0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Boss RC-30 Phrase Looper Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss RC-30 Phrase Looper Pedal?

Questions about the Boss RC-30 Phrase Looper Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jared Kalish

    The Loop Station is a staple in my bass rig for two main reasons. First, I use it as a practice tool for getting my soloing chops ready for a gig. Just loop a track and away you go! Second, I've been able to create a way for me to put down a simple bass line while playing live and solo over the rest of the band AND myself to really create a unique sound onstage. Stomp a few effects pedals during the solo and change up your sound to really stand out!

  • roy
    from warren R.I. U.S.A. March 30, 2016Music Background:
    GUITAR NOT TO BAD

    R C-30

    I love it . had it for a few years and it still works great. user friendly. ease of use. 3 hours of looping. what else could you ask for. It is built like a tank. The boss RC-30 phrase looper is great, get one, please you won't be sorry, worth every penny. Roy k.

  • Cory Gore
    from Wilmington, NC August 4, 2015Music Background:
    Sing, play guitar, some piano for 40 years

    Review of Boss RC-30 Looper Pedal

    My daughter is the major musician and song writer in the family. I wanted a looper for both voice and guitar. All I can say is that she took it right out of the box and in about an hour, I was listening to her new cover song with her playing both rythm and lead guitar AND a three way harmony. She essentially watched a You Tube of a young lady using this very looper for the song for a cover of "Electric Feel". She loves it, so I am the good Dad. My last purchase from Sweetwater was a great Taylor Guitar. They always deliver what they say. The staff is so knowledgeable and take the time for a novice like me to understand all pros and cons of the equipment. You can not go wrong with Sweetwater.

  • Steve Jordan
    from Martin, GA May 7, 2013Music Background:
    wannabe jazz guitarist

    So usefull for music students

    This will probably do more than I'll ever need for it to do, but for learning music, it's such a useful tool. I can record a chord progression for a song, and then go back and play the melody. This forces me to get the timing right much better than with just a metronome.

  • Gary Pokropski
    from Delaware March 19, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Everything I expected and some...

    The boss rc-30 was a perfect fit for my needs. Very portable and easy to use. Because this was my first loop pedal, getting the timing down on the recording was slightly tricky; however with a little practice, I got the hang of it quickly. The sweep filter effect is awesome for someone looking to get spacey on their recoded loop! My only wish is that I would be able to keep that effect while soloing live over my loop. Another recommendation for someone interested in purchasing this loop pedal would be to also purchase separate the ac adaptor. Otherwise, you will blow through your battery supply. But I would definitely recommend this pedal to someone!

  • Dave
    from Diamond, IL May 3, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar Player

    Great pedal for practice

    A great pedal, I use it for practice. Set rhythms for the music being practice on per song basis and then add all guitar parts and practice guitar lead parts. Great! It gets you ready for the weekend worship set. All so use it as a drum machine for playing small group worship. Many more great features, connecting to computer downloading sets then creating more sets and putting them on computer then uploading set as you need them. Great!

  • MyAudioDNA
    from Orange County, California August 16, 2011Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Great Looper

    This is a great looper, easy to use thanks to the two pedals, sounds great, love the 2 tracks. Only thing I wish it had is the ability to customize what the pedals do. I would love to be able to set the left pedal to turn track 1 on and off and the other pedal to turn track 2 on and off. Other than that its been great, works just like I'd hoped.

  • Roy J. Kirk
    from R.I. July 21, 2011Music Background:
    SEMI PRO HOBBYIST

    Boss RC-30

    All I can say is it is a great looper. Don't let this one get away. I use it with my mustang 111 amp and I put it on a clean channel and it blew me away. You can use pedels with this if you want different effects for your music. It is a great buy. I would buy another one if I had to. If you let this one get away you will be sorry. R.K.

  • Customer
    from Canada,Quebec July 15, 2011Music Background:
    2 years of bedroom playing

    The Boss RC-30

    I use this with a nova system (tc electronic) and a blackstar ht 20 and the sound quality is impressive very little to no difference.The effets to me dont mean much since I`ve got the nova,but they are usable.The drums dont quite cut it for a recording but are fine to jam along to.Easy to understand within a few minutes your good to go.I havent used the mic yet but should sound great through a PA system phantom power is a nice plus.It has eveything the other loopers in its class have and more.Get one you wont regret it.Thank you sweetwater for the good service and fast shipping 48 hours and it was at my doorstep in canada.

  • Victor T
    from Princeton NJ May 11, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Boss RC 30 Review

    I have been waiting for this pedal to be available and I think it's fantastic. I am very happy with the sound, ease of use and phantom power for Mics. I use the DPA 4099G mic on my DeVoe Blanca and Negra. And run the mic straight to the RC 30 which supplies the 48v phantom power. I can create groves, cords, tracks on the fly and then play over them. Really creates a nice sound for solo live playing when no band is present. I tried another competiors looper a few years ago and found the sound quality unacceptable. This pedal looper sounds great to me. Mark Magdich x1265 has been a great guy to work with and always taken care of my needs and request to pircase gear. For live playing to create a fuller sound this looper has looped me in. EZ Pay easy Peazy way to get gear.

  • Nick
    from Brooklyn,NY November 28, 2014Music Background:
    Pianist/pro musician

    Great piece of equipment

    Awesome pedal! Easy to use and sounds great through the amp.

    Definitely a must buy!

  • Will
    from Western Ky January 31, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbiest/ Engineer

    Just what I wanted!!!

    I believe this is exactly what I was looking for. It's compact, captures my rhthyms perfectly, and is clear as a bell. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is I haven't figured it all out yet, and it's not quick and simple. It is well built though, and has a small footprint. I'm satisfied with the product, and sure I'll figure it all out soon.

  • Murgatroid
    from June 26, 2014

    weird glitch discovered when transferring WAV's to RC...

    If you connect your computer for the purpose of transferring WAV's to the RC-30, and you overwrite to a previously-occupied folder on the RC, it will remember the length of the previous loop and play back that length, regardless of the length of your new loop! So, you have to copy your new WAV to an unused folder on the RC to retain the new loop length.

  • Spencer Doidge
    from November 10, 2014

    Useful but with worse than useless effects

    I like the 3 hours of data you can store on this. It is physically robust and nice designed in most respects. It is doing what I want it to do, **except**, occasionally the effects come on because I mistakenly press the left pedal twice, and the effects are perfectly horrible. If any musician out there uses any of them, I don't want to know about them or hear their music. The effects are an inexplicable waste of space and money. Other than that the product works fine.

  • Jeff
    from PA Gettysburg March 2, 2012Music Background:
    Playing since 1960 Have a little musical background

    Boss RC-30

    The recording is fine. But the effects sound Cheap. I use it because its easy to use and there are a lot of different ways you can record. I have my Bosscdr-900 and voice live for the effects.

  • k/z fisher
    from atlanta May 8, 2012Music Background:
    old fart

    K/Z

    Yes, sounds great but all the on board effects,faders and knobs are useless for live.

    Nothing better than having to squat down during a show.

  • Customer
    from September 15, 2016

    It' just ok...

    I have been using the RC-1 in live acoustic performances for quite a while now and decided to upgrade to the RC-30 for a little more flexibility. I am a little underwhelmed to say the least.. As far as looping capabilities I can do the exact same thing with my RC -1... Using the RC-1 with the FS-6 foot controller gives me the following functions : Press RC pedal to start recording.. Press again to stop.. Press same pedal to record 2nd loop on top.. Press FS-6 pedal A to undo 2nd loop.. Press A again to redo and bring it back in immediately.. (Same as using 1 and 2 tracks on RC-30 ) The undo/redo function on the RC-1 is immediate...no annoying 2 second delay like on RC-30.. Simply press the FS-6 B switch 1 time to stop everything.. RC 30 requires 2 presses of the pedal to stop and cannot be changed. So if you need 2 tracks of basic looping and make your own beats on the guitar..go with the RC -1.. If you are going to be beatboxing and just layers and layers of loops with multiple instruments then go with the RC-30..

    Now on the good side I am keeping the RC-30 for the following 2 reasons only.. The basic included rythym section is ok for a lot of stuff..sounds a little more like a real drummer than beating on your guitar..which is in my case a 5000 dollar Taylor 914ce that I really dont want to beat on anymore.. Last, but not least, is the storage capability to store your loops..creating fresh loops for every looper song you do is a bit tiring after a while.. having 99 slots to store your best loops is awesome. The effects are useless (well except lo-fi which is great for Pink Floyd "wish you were here" ) Stopping it at the end of a song is still kind of a hassle with the double press of the pedal but hey.. Im just a solo guy playing stuff nobody is listening to most of the time anyway so who cares about a sloppy ending here or there.. so yeah...the RC-30 is well... just ok.. Sweetwater, as usual, are the best ! Love you guys !

  • Steve
    from August 26, 2015

    Good for quick idea tracking

    It's good at what it does but you expect that. Good for tracking quick ideas and you don't want to set up some other system of recording. Using it real time demands a super exact exactness; if you miss the hit by a few milliseconds, you're gonna hear it. I kind of wish it had the intuitiveness of something like the Beat Buddy where you don't have to punch in right on the one. That problem can kind of be solved, I assume, with the step up, the rc-300 which has MIDI utilities.

  • Jonathan
    from Chicago, IL USA July 28, 2011Music Background:
    Professional Classical/Jazz/Folk Musician

    Cumbersome!

    Having bought this when new to the world of guitar pedals, I exhibited rash judgment in getting this.

    Good things:
    1. Lots of record time, with a huge memory bank
    2. Two track recording,
    3. Can erase your last overdub,
    4. Phantom power microphone input (this is very useful to me as I loop accordion and bandoneon for electronic tango)
    5. USB connectivity

    But I would also say, this is quite a random assortment of good things, that could be attained with less cumbersome gear.

    This is a more of a recording device than a looper that inspires creativity.

    The Loop FX don't make any sense as they can only be applied to what you have already recorded - Also, they are very corny/digitally-sounding. Applying an effect after the fact does not allow for a creative use of FX.

    The rhythm section allows you to choose from about 8 or 9 different drum beats to play along with - this is nothing more than a glorified click track. The drums sound digitally and corny and very unusuable. They do help to make your loop recording more steady, but once I record the first part, I always turn the drums off.

    Another frustrating thing is if you import a wav file into this looper to mess around with, the sound is degraded to the extreme. Pretty useless function.

    Perhaps the RC 3 would be better for me.

  • Alan Lane
    from Alabama, USA May 5, 2012Music Background:
    Musician with a good day job

    Important limitation for verse-chorus looping

    If you want to perform a song with both verse and chorus on separate channels, this will not work. If you record to channel A and then switch to channel B to record, channel A still plays. You first have to stop channel A, switch to channel B and then hit record. OK - so not convenient, but you can set up the two channels ahead of time. Now, you are in front of 10,000 screaming fans playing along to your pre-recorded channel A and the chorus comes along. You have to stop channel A, press the right pedal for 2 s to switch to B, then press the left pedal again to get B going. That 5 s of silence is a real buzz kill. The B channel is good for layering something on top of A that you can take on and off. Overall quality and sound is good. But for my application - no deal.

Questions about the Boss RC-30 Phrase Looper Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway