rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Alesis RA150 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
  • Nicholas
    from November 11, 2015Music Background:
    lifelong recording engineer

    KILLER amp!

    Yes, there are better studio amps out there (Bryston is superb and $$$), but this amp is genuinely good and really transparent, and for $200 it's practically free. This is something I would definitely keep if I got a better amp (unlikely), to be a backup amp. I'm really happy with this purchase.

  • Cathy
    from United States July 17, 2013Music Background:
    none

    amp

    It is great and it works wonderful.

  • John Shoemaker
    from Watkins Glen, NY April 9, 2013Music Background:
    I have been a Blues/ock guitarist since 1966 and I've been recording since 2001

    Alesis RA150

    This is a great little amplifier. I use it in my studio for monitoring recordings and playback. No noise and great power. This is my second one, the first one got in 2008

  • Studio Guy
    from Rocky Mountains, Northern Colorado January 9, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound, Recording Engineer, Mix Engineer

    Twelve Years & Still Going Strong

    I've used an RA150 in my studio for over 12 years driving a pair of Alesis Monitor Ones and a pair of Yamaha NS10M Studio speakers (not at the same time!) and it has performed extremely well. Very low residual noise, low stand-by power consumption, and plenty of power if I need 100 dB (which I do not suggest and rarely do).

    Great design that has stood the test of time.

  • Ron Fields
    from Schaumburg, IL October 6, 2011Music Background:
    Bassist, keyboards, Trumpeter,Vocalist,and songwriter

    Alesis RA150

    excellent fidelity through my 11 year ole Event20/20's should's bought this YEARS ago!! Clean crisp Exact!!

  • John G.
    from Fort Lauderdale, FL June 6, 2014Music Background:
    Performer, Writer, Producer

    Great amp!

    Really do like using this amp, gives just the right amount of power that I need for my rather small home studio. Quiet, does the job, so what more could I ask for!

  • Gary
    from Kansas City, Mo March 6, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Exactly what I need

    Perfect for my little studio. No bells and whistles....pure, quiet amplification.....flat response that doesn't complicate things any more than they already are....only wish it had a headphone jack, but most everything else has one, so it's no big deal....

  • J. Gilson
    from Fort Lauderdale, FL January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, live and studio work, songwriter

    Reference Amplifier Alesis RA150

    Fantastic amp, so clean, no hum at full volume. I drive my Alesis Monitor One Mk2's with this and it's the perfect amount of power.

  • Keith Pierce
    from Louisville, KY USA May 1, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Teacher

    It is just what I was looking for!

    I have a Baldwin church organ in my home and I have been wanting to update the instrument, so I called Sweetwater and talked with Phil
    Schwan about what I wanted to do and he was extremely helpful. I
    had 3 sets of Conn pipes (these pipes were made for Conn Organs and they are out of business) Phil suggested that I purchase Alesis RA150 to send the organ sounds to the Conn pipes and they sound great.

  • Kip
    from New City, NY October 24, 2008Music Background:
    songwriter / engineer

    Excellent no frills reference amp.

    Bought this as a replacement for my old dying RA100, and I'm glad to have made the upgrade. Balanced inputs are a nice feature, sound is great, and plenty of volume. Absolutely silent, both physically and operationally. I'm driving a pair of Alesis Monitor One Mk2 monitors. Not that I find this stuff important, but the lighting on this unit is great. You have to see it to fully appreciate it. It sort of pulsates in intensity to the amount of signal that's getting pushed through it. It's useful AND pleasing to look at, but subtle enough that it's not distracting either. For the price of this unit, you can't go wrong if you're looking to drive some un-powered monitors in a small to mid size project studio.

  • Matthew Edwards
    from Seattle, WA January 14, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice clean amp

    Very clean power amp. No internal fans and virtually no hum or hiss in the speakers. Very clear highs and lows. Plenty loud for studio use. No pops in the speakers when turning the unit on or off. Haven't used it live so don't know how long or loud you can push it. Used one in a home studio for over 5 years before it died. Tried the competition and bought another Alesis RA150. Overall it's excellent for the price!

  • www.beatbanga77.com
    from NJ November 2, 2011Music Background:
    Gospel, Hip Hop, RNB, anything you need..

    Good amp..

    I bought this simply because I needed clean quiet power for my old Event 20/20's. My QSC had too much power and a fan that I got sick of hearing. Im surprised by how good my 20/20's sound. I have not heard them in a while and until I decide on what active monitors to purchase this will do fine! Im thinking focal (csm or solo models), vs Adam vs the Neuman monitors.. Ill take some tips if any of you have used them...

  • Customer
    from WI November 22, 2010Music Background:
    writer/producer

    Same story

    Same story as the previous reviewers. My Alesis worked very well in the studio, as long as it sat untouched, which was easy enough as a writer. As soon as I started using volume pots when working with live recording, the noise and static kicked in. Tried cleaning contacts, replaced one pot, still noisy and cuts out. Only cure is to wiggle the knobs until the sound is loud and clear, then leave it untouched. I loved the clarity (for the money) with this amp paired with KRK Kroc's, but I've about had it with the fidgity pots. Looking elsewhere.

  • docSanchez
    from Bainbridge Island, WA July 11, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good amp... while it lasted.

    I loved this amp for several years. The sound quality is fairly transparent, the amp keeps very cool, and the knobs and clipping lights are laid out in a very friendly, easy-to-use fashion.

    However, recently the amp began to run into problems. One or both of the channels begins to distort, go quiet, or turn into static. The only fix I have found is hitting the desk the amp rests on which temporarily restores audio, but it is only a matter of time before the signal goes out again.

    While I might generally write this down as a lemon or a problem specific to my setup, I have found numerous accounts of similar problems for other users of this product.

    I should further add that Alesis was not particularly helpful, where instead of granting me access to the schematics for the amplifier so I could repair it myself they told me I needed to take it to a qualified technician.

  • Bob M
    from Denver, CO August 19, 2010Music Background:
    Video Post

    Probably buy something else

    I have the same issue as doc, I have 2 of these amps randomly fail where one or both channels will cut out or go kind of static. You can usually make it come back by cranking the dial up and down on the affected channel and hope it sticks.

    They're cheap, but are behaving as such.

Questions about the Alesis RA150?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway