the brassy tone of a solid body is fairly well reproduced in a loop. To me, it suggests that the MC-300 cannot handle the lower and intense mid-range frequencies that the typical jazz guitar is known to produce. And for that reason I will reluctantly have to return it.

Questions about the Boss RC-300 Loop Station 3-track Looper Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway